DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Indefinite
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites:
The transmitter according to claim 1, wherein the first mirror and the second mirror are arranged while avoiding a position irradiated with a ghost image of desired light included in the modulated light and a position irradiated with 0th-order light included in the modulated light.
This recites that the mirrors are “arranged while avoiding a position irradiated with ... and a position irradiated with...”. The claim does not particularly point out or distinctly claim what “arrangement” is within the scope of the claim, so that it is not clear what structure is being claimed.
Furthermore, the claim uses inferential claiming of “ghost image”, “desired light”, and “0th-order light” within the recitation of functionality of the first and second mirrors. As a result, it is not clear if the “ghost image”, “desired light”, and “0th-order light” are required (e.g., generated by the light source or in some other part of the transmitter).
An alternative interpretation is that this claim is directed to non-limiting intended use. In particular, the absence of a particular arrangement of mirrors and the use of inferential claiming suggests that this arrangement and these elements are not required limitations but rather recite how the transmitter is intended to be used.
For the purposes of this Action, this claim will be interpreted as non-limiting intended use. On the other hand, if Applicant intends to claim a particular arrangement of mirrors to produce the desired results, and if Applicant intends for the inferentially claimed language to be required, then the Examiner suggests clearly reciting the arrangement of the structure and affirmatively reciting the inferentially claimed elements. In any event, amendment is required.
Claims 3-6 are rejected because they depend from claim 2 and fail to further limit the scope in a manner to overcome the rejection of claim 2.
Claim 7 recites “a modulation part”, “a spatial light modulator”, and “a light source”. These elements were introduced in claim 1 (and this claim depends from claim 1). Therefore, it is not clear if these elements are the same as claim 1 (in which case the Examiner suggests using the article “said” or “the”), or if they are different elements (in which case the Examiner suggests using different terms in claim 7 to distinguish the elements). For the purposes of this Action, these elements are interpreted as being the same as the elements introduced in claim 1.
Claim 8 is rejected because it depends from claim 7 and fails to further limit the scope in a manner to overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 - Failure to Further Limit
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
As discussed above, it is not clear how to interpret this claim. However, one possible interpretation is that this claim is non-limiting intended use. Therefore, in the interests of compact prosecution, the claim is rejected because it has a scope that fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 - Obvious
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0021786 (Watanabe) and US 2022/0417478 (Okumura).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches a transmitter comprising:
a light source including a first light emitter and a second light emitter (FIG. 1: projector 10 producing first and second portions of radiated light 150; FIG. 3: light source 11);
a spatial light modulator including a modulation part that modulates light emitted from the light source (FIG. 3: spatial light modulator element 13);
a first mirror that is disposed on a first optical path of modulated light modulated by the modulation part and reflects the modulated light in a first projection direction (FIG. 1: mirror 201); and
a second mirror that is disposed on a second optical path of the modulated light modulated by the modulation part and reflects the modulated light in the first projection direction (FIG. 1: mirror 202).
FIGS. 1 and 3 are reproduced for reference.
Spatial Light Modulator.
Watanabe teaches a spatial light modulator element 13 that modulates the light according to a modulation signal from modulator element driving circuit 14. See FIG. 3. Although the Examiner is of the opinion that this is within the scope of the spatial light modulator recited in the claim, in the interests of compact prosecution Okumura is also cited. In particular, Okumura teaches an optical transmitting device that transmits spatial light signals. More specifically, it teaches that spatial light modulator were known to include a modulation part. See:
[0038] The spatial light modulator of the light transmitter 11 includes a modulation part configured to display a phase image related to the spatial light signal to be transmitted. FIG. 6 is a conceptual diagram illustrating an example of a configuration of the light transmitter 11. A modulation part 130 of a spatial light modulator 13 includes a region (first region) in which a phase image of a communication signal used for communication is set and a region (second region) in which a phase image of a dummy signal for applying noise to a signal near a ghost image is set. The phase image is a pattern in which a phase image related to an image to be displayed on the face to be projected is disposed in a tile shape. The light emitted to the modulation part 130 in a state where the pattern of the phase image of the communication signal is set in the first region and the pattern of the phase image of the dummy signal is set in the second region is modulated when reflected by the modulation part 130. Modulated light 140 reflected by the modulation part 130 is transmitted as a spatial light signal 150 via a projection optical system 14.
See also FIGS. 4-6.
It would have been obvious that the spatial light modulator of Watanabe can be implemented in a known manner, such as with a modulation part as taught in Okumura. In particular, both are in the same technical field (e.g., spatial light transmitters) and the results would have been predictable.
Light Source.
Watanabe teaches that a variety of sources can be used, and that the light source can emit different wavelengths or colors of light. See:
[0066] The light source 11 emits light 110 having a specific wavelength. A laser light source, for example, can be used as the light source 11. The light 110 emitted from the light source 11 is preferably in-phase coherent light. Generally, the light source 11 is configured to emit light in the visible range. The light source 11 may also be configured to emit light in a range other than the visible range, such as the infrared or ultraviolet range. The light source 11 may even be implemented as a light source other than a laser light source, such as a light-emitting diode, an incandescent lamp, or a discharge tube.
[0067] The light 110 emitted from the light source 11 is converted into coherent light 110 by a collimator 101 and enters a display part of the spatial light modulator element 13, as illustrated in FIG. 4. When, for example, the light source 11 is configured to emit light having a plurality of wavelengths, the color of display information can be changed by changing the wavelength of the light emitted from the light source 11. When the light source 11 is configured to simultaneously emit light beams having different wavelengths, display information having a plurality of colors can be displayed.
In other words, it is contemplated that different wavelengths or colors can be emitted so that different colors can be projected onto the display areas. As a result, it would have been obvious that more than one light emitter can be used. For example, one light emitter (e.g., laser) for each of several different wavelengths or colors of light that are used.
First Direction.
Watanabe at FIG. 1 illustrates that the mirrors 201, 202 both reflect the light to the same direction (i.e., the left side of the projector). The claim recites that both the first and second mirrors reflect the light in a “first projection direction”. The claim language is broad and has a scope that includes the teachings of Watanabe.
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe teaches the transmitter according to claim 2, wherein the first mirror and the second mirror have a convex curved reflecting surface, and are disposed with the reflecting surface facing the first projection direction (FIGS. 12 and 13 illustrate the use of different shaped mirrors).
FIGS. 12 and 13 illustrate that the mirrors can be flat, convex, or concave.
In particular, claim 12 illustrates a convex mirror. See also:
[0104] FIG. 12 illustrates a reflecting mirror 21b including a first mirror 201b implemented as a convex mirror. When the first mirror 201b of the reflecting mirror 21b is implemented as a convex mirror, the display area 311 can be enlarged more than when a plane mirror is used.
FIG. 13 illustrates the use of a concave mirror. See:
[0105] FIG. 13 illustrates a reflecting mirror 21c including a first mirror 201c implemented as a concave mirror. When the first mirror 201c of the reflecting mirror 21c is implemented as a concave mirror, the display area 311 can be enlarged more than when a convex mirror is used. Again, when the first mirror 201c is implemented as a concave mirror, display information equal in size to that when a convex mirror is used can be displayed at an extremely close distance. When, however, a concave mirror is used, since display information is inverted, a pattern displayed on the display part of the spatial light modulator element 13 needs to be inverted.
In other words, Watanabe recognizes advantages to using different shaped mirrors. Watanabe also teaches that the number and combination of mirror shapes (flat, convex, and concave) can be mixed and varied. See:
[0106] Referring to FIGS. 12 and 13, the second mirror 202 may be implemented as a convex or concave mirror. Referring to FIGS. 11 to 13, each of the first mirror 201 (201b or 201c) and the second mirror 202 may be implemented as a convex or concave mirror, and these mirrors may be combined together.
It would have been obvious that the first and second mirrors can be implemented in a known form, such as convex mirrors to realize the known benefits.
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe teaches the transmitter according to claim 3, further comprising:
a third mirror having a convex curved reflecting surface and disposed with the reflecting surface facing the first projection direction, wherein
the light source further includes a third light emitter, and the third mirror is disposed on a third optical path of the modulated light modulated by the modulation part, and reflects the modulated light toward the first projection direction.
Watanabe teaches the use of first and second mirrors as discussed in claim 1. However, it would have been obvious that more mirrors may be used to provide for more display areas. For example, FIG. 1 illustrates first and second display areas corresponding to the first and second mirrors in FIG. 1, and it would have been obvious that additional mirrors can be used to provide additional display areas (e.g., a third display area near the first and second display areas).
Similarly, it would have been obvious that more emitters may be used, for example, to provide the light for the additional mirrors and/or to provide for additional wavelengths/colors (see the discussion of claim 1). Finally, as discussed in claim 3, Watanabe teaches the use and advantages of convex mirrors and it would have been obvious that one or more of the mirrors can be convex mirrors.
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe teaches the transmitter according to claim 2, wherein
the light source further includes a third light emitter and a fourth light emitter,
each of the first mirror and the second mirror has two convex curved reflecting surfaces, and
the two reflecting surfaces are arranged in the first projection direction, and
one of the four reflecting surfaces of the first mirror and the second mirror is irradiated with the modulated light derived from light emitted from the first light emitter, the second light emitter, the third light emitter, and the fourth light emitter.
Third and Fourth Light Emitters.
It would have been obvious that more emitters may be used. For example, to provide the light for the additional mirrors/display areas and/or to provide for additional wavelengths/colors (see the discussion of claim 1).
Two Convex Curved Reflecting Surfaces,
Watanabe at FIG. 1 illustrates two mirrors 201, 202 that reflect light onto first and second display areas.
It would have been obvious that more mirrors may be used to provide for more display areas. For example, third and fourth mirrors can be used to provide third and fourth display areas near the first and second display areas.
As discussed in claim 3, Watanabe teaches that the mirror surfaces can be convex and it would have been obvious that one or more mirrors can be convex. See also FIG. 12 and the discussion of claim 3.
As seen in FIG. 1, the two mirrors 201, 202 are adjacent and collectively form a mirror with two reflecting surfaces (i.e., the first mirror with first and second reflecting surfaces). Therefore, when two additional mirrors are used, another two adjacent mirrors form a second mirror with first and second reflecting surface.
Reflecting Surface Illuminated by 1st-4th Light Emitters.
It would have been obvious that one or more of the reflecting surfaces are illuminated by one or more of the light emitters. In particular, Watanabe teaches:
[0067] The light 110 emitted from the light source 11 is converted into coherent light 110 by a collimator 101 and enters a display part of the spatial light modulator element 13, as illustrated in FIG. 4. When, for example, the light source 11 is configured to emit light having a plurality of wavelengths, the color of display information can be changed by changing the wavelength of the light emitted from the light source 11. When the light source 11 is configured to simultaneously emit light beams having different wavelengths, display information having a plurality of colors can be displayed.
In other words, it is contemplated that different wavelengths or colors can be emitted to provide a variety of colors for the displayed information. As a result, it would have been obvious that multiple light emitters can be used for each mirror to provide multiple colors for each display area. As a result, it also would have been obvious that one or more of the light emitters corresponding to the different colors can illuminate any or all of the mirrors in order to provide a desired number of colors for the different display areas.
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe teaches the transmitter according to claim 2, wherein
the light source further includes a third light emitter and a fourth light emitter,
each of the first mirror and the second mirror has a convex curved reflecting surface, and is disposed with the reflecting surface facing the first projection direction, and
one of the reflecting surfaces of the first mirror and the second mirror is irradiated with the modulated light derived from light emitted from the first light emitter, the second light emitter, the third light emitter, and the fourth light emitter.
Third and Fourth Light Emitters.
It would have been obvious that more emitters may be used. For example, to provide the light for the additional mirrors/display areas and/or to provide for additional wavelengths/colors (see the discussion of claim 1).
Convex Surfaces.
As discussed in claim 3, Watanabe teaches that the mirror surfaces can be convex and it would have been obvious that one or more mirrors can be convex. See also FIG. 12 and the discussion of claim 3.
Reflecting Surface Illuminated by 1st-4th Light Emitters.
It would have been obvious that one or more of the reflecting surfaces are illuminated by one or more of the light emitters. In particular, Watanabe teaches:
[0067] The light 110 emitted from the light source 11 is converted into coherent light 110 by a collimator 101 and enters a display part of the spatial light modulator element 13, as illustrated in FIG. 4. When, for example, the light source 11 is configured to emit light having a plurality of wavelengths, the color of display information can be changed by changing the wavelength of the light emitted from the light source 11. When the light source 11 is configured to simultaneously emit light beams having different wavelengths, display information having a plurality of colors can be displayed.
In other words, it is contemplated that different wavelengths or colors can be emitted to provide a variety of colors for the displayed information. As a result, it would have been obvious that multiple light emitters can be used for each mirror to provide multiple colors for each display area. As a result, it also would have been obvious that one or more of the light emitters corresponding to the different colors can illuminate any or all of the mirrors in order to provide a desired number of colors for the different display areas.
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe teaches a transmission device comprising: the transmitter according to claim 1;
a memory storing instructions (FIG. 42: storage devices 92, 93); and
a processor connected to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to set a phase image used for spatial light communication in a modulation part of a spatial light modulator included in the transmitter, and control a light source included in the transmitter such that the modulation part is irradiated with light (FIG. 42: processor 91).
FIG. 42 illustrates a hardware configuration for implementing the system. See:
[0196] A hardware configuration for implementing a control system for the projection system according to this example embodiment will be described herein by taking a computer 90 illustrated in FIG. 42 as an example. The computer 90 illustrated in FIG. 42 is an exemplary configuration for implementing the projection system according to each example embodiment, and does not limit the scope of the present invention.
[0198] The processor 91 expands a program stored in the auxiliary storage device 93 or the like onto the main storage device 92 and executes the expanded program. In this example embodiment, a software program installed on the computer 90 need only be used. The processor 91 executes arithmetic processing and control processing performed by the controller according to this example embodiment.
[0199] The main storage device 92 includes an area where the program is expanded. The main storage device 92 can be implemented as a volatile memory such as a dynamic random access memory (DRAM). A nonvolatile memory such as a magnetoresistive random access memory (MRAM) may also be used or added as the main storage device 92.
[0200] The auxiliary storage device 93 serves as a means for storing data such as the phase distribution of display information. The auxiliary storage device 93 is implemented as a local disk such as a hard disk or a flash memory. The auxiliary storage device 93 can also be omitted by storing the phase distribution of display information in the main storage device 92.
Watanabe also teaches that the spatial light modulator is a phase-modulation-type spatial light modulator. See:
[0122] The use of a phase-modulation-type spatial light modulator element allows projection of bright display information despite its small size, although the display information is limited to, for example, line drawings and characters or letters. When, however, a phase-modulation-type spatial light modulator element is simply used, since projection without distortion correction results in considerable distortion and an unnecessary image projected even outside a desired projection area, it is difficult to project highly precise display information on a desired display area. In this example embodiment, highly precise display information can be projected on a desired display area by distortion correction using mirrors constituting the reflecting mirror.
In other words, the computer of FIG. 42 implements the teachings of Watanabe. As a result, to the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that the computer would perform the operations of the system as recited in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe teaches the transmission device according to claim 7, wherein the processor is configured to execute the instructions to drive a plurality of light emitters included in the light source at timings independent from each other.
Watanabe teaches a processor to execute software to implement the functionality of the system. See the discussion of claim 7. To the extent it is not explicit, it would have been obvious that the implementation of the functionality of the system would include driving the light emitters. Regarding the light sources being driven independent of each other, this would be obvious, for example, when different light emitters generate different colors of light or illuminate different mirrors for different displays.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The prior art of record teaches the general subject matter of the claims (see the rejections above). However, it does not appear to teach the particular embodiments of claims 9 and 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2020/0021786 (Watanabe) at FIG. 1 illustrates a transmitter including a projector 10, first mirror 201, and second mirror 202.
FIG. 3 illustrates a more detailed view of the projector 10 including a light source 11 and spatial light modulator 13.
See:
[0066] The light source 11 emits light 110 having a specific wavelength. A laser light source, for example, can be used as the light source 11. The light 110 emitted from the light source 11 is preferably in-phase coherent light. Generally, the light source 11 is configured to emit light in the visible range. The light source 11 may also be configured to emit light in a range other than the visible range, such as the infrared or ultraviolet range. The light source 11 may even be implemented as a light source other than a laser light source, such as a light-emitting diode, an incandescent lamp, or a discharge tube.
FIGS. 12 and 13 illustrates that the mirrors can also be flat, concave, or convex.
US 2002/0186919 (Pepper) at FIG. 2 illustrates a free space optical transmitter including a laser 104, a modulator 103, and an optical delay unit that reflect the optical signals along different paths in the same direction.
As can be seen in FIG. 2, the delay unit 200 selectively reflects light at tap units 201. Embodiments of this are shown in more detail in FIG. 3.
In particular, there are reflective surfaces on the bottom 230 and at each tap 201. Another embodiment is illustrated in FIG. 4.
This also has reflective surfaces on the top 431, 432, 433 and bottom 430 surfaces. However, it does not teach the particular “modulation part” in the spatial light modulator as recited in the claims.
US 2003/0095305 (Kewitsch) teaches that spatial light modulators were known. See:
[0005] Various techniques are known for beam control along a pixel array, but the leading approach in the field of optical communications is to utilize liquid crystal spatial light modulators (LC-SLMs). LC-SLMs consist of an array of individual pixels or cells that can be individually controlled electrically and suitably miniaturized. Extensive development and production work has been done on these devices for large scale projection and flat panel television systems. The properties needed for optical communication cells and the special needs of data transmission, however, impose different demands. For optical communications, the cells can be used in analog fashion to function as attenuators, limiters, or equalizers, or they can also or separately be used in a digital fashion, in which case they function to control optical beams between essentially full transmission and full extinction (>40 dB) states. In display applications, the modulation of the optical properties of the cells can accommodate a degree of unwanted variations, because a display will still appear consistent or flicker-free to the viewer. Fiber optic applications, however, require a much more precise and uniform optical response and freedom from subtle aberrations, and therefore demand new and unique designs to meet optical systems requirements.
US 5,424,862 (Glynn) teaches that spatial light modulators were known. See the bottom of col. 1:
(9) It would be desirable to provide a satellite system having a large number of channels and high bandwidth, while providing a fully switched, interactive system. While optical-based spatial light modulator (SLM) technology is known, and can be used for transmission through the air, as evidenced for example in copending Appln. No. 08/133,879, filed in the name of the present inventor, the application of SLM technology to provide high capacity satellite communications has not been known, so far as the present inventor is aware.
US 2003/0090756 (Moon) teaches that spatial light modulators were known. See:
[0137] The set of optical components 1604 and the complimentary set of optical components 1606 are similar to the optical portions 15, 16 shown and described herein. For example, see FIG. 1A. The spatial light modulator 30 is shown and described herein as the well known micromirror device. The chisel prism 1602 has multiple faces, including a front face 1602a, first and second beveled front faces 1602b, a rear face 1602d and a bottom face generally indicated by 1602e. (It is noted that in embodiments having no retroflector or third optical path only two front faces are used, and in embodiments having a retroflector all three front faces are used.) Light from the set of optical components 1604 and the complimentary set of optical components 1606 passes through one or more faces of the chisel prism 1602, reflects off the spatial light modulator back to the chisel prism 1602, reflects off one or more internal surfaces of the chisel prism 1602 and passes back through the chisel prism 1602, passes back to the set of optical components 1604 or the complimentary set of optical components 1606.
US 2010/0028021 (Shimada) at FIG. 1 illustrates an OWC system.
See, for example, [0049]:
[0021] FIG. 1 is a block diagram explaining the configuration of a visible-light communication system according to an embodiment of the present invention. As shown in FIG. 1, the visible-light communication system has a visible-light communication apparatus 10 and another visible-light communication apparatus 20. Using visible light, bidirectional communication is accomplished between the communication apparatuses 10 and 20.
[0023] The visible-light communication device 20 comprises a light emission unit 21, a light reception unit 22, a data transmission unit 23, and a data reception unit 24. The light emission unit 21 has a light source and an LED driver. The light source is an LED, and the LED driver drives the LED. The light emission unit 21 emits a visible light beam 100 that is modulated, that is to say on which is superimposed the data output from the data transmission unit 23. (For convenience, this data will occasionally be referred to as "first transmission data"). The data transmission unit 23 is connected to a network (not shown). The unit 23 can therefore receive data via the network from a data source such as a server. From the data supplied from the server, the data transmission unit 23 generates data, which should be transmitted from the visible-light communication device 20.
[0024] The light reception unit 22 has an optoelectronic transducer unit that receives a visible light beam 200. The light reception unit 22 converts the beam 200 into an electrical signal. The electrical signal is output to the data reception unit 24. The data reception unit 24 demodulates the electrical signal output from the light reception unit 22, thereby extracting the data superimposed on the visible light beam 200. (For convenience, this data will occasionally be referred to as "second transmission data").
2010/0135671 (Park) at FIG. 3 illustrates the a free space WDM transmitter using red, green, and blue light.
This teaches generating plural data streams that are received at the receiver in FIG. 5. FIG. 5 illustrates an embodiment of an OWC receiver.
The receiver includes plural inputs corresponding to demodulation units 50, 71-73, with each of the demodulation units producing an output DATA1-DATA4. Demodulation units 71-73 each receive signals corresponding to different frequencies of light based on the filter 61-63 in front of the demodulation unit.
/DARREN E WOLF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634