DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 16, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner holds that previously cited US 2017/0293073 (“CHEN-1”) teaches that the duct (204, 504) forms communicating vessels (as shown in FIG. 5, the vessels being the portions of duct 504 located between edge couplers 508) between the plurality of edge couplers (508, including waveguides 308), the one or more main buckets (502), and the one or more monitor buckets. Furthermore, as stated in par. [0047], CHEN-1 teaches that this is located at the wafer level. As such, Examiner maintains the outstanding claim rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-11, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHEN-1.
Regarding claim 1, CHEN-1 teaches a system comprising :a plurality of edge couplers (508), each comprising an undercut (310) formed beneath a waveguide (308), wherein ribs (112) suspend the waveguide over the undercut (FIG. 3; par. [0028]); one or more main buckets (502) configured to receive an index-matching liquid (pars. [0047]-[0049]); one or more monitor buckets (106); and a duct (204, 504) that couples together the plurality of edge couplers, the one or more main buckets, and the one or more monitor buckets (FIGs. 1-5), wherein the duct forms communicating vessels between the plurality of edger couplers, the one or more main buckets, and the one or more monitor buckets (FIG. 5, the vessels being the portions of duct 504 located between edge couplers 508), such that index-matching liquid introduced through the one or more main buckets is directed to flow through the duct to fill the undercuts of the plurality of edge couplers and flow to the monitor buckets, thereby assisting uniform filling and monitoring of the index-matching liquid across multiple couplers on a wafer (FIGs. 1-5; pars. [0021], [0026], [0028], [0030]-[0032], [0034]-[0036], [0038]-[0041], [0044], [0046]-[0048], [0053], [0054]).
Regarding claim 2, CHEN-1 teaches that the index-matching liquid is an oil or an epoxy (par. [0037]).
Regarding claim 3, CHEN-1 teaches that one or more main buckets comprise an opening to add the index-matching liquid into the system (par. [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, CHEN-1 teaches that the one or more monitor bucket comprise an opening (106) to monitor the filling process.
Regarding claim 8, CHEN-1 teaches that a separation distance between at least one of the one or more monitor buckets and at least one of the one or more main buckets is greater than the separation distance between any one of the undercuts and any of the one or more main buckets (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 9, CHEN-1 teaches that the plurality of undercuts, the one or more main buckets, and the one or more monitor buckets are formed on a same layer of the wafer (FIGs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 10, CHEN-1 teaches that the plurality of undercuts, the one or more main buckets, and the one or more monitor buckets are of a same depth (par. [0040]).
Regarding claim 11, CHEN-1 teaches that the coupling by the duct forms communicating vessels from the plurality of edge couplers, the one or more main buckets, and the one or more monitor buckets (par. [0039]).
Regarding claim 15, CHEN-1 teaches that a photonic integrated circuit comprises the system (par. [0049]).
Regarding claim 16, CHEN-1 teaches that the wafer is a silicon photonics wafer (pars. [0029], [0045], [0047]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN-1.
CHEN-1 teaches the limitations of the base claims 1 and 3. The additional limitations appear to involve either mere changes in shape or mere dimensional optimization. It has been held that mere changes in shape hold no patentable weight absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration has significance. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Furthermore, it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the shape and optimize the dimensions of the system of CHEN-1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN-1 as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of US 2004/0103950 (“IRIGUCHI”).
CHEN-1 teaches the limitations of the base claim 3. CHEN-1 does not explicitly teach that the opening is suitable for the filling with the index-matching liquid by an automatic station. IRIGUCHI teaches an opening that is suitable for a filling with index-matching liquid by an automatic station (pars. [0065], [0077], [0088]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the system of CHEN-1 with the automatic station of IRIGUCHI. The motivation would have been to automate the filling process (pars. [0065], [0077], [0088]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN-1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2012/0076465 (“CHEN-2”).
CHEN-1 teaches the limitations of the base claim 1. CHEN-1 does not explicitly teach that filling of the undercuts with the index-matching liquid increases a mode field diameter at the facet of the waveguides. CHEN-2 teaches filling of undercuts with an index-matching liquid which increases a mode field diameter at a facet of a waveguide (pars. [0044]-[0046]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the system of CHEN-1 such that the mode field diameter at a facet of the waveguides is increased, as taught by CHEN-2. The motivation would have been to improve coupling efficiency (pars. [0044]-[0046]).
Conclusion
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874