This office action is in response to remarks filed on 02/02/2026.
Claims 1-7, 15-17, and 21-30 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 3-7, 15, and 17 are amended. Claims 8-14 and 18-20 are canceled. Claims 21-30 are added.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 3-7, 15, and 17 have been considered based on amendments.
Claims 21-30 have been added and considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/13/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan et al (US20130343319A1) (hereinafter "Quan") in view of Xin et al (US20220417811A1) (hereinafter "Xin").
Regarding claim 1, Quan discloses a method for configuring access control information, the method comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, access control information sent by a network device, the access control information including ([0057] In block 201, a base station broadcasts an indicator indicating whether the access of a specific UE-category UE is permitted.):
camping indication information ([0059] A current cell is selected to camp if it is determined that the UE is permitted to access the cell of the base station.);
wherein the access control information is used by the terminal device to perform an access control operation on the basis of a terminal type (([0059] In block 202, a UE determines, after receiving the indicator, whether it is permitted to access a cell of the base station according to the indicator and a UE category of the UE itself.),
wherein the camping indication information comprises at least one bit, each of the at least one bit is associated with at least one terminal type, and a value of the bit indicates whether a terminal device corresponding to the at least one terminal type associated with the bit can camp on a network provided by the network device ([0059] In block 202, a UE determines, after receiving the indicator, whether it is permitted to access a cell of the base station according to the indicator and a UE category of the UE itself. A current cell is selected to camp if it is determined that the UE is permitted to access the cell of the base station. [0060] Indication information broadcasted by the base station may be an indicator indicating whether the access of a category9 UE is supported. For example, in the R10 network, the base station may configure a mtc-barring-r10 field in System Information Block 1 (SIB1) of a broadcast message, wherein a value of the field may be TRUE or FALSE. It is indicated that the access of the category9 UE is permitted when the value is TRUE. And, it is indicated that the access of the category9 UE is not permitted when the value is FALSE.),
wherein the association between each bit in the camping indication information and the terminal type is a first association, and the first association is predefined ([0019] For example, five UE categories are supported in a LTE Release-8 (R8) system, and the lowest UE category is category1, as shown in Table 4. [0014] UE categories defined in a conventional Long Term Evolution (LTE) system are shown as follows. TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 Downlink physical layer parameters configured by the UE categories … TABLE-US-00002 TABLE 2 Uplink physical layer parameters configured by the UE categories … TABLE-US-00003 TABLE 3 Total layer 2 buffer sizes configured by the UE categories);
wherein the terminal type of the terminal device is a first terminal type, and the method further comprises ([0018] Moreover, according to a definition in conventional protocols, a UE must report any one of categories 1-5, i.e., the UE at least supports category1, which results in that the capability of the UE cannot be lower than the existing lowest capability.):
determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of a value of a first bit in the camping indication information in the first association corresponding to the first terminal type, whether the terminal device can camp on the network provided by the network device ([0059] In block 202, a UE determines, after receiving the indicator, whether it is permitted to access a cell of the base station according to the indicator and a UE category of the UE itself.),
wherein the first terminal type is determined by the terminal device on the basis of a capability supported by the terminal device ([0018] Moreover, according to a definition in conventional protocols, a UE must report any one of categories 1-5, i.e., the UE at least supports category1, which results in that the capability of the UE cannot be lower than the existing lowest capability.).
Quan fails to disclose a method for configuring access control information, the method comprising:
wherein the capability supported by the terminal device comprises at least one of:
an application scenario supported by the terminal device, wherein the application scenario supported by the terminal device is: only supporting satellite communication capabilities, only supporting ground communication capabilities, or supporting both ground and satellite communication capabilities;
a number of transmitting antennas supported by the terminal device; or
a number of receiving antennas supported by the terminal device.
However, Xin discloses a method for configuring access control information, the method comprising:
wherein the capability supported by the terminal device comprises at least one of:
an application scenario supported by the terminal device, wherein the application scenario supported by the terminal device is: only supporting satellite communication capabilities, only supporting ground communication capabilities, or supporting both ground and satellite communication capabilities (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement.);
a number of transmitting antennas supported by the terminal device; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement.)
a number of receiving antennas supported by the terminal device ([0135] A capability of the terminal device includes one or more of the following: a maximum transmission bandwidth, a transmission rate, reliability, delay tolerance, a quantity of antennas, standby time, or the like. Different types of terminal devices have different capabilities. [0221] In still another example, a bitmap may be alternatively added to the system message, and the bitmap is used to indicate a type of a terminal device that is allowed or not allowed by the network device to camp on. For example, the type of the terminal device includes the first type and the second type. A bitmap including two bits may be used, where the two bits separately correspond to whether the cell of the network device allows the terminal device of the first type to camp on and whether the cell of the network device allows the terminal device of the second type to camp on. Alternatively, for example, the type of the terminal device includes the first type and the second type. An IE or field including one bit may be used to indicate whether the cell of the network device allows the terminal device of the first type to camp on. For example, if the terminal device of the first type is allowed to camp on, the bit is 1. If the terminal device of the first type is not allowed to camp on, the bit is 0.).
Quan and Xin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to indicate network support for groups of device types.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan with Xin to create a method for configuring access control information, the method comprising: wherein the capability supported by the terminal device comprises at least one of: an application scenario supported by the terminal device, wherein the application scenario supported by the terminal device is: only supporting satellite communication capabilities, only supporting ground communication capabilities, or supporting both ground and satellite communication capabilities; a number of transmitting antennas supported by the terminal device; or a number of receiving antennas supported by the terminal device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce system overhead by controlling access of certain device types.
Regarding claim 4, Quan discloses a terminal device, comprising:
receive access control information sent by a network device, the access control information including ([0057] In block 201, a base station broadcasts an indicator indicating whether the access of a specific UE-category UE is permitted.):
camping indication information ([0059] A current cell is selected to camp if it is determined that the UE is permitted to access the cell of the base station.);
wherein the access control information is used by a terminal device to perform an access control operation on the basis of terminal type ([0059] In block 202, a UE determines, after receiving the indicator, whether it is permitted to access a cell of the base station according to the indicator and a UE category of the UE itself.),
wherein the camping indication information comprises at least one bit, each of the at least one bit is associated with at least one terminal type, and a value of the bit indicates whether a terminal device corresponding to the at least one terminal type associated with the bit can camp on a network provided by the network device ([0059] In block 202, a UE determines, after receiving the indicator, whether it is permitted to access a cell of the base station according to the indicator and a UE category of the UE itself. A current cell is selected to camp if it is determined that the UE is permitted to access the cell of the base station. [0060] Indication information broadcasted by the base station may be an indicator indicating whether the access of a category9 UE is supported. For example, in the R10 network, the base station may configure a mtc-barring-r10 field in System Information Block 1 (SIB1) of a broadcast message, wherein a value of the field may be TRUE or FALSE. It is indicated that the access of the category9 UE is permitted when the value is TRUE. And, it is indicated that the access of the category9 UE is not permitted when the value is FALSE.),
wherein the association between each bit in the camping indication information and the terminal type is a first association, and the first association is predefined ([0019] For example, five UE categories are supported in a LTE Release-8 (R8) system, and the lowest UE category is category1, as shown in Table 4. [0014] UE categories defined in a conventional Long Term Evolution (LTE) system are shown as follows. TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 Downlink physical layer parameters configured by the UE categories … TABLE-US-00002 TABLE 2 Uplink physical layer parameters configured by the UE categories … TABLE-US-00003 TABLE 3 Total layer 2 buffer sizes configured by the UE categories);
wherein the terminal type of the terminal device is a first terminal type, and the processor is further configured to ([0018] Moreover, according to a definition in conventional protocols, a UE must report any one of categories 1-5, i.e., the UE at least supports category1, which results in that the capability of the UE cannot be lower than the existing lowest capability.):
determine, on the basis of a value of a first bit in the camping indication information in the first association corresponding to the first terminal type, whether the terminal device can camp on the network provided by the network device ([0059] In block 202, a UE determines, after receiving the indicator, whether it is permitted to access a cell of the base station according to the indicator and a UE category of the UE itself.),
wherein the first terminal type is determined by the terminal device on the basis of a capability supported by the terminal device ([0018] Moreover, according to a definition in conventional protocols, a UE must report any one of categories 1-5, i.e., the UE at least supports category1, which results in that the capability of the UE cannot be lower than the existing lowest capability.);
Quan fails to disclose a terminal device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to:
wherein the capability supported by the terminal device comprises at least one of:
an application scenario supported by the terminal device, wherein the application scenario supported by the terminal device is: only supporting satellite communication capabilities, only supporting ground communication capabilities, or supporting both ground and satellite communication capabilities;
a number of transmitting antennas supported by the terminal device; or
a number of receiving antennas supported by the terminal device.
However, Xin discloses a terminal device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to ([0343] As shown in FIG. 12, the network device 30 in this embodiment may include a processor 31, a memory 32, and a communication interface 33.):
wherein the capability supported by the terminal device comprises at least one of:
an application scenario supported by the terminal device, wherein the application scenario supported by the terminal device is: only supporting satellite communication capabilities, only supporting ground communication capabilities, or supporting both ground and satellite communication capabilities (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement.);
a number of transmitting antennas supported by the terminal device; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement.)
a number of receiving antennas supported by the terminal device ([0135] A capability of the terminal device includes one or more of the following: a maximum transmission bandwidth, a transmission rate, reliability, delay tolerance, a quantity of antennas, standby time, or the like. Different types of terminal devices have different capabilities. [0221] In still another example, a bitmap may be alternatively added to the system message, and the bitmap is used to indicate a type of a terminal device that is allowed or not allowed by the network device to camp on. For example, the type of the terminal device includes the first type and the second type. A bitmap including two bits may be used, where the two bits separately correspond to whether the cell of the network device allows the terminal device of the first type to camp on and whether the cell of the network device allows the terminal device of the second type to camp on. Alternatively, for example, the type of the terminal device includes the first type and the second type. An IE or field including one bit may be used to indicate whether the cell of the network device allows the terminal device of the first type to camp on. For example, if the terminal device of the first type is allowed to camp on, the bit is 1. If the terminal device of the first type is not allowed to camp on, the bit is 0.).
Quan and Xin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to indicate network support for groups of device types.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan with Xin to create a terminal device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to: wherein the capability supported by the terminal device comprises at least one of: an application scenario supported by the terminal device, wherein the application scenario supported by the terminal device is: only supporting satellite communication capabilities, only supporting ground communication capabilities, or supporting both ground and satellite communication capabilities; a number of transmitting antennas supported by the terminal device; or a number of receiving antennas supported by the terminal device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce system overhead by controlling access of certain device types.
Regarding claim 7, Quan fails to disclose the terminal device, wherein the capability supported by the terminal device further includes at least one of the following:
a maximum transmission power level supported by the terminal device;
a dual connectivity capability supported by the terminal device;
a carrier aggregation capability supported by the terminal device;
a bandwidth combination capability supported by the terminal device;
a bandwidth supported by the terminal device; or
whether the terminal device supports receiving a service in an operator network subscribed by the terminal device.
However, Xin discloses the terminal device, wherein the capability supported by the terminal device further includes at least one of the following:
a maximum transmission power level supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a dual connectivity capability supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a carrier aggregation capability supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a bandwidth combination capability supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a bandwidth supported by the terminal device; or (([0135] A capability of the terminal device includes one or more of the following: a maximum transmission bandwidth, a transmission rate, reliability, delay tolerance, a quantity of antennas, standby time, or the like. Different types of terminal devices have different capabilities.)
whether the terminal device supports receiving a service in an operator network subscribed by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.).
Quan and Xin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to indicate network support for groups of device types.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan with Xin to create the terminal device, wherein the capability supported by the terminal device further includes at least one of the following: a maximum transmission power level supported by the terminal device; a dual connectivity capability supported by the terminal device; a carrier aggregation capability supported by the terminal device; a bandwidth combination capability supported by the terminal device; a bandwidth supported by the terminal device; or whether the terminal device supports receiving a service in an operator network subscribed by the terminal device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce system overhead by controlling access of certain device types.
Regarding claim 15, Quan discloses a network device, comprising:
send access control information to a terminal device, the access control information including ([0057] In block 201, a base station broadcasts an indicator indicating whether the access of a specific UE-category UE is permitted.):
camping indication information ([0059] A current cell is selected to camp if it is determined that the UE is permitted to access the cell of the base station.);
wherein the access control information is used by a terminal device to perform an access control operation on the basis of terminal type ([0059] In block 202, a UE determines, after receiving the indicator, whether it is permitted to access a cell of the base station according to the indicator and a UE category of the UE itself.),
wherein the terminal type is determined on the basis of a capability supported by the terminal device ([0018] Moreover, according to a definition in conventional protocols, a UE must report any one of categories 1-5, i.e., the UE at least supports category1, which results in that the capability of the UE cannot be lower than the existing lowest capability.);
wherein the camping indication information comprises at least one bit, each of the at least one bit is associated with at least one terminal type, and a value of the bit indicates whether a terminal device corresponding to the at least one terminal type associated with the bit can camp on a network provided by the network device ([0059] In block 202, a UE determines, after receiving the indicator, whether it is permitted to access a cell of the base station according to the indicator and a UE category of the UE itself. A current cell is selected to camp if it is determined that the UE is permitted to access the cell of the base station. [0060] Indication information broadcasted by the base station may be an indicator indicating whether the access of a category9 UE is supported. For example, in the R10 network, the base station may configure a mtc-barring-r10 field in System Information Block 1 (SIB1) of a broadcast message, wherein a value of the field may be TRUE or FALSE. It is indicated that the access of the category9 UE is permitted when the value is TRUE. And, it is indicated that the access of the category9 UE is not permitted when the value is FALSE.),
wherein the association between each bit in the camping indication information and the terminal type is a first association, and the first association is predefined ([0019] For example, five UE categories are supported in a LTE Release-8 (R8) system, and the lowest UE category is category1, as shown in Table 4. [0014] UE categories defined in a conventional Long Term Evolution (LTE) system are shown as follows. TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 Downlink physical layer parameters configured by the UE categories … TABLE-US-00002 TABLE 2 Uplink physical layer parameters configured by the UE categories … TABLE-US-00003 TABLE 3 Total layer 2 buffer sizes configured by the UE categories);
wherein the value of the bit in the camping indication information in the first association corresponding to the terminal type of the terminal device is used by the terminal device to determine whether the terminal device can camp on the network provided by the network device ([0018] Moreover, according to a definition in conventional protocols, a UE must report any one of categories 1-5, i.e., the UE at least supports category1, which results in that the capability of the UE cannot be lower than the existing lowest capability. [0059] In block 202, a UE determines, after receiving the indicator, whether it is permitted to access a cell of the base station according to the indicator and a UE category of the UE itself.).
Quan fails to disclose a network device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to:
wherein the capability supported by the terminal device comprises at least one of:
an application scenario supported by the terminal device, wherein the application scenario supported by the terminal device is: only supporting satellite communication capabilities, only supporting ground communication capabilities, or supporting both ground and satellite communication capabilities;
a number of transmitting antennas supported by the terminal device; or
a number of receiving antennas supported by the terminal device.
However, Xin discloses a network device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to ([0343] As shown in FIG. 12, the network device 30 in this embodiment may include a processor 31, a memory 32, and a communication interface 33.):
wherein the capability supported by the terminal device comprises at least one of:
an application scenario supported by the terminal device, wherein the application scenario supported by the terminal device is: only supporting satellite communication capabilities, only supporting ground communication capabilities, or supporting both ground and satellite communication capabilities (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement.);
a number of transmitting antennas supported by the terminal device; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "at least one of" statement.)
a number of receiving antennas supported by the terminal device ([0135] A capability of the terminal device includes one or more of the following: a maximum transmission bandwidth, a transmission rate, reliability, delay tolerance, a quantity of antennas, standby time, or the like. Different types of terminal devices have different capabilities. [0221] In still another example, a bitmap may be alternatively added to the system message, and the bitmap is used to indicate a type of a terminal device that is allowed or not allowed by the network device to camp on. For example, the type of the terminal device includes the first type and the second type. A bitmap including two bits may be used, where the two bits separately correspond to whether the cell of the network device allows the terminal device of the first type to camp on and whether the cell of the network device allows the terminal device of the second type to camp on. Alternatively, for example, the type of the terminal device includes the first type and the second type. An IE or field including one bit may be used to indicate whether the cell of the network device allows the terminal device of the first type to camp on. For example, if the terminal device of the first type is allowed to camp on, the bit is 1. If the terminal device of the first type is not allowed to camp on, the bit is 0.).
Quan and Xin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to indicate network support for groups of device types.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan with Xin to create a network device, comprising: a processor and a memory storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to: wherein the capability supported by the terminal device comprises at least one of: an application scenario supported by the terminal device, wherein the application scenario supported by the terminal device is: only supporting satellite communication capabilities, only supporting ground communication capabilities, or supporting both ground and satellite communication capabilities; a number of transmitting antennas supported by the terminal device; or a number of receiving antennas supported by the terminal device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce system overhead by controlling access of certain device types.
Regarding claim 21, Quan fails to disclose the method, wherein the capability supported by the terminal device further includes at least one of the following:
a maximum transmission power level supported by the terminal device;
a dual connectivity capability supported by the terminal device;
a carrier aggregation capability supported by the terminal device;
a bandwidth combination capability supported by the terminal device;
a bandwidth supported by the terminal device; or
whether the terminal device supports receiving a service in an operator network subscribed by the terminal device.
However, Xin discloses the method, wherein the capability supported by the terminal device further includes at least one of the following:
a maximum transmission power level supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a dual connectivity capability supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a carrier aggregation capability supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a bandwidth combination capability supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a bandwidth supported by the terminal device; or (([0135] A capability of the terminal device includes one or more of the following: a maximum transmission bandwidth, a transmission rate, reliability, delay tolerance, a quantity of antennas, standby time, or the like. Different types of terminal devices have different capabilities.)
whether the terminal device supports receiving a service in an operator network subscribed by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.).
Quan and Xin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to indicate network support for groups of device types.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan with Xin to create the method, wherein the capability supported by the terminal device further includes at least one of the following: a maximum transmission power level supported by the terminal device; a dual connectivity capability supported by the terminal device; a carrier aggregation capability supported by the terminal device; a bandwidth combination capability supported by the terminal device; a bandwidth supported by the terminal device; or whether the terminal device supports receiving a service in an operator network subscribed by the terminal device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce system overhead by controlling access of certain device types.
Regarding claim 28, Quan fails to disclose the network device, wherein the capability supported by the terminal device further includes at least one of the following:
a maximum transmission power level supported by the terminal device;
a dual connectivity capability supported by the terminal device;
a carrier aggregation capability supported by the terminal device;
a bandwidth combination capability supported by the terminal device;
a bandwidth supported by the terminal device; or
whether the terminal device supports receiving a service in an operator network subscribed by the terminal device.
However, Xin discloses the network device, wherein the capability supported by the terminal device further includes at least one of the following:
a maximum transmission power level supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a dual connectivity capability supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a carrier aggregation capability supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a bandwidth combination capability supported by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.);
a bandwidth supported by the terminal device; or (([0135] A capability of the terminal device includes one or more of the following: a maximum transmission bandwidth, a transmission rate, reliability, delay tolerance, a quantity of antennas, standby time, or the like. Different types of terminal devices have different capabilities.)
whether the terminal device supports receiving a service in an operator network subscribed by the terminal device (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.).
Quan and Xin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques to indicate network support for groups of device types.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan with Xin to create the network device, wherein the capability supported by the terminal device further includes at least one of the following: a maximum transmission power level supported by the terminal device; a dual connectivity capability supported by the terminal device; a carrier aggregation capability supported by the terminal device; a bandwidth combination capability supported by the terminal device; a bandwidth supported by the terminal device; or whether the terminal device supports receiving a service in an operator network subscribed by the terminal device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce system overhead by controlling access of certain device types.
Regarding claim 30, Quan discloses the network device, wherein when the access control information includes the camping indication information and the at least one access control parameter,
wherein at least one bit of the camping indication information and the at least one access control parameter have a second association, the second association including at least one of the following relationships ([0057] In block 201, a base station broadcasts an indicator indicating whether the access of a specific UE-category UE is permitted. [0028] wherein the network access control information is to indicate whether a cell of the base station permits access of a UE with a specific UE category, or access of a UE with a specific access class, or access of a UE supporting a specific service.):
each of the at least one bit is associated with one of the at least one access control parameter; or
one or more of the at least one bit are associated with one of the at least one access control parameter ([0059] In block 202, a UE determines, after receiving the indicator, whether it is permitted to access a cell of the base station according to the indicator and a UE category of the UE itself.),
wherein the second association is predefined; or, the second association is configured by a network side through AS signaling ([0052] In the technical solution provided by examples of the present invention, a base station broadcasts network access control information to indicate whether a cell of the base station permits access of a specific UE-category UE, access of a specific access class UE, or access of a UE supporting a specific service. A UE determines, after receiving the network access control information broadcasted by the base station, whether it is permitted to access the cell of the base station based on the network access control information, and performs cell selection according to a determination result.).
Claims 2, 5, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan in view of Xin as applied to claims 1, 4, or 15 above, and further in view of Kumar et al (US20140293908A1) (hereinafter "Kumar").
Regarding claim 2, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the method, wherein
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a cell; or,
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a network identifier,
wherein the network identifier comprises at least one of the following:
a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier, a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) identifier, or a closed access group (CAG) identifier.
However, Kumar discloses the method, wherein
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a cell; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.),
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a network identifier ([0026] LTE system information is one of the key aspects of the air interface. It consists of the Master Information Block (MIB) and a number of System Information Blocks (SIBs). The MIB carries the most essential information that is needed for the UE to acquire other information from the cell … It includes information related to UE cell access and defines the schedules of other SIBs, such as the PLMN Identities of the network, the tracking area code (TAC) and cell ID, cell barring status, to indicate if a UE may camp on the cell or not),
wherein the network identifier comprises at least one of the following: a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier, a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) identifier, or a closed access group (CAG) identifier ([0026] LTE system information is one of the key aspects of the air interface. It consists of the Master Information Block (MIB) and a number of System Information Blocks (SIBs). The MIB carries the most essential information that is needed for the UE to acquire other information from the cell … It includes information related to UE cell access and defines the schedules of other SIBs, such as the PLMN Identities of the network, the tracking area code (TAC) and cell ID, cell barring status, to indicate if a UE may camp on the cell or not).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Kumar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing access control parameters to a device capable of performing a barring check based on the received parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Kumar to create the method, wherein the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a cell; or, the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a network identifier, wherein the network identifier comprises at least one of the following: a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier, a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) identifier, or a closed access group (CAG) identifier.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to prioritize access for devices based on quality of service.
Regarding claim 5, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the terminal device, wherein
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a cell; or,
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a network identifier;
wherein the network identifier comprises at least one of the following:
wherein the network identifier comprises at least one of the following: a public land mobile network, PLMN, identifier, a stand-alone non-public network, SNPN, identifier, or a closed access group, CAG, identifier.
However, Kumar discloses the terminal device, wherein
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a cell; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.),
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a network identifier ([0026] LTE system information is one of the key aspects of the air interface. It consists of the Master Information Block (MIB) and a number of System Information Blocks (SIBs). The MIB carries the most essential information that is needed for the UE to acquire other information from the cell … It includes information related to UE cell access and defines the schedules of other SIBs, such as the PLMN Identities of the network, the tracking area code (TAC) and cell ID, cell barring status, to indicate if a UE may camp on the cell or not),
wherein the network identifier comprises at least one of the following: a public land mobile network, PLMN, identifier, a stand-alone non-public network, SNPN, identifier, or a closed access group, CAG, identifier ([0026] LTE system information is one of the key aspects of the air interface. It consists of the Master Information Block (MIB) and a number of System Information Blocks (SIBs). The MIB carries the most essential information that is needed for the UE to acquire other information from the cell … It includes information related to UE cell access and defines the schedules of other SIBs, such as the PLMN Identities of the network, the tracking area code (TAC) and cell ID, cell barring status, to indicate if a UE may camp on the cell or not).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Kumar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing access control parameters to a device capable of performing a barring check based on the received parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Kumar to create the terminal device, wherein the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a cell; or, the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a network identifier, wherein the network identifier comprises at least one of the following: a public land mobile network, PLMN, identifier, a stand-alone non-public network, SNPN, identifier, or a closed access group, CAG, identifier.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to prioritize access for devices based on quality of service.
Regarding claim 16, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the network device, wherein
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a cell; or,
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a network identifier;
wherein the network identifier comprises at least one of the following:
wherein the network identifier includes at least one of the following: a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier, a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) identifier, or a closed access group (CAG) identifier.
However, Kumar discloses the network device, wherein
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a cell; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.),
the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a network identifier ([0026] LTE system information is one of the key aspects of the air interface. It consists of the Master Information Block (MIB) and a number of System Information Blocks (SIBs). The MIB carries the most essential information that is needed for the UE to acquire other information from the cell … It includes information related to UE cell access and defines the schedules of other SIBs, such as the PLMN Identities of the network, the tracking area code (TAC) and cell ID, cell barring status, to indicate if a UE may camp on the cell or not),
wherein the network identifier includes at least one of the following: a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier, a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) identifier, or a closed access group (CAG) identifier ([0026] LTE system information is one of the key aspects of the air interface. It consists of the Master Information Block (MIB) and a number of System Information Blocks (SIBs). The MIB carries the most essential information that is needed for the UE to acquire other information from the cell … It includes information related to UE cell access and defines the schedules of other SIBs, such as the PLMN Identities of the network, the tracking area code (TAC) and cell ID, cell barring status, to indicate if a UE may camp on the cell or not).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Kumar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing access control parameters to a device capable of performing a barring check based on the received parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Kumar to create the network device, wherein the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a cell; or, the camping indication information is configured according to granularity of a network identifier, wherein the network identifier includes at least one of the following: a public land mobile network (PLMN) identifier, a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) identifier, or a closed access group (CAG) identifier.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to prioritize access for devices based on quality of service.
Claims 3, 6, 17, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan in view of Xin as applied to claims 1, 4, or 15 above, and further in view of Babaei et al (US20210345227A1) (hereinafter "Babaei").
Regarding claim 3, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the method, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter, each of the at least one access control parameter includes at least one of the following:
a first parameter for determining whether a single access attempt is allowed; or
a second parameter for determining a length of time from a time point when an access attempt is barred to a time point when another access attempt is initiated.
However, Babaei discloses the method, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter, each of the at least one access control parameter includes at least one of the following:
a first parameter for determining whether a single access attempt has passed; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
a second parameter for determining a length of time from a time point when an access attempt is barred to a time point when another access attempt is initiated ([0315] The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more access control parameters comprise a barring time parameter indicating a time duration before a new access attempt in response to the access attempt, based on the access barring check, being barred.).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Babaei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of access control for devices with reduced capabilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Babaei to create the method, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter, each of the at least one access control parameter includes at least one of the following: a first parameter for determining whether a single access attempt is allowed; or a second parameter for determining a length of time from a time point when an access attempt is barred to a time point when another access attempt is initiated.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to limit access attempts in order to conserve resources.
Regarding claim 6, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the method, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter, each of the at least one access control parameter includes at least one of the following:
a first parameter for determining whether a single access attempt is allowed; or
a second parameter for determining a length of time from a time point when an access attempt is barred to a time point when another access attempt is initiated.
However, Babaei discloses the method, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter, each of the at least one access control parameter includes at least one of the following:
a first parameter for determining whether a single access attempt has passed; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
a second parameter for determining a length of time from a time point when an access attempt is barred to a time point when another access attempt is initiated ([0315] The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more access control parameters comprise a barring time parameter indicating a time duration before a new access attempt in response to the access attempt, based on the access barring check, being barred.).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Babaei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of access control for devices with reduced capabilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Babaei to create the method, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter, each of the at least one access control parameter includes at least one of the following: a first parameter for determining whether a single access attempt is allowed; or a second parameter for determining a length of time from a time point when an access attempt is barred to a time point when another access attempt is initiated.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to limit access attempts in order to conserve resources.
Regarding claim 17, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the network device, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter, and each of the at least one access control parameter includes at least one of the following:
a first parameter, the first parameter for determining whether a single access attempt has passed is allowed; or
a second parameter, the second parameter for determining a length of time from a time point when an access attempt is barred to a time point when another access attempt is initiated.
However, Babaei discloses the network device, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter, each of the at least one access control parameter includes at least one of the following:
a first parameter, the first parameter for determining whether a single access attempt has passed is allowed; or (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
a second parameter, the second parameter for determining a length of time from a time point when an access attempt is barred to a time point when another access attempt is initiated ([0315] The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more access control parameters comprise a barring time parameter indicating a time duration before a new access attempt in response to the access attempt, based on the access barring check, being barred.).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Babaei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of access control for devices with reduced capabilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Babaei to create the network device, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter, and each of the at least one access control parameter includes at least one of the following: a first parameter, the first parameter for determining whether a single access attempt has passed is allowed; or a second parameter, the second parameter for determining a length of time from a time point when an access attempt is barred to a time point when another access attempt is initiated.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to limit access attempts in order to conserve resources.
Regarding claim 25, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the method, wherein the method further comprises:
in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device is barred from camping on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of intra-frequency search indication information in a system broadcast message, whether an intra-frequency search is allowed; in response to determining that the intra-frequency search is allowed, performing, by the terminal device, the intra-frequency search; wherein in response to determining that the intra-frequency search is not allowed, the terminal device is barred from the intra-frequency search within a period of time; and wherein the intra-frequency refers to a same frequency as a cell frequency used by the network device; or,
in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device is barred from camping on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of protocol regulations, that an intra-frequency search is not allowed, the terminal device being barred from the intra-frequency search within a period of time; wherein the intra-frequency refers to a same frequency as a cell frequency used by the network device.
However, Babaei discloses the method, wherein the method further comprises:
in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device is barred from camping on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of intra-frequency search indication information in a system broadcast message, whether an intra-frequency search is allowed; in response to determining that the intra-frequency search is allowed, performing, by the terminal device, the intra-frequency search; wherein in response to determining that the intra-frequency search is not allowed, the terminal device is barred from the intra-frequency search within a period of time; and wherein the intra-frequency refers to a same frequency as a cell frequency used by the network device; or, ([0152] a parameter uac-BarringForAccessIdentity may indicate whether access attempt is allowed for an Access Identity. The leftmost bit, bit 0 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 1, bit 1 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 2, bit 2 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 11, bit 3 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 12, bit 4 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 13, bit 5 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 14, and bit 6 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 15. Value 0 may mean that access attempt is allowed for the corresponding access identity. [0189] The wireless device may initiate a cell search on a second carrier frequency based on the determining that the wireless device is barred from the first cell. The wireless device may receive/detect second system information of a second cell based on the cell search. The second system information may be broadcast system information.)
in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device is barred from camping on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of protocol regulations, that an intra-frequency search is not allowed, the terminal device being barred from the intra-frequency search within a period of time; wherein the intra-frequency refers to a same frequency as a cell frequency used by the network device ([0152] a parameter uac-BarringForAccessIdentity may indicate whether access attempt is allowed for an Access Identity. The leftmost bit, bit 0 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 1, bit 1 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 2, bit 2 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 11, bit 3 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 12, bit 4 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 13, bit 5 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 14, and bit 6 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 15. Value 0 may mean that access attempt is allowed for the corresponding access identity. [0189] The wireless device may initiate a cell search on a second carrier frequency based on the determining that the wireless device is barred from the first cell. The wireless device may receive/detect second system information of a second cell based on the cell search. The second system information may be broadcast system information.).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Babaei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of access control for devices with reduced capabilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Babaei to create the method, wherein the method further comprises: in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device is barred from camping on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of intra-frequency search indication information in a system broadcast message, whether an intra-frequency search is allowed; in response to determining that the intra-frequency search is allowed, performing, by the terminal device, the intra-frequency search; wherein in response to determining that the intra-frequency search is not allowed, the terminal device is barred from the intra-frequency search within a period of time; and wherein the intra-frequency refers to a same frequency as a cell frequency used by the network device; or, in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device is barred from camping on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of protocol regulations, that an intra-frequency search is not allowed, the terminal device being barred from the intra-frequency search within a period of time; wherein the intra-frequency refers to a same frequency as a cell frequency used by the network device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to limit access attempts in order to conserve resources.
Regarding claim 26, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the method, wherein the method further comprises:
in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device is barred from camping on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of inter-frequency search assistance information in the system broadcast message, one or more different frequencies for search;
wherein the one or more different frequencies refer to one or more frequencies that are different from the cell frequency used by the network device.
However, Babaei discloses the method, wherein the method further comprises:
in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device is barred from camping on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of inter-frequency search assistance information in the system broadcast message, one or more different frequencies for search ([0152] a parameter uac-BarringForAccessIdentity may indicate whether access attempt is allowed for an Access Identity. The leftmost bit, bit 0 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 1, bit 1 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 2, bit 2 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 11, bit 3 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 12, bit 4 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 13, bit 5 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 14, and bit 6 in the bit string may correspond to Access Identity 15. Value 0 may mean that access attempt is allowed for the corresponding access identity. [0189] The wireless device may initiate a cell search on a second carrier frequency based on the determining that the wireless device is barred from the first cell. The wireless device may receive/detect second system information of a second cell based on the cell search. The second system information may be broadcast system information.);
wherein the one or more different frequencies refer to one or more frequencies that are different from the cell frequency used by the network device ([0158] If intraFreqReselection is set to notAllowed, the wireless device may consider cell re-selection to other cells on the same frequency as the barred cell as not allowed. Otherwise, if intraFreqReselection is set to Allowed, the wireless device may consider cell re-selection to other cells on the same frequency as the barred cell as allowed.).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Babaei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of access control for devices with reduced capabilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Babaei to create the method, wherein the method further comprises: in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device is barred from camping on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of inter-frequency search assistance information in the system broadcast message, one or more different frequencies for search; wherein the one or more different frequencies refer to one or more frequencies that are different from the cell frequency used by the network device.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to limit access attempts in order to conserve resources.
Regarding claim 27, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the method, wherein the inter-frequency search assistance information includes at least one of the following information of the one or more different frequencies:
frequency identification information, at least one piece of physical cell identifier (PCI) information associated with the frequency identification information, sub-carrier spacing (SCS) information associated with the frequency identification information, frequency-band identification information associated with the frequency identification information, measurement window configuration information associated with the frequency identification information, or measurement window configuration correction assistance information associated with the frequency identification information.
However, Babaei discloses the method, wherein the inter-frequency search assistance information includes at least one of the following information of the one or more different frequencies:
frequency identification information, at least one piece of physical cell identifier (PCI) information associated with the frequency identification information, sub-carrier spacing (SCS) information associated with the frequency identification information, frequency-band identification information associated with the frequency identification information, measurement window configuration information associated with the frequency identification information, or measurement window configuration correction assistance information associated with the frequency identification information ([0149] A parameter cellBarred may have comprise a plurality of values comprising a first value Barred and a second value notBarred. The value Barred may indicate the cell is barred (e.g., from accessing or camping on). A parameter dmrs-TypeA-Position may indicate position of (first) DM-RS for downlink. A parameter pdcch-ConfigSIB1 may indicate a common ControlResourceSet (CORESET), a common search space and necessary PDCCH parameters. If the field ssb-SubcarrierOffset indicates that SIB1 is absent, the field pdcch-ConfigSIB1 may indicate the frequency positions where the UE may find SS/PBCH block with SIB1 or the frequency range where the network does not provide SS/PBCH block with SIB 1. In an example, a parameter ssb-SubcarrierOffset may indicate a frequency domain offset between SSB and the overall resource block grid in number of subcarriers. This field may indicate that this cell does not provide SIB1 and that there is hence no CORESET #0 configured in MIB. In this case, the field pdcch-ConfigSIB1 may indicate the frequency positions where the UE may (not) find a SS/PBCH with a control resource set and search space for SIB1. In an example, a parameter subCarrierSpacingCommon may indicate subcarrier spacing for SIB1, Msg.2/4 for initial access, paging and broadcast SI-messages.).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Babaei are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of access control for devices with reduced capabilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Babaei to create wherein the inter-frequency search assistance information includes at least one of the following information of the one or more different frequencies: frequency identification information, at least one piece of physical cell identifier (PCI) information associated with the frequency identification information, sub-carrier spacing (SCS) information associated with the frequency identification information, frequency-band identification information associated with the frequency identification information, measurement window configuration information associated with the frequency identification information, or measurement window configuration correction assistance information associated with the frequency identification information.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to limit access attempts in order to conserve resources.
Claims 22 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan in view of Xin as applied to claims 1, 4, or 15 above, and further in view of Ohlsson et al (US20230199618A1) (hereinafter "Ohlsson").
Regarding claim 22, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the method, wherein determining, by the terminal device, that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, non-access stratum, NAS, signaling sent by the network device, the NAS signaling indicating that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type; and
determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of the NAS signaling, that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type.
However, Ohlsson discloses the method, wherein determining, by the terminal device, that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type comprises:
receiving, by the terminal device, non-access stratum, NAS, signaling sent by the network device, the NAS signaling indicating that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type; and ([0136] Operator defined rules such as access categories are configured to the first UE 121 over NAS if the operator defined access categories are used to differentiate the low complexity UEs, such as the first UE 121, e.g. via the network node 110.)
determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of the NAS signaling, that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type ([0136] Operator defined rules such as access categories are configured to the first UE 121 over NAS if the operator defined access categories are used to differentiate the low complexity UEs, such as the first UE 121, e.g. via the network node 110.).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Ohlsson are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of controlling access of a user equipment based on device capabilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Ohlsson to create the method, wherein determining, by the terminal device, that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type comprises: receiving, by the terminal device, non-access stratum, NAS, signaling sent by the network device, the NAS signaling indicating that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type; and determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of the NAS signaling, that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to prevent overload in networks and ensure that high priority services can gain access in times of congestion.
Regarding claim 29, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the network device, wherein the processor is further configured to send NAS signaling to the terminal device, the NAS signaling indicating that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type.
However, Ohlsson discloses the network device, wherein the processor is further configured to send NAS signaling to the terminal device, the NAS signaling indicating that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type ([0136] Operator defined rules such as access categories are configured to the first UE 121 over NAS if the operator defined access categories are used to differentiate the low complexity UEs, such as the first UE 121, e.g. via the network node 110.).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Ohlsson are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of controlling access of a user equipment based on device capabilities.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Ohlsson to create the network device, wherein the processor is further configured to send NAS signaling to the terminal device, the NAS signaling indicating that the terminal type of the terminal device is the first terminal type.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to prevent overload in networks and ensure that high priority services can gain access in times of congestion.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quan in view of Xin as applied to claims 1, 4, or 15 above, and further in view of Huang-Fu et al (US20200351755A1) (hereinafter "Huang-Fu").
Regarding claim 23, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the method, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter,
at least one bit of the camping indication information and the at least one access control parameter have a second association, the second association including at least one of the following relationships :
each of the at least one bit is associated with one of the at least one access control parameter; or
one or more of the at least one bit are associated with one of the at least one access control parameter,
wherein the second association is predefined; or, the second association is configured by the network device through AS signaling.
However, Huang-Fu discloses the method, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter,
at least one bit of the camping indication information and the at least one access control parameter have a second association, the second association including at least one of the following relationships ([0031] The entry 300 can include a length of entry contents 302, a PLMN ID 304, a CAG only bit 306, seven spared bits, and CAG IDs 308-1 to 308-n. The PLMN ID 304 includes a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC). The CAG only bit 306 indicates whether a UE is only allowed to access 5GS via CAG cells (CAG only) … A UE can compare the CAG identifiers broadcast by a CAG cell with CAG identifiers contained in the CAG information list provisioned by the network, and determine whether the CAG cell is a CAG cell that it is allowed to camp on.):
each of the at least one bit is associated with one of the at least one access control parameter; or ([0031] The entry 300 can include a length of entry contents 302, a PLMN ID 304, a CAG only bit 306, seven spared bits, and CAG IDs 308-1 to 308-n. The PLMN ID 304 includes a mobile country code (MCC) and a mobile network code (MNC). The CAG only bit 306 indicates whether a UE is only allowed to access 5GS via CAG cells (CAG only) … A UE can compare the CAG identifiers broadcast by a CAG cell with CAG identifiers contained in the CAG information list provisioned by the network, and determine whether the CAG cell is a CAG cell that it is allowed to camp on.)
one or more of the at least one bit are associated with one of the at least one access control parameter (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.),
wherein the second association is predefined; or, the second association is configured by the network device through AS signaling (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Huang-Fu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of denoting support for camping with regards to service type.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Huang-Fu to create the method, wherein the access control information further comprises at least one access control parameter, at least one bit of the camping indication information and the at least one access control parameter have a second association, the second association including at least one of the following relationships: each of the at least one bit is associated with one of the at least one access control parameter; or one or more of the at least one bit are associated with one of the at least one access control parameter, wherein the second association is predefined; or, the second association is configured by the network device through AS signaling.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to signal resource access based on the capabilities associated with devices.
Regarding claim 24, Quan, as modified by Xin, fails to disclose the method, wherein the method further comprises:
in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device can camp on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of the second association, that the first bit is associated with a first access control parameter of the at least one access control parameter; and
determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of the first access control parameter, whether an access attempt is allowed, and sending, by the terminal device, a signal to the network device in response to the access attempt being allowed.
However, Huang-Fu discloses the method, wherein the method further comprises:
in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device can camp on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of the second association, that the first bit is associated with a first access control parameter of the at least one access control parameter; and ([0049] In various embodiments of the disclosure, the processing circuitry 1006 can be configured to store the CAG information list of the CAG information list IE in the non-volatile memory 1002, and select a cell in a PLMN based on the CAG information list stored in the non-volatile memory 1002.)
determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of the first access control parameter, whether an access attempt is allowed, and sending, by the terminal device, a signal to the network device in response to the access attempt being allowed ([0028] After registering on a PLMN successfully, the UE 124 can indicate this PLMN (“the registered PLMN”) and be capable of making and receiving calls on it. When a registration attempt on a PLMN is rejected by a network, the PLMN ID is written to the forbidden PLMN list stored in a data field on the USIM. If a successful registration is achieved on a PLMN in the forbidden PLMN list, the PLMN ID of the PLMN is removed from the forbidden PLMN list.).
Quan, as modified by Xin, and Huang-Fu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of denoting support for camping with regards to service type.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Quan, as modified by Xin, with Huang-Fu to create the method, wherein the method further comprises: in response to determining, on the basis of the value of the first bit, that the terminal device can camp on the network provided by the network device, determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of the second association, that the first bit is associated with a first access control parameter of the at least one access control parameter; and determining, by the terminal device, on the basis of the first access control parameter, whether an access attempt is allowed, and sending, by the terminal device, a signal to the network device in response to the access attempt being allowed.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to signal resource access based on the capabilities associated with devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4, or 15, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419