Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 03/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, the claims recite “4.5<Al2O3/Na2O<5.5” and “8 to 18 mol% of Al2O3”, thus the largest value of Na2O cannot be over 4%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20140170380A1.
Regarding claim 1, US20140170380A1 discloses a tempered glass having a compression stress layer in a surface thereof, the tempered glass comprising, as a glass composition in terms of mol %, 58 to 66% of SiO2, 3 to 15% of Al2O3, 0.3 to 20% of Na2O, 0-5% ZnO, 0 to 12% of B2O3, and 0 to 15% of CaO, and a molar ratio Na2O/Al2O3 of 1.2-2.3. See [0013,0042-0044,0046,00500058,0064]. The ratio of Al2O3/ Na2O is 0.83-0.43. The tempered glass has a thickness 0.1 mm. See [0085].
The reference differs from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges. However, the reference discloses "encompassing" ranges, and encompassing ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 2, the tempered glass has a thickness 0.1 mm. See [0085].
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the structure in the prior art, since the prior art combination teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the substantial ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwise.
Regarding claim 5, a density of the glass article may be in 2.60 grams per cubic centimeters (g/cm3). See [0025].
Regarding claims 6-11, the claimed properties are deemed to naturally flow from the structure in the prior art, since the prior art combination teaches an invention with a substantially similar structure and chemical composition as the claimed invention. The burden is on the Applicants to prove otherwise. Furthermore, the Examiner respectfully submits that the U.S. Patent Office is not equipped with analytical instruments to test prior art compositions for the infinite number of ways that a subsequent applicant may present previously unmeasured characteristics. When as here, the prior art appears to contain the substantial ingredients and applicant's own disclosure supports the suitability of the prior art composition as the inventive composition component, the burden is properly shifted to applicant to show otherwises
Regarding claim 12, US20140170380A1 discloses a tempered glass having a compression stress layer in a surface thereof, the tempered glass comprising, as a glass composition in terms of mol %, 58 to 66% of SiO2, 3 to 15% of Al2O3, 0.3 to 20% of Na2O, 0-5% ZnO, 0 to 12% of B2O3, and 0 to 15% of CaO, and a molar ratio Na2O/Al2O3 of 1.2-2.3. See [0013,0042-0044,0046,00500058,0064]. The ratio of Al2O3/ Na2O is 0.83-0.43. The tempered glass has a thickness 0.1 mm. See [0085]. The reference differs from Applicant's recitations of claims by not disclosing identical ranges. However, the reference discloses "encompassing" ranges, and encompassing ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731