DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 11/25/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Youn et al. (US 12137430) in view of Kumar et al. (US 11206606).
Regarding claim 1, Youn teaches receiving, by a non-3GPP interwork function (N3IWF) of an overlay network from a wireless device, a non-access stratum (NAS) message (Fig. 20, step 2002a); and sending, by the N3IWF to an access and mobility management (AMF) of the overlay network (Fig. 20, step 2002a), a second message ((674) col. 65 line 57, In step S2002a, the UE may transmit a PDU session establishment request message, a service request message, or a registration request message to the AMF through the N3IWF).
However, Yoon does not expressly teach indicating an access type of non-3GPP access over 3GPP access. Kumar teaches Fig. 21, (117) col. 19 line 8, AMF 200 has received service request (in response to non 3gpp paging) over 3GPP, and Kumar further teaches (166) col. 27 line 4, an indication to register again for the non-3GPP access network with the AMF entity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Kumar in order to create an N2 interface between a N3IWF and the AMF entity ((166) col. 27 line 7).
Regarding claim 2, Kumar teaches wherein the first message comprises an extended access type indication (166) col. 27 line 4, an indication to register again for the non-3GPP access network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Kumar in order to create an N2 interface between a N3IWF and the AMF entity ((166) col. 27 line 7).
Regarding claim 3, Kumar teaches wherein the second message comprises the extended access type indication (166) col. 27 line 4, an indication to register again for the non-3GPP access network. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine with Kumar in order to create an N2 interface between a N3IWF and the AMF entity ((166) col. 27 line 7).
Regarding claim 4, Yoon teaches receiving, by the N3IWF from a first user plane function (UPF) of the overlay network, data packets for the wireless device (Fig. 20, (670) col. 65 line 25, PDU session is established between a UE, N3IWF, RAN, AMF, SMF, UPF, …).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Eunsook Choi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467