Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th
paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter
of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon
which it depends. Claims is an apparatus claims which recite no additional
structure to further limit the structure as recited in the respective claims from which they
depend. Recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be
employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus. Applicant
may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form,
rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent
claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sehrt(US 5688013 A), and further in view of Me
lville(US 20090314112 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sehrt teaches an end effector comprising: one or more hole plates each including a plurality of holes; a plurality of pins including a plurality of inner pins and a plurality of outer pins disposed outside the plurality of inner pins; and a force application portion that applies an inward force to the plurality of outer pins, wherein the plurality of inner pins pass through the plurality of holes and are movable within a first distance in a pass-through direction of the plurality of holes with respect to the one or more hole plates. Sehrt fails to teach a cushion material to be used together with the one or more hole plates. However, Melville teaches a robotic gripping apparatus includes one or more constraining plates each having a plurality of holes formed therethrough and a plurality of elongate members with a foam chamber in between the plates. . Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Sehrt and Melville to have an end effector with a plurality of pins and hole plates capable of gripping objects of irregular shapes. (Refer to annotated Sehrt and Melville figs above)
Regarding Claim 2, Sehrt as modified by Melville teaches the end effector according to Claim 1, Melville further teaches wherein the plurality of outer pins are fixed so as not to move in the pass-through direction of the plurality of holes with respect to the one or more hole plates.
(Refer to annotated Melville Fig.1 above)
Regarding Claim 3, Sehrt as modified by Melville teaches the end effector according to Claim 2, with a plurality of outer pins except for having a length less than or equal to a value obtained by subtracting the first distance from a length of the plurality of inner pins. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the size of the outer pins such that it has a length less than or equal to a value obtained by subtracting the first distance from a length of the plurality of inner pins to better support the workpiece, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
(See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(A))
Regarding Claim 5, Sehrt as modified by Melville teaches the end effector according to Claim 1, Sehrt further teaches wherein end portions, of the plurality of inner pins, on the side where contact is made with the target object supported by the end effector each have a tapered shape. (Refer to annotated Sehrt Fig.9 above)
Regarding Claim 7 Sehrt as modified by Melville teaches the end effector according to Claim 1, Sehrt further teaches wherein end portions, of the plurality of outer pins, on a side closer to the target object supported by the end effector each have a rounded shape.
(Refer to annotated Sehrt Fig.9 above)
Regarding Claim 9, Sehrt as modified by Melville teaches the end effector according to Claim 1, Melville further teaches wherein the one or more hole plates are two hole plates, and the cushion material is disposed while being sandwiched between the two hole plates.
(Refer to annotated Melville Fig.8B above)
Claim(s) 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sehrt as modified by Melville applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Neeper(US 20110089709 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Sehrt as modified by Melville teaches the end effector according to Claim 1, However Sehrt fails to teach wherein a sleeve is attached to a side of end portions, of the plurality of pins, opposite to end portions on a side where contact is made with a target object supported by the end effector. However, Neeper teaches a gripper apparatus for removing and replacing objects with a plurality of pins wherein a sleeve is attached to a side of end portions (Paragraph[0045]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Sehrt , Melville and Neeper to have an end effector with a plurality of pins wherein a sleeve is attached to a side of end portions, of the plurality of pins, opposite to end portions on a side where contact is made with a target object supported by the end effector so that the sleeve can assist with grabbing the workpiece.
(Refer to Neeper Paragraph [0045])
Regarding Claim 6, Sehrt as modified by Melville teaches the end effector according to Claim 1, Sehrt fails to teach wherein anti-slip processing is performed on a region, of each of the plurality of inner pins, where contact is made with the target object supported by the end effector. However, Neeper teaches an apparatus for supporting and extracting a build part with a plurality of pins wherein anti-slip processing is performed on a region, of each of the plurality of inner pins, where contact is made with the target object supported by the end effector. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Sehrt , Melville and Neeper to have an end effector with a plurality of pins wherein anti-slip processing is performed in the region where the target object is supported so more friction is produces and the workpiece is supported more firmly.
(Refer to Neeper Paragraph [0045] and annotated Fig.1B above)
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sehrt as modified by Melville as applied to claim 1 above , and further in view of Sakakibara(US 20200078959 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Sehrt as modified by Melville teaches the end effector according to Claim 1, Sehrt fails to teach wherein the force application portion includes an inclined portion movable along the pass-through direction of the plurality of holes, and the inclined portion has a rounded shape. However, Sakakibara teaches a robotic gripping device with a force application portion in the form of an inclined portion. While Sakakibara doesn’t teach that the inclined portion has a rounded shape it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the shape of the incline portion to be rounded so that pins are able to better slide in the pass-through direction , since such a modification would have involved a mere change in shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Sehrt, Melville and Sakakibara have an end effector with plurality of pins and through holes where the lateral force application is an incline portion rather than a mechanism since that would lower the number of necessary parts therefore simplifying the manufacturing process of the invention.
(Refer to annotated Sakakibara Fig. 3) (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B))
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sehrt as modified by Melville as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Son(US 20210039266 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Sehrt as modified by Melville the end effector according to Claim 1 , Sehrt fails to teach and end effector set comprising: the end effector according to Claim 1; and another end effector supportable by the end effector. However, Son teaches a tool change system comprised of an end effector capable of gripping and supporting a tool. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Sehrt, Melville and Son to have an end effector set comprised of an end effector capable of gripping and supporting a tool where the tool is another end effector so that the end effector set is capable of gripping a large array of workpieces by utilizing different end effectors to do so.
(Refer to annotated Son Fig. 5 and 6)
Conclusion
/BRIAN BRAHJA/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654