DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Notice to Applicant
In the amendment dated 12/3/2025, the following has occurred: Claims 1, 7, 13, 19, and 20 have been amended. Claim 18 has been canceled.
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bradley et al. US Patent 12,362,722 (of record).
As per claims 1-3 and 7-9, Bradley et al. discloses in Fig. 7 a reconfigurable bulk acoustic wave (BAW) device / reconfigurable transducer / reconfigurable filter (e.g. FBAR resonator 200 which is used in a filter as stated in Col. 17 lines 2-5; The resonator 200 is “reconfigurable” by virtue of an electric field across a piezoelectric material therein modifying (i.e. “reconfiguring”) a direction of the C-axis vector as stated in the Abstract. Further, BAW resonators therein are inherently transducers since they convert electrical to acoustic waves, as well-known in the art.), comprising:
as per claims 1 and 3, a first reconfigurable BAW resonator; and a second reconfigurable BAW resonator (e.g. upper and lower stacked FBARs) stacked vertically over or under the first reconfigurable BAW resonator (The upper FBAR is stacked over the lower FBAR.), wherein the first reconfigurable BAW resonator and the second reconfigurable BAW resonator each include: a first electrode (e.g. electrode 704 of the upper FBAR and electrode 402 of the lower FBAR); a second electrode (e.g. lower unlabeled electrode of the upper FBAR and electrode 204 of the lower FBAR); and a ferroelectric layer (i.e. scandium aluminum nitride) (Col. 5 lines 56-62, piezoelectric layers 302 and 702 are made of scandium aluminum nitride which is a ferroelectric, as well-known in the art) between the first electrode and the second electrode, the ferroelectric layer having an electric polarization that is tunable between a first polarization state and a second polarization state (Abstract; An electric field is applied across the piezoelectric layer of each of the FBARs in Fig. 7 and adjusts or “tunes” a compression axis vector (C-axis vector) to be oriented along a first direction (i.e. “a first polarization state” or a second direction (i.e. “a second polarization state”).) by changing an electromechanical coupling coefficient of the ferroelectric layer through an application of an external electric field (As stated in Col. 5 lines 56-62, the ferroelectric layer is formed from AIN doped with scandium to form scandium aluminum nitride. It is inherent that the electric field applied across the piezoelectric layer of each of the FBARs changes an electromechanical coupling coefficient of the ferroelectric layer by virtue of the ferroelectric layer being doped with scandium, as well-known in the art. For example, see pertinent art section below for two exemplary teachings highlighting that doping a material within an acoustic device result in changes in an electromechanical coupling coefficient therein.);
as per claim 2, wherein the first electrode and the second electrode each comprise tungsten or molybdenum (Col. 7 lines 29-31 and Col. 11 lines 26-29; The electrode layers each comprise tungsten or molybdenum.);
as per claims 7 and 9, a first reconfigurable transducer stacked vertically over a second reconfigurable transducer (e.g. upper and lower stacked FBARs); an intermediate electrode (e.g. electrode 402) between the first reconfigurable transducer and the second reconfigurable transducer (The electrode layer 402 is disposed between the upper FBAR and layers 204/302 of the lower FBAR.), wherein: the first reconfigurable transducer comprises: a first electrode (e.g. electrode 704); a first ferroelectric layer (i.e. scandium aluminum nitride) (Col. 5 lines 56-62, piezoelectric layer 702 which is made of scandium aluminum nitride which is a ferroelectric, as well-known in the art) between the first electrode and the intermediate electrode (Layer 702 is disposed between electrodes 704 and 402.); the ferroelectric layer having an electric polarization that is tunable between a first polarization state and a second polarization state (Abstract; An electric field is applied across the piezoelectric layer of each of the FBARs in Fig. 7 and adjusts or “tunes” a compression axis vector (C-axis vector) to be oriented along a first direction (i.e. “a first polarization state” or a second direction (i.e. “a second polarization state”).) by changing an electromechanical coupling coefficient of the ferroelectric layer through an application of an external electric field (As stated in Col. 5 lines 56-62, the ferroelectric layer is formed from AIN doped with scandium to form scandium aluminum nitride. It is inherent that the electric field applied across the piezoelectric layer of each of the FBARs changes an electromechanical coupling coefficient of the ferroelectric layer by virtue of the ferroelectric layer being doped with scandium, as well-known in the art. For example, see pertinent art section below for two exemplary teachings highlighting that doping a material within an acoustic device results in changes in an electromechanical coupling coefficient therein.); and the second reconfigurable transducer comprises a second ferroelectric layer (Col. 5 lines 56-62, piezoelectric layer 302 which is made of scandium aluminum nitride which is a ferroelectric, as well-known in the art) between the intermediate electrode and a second electrode (The layer 302 is disposed between the layer 402 and a bottom layer 204 of the lower FBAR.); and
as per claim 8, wherein the first electrode, the intermediate electrode, and the second electrode each comprise tungsten or molybdenum (Col. 7 lines 29-31 and Col. 11 lines 26-29; The electrode layers each comprise tungsten or molybdenum.).
Claims 1, 3-7, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Volatier et al. US Patent 7,586,391 (of record).
As per claims 1, 3-7, and 9-12, Volatier et al. discloses in Fig. 9 a reconfigurable bulk acoustic wave (BAW) device / reconfigurable transducer / reconfigurable filter (e.g. switchable resonator filter 500; The filter 500 is “reconfigurable” by virtue of a frequency therein being able to be switchable (i.e. “reconfigurable”). Further, BAW resonators therein are inherently transducers since they convert electrical to acoustic waves, as well-known in the art.), comprising:
as per claims 1 and 3, a first reconfigurable BAW resonator (e.g. resonator 118b); and a second reconfigurable BAW resonator (e.g. resonator 108b) stacked vertically over or under the first reconfigurable BAW resonator (The resonator 108b is stacked under the resonator 118b.), wherein the first reconfigurable BAW resonator and the second reconfigurable BAW resonator each include: a first electrode (e.g. electrode 124b of resonator 118b and electrode 114b of resonator 108b); a second electrode (e.g. electrode 122b of resonator 118b and electrode 112b of resonator 108b); and a ferroelectric layer (i.e. barium titanate) (Col. 6 lines 6-10, layer 120b of resonator 118b and layer 110b of resonator 108b are made of barium titanate which is a ferroelectric, as well-known in the art) between the first electrode and the second electrode; the ferroelectric layer having an electric polarization that is tunable between a first polarization state and a second polarization state (Col. 10 lines 8-62; Operation of the filter in Fig. 9 is the same as Figs. 7-8. A control voltage determines switching functions (i.e. “first and second polarization states”) for the filter therein depending on a zero or non-zero control voltage.) by changing an electromechanical coupling coefficient of the ferroelectric layer through an application of an external electric field (Col. 6 lines 6-10; The ferroelectric layer is formed from barium titanate doped with strontium. It is inherent that an electric field applied therein via DC control voltage DC2 changes an electromechanical coupling coefficient of the ferroelectric layers 120b and 110b by virtue of the ferroelectric layers being doped with strontium, as well-known in the art. For example, see pertinent art section below for an exemplary teaching Stephanou et al. highlighting that doping a material within an acoustic device result in changes in an electromechanical coupling coefficient therein.);
as per claim 4, a direct current power supply (e.g. DC control voltage DC2) operably connected to at least one of the first reconfigurable BAW resonator or the second reconfigurable BAW resonator (DC control voltage DC2 is connected to the resonators 118b and 108b.);
as per claim 5, a coupling layer (e.g. acoustic coupling layers 116) between the first reconfigurable BAW resonator and the second reconfigurable BAW resonator;
as per claim 6, wherein the coupling layer comprises aluminum nitride (Col. 5 lines 63-67 and Col. 6 lines 1-3; The layers 116 are made of at least aluminum nitride.);
as per claims 7 and 9, a first reconfigurable transducer (e.g. resonator 118b) stacked vertically over a second reconfigurable transducer (e.g. resonator 108b); an intermediate electrode (e.g. electrode 114b) between the first reconfigurable transducer and the second reconfigurable transducer (The electrode 114b is disposed between resonator 118b and layers 110b/112b of the resonator 108b.), wherein: the first reconfigurable transducer comprises: a first electrode (e.g. electrode 124b); a first ferroelectric layer (i.e. barium titanate) (Col. 6 lines 6-10, layer 120b which is made of barium titanate which is a ferroelectric, as well-known in the art) between the first electrode and the intermediate electrode (Layer 120b is disposed between layers 124b and 114b.); the ferroelectric layer having an electric polarization that is tunable between a first polarization state and a second polarization state (Col. 10 lines 8-62; Operation of the filter in Fig. 9 is the same as Figs. 7-8. A control voltage determines switching functions (i.e. “first and second polarization states”) for the filter therein depending on a zero or non-zero control voltage.) by changing an electromechanical coupling coefficient of the ferroelectric layer through an application of an external electric field (Col. 6 lines 6-10; The ferroelectric layer is formed from barium titanate doped with strontium. It is inherent that an electric field applied therein via DC control voltage DC2 changes an electromechanical coupling coefficient of the ferroelectric layers 120b and 110b by virtue of the ferroelectric layers being doped with strontium, as well-known in the art. For example, see pertinent art section below for an exemplary teaching Stephanou et al. highlighting that doping a material within an acoustic device result in changes in an electromechanical coupling coefficient therein.); and the second reconfigurable transducer comprises a second ferroelectric layer (Col. 6 lines 6-10, layer 110b which is made of barium titanate which is a ferroelectric, as well-known in the art) between the intermediate electrode and a second electrode (The layer 110b is disposed between the electrode 114b and a “second electrode” 112b.);
as per claim 10, a direct current power supply (e.g. DC control voltage DC2) operably connected to the first electrode and the intermediate electrode (The voltage DC2 is electrically connected to the electrodes 124b and 114b.);
as per claim 11, a direct current power supply (e.g. DC control voltage DC2) operably connected to the intermediate electrode and the second electrode (The voltage DC2 is electrically connected to the electrodes 114b and 112b.); and
as per claim 12, a reflector (e.g. bragg mirror 136) arranged over the first electrode of the first reconfigurable transducer or the second electrode of the second reconfigurable transducer (The mirror 136 is disposed over a bottom surface of the electrode 112b of the second transducer 108b.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-17 and 19-20 are allowed. As per claim 13, see Applicant’s Remarks dated 12/3/2025 for reasons for allowance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-12 under 35 USC 102(a)(2) and 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
The Applicant states that Bradley does not teach “changing an electromechanical coupling coefficient of the ferroelectric layer through an application of an external magnetic field”. Consequently, Bradley only discuss the selection of materials to ensure that the C-axis vector is changeable while ensuring a high electromechanical coupling. Bradley does not teach that the “electromagnetic coupling” itself is changeable “through the application of an external electric field in order to tune the electric polarization of the ferroelectric layer between a first polarization state and a second polarization state” as required by claim 1. Volatier does not mention “an electromechanical coupling coefficient” and therefore clearly does not disclose the required features of claims 1 and 7.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. Both Bradley and Volatier teach applying an electric field therein via a DC bias voltage. Although neither reference explicitly states that electromechanical coupling is changeable through the application of an external electric field, the DC bias voltage providing the electric field in both references inherently changes the electromechanical coupling coefficient therein by virtue of the ferroelectric material being a doped material. The Examiner provides two exemplary teachings for evidence of the assertion. Stephanou et al. discloses in Paragraph 36 that changes in material properties in acoustic devices as a result of higher doping can result in large magnitude electromechanical coupling coefficient changes therein. Koohi et al. 2023/0223926 exemplarily discloses in Paragraph 8 and Fig. 4a a BAW resonator, where a DC bias voltage is applied between two electrodes across a doped ferroelectric material scandium aluminum nitride, thereby changing an electromechanical coupling coefficient therein. Thus, contrary to Applicant’s Remarks, each of the two references discloses the amended limitations in claims 1 and 7, thereby meeting all of the limitations in the amended independent claims. This action has been made non-final.
Pertinent Art
The following references are examples of exemplary teachings used as evidence for an assertion made by the Examiner above:
Stephanou et al. US 2014/0125432 exemplarily discloses in Paragraph 36 that changes in material properties in acoustic devices as a result of higher doping can result in large magnitude electromechanical coupling coefficient changes therein.
Koohi et al. US 2023/0223926 exemplarily discloses in Fig. 4a a BAW resonator, where a DC bias voltage is applied between two electrodes across a ferroelectric material, thereby changing an electromechanical coupling coefficient therein (Paragraph 8 of Koohi et al.).
Conclusion
/RAKESH B PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843