Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/30/2025 has beenconsidered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on new portions of Nakagawa (US 11742976) for Claims 1, 15, and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-2, 4-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakagawa (US 11742976) in view of Younce (US 10524031).
Consider Claim 1, Nagakawa discloses a wavelength division multiplex apparatus, comprising: a plurality of optical modules (Figure 9, where AWGs 24c and 24d can be put into one module and AWGs 24e and 24f can be put into another module), each optical module having a first arrayed waveguide grating (Figure 9, elements 24c) , the first arrayed waveguide grating including a first output port (Figure 9, output of element 24c containing p01 to p04) and a plurality of first input ports (Figure 9, element 24c taking in inputs p1-p8), each of the plurality of first input ports configured to receive optical data signals from one of a plurality of transponders (Figure 9, transponder element 25a signals go to AWG element 24c) for transmission on a transport fiber (Figure 9, element 12), the first output port outputting a combined signal formed from the optical data signals received from the plurality of transponders (Figure 9, element 24c has combined output of p01-p04), wherein the plurality of optical modules are configured so that spectrally adjacent optical signals are mapped to corresponding first input ports on a different ones of the plurality of optical modules (Figure 2, where AWG element has input ports p1-p3 containing λa1-λa3, λb1-b3, and λc1-λc3 and Figure 3, where λa1-λa3 contain adjacent signals λ1-λ9; Figure 9, where AWGC elements 24c and 24e have input ports p1-p3 that can input these wavelengths), but fails to disclose wherein each optical module has an optical amplifier having an output and an input, the input of the optical amplifier being coupled to receive the combined signal from the first output port of the first arrayed waveguide grating.
However, Younce discloses wherein each optical module has an optical amplifier having an output and an input (Figure 1, element 120), the input of the optical amplifier being coupled to receive the combined signal from the first output port of the first arrayed waveguide grating (Figure 1, element 120, where amplifier element 120 is receiving combined signal 136 through a WSS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 2, Nagawaka discloses the apparatus of claim 1, comprising a wavelength selective switch (Figure 9, element 23c) having a plurality of multi-wavelength ports (Column 11, Line 29-32, where WSS had different ports for each wavelength) and a common port, the common port having a common optical signal formed from optical signals inputted to the plurality of multi-wavelength ports( Figure 9, element 23c is taking in a combined signal of multiple wavelengths so the output of WSS will be from inputs of multi-wavelength ports) the common port is coupled to the transport fiber (Figure 9, element 12 is coupled to output/common port of element 23c) but fails to disclose wherein each multi-wavelength port is associated with the output of the optical amplifier of one of the optical modules.
However, Younce discloses multi-wavelength port is associated with the output of the optical amplifier of one of the optical modules (Figure 1, element 120 is receving signals from add unit which includes multiple wavelengths ao that they can be inputted into multi-wavelength ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 4, Nagakawa discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the plurality of optical modules comprise N optical modules (Figure 9, where elements 24c and 24d can be considered as one module and elements 24e and 24f can be considered as another module which yields two total modules for N = 2) and the plurality of multi-wavelength ports comprise N multi-wavelength ports, where N is an integer value equal greater than or equal to 2 (Figure 9, element 23c, the combined input signal hast at least two wavelengths so there will be at least two multi-wavelength ports).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 5, Nagakawa discloses wherein the plurality of first input ports comprise M first input ports. where M is an integer value greater than 2 (Figure 9, element 24c has more than two inputs). It would be obvious as a matter of design choice to implement a greater number of modules (N) to be equal with M to accommodate more traffic on the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 6, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of first input ports comprise M first input ports, where M is an integer value greater than 2 and not equal to N (Figure 9, element 24c has more than input ports for two modules (N = 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 7, Nagawaka discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of optical modules have at least two first arrayed waveguides coupled to two or more of the plurality of first input ports (Figure 9, elements 24c and 24d have input ports corresponding to signal elements p1-p8 and elements 24e and 24f have input ports corresponding to signal elements p1-p8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 8, The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the optical data signals received on each of the plurality of first input ports from each of the plurality of transponders is at a different wavelength (Column 11, Lines 53-56, where transponder signals have different wavelengths).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 9, Nagakawa discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the spectrally adjacent optical signals comprise optical signals within a predetermined contiguous spectral bandwidth (Figure 9, λa1- λa3 can be a continuous spectral bandwidth) and having a central wavelength that is adjacent to another central wavelength within the predetermined contiguous spectral bandwidth (Figure 9, central frequency element f3 is adjacent to central frequency element f5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 10, Nagakawa discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of optical modules includes a second arrayed waveguide grating (Figure 9, element 24d) including a plurality of output ports configured to provide transported data signals received on the transport fiber to the plurality of transponders (Signals from element 24d are provided to transponder elements 25a and 25b via elements Y1c and Y1d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 11, Nagakawa discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second arrayed waveguide grating includes a second input port that receives the transported data signals (Figure 9, element 24d receives signals p01-p04) and separates the transported data signals into individual received signals for each of the plurality of output ports (Figure 9, element 24d takes incoming signals and splits into signals via p1-p8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 12, Nagakawa discloses the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the second input port is coupled to a plurality of multi-wavelength ports of a wavelength selective switch (Figure 9, element 23c, Column 11, Line 29-32, where WSS had different ports for each wavelength).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 13, Nagakawa discloses the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the plurality of output ports is equal to the plurality of first input ports of the first arrayed waveguide grating (Figure 9, where element 24d has the same input port as element 24c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 15, Nagakawa discloses an optical module for a wavelength division multiplexer or demultiplexer, comprising: a first arrayed waveguide grating (Figure 9, element 24c), the first arrayed waveguide grating including a first output port (Figure 9, output of element 24c containing p01 to p04) and a plurality of first input ports modules (Figure 9, element 24c taking in inputs p1-p8), each of the plurality of first input ports configured to receive optical data signals from one of a plurality of optical transponders (Figure 9, transponder element 25a signals go to AWG element 24c) for transmission on a transport fiber (Figure 9, element 12), the first output port outputting a combined signal formed from the optical data signals received from the plurality of transponders (Figure 9, element 24c has combined output of p01-p04), wherein a first optical data signal received at a first one of the plurality of first input ports corresponds to a first one of an input port on a second arrayed waveguide that is configured to receive a second optical data signal that is spectrally adjacent to the first optical data signal (Figure 2, where AWG element has input ports p1-p3 containing λa1-λa3, λb1-b3, and λc1-λc3 and Figure 3, where λa1-λa3 contain adjacent signals λ1-λ9; Figure 9, where AWGC elements 24c and 24e have input ports p1-p3 that can input these wavelengths) but fails to disclose an optical amplifier having an output and an input, the input of the optical amplifier being coupled to receive the combined signal from the first output port of the first arrayed waveguide grating.
However, Younce discloses an optical amplifier having an output and an input (Figure 1, element 120), the input of the optical amplifier being coupled to receive the combined signal from the first output port of the first arrayed waveguide grating (Figure 1, element 120, where amplifier element 120 is receiving combined signal 136 through a WSS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 16, Nagakawa discloses the optical module of claim 15, comprising a second arrayed waveguide grating (Figure 9, where AWG element 24d can be combined with element 24c to make an optical module) including a plurality of output ports configured to provide transported data signals received on the transport fiber to the plurality of optical transponders (Signals from element 24d are provided to transponder elements 25a and 25b via elements Y1c and Y1d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 17, Nagakawa discloses the optical module of claim 16, wherein the second arrayed waveguide grating includes a second input port that receives the transported data signals (Figure 9, element 24d receives signals p01-p04) and separates the transported data signals into individual received signals for each of the plurality of output ports (Figure 9, element 24d takes incoming signals and splits into signals via p1-p8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 18, Nagawaka discloses the optical module of claim 17, wherein the second input port is coupled to a plurality of multi-wavelength ports of a wavelength selective switch (Figure 9, element 23c, Column 11, Line 29-32, where WSS had different ports for each wavelength).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 19, Nagakawa discloses the optical module of claim 16, wherein the plurality of output ports is equal to the plurality of first input ports of
the first arrayed waveguide grating (Figure 9, where element 24d has the same input port as element 24c).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Consider Claim 20, Nagakawa discloses a system, comprising: a plurality of transponders (Figure 9, elements 25a and 25b); a transport fiber (Figure 9, element 12); and a plurality of optical modules (Figure 9, where AWG elements 24c and 24d can be put into one module and AWG elements 24e and 24f can be put into another module), each optical module having a first arrayed waveguide grating (Figure 9, element 24c) , the first arrayed waveguide grating including a first output port port (Figure 9, output of element 24c containing p01 to p04) and a plurality of first input ports (Figure 9, element 24c taking in inputs p1-p8), each of the plurality of first input ports configured to receive optical data signals from one of the plurality of transponders Figure 9, transponder element 25a signals go to AWG element 24c) for transmission on the transport fiber (Figure 9, element 12) , the first output port outputting a combined signal formed from the optical data signals received from the plurality of transponders (Figure 9, element 24c has combined output of p01-p04), wherein the plurality of optical modules are configured so that spectrally adjacent optical signals are mapped to corresponding first input ports on a different ones of the plurality of optical modules (Figure 2, where AWG element has input ports p1-p3 containing λa1-λa3, λb1-b3, and λc1-λc3 and Figure 3, where λa1-λa3 contain adjacent signals λ1-λ9; Figure 9, where AWGC elements 24c and 24e have input ports p1-p3 that can input these wavelengths), but fails to disclose each optical module has an optical amplifier having an output and an input, the input of the optical amplifier being coupled to receive the combined signal from the first output port of the first arrayed waveguide grating.
However, Younce discloses disclose each optical module has an optical amplifier having an output and an input (Figure 1, element 120), the input of the optical amplifier being coupled to receive the combined signal from the first output port of the first arrayed waveguide grating (Figure 1, element 120, where amplifier element 120 is receiving combined signal 136 through a WSS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Younce into Nagakawa to amplify the signal to travel longer distances.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ASIF SHAMEEM/Examiner, Art Unit 2634
/KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634