DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendments and/or arguments filed on October 24, 2025. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-8, filed October 24, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Isami et al. (US 20220041067; hereinafter Isami).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20230124981; hereinafter Kim; already of record) in view of Isami et al. (US 20220041067; hereinafter Isami).
In regards to claim 1, Kim discloses of an apparatus for controlling motor-based torque vectoring (“A method includes determining a desired yaw moment to be applied to an ego vehicle during travel. The method also includes identifying yaw moment changes that are achievable using different torque vectoring techniques supported by the ego vehicle.” (Abstract)), the apparatus comprising:
one or more processors (“As shown in FIG. 1, the system 100 includes at least one processor 102 configured to control one or more operations of the system 100. In this example, the processor 102 may interact with one or more sensors 104 and with one or more components coupled to a bus 106.” (Para 0026)); and
a storage medium storing instructions (“As shown in FIG. 11, the device 1100 denotes a computing device or system that includes at least one processing device 1102, at least one storage device 1104, at least one communications unit 1106, and at least one input/output (I/O) unit 1108. The processing device 1102 may execute instructions that can be loaded into a memory 1110.” (Para 0091)) configured to cause the one or more processors to:
obtain a target yaw moment following a target yaw rate (“Also, in this example, the one or more control functions 114 include a torque vectoring force distribution function 114a, which is generally used to determine how to perform torque vectoring via direct yaw moment control based on the desired yaw rate and yaw acceleration. For instance, the torque vectoring force distribution function 114a can identify one or more yaw moments based on the desired yaw rate and yaw acceleration and determine the right/left and front/rear forces to be used to provide the one or more yaw moments. The torque vectoring force distribution function 114a can then cause the torque vectoring to occur in the identified manner, which will ideally keep the system 100 traveling along the desired path. Example operations performed by the torque vectoring force distribution function 114a are provided below.” (Para 0033));
distribute the target yaw moment to a wheel-based target wheel torque (“The desired yaw moment can then be distributed to multiple wheels of the ego vehicle, and this distribution can depend on the actual configuration of the ego vehicle. Overall, this allows the desired yaw moment to be converted to different wheel torques for different wheels of the ego vehicle, thereby implementing the desired torque vectoring actuation and enabling autonomous lateral control of the ego vehicle.” (Para 0023), See also Para 0041 and 0055);
convert the wheel-based target wheel torque into a motor-based motor torque (“Third, the motors 254a, 254b, 254c, 254d may be controlled to produce different amounts of torque on the wheels 252a, 252b, 252c, 252d, which is often referred to as “motor driving” control. For example, the motor 254a or 254c may apply more torque to the wheel 252a or 252c than the motor 254b or 254d applies to the wheel 252b or 252d. The result is that the vehicle 250 laterally moves to the right due to the presence of more torque along the left side of the vehicle 250. Similar operations may occur to move the vehicle 250 laterally to the left by creating more torque along the right side of the vehicle 250. Note that braking system control, energy regeneration system control, and/or motor control may be used individually or in any suitable combination to cause this lateral movement of the vehicle 200.” (Para 0041) and “Here, r.sub.eff is the effective dynamic radius of a wheel. In this way, the torque vectoring force distribution function 114a can determine how to distribute the desired yaw moment to the different wheels of the vehicle 302. As described below, the distributed desired yaw moment may be implemented in various ways, such as braking, energy regeneration, and/or motor control.” (Para 0055), see also Para 0022);
control a motor of an electric vehicle using the motor-based motor torque (“Third, the motors 254a, 254b, 254c, 254d may be controlled to produce different amounts of torque on the wheels 252a, 252b, 252c, 252d, which is often referred to as “motor driving” control. For example, the motor 254a or 254c may apply more torque to the wheel 252a or 252c than the motor 254b or 254d applies to the wheel 252b or 252d. The result is that the vehicle 250 laterally moves to the right due to the presence of more torque along the left side of the vehicle 250. Similar operations may occur to move the vehicle 250 laterally to the left by creating more torque along the right side of the vehicle 250. Note that braking system control, energy regeneration system control, and/or motor control may be used individually or in any suitable combination to cause this lateral movement of the vehicle 200.” (Para 0041) and “Here, r.sub.eff is the effective dynamic radius of a wheel. In this way, the torque vectoring force distribution function 114a can determine how to distribute the desired yaw moment to the different wheels of the vehicle 302. As described below, the distributed desired yaw moment may be implemented in various ways, such as braking, energy regeneration, and/or motor control.” (Para 0055), see also Para 0022);
wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to convert the wheel-based target wheel torque into a motor-based motor torque using a mapping relationship between a motor torque and a wheel torque (“Third, the motors 254a, 254b, 254c, 254d may be controlled to produce different amounts of torque on the wheels 252a, 252b, 252c, 252d, which is often referred to as “motor driving” control. For example, the motor 254a or 254c may apply more torque to the wheel 252a or 252c than the motor 254b or 254d applies to the wheel 252b or 252d. The result is that the vehicle 250 laterally moves to the right due to the presence of more torque along the left side of the vehicle 250. Similar operations may occur to move the vehicle 250 laterally to the left by creating more torque along the right side of the vehicle 250. Note that braking system control, energy regeneration system control, and/or motor control may be used individually or in any suitable combination to cause this lateral movement of the vehicle 200.” (Para 0041) and “Here, r.sub.eff is the effective dynamic radius of a wheel. In this way, the torque vectoring force distribution function 114a can determine how to distribute the desired yaw moment to the different wheels of the vehicle 302. As described below, the distributed desired yaw moment may be implemented in various ways, such as braking, energy regeneration, and/or motor control.” (Para 0055), see also Para 0022; It is noted that Kim teaches of “Third, the motors 254a, 254b, 254c, 254d may be controlled to produce different amounts of torque on the wheels 252a, 252b, 252c, 252d, which is often referred to as “motor driving” control. For example, the motor 254a or 254c may apply more torque to the wheel 252a or 252c than the motor 254b or 254d applies to the wheel 252b or 252d. The result is that the vehicle 250 laterally moves to the right due to the presence of more torque along the left side of the vehicle 250. Similar operations may occur to move the vehicle 250 laterally to the left by creating more torque along the right side of the vehicle 250. Note that braking system control, energy regeneration system control, and/or motor control may be used individually or in any suitable combination to cause this lateral movement of the vehicle 200.” (Para 0041), where it is noted that the desired wheel torques are outputted by the motors, therefore providing the necessary amount of torque from the motors in order to allow the wheels to be torque at the desired amount. Additionally Para 0055 discloses of “Once the desired yaw moment to be used to (ideally) keep the vehicle 302 following the reference path 308 is identified, the desired yaw moment is distributed to the various wheels of the vehicle 302 as wheel forces, which are converted into wheel torques via the effective dynamic radii of the wheels. This can be expressed as follows…. As described below, the distributed desired yaw moment may be implemented in various ways, such as braking, energy regeneration, and/or motor control.” Therefore it is recited that a desired yaw moment is outputted to the wheels by calculating the corresponding wheel torque that is required, therefore the motors output the desired torque in order to allow the wheels to have the desired torque. The desired wheel torque is being outputted, therefore in order for the motor torque to be outputted that corresponds with the desired wheel torque there is by definition a relationship between the two that would be a mapping relationship that is calculated. Therefore the claim limitations if fully disclosed. Additionally/alternatively, it is noted that there is a well-known direct relationship between a motor torque and a wheel torque. By definition, this relationship is motor torque = gear ratio x motor torque, which is well-known knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the field of the invention. Therefore there is a direct mapping relationship between the motor torque and the wheel torque, and in the case that there is no gearbox with a gear ratio, then the wheel torque and the motor torque are equal to one another. Therefore the claim limitation is fully disclosed within Kim. A detailed rejection follows below.).
However, Kim does not specifically disclose of wherein the mapping relationship between the motor torque and the wheel torque is determined by a hardware platform of the electric vehicle.
Isami, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the mapping relationship between the motor torque and the wheel torque is determined by a hardware platform of the electric vehicle (“The required motor torque calculation unit 540 converts the driving wheel torque calculated by the MT vehicle model 530 to a required motor torque. The required motor torque is the motor torque required for realizing the driving wheel torque calculated by the MT vehicle model 530. The reduction ratio from the output shaft 3 of the electric motor 2 to the driving wheels 8 is used to convert the driving wheel torque into the required motor torque.” (Para 0055), see also Para 0075).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mapping relationship between the motor toque and the wheel torque, as taught by Kim, to include being determined by a hardware platform of the electric vehicle, as taught by Isami, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to covert the driving wheel torque into the required motor torque (Isami Para 0055).
In regards to claim 2, Kim in view of Isami teaches of the apparatus for controlling motor-based torque vectoring according to claim 1, wherein the hardware platform is a platform that can independently control torques of each wheel using the motor (“In electric vehicles, the configuration of the powertrain is far more flexible since electric vehicles may include various numbers of motor configurations. Example motor configurations can include one motor in front, one motor in back, multiple motors in front, multiple motors in back, or any suitable combination thereof. In some cases, each individual wheel of an electric vehicle can have its own independent powertrain. Among other things, these various motor configurations permit different ways of providing “torque vectoring,” which refers to the ability to cause a vehicle to move laterally (left or right) by controlling the torques applied to different wheels of the vehicle (rather than turning the vehicle’s steering wheel). Torque vectoring is performed by applying different torques to left and right wheels of a vehicle, which causes the vehicle to move laterally in the direction of the wheel having the lower torque” (Kim Para 0022), see also Isami Para 0055 and 0090).
The motivation for combining Kim and Isami is the same as that recited for claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 3, Kim in view of Isami teaches of the apparatus for controlling motor-based torque vectoring according to claim 2, wherein the hardware platform includes one of a first hardware platform for driving each of a pair of left and right wheels in combination with a pair of drive motors and a gearbox, a second hardware platform for driving each of the pair of left and right wheels with an in-wheel motor, and a third hardware platform for driving each of the pair of left and right wheels in combination with a drive motor, a gearbox, and a torque vectoring motor (“In a vehicle with a conventional internal combustion engine, a drivetrain of the vehicle is used to distribute power from the engine to the wheels of the vehicle, and the drivetrain typically includes a differential gear train that helps to distribute the power to left and right wheels of the vehicle while allowing those wheels to turn at different rates. In electric vehicles, the configuration of the powertrain is far more flexible since electric vehicles may include various numbers of motor configurations. Example motor configurations can include one motor in front, one motor in back, multiple motors in front, multiple motors in back, or any suitable combination thereof. In some cases, each individual wheel of an electric vehicle can have its own independent powertrain. Among other things, these various motor configurations permit different ways of providing “torque vectoring,” which refers to the ability to cause a vehicle to move laterally (left or right) by controlling the torques applied to different wheels of the vehicle (rather than turning the vehicle’s steering wheel). Torque vectoring is performed by applying different torques to left and right wheels of a vehicle, which causes the vehicle to move laterally in the direction of the wheel having the lower torque.” (Kim Para 0022)).
In regards to claim 4, Kim in view of Isami teaches of the apparatus for controlling motor-based torque vectoring according to claim 3 wherein the mapping relationship between the motor torque and the wheel torque is determined by a gear ratio of the gearbox, and in the case of the second hardware platform in which the gearbox does not exist, the motor torque and the wheel torque are mapped at a 1:1 ratio (“In electric vehicles, the configuration of the powertrain is far more flexible since electric vehicles may include various numbers of motor configurations. Example motor configurations can include one motor in front, one motor in back, multiple motors in front, multiple motors in back, or any suitable combination thereof. In some cases, each individual wheel of an electric vehicle can have its own independent powertrain. Among other things, these various motor configurations permit different ways of providing “torque vectoring,” which refers to the ability to cause a vehicle to move laterally (left or right) by controlling the torques applied to different wheels of the vehicle (rather than turning the vehicle’s steering wheel). Torque vectoring is performed by applying different torques to left and right wheels of a vehicle, which causes the vehicle to move laterally in the direction of the wheel having the lower torque.” (Kim Para 0022), see also Isami Para 0074-0075; wherein it is noted that if there is no gearbox then by definition the gear ratio would be 1:1).
The motivation for combining Kim and Isami is the same as that recited for claim 1 above.
In regards to claim 10, Kim in view of Isami teaches of the apparatus for controlling motor-based torque vectoring according to claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to:
obtain a target yaw moment by yaw damping by multiplying a yaw acceleration error between a target yaw acceleration and a yaw acceleration according to a vehicle speed by a gain according to the yaw acceleration error (“The actuation of torque vectoring can then be based on the estimated path of the ego vehicle in order to achieve desired lateral control of the ego vehicle using the torque vectoring. Among other things, this may allow the torque vectoring actuation to be tied to lane perception information of lateral offset, heading offset, curvature, rate of curvature, or other information. For example, a desired yaw rate and a desired yaw acceleration for the ego vehicle can be determined, and a desired yaw moment for the ego vehicle can be determined based on the desired yaw rate and the desired yaw acceleration. The desired yaw moment can then be distributed to multiple wheels of the ego vehicle, and this distribution can depend on the actual configuration of the ego vehicle. Overall, this allows the desired yaw moment to be converted to different wheel torques for different wheels of the ego vehicle, thereby implementing the desired torque vectoring actuation and enabling autonomous lateral control of the ego vehicle.” (Kim Para 0023), “For instance, torque vectoring by energy regeneration control (denoted “TVbR”) may be energy efficient and may be used to decrease overall vehicle speed. Torque vectoring by braking control (denoted “TVbB”) may be used to decrease overall vehicle speed but may not be as energy efficient as torque vectoring by energy regeneration control. Torque vectoring by energy regeneration or braking control with motor driving control (denoted “TVbR, TVbD” or “TVbB, TVbD”) may be used to increase or maintain overall vehicle speed, and torque vectoring by motor driving control (denoted “TVbD”) may be used to increase or maintain the overall vehicle speed. Thus, energy regeneration control, braking control, and motor driving control (either individually or in a suitable combination) may be used to both (i) control the total longitudinal force applied to the system 500 during travel and (ii) control the distribution of the desired yaw moment during travel.” (Kim Para 0068), see also Kim Para 0051 and 0054, especially Formulas 8, 11, 16, 17);
wherein the target yaw moment by the yaw damping is added to the target yaw moment (“The actuation of torque vectoring can then be based on the estimated path of the ego vehicle in order to achieve desired lateral control of the ego vehicle using the torque vectoring. Among other things, this may allow the torque vectoring actuation to be tied to lane perception information of lateral offset, heading offset, curvature, rate of curvature, or other information. For example, a desired yaw rate and a desired yaw acceleration for the ego vehicle can be determined, and a desired yaw moment for the ego vehicle can be determined based on the desired yaw rate and the desired yaw acceleration. The desired yaw moment can then be distributed to multiple wheels of the ego vehicle, and this distribution can depend on the actual configuration of the ego vehicle. Overall, this allows the desired yaw moment to be converted to different wheel torques for different wheels of the ego vehicle, thereby implementing the desired torque vectoring actuation and enabling autonomous lateral control of the ego vehicle.” (Kim Para 0023)).
In regards to claims 11-14 and 20, the claims recites analogous limitations to claims 1-4 and 10, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 5-8 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Isami, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Luo et al. (CN 210337596; hereinafter Luo; see attached English translation for citations; already of record).
In regards to claim 5, Kim in view of Isami teaches of the apparatus for controlling motor-based torque vectoring according to claim 1.
However, in view of Isami does not specifically teach of wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to obtaining the target yaw moment through Proportional-Integral-Derivative (PID) control based on an error between the target yaw rate and a yaw rate.
Luo, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to obtaining the target yaw moment through Proportional-Integral-Derivative (PID) control based on an error between the target yaw rate and a yaw rate (“the differential control mode according to the vehicle actual yaw rate and a difference between the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating the second target torque through PID control, driving motor controller correcting drive motor torque to the second target torque. Specifically, calculating the difference between the actual yaw rate and the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating by PID control driving wheel driving motor of the second target torque. when the actual yaw rate is greater than the ideal yaw rate exceeds the set value, namely the vehicle too much steering, reducing vehicle outside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the excessive steering tendency of the vehicle; When the ideal yaw rate actual yaw rate smaller than set value, namely the vehicle understeer occurs, it is necessary to reduce vehicle inside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the understeer tendency of the vehicle. by reducing the drive motor torque of a side there is provided a yaw moment to the vehicle, so as to improve the running stability of the vehicle.” (Page 6 Para 0006).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determination of the target yaw moment, as taught Kim by in view of Isami, to include using a PID controller to determine an error between the target yaw rate and the yaw rate, as taught by Luo, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the running stability of the vehicle (Page 6 Para 0006).
In regards to claim 6, Kim in view of Isami in view of Luo teaches of the apparatus for controlling motor-based torque vectoring according to claim 5, wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to, for an integral control value for the PID control, output a preset threshold as the integral control value for the PID control when a difference between a current value and a previous value is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, and output the current value as the integral control value for the PID control when the difference between the current value and the previous value is less than the preset threshold (“the differential control mode according to the vehicle actual yaw rate and a difference between the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating the second target torque through PID control, driving motor controller correcting drive motor torque to the second target torque. Specifically, calculating the difference between the actual yaw rate and the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating by PID control driving wheel driving motor of the second target torque. when the actual yaw rate is greater than the ideal yaw rate exceeds the set value, namely the vehicle too much steering, reducing vehicle outside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the excessive steering tendency of the vehicle; When the ideal yaw rate actual yaw rate smaller than set value, namely the vehicle understeer occurs, it is necessary to reduce vehicle inside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the understeer tendency of the vehicle. by reducing the drive motor torque of a side there is provided a yaw moment to the vehicle, so as to improve the running stability of the vehicle.” (Luo Page 6 Para 0006), see also claim 1).
The motivation for combining Kim, Isami, and Luo is the same as that recited for claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 7, Kim in view of Isami in view of Luo teaches of the apparatus for controlling motor-based torque vectoring according to claim 6, wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to:
adjust the threshold according to a driver's driving tendency (“the differential control mode according to the vehicle actual yaw rate and a difference between the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating the second target torque through PID control, driving motor controller correcting drive motor torque to the second target torque. Specifically, calculating the difference between the actual yaw rate and the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating by PID control driving wheel driving motor of the second target torque. when the actual yaw rate is greater than the ideal yaw rate exceeds the set value, namely the vehicle too much steering, reducing vehicle outside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the excessive steering tendency of the vehicle; When the ideal yaw rate actual yaw rate smaller than set value, namely the vehicle understeer occurs, it is necessary to reduce vehicle inside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the understeer tendency of the vehicle. by reducing the drive motor torque of a side there is provided a yaw moment to the vehicle, so as to improve the running stability of the vehicle.” (Luo Page 6 Para 0006), see also claim 1); and
increase a size of the threshold in proportion to a target oversteer level when the driver's driving tendency is an oversteer tendency, and decrease the size of the threshold in proportion to a target understeer level when the driver's driving tendency is an understeer tendency (“the differential control mode according to the vehicle actual yaw rate and a difference between the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating the second target torque through PID control, driving motor controller correcting drive motor torque to the second target torque. Specifically, calculating the difference between the actual yaw rate and the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating by PID control driving wheel driving motor of the second target torque. when the actual yaw rate is greater than the ideal yaw rate exceeds the set value, namely the vehicle too much steering, reducing vehicle outside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the excessive steering tendency of the vehicle; When the ideal yaw rate actual yaw rate smaller than set value, namely the vehicle understeer occurs, it is necessary to reduce vehicle inside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the understeer tendency of the vehicle. by reducing the drive motor torque of a side there is provided a yaw moment to the vehicle, so as to improve the running stability of the vehicle.” (Luo Page 6 Para 0006), see also claim 1).
The motivation for combining Kim, Isami, and Luo is the same as that recited for claim 5 above.
In regards to claim 8, Kim in view of Isami in view of Luo teaches of the apparatus for controlling motor-based torque vectoring according to claim 6, wherein the instructions are configured to cause the one or more processors to:
reduce the integral control value by a ratio at which the target yaw rate decreases when the target yaw rate starts to decrease (“the differential control mode according to the vehicle actual yaw rate and a difference between the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating the second target torque through PID control, driving motor controller correcting drive motor torque to the second target torque. Specifically, calculating the difference between the actual yaw rate and the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating by PID control driving wheel driving motor of the second target torque. when the actual yaw rate is greater than the ideal yaw rate exceeds the set value, namely the vehicle too much steering, reducing vehicle outside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the excessive steering tendency of the vehicle; When the ideal yaw rate actual yaw rate smaller than set value, namely the vehicle understeer occurs, it is necessary to reduce vehicle inside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the understeer tendency of the vehicle. by reducing the drive motor torque of a side there is provided a yaw moment to the vehicle, so as to improve the running stability of the vehicle.” (Luo Page 6 Para 0006), see also claim 1; wherein it is noted that this is part of the definition of a PID controller);
wherein when the target yaw rate finally converges to 0, the integral control value also converges to 0 (“the differential control mode according to the vehicle actual yaw rate and a difference between the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating the second target torque through PID control, driving motor controller correcting drive motor torque to the second target torque. Specifically, calculating the difference between the actual yaw rate and the ideal yaw rate, obtained by calculating by PID control driving wheel driving motor of the second target torque. when the actual yaw rate is greater than the ideal yaw rate exceeds the set value, namely the vehicle too much steering, reducing vehicle outside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the excessive steering tendency of the vehicle; When the ideal yaw rate actual yaw rate smaller than set value, namely the vehicle understeer occurs, it is necessary to reduce vehicle inside wheel drive motor target torque obtained according to calculating the second target torque, reduce the understeer tendency of the vehicle. by reducing the drive motor torque of a side there is provided a yaw moment to the vehicle, so as to improve the running stability of the vehicle.” (Luo Page 6 Para 0006), see also claim 1; wherein it is noted that this is part of the definition of a PID controller).
The motivation for combining Kim, Isami, and Luo is the same as that recited for claim 5 above.
In regards to claims 15-18, the claims recites analogous limitations to claims 5-8, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Isami, in view of Luo as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Benker et al. (US 6273003; hereinafter Benker; already of record).
In regards to claim 9, Kim in view of Isami in view of Luo teaches of the apparatus for controlling motor-based torque vectoring according to claim 5.
However, Kim in view of Isami in view of Luo does not specifically disclose of obtain a yaw acceleration by differentiating the yaw rate in order to obtain a differential control value for the PID control; and
limit a maximum value and a minimum value after low-pass filtering the yaw acceleration.
Benker, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of obtain a yaw acceleration by differentiating the yaw rate in order to obtain a differential control value for the PID control (“a lateral acceleration sensor and a tilt control device controlled by the lateral acceleration sensor for tilting the body about its longitudinal axis relative to at least one of a running gear and a bogie carrying the body, and the system further including a low-pass filter installed in a signal path between the lateral acceleration sensor and the tilt control device, wherein a characteristic element is installed in the signal path between the lateral acceleration sensor and the low-pass filter, wherein an output signal of the lateral acceleration sensor is fed to the characteristic element to generate an output signal of the characteristic element, and the output signal of the characteristic element is selected to keep lateral acceleration in the body approximately constant for a section in question, in which for a lower section of the output signal of the lateral acceleration sensor, no output signal of the characteristic element is generated, for a middle section of the output signal of the lateral acceleration sensor, the output signal of the characteristic element has a minimum value and a maximum value and is dependent on the output signal of the lateral acceleration sensor, and for an upper section of the output signal of the lateral acceleration sensor, the output signal of the characteristic element is the maximum value of the output signal of the characteristic element for the middle section of the output signal of the lateral acceleration.” (claim 1) and “The output signal aqa of the characteristic element 2 is fed to a low-pass filter 3, the filter output signal nws indicated by an unbroken line in FIG. 2c is generated, which corresponds to the set tilt angle about which the vehicle body negotiating a curve is actually tilted by the associated tilt control device in dependence on the prevailing lateral acceleration in the range between 0.4 and 1.6 m/s.sup.2. The broken line in FIG. 2c, on the other hand, indicates the curve of the set tilt angle which would apply to the tilt control of the vehicle body without the use of the characteristic element 2. The use of the characteristic element 2 therefore results in a steeper rise of the set tilt angel nws corresponding to the output signal aqa in the middle ramp section of the input signal aqe between the selectable values of 0.4 m/s.sup.2 and 1.6 m/s.sup.2. This means a time lead of the set tilt angle signal nws.” (Column 3 line 56 – Column 4 line 3); where it is noted that a PID controller by definition uses a differential control aspect that includes taking the differential of the value being assessed, which in this case the differential of a yaw rate is a yaw acceleration, or the rate of change of the error value of the PID controller, therefore this can be combined with the teachings of Luo); and
limit a maximum value and a minimum value after low-pass filtering the yaw acceleration (“a lateral acceleration sensor and a tilt control device controlled by the lateral acceleration sensor for tilting the body about its longitudinal axis relative to at least one of a running gear and a bogie carrying the body, and the system further including a low-pass filter installed in a signal path between the lateral acceleration sensor and the tilt control device, wherein a characteristic element is installed in the signal path between the lateral acceleration sensor and the low-pass filter, wherein an output signal of the lateral acceleration sensor is fed to the characteristic element to generate an output signal of the characteristic element, and the output signal of the characteristic element is selected to keep lateral acceleration in the body approximately constant for a section in question, in which for a lower section of the output signal of the lateral acceleration sensor, no output signal of the characteristic element is generated, for a middle section of the output signal of the lateral acceleration sensor, the output signal of the characteristic element has a minimum value and a maximum value and is dependent on the output signal of the lateral acceleration sensor, and for an upper section of the output signal of the lateral acceleration sensor, the output signal of the characteristic element is the maximum value of the output signal of the characteristic element for the middle section of the output signal of the lateral acceleration.” (claim 1) and “The output signal aqa of the characteristic element 2 is fed to a low-pass filter 3, the filter output signal nws indicated by an unbroken line in FIG. 2c is generated, which corresponds to the set tilt angle about which the vehicle body negotiating a curve is actually tilted by the associated tilt control device in dependence on the prevailing lateral acceleration in the range between 0.4 and 1.6 m/s.sup.2. The broken line in FIG. 2c, on the other hand, indicates the curve of the set tilt angle which would apply to the tilt control of the vehicle body without the use of the characteristic element 2. The use of the characteristic element 2 therefore results in a steeper rise of the set tilt angel nws corresponding to the output signal aqa in the middle ramp section of the input signal aqe between the selectable values of 0.4 m/s.sup.2 and 1.6 m/s.sup.2. This means a time lead of the set tilt angle signal nws.” (Column 3 line 56 – Column 4 line 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the PID controller, as taught by Kim in view of Isami in view of Luo, to include a yaw acceleration as a differential control value being limited by a maximum and minimum value after going through a low-pass filter, as taught by Benker, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to generate excellent noise immunity while making the system cost effective (Column 2 lines 5-28).
In regards to claim 19, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 9, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhao et al. (US 20240092185) discloses of determining a wheel torque applied to the wheels based on a ratio of the motor torque.
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3663