DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed September 14, 2026 has been received and considered, as well as the Information Disclosure Statement filed August 26, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 8,434,749 to Rogge et al in view of PG Publication No. 2021/0396295 to Rawlings.
Regarding Claim 1, Rogge et al disclose a mounting assembly 10 (see Figures 1- 9) configured to couple a motor to a frame of a vehicle (see column 1 lines 15-20 and column 3 lines 4-8) comprising: an inner tube 16 defining an axis (see Figures 1 and 2), a damping element 18 coupled to the inner tube 16 (see Figure 1 and column 3 lines 32-62), and an outer shell 20 that houses each of the inner tube 16 and the damping element 18 (see Figure 1), wherein the damping element 18 is formed of a micro- cellular urethane material (see column 3 lines 4-11).
However, Rogge et al do not disclose that the damping element includes a plurality of projections that extend radially outward from the inner tube and axially along the axis and a plurality of protuberances that extend radially outward from the inner tube and axially along the axis, wherein adjacent projections are separated from each other by one of the plurality of protuberances; and the outer shell is configured to compress at least one of the plurality of projections or at least one of the protuberances.
Rawlings is relied upon merely for their teachings of a mounting assembly (see Figures 1 and 5) having a damping element 16 that includes a plurality of projections A- D that extend radially outward from an inner tube 12 and axially along an axis and a plurality of protuberances 124, 128 that extend radially outward from the inner tube 12 and axially along the axis, wherein adjacent projections A&B or C&D are separated from each other by one of the plurality of protuberances 128 or 124 (see Figure 5 and paragraphs 0026, 0027, and 0036); and an outer shell 40 is configured to compress at least one of the plurality of projections A-D or at least one of the protuberances 124,128 (see paragraphs 0036 and 0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the damping element of Rogge et al to include a plurality of projections that extend radially outward from the inner tube and axially along the axis and a plurality of protuberances that extend radially outward from the inner tube and axially along the axis, wherein adjacent projections are separated from each other by one of the plurality of protuberances; and the outer shell is configured to compress at least one of the plurality of projections or at least one of the protuberances as taught by Rawlings in order to provide high damping at lower frequencies and low damping at higher frequencies to achieve better overall vibration attenuation at low frequencies and reduced vibration transmission at high frequencies.
Regarding Claim 2, Rogge et al., as modified, do not disclose that the outer shell includes a first shell and a second shell that are configured to mate with each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have designed the outer shell of Rogge et al., as modified, to include a first shell and a second shell configured to mate with each other as a matter of design preference dependent upon the desired strength and durability of the outer shell, manufacturing constraints of the mount assembly, and overall size constraints of the mount assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s main point of contention with the non-final office action is that the Rawlings reference fails to disclose a plurality of protuberances constructed from the same material as the protrusions. Applicant argues that, in Claim 1, the damping element is recited to be formed of a micro-cellular urethane material, with the damping element further required to include projections and protuberances. Applicant then reiterates that Claim 1 explicitly states that the damping element is formed of a micro-cellular urethane material. As such, applicant contends that the projections and protuberances are also made from the same material and that this is not the case in the Rawlings’ teachings. Thus, applicant surmises that Claim 1 is not taught by the combination of the Rogge et al and Rawlings references.
In response to this, the examiner contends that applicant’s remarks are more specific than the claim language. While the examiner acknowledges that Claim 1 requires that the damping element be made of a micro-cellular urethane material, Claim 1 does not require that the projections and protuberances are also made from the micro-cellular urethane material. The claim language, when given its most broadest reasonable interpretation, can be interpreted to mean that the damping element is formed from some amount of the urethane material and does not necessarily mean that the protrusions and protuberances can’t be made from another material. As long as the damping element is formed (at least partly) from a micro-cellular urethane material, the claim limitation is met. Applicant does not specifically claim that the entire damping element is made from the urethane material. Further, Rogge et al already teach that forming a damping element out of micro-cellular urethane material is known and Rawlings is merely being relied upon to teach the projections and protuberances structures.
Applicant then goes on to argue that Rawlings discusses diametrically opposed protrusions 116, 120 that each includes spherically shaped contact surfaces 124,128. These elements are portions of travel limiter 36. Travel limiter 36 is formed from a plastic material such as 35% glass-filled nylon PA6. The travel limiter is purposefully constructed from a different material than the elastomeric bushing 16 such that the travel limiting function may be performed. Accordingly, Applicant submits that the Examiner has failed to provide a prima facie case of obviousness when attempting to have Rawlings teach both the claimed projections and protuberances.
In response to this, again, the examiner respectfully contends that applicant’s arguments are more specific than the claim language. The examiner maintains that the travel limiter 36 of Rawlings does form part of the entire damping element 16 and thus the protrusions and protuberances are part of the entire damping element. Their differing materials are noted, but again, this difference is not a requirement of the claim language of Claim 1.
It is for all these reasons that the rejections of Claims 1 and 2 have been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed September 14, 2026, with respect to Claims 11-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The objections of these Claims have been withdrawn and these claims have been subsequently allowed as indicated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
PAMELA RODRIGUEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3616
/PAMELA RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616 10/28/26