DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (US 11233303 B2) in view of Liu et al. (US 8558637 B2), Zhou et al. (US 20220399644 A1) and Choi et al. (US 20200136269 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Watanabe et al. discloses an antenna module (High Frequency Filter antenna unit as seen in figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.) comprising:
a ground layer (Ground layer 16; Paragraph 239 and figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.); and
an antenna structure on the ground layer and comprising (Multilayer substrate 1 comprises the antennas and corresponding structures and is placed on ground plane 16 as seen in figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.):
a plurality of layers comprising a first layer (Multilayer substrate may comprise a first layer in substrate 11 that is connected to a via 31b and substate 11 may have an antenna element 101 disposed within; Paragraph 122-133 and 215-229 as well as figure 12 and 26-27 of Watanabe et al.), a second layer, a third layer and a fourth layer wherein the second layer and the third layer are between the ground layer and the first layer, and the fourth layer is between the third layer and the ground layer (A layer comprising stub 111a may be a second layer of the structure and a layer comprising the stub 11b may be a third layer of the structure wherein the second and third layers are between the first and the ground, furthermore a layer 14 may serve as a fourth layer between the third layer and ground 16 ; Paragraph 25-40 and 215-229 as well as figures 26-27 of Watanabe et al.);
a plurality of vias extending through at least a portion of the plurality of layers, the plurality of vias comprising a first via extending between the first layer and the second layer, a second via extending between the second layer and the third layer, a third via extending between the third layer and the fourth layer (Conductor columnar column 31 and 41 comprises multiple portions 31a-31c and 41a-c serving as a vias that extends through the plurality of layers wherein first portion of columnar body 31b is a first via extending between the first/second layer, another portion of 31b or 41b are a second via connecting the second and third layer, and a final portion of 31b or 41 connects the third and fourth layer; Paragraph 42-44 and 215-229 as well as Figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.), and a fourth via extending between the fourth layer and the ground layer (Columnar conductor portion 31c or portion 41c may serve as a third via that can be designed to extend between a fourth layer 15 and a ground layer 16 as seen in figure 12; Paragraph 122-133, 42-44 and 215-229 as well as Figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.);
a radiating element (Antenna structure can include a radiating element in the form of patch 102 or an antenna element 61; Paragraph 122-133 and 215-229 as well as figure 12 and 26-27 of Watanabe et al.) ;
a first stub in the second layer and extending from the second via in a first direction (Stub 111a can serve as a first stub in the second layer extending from the second via in a first direction Paragraph 215-229 as well as figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.) and
a second stub in the third layer and extending from the second via (Stub like 111b can serve as a second stub in the third layer wherein said stub extends from the same second via as the first stub 111a; Paragraph 215-229 and figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.); and
a first feed line (First feed line 21a may be disposed in the antenna structure; Paragraph 103 and 215-229 as well as figures 26-27 of Watanabe et al.),
wherein the ground layer comprises a port (Columnar conductor 31 may be represented by coupling line 71 wherein the ports would be the two ends of the column body including a port on the ground 16; Paragraph 65-72 and figure 4 of Watanabe et al.), and
wherein one port of the plurality of ports is connected to the fourth via and is configured to transmit a transmission signal, which is provided form the ground layer, to the fourth via (Ground plane 16 may comprise an opening serving as a single port wherein a high frequency circuit 62 may feed a signal through the fourth via 31c up to the rest of the invention however there may be a plurality of ports in the form of ports for columnar bodies 41c as well as additional feeding port like the one in the layer for feeding line 21b and 21a of figure 27 wherein ; Paragraph 122-133 and figure 12 of Watanabe et al.).
Watanabe et al. fail to explicitly disclose a radiating element in the first layer, a second stub in a second direction different form the first direction, a first feed line in the second layer and extending in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via, and wherein the ground layer comprises a plurality of ports.
Watanabe et al. does suggest the ground layer comprises a plurality of ports (Ground layer 16 would comprise multiple receiving points for the ends of columnar body 31 as well as for ends of columnar bodies 41 which would serve as port structures; Paragraph 122-133 and 215-229 as well as figure 12 and 26-27 of Watanabe et al.).
However, Liu et al. does disclose a radiating element in the first layer (Multilayer circuit discloses a patch 1415 disposed in a first layer 1404 with multiple stubs discloses in other layers; Paragraph 44-47 and figure 14 of Liu et al.), a second stub in a second direction different form the first direction (A second stub 913 extends in a different angled direction from a first stub 911 extending in a downward first direction; Paragraph 41-47 and figure 9-10 of Liu et al.), and a first feed line in the second layer and extending in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via (Multilayer structure can comprise a feed line structure formed by transmission line 104 and components 110/118 that connects a first via 302 that connects to a first layer like 206, which could be the ground of the patch layer of other embodiments, and a second via 212 that connects the second and third layers wherein the feed line 104 extends in third direction that is perpendicular to the extending direction of the first stub like 911; Paragraph 42-47 and figure 9-10 of Liu et al.).
Zhou et al. also discloses a second stub in a second direction different form the first direction (Antenna module comprises a two harmonic units 21_1 and 21_2, that suppress 2nd and 3rd harmonic components, with extension portions 31 and 32 forming a stub wherein the first unit 21_1 can extend in a first direction and the second unit 21_2 can extend in a second direction as seen in figure 6 or they can be on opposite sides as seen in figure 4 wherein 21_2 can be designed to extend the other way such that s2 is opposite of s1; Paragraph 47-76 and figure 1-6 of Zhou et al.)
Choi et al. further discloses wherein the ground layer comprises a plurality of ports (Antenna module 40 may comprise 4 ports on the ground plane 43 and 2 of the ports PT1 and PT3 comprise lines 44_1 and 44_2 that feed the antenna and are connected to the ports; Paragraph 84-87 and figure 12-13b of Choi et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. to have a radiating element in the first layer, and a first feed line extending in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via as taught by Liu et al. since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from wanting to place the antenna inside the first layer for achieving better antenna performance (Paragraph 47 of Liu et al.) and since the position of the feed line would affect how the feed pathway to the antenna are and hence antenna performance.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. to have a second stub in a second direction different form the first direction as taught by Zhou et al. since its position affects spacing requirements and antenna cable routing (Paragraph 74 of Zhou et al.) as well as affecting the coupling between structures.
It would also be obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al., Liu et al., and Zhou et al. to have the ground layer comprises a plurality of ports, as taught by Choi et al. to supply different signals to the antenna to transmit at different frequencies (Paragraph 38 and 87 of Choi et al.).
Regarding Claim 2, Watanabe et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of vias are configured to transmit the transmission signal to the radiating element ( Conductor columnar column 31 serves as inner conductors of a coaxial cable and are fed by a microstrip line 21b and connect to the radiating element by another microstrip line 21a to feed transmission signals; Paragraph 103 and figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.).
Regarding Claim 3, Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. fail to disclose each of the first stub and the second stub is configured to filter a harmonic component of the transmission signal, and wherein each of the first stub and the second stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth(1/4) of a guided wavelength of the harmonic component.
However, Zhou et al. does disclose wherein each of the first stub and the second stub is configured to filter a harmonic component of the transmission signal , and wherein each of the first stub and the second stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth(1/4) of a guided wavelength of the harmonic component (Harmonic units 21_1 and 22_2 are designed to suppress a second and third harmonic wherein said harmonic units comprise stubs in the form of extension portions 31 and 32 that comprise lengths equal to ¼ of the wavelength of the harmonic they suppress which can be a second and third harmonic; Paragraph 13 and 61-67 as well as figure 1-6 of Zhou et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. to have each of the first stub and the second stub is configured to filter a harmonic component of the transmission signal, and wherein each of the first stub and the second stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth(1/4) of a guided wavelength of the harmonic component as taught by Zhou et al. to suppress the interference caused by the harmonics since a spurious signal caused by the harmonics can be severe (Paragraph 60-78 of Zhou et al. et al.).
Regarding Claim 6, Watanabe et al. further discloses wherein each of the first stub and the second stub has a micro-strip line structure (Stubs 111a and 111b have a microstrip line structure as seen In figure 26 of Watanabe et al.).
Regarding Claim 7, Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the first stub and the second stub resonates the harmonic component.
However, Zhou et al. does discloses wherein each of the first stub and the second stub resonates the harmonic component (Stubs in the form of extending elements 31 and 32 are resonate the harmonic components; Paragraph 13 and 61-67 as well as figure 1-6 of Zhou et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. to have each of the first stub and the second stub resonates the harmonic component as taught by Zhou et al. so that the stubs can suppress the interference caused by the harmonics since a spurious signal caused by the harmonics can be severe (Paragraph 60-78 of Zhou et al. et al.).
Regarding Claim 8, Watanabe et al. further discloses wherein the antenna module further comprises a feed line in the fourth layer that is configured to feed the transmission signal to the plurality of vias(Second Substrate 14 can server as a 4th layer with the microstrip line 21b layer between the 3rd layer and ground plane wherein a feed line in the form of a microstrip line 21b is placed to feed a signal to the via structure 31; Paragraph 103 and figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.).
Regarding Claim 9, Watanabe et al. further discloses wherein the first stub comprises a first-first sub-stub and a first-second sub-stub having different widths, and the second stub comprises a second-first sub-stub and a second-second sub-stub having different widths (Stubs are formed by a first matching element and a second length portion integrally formed and the first portion in the form of the matching element 112a and 112b have a different width form a second portion 111a and 111b which have their own width widths as seen in Figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.).
Regarding Claim 10, Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first stub is configured to filter an nth harmonic component (n is a natural number equal to or greater than 2) of the transmission signal, and the second stub is configured to filter an (n+1)th harmonic component of the transmission signal.
However, Zhou et al. does discloses wherein the first stub is configured to filter an nth harmonic component (n is a natural number equal to or greater than 2) of the transmission signal, and the second stub is configured to filter an (n+1)th harmonic component of the transmission signal (Harmonic units 21_1 and 22_2 are designed to suppress a second and third harmonic wherein said harmonic units comprise stubs in the form of extension portions 31 and 32 that comprise lengths equal to ¼ of the wavelength of the harmonic they suppress which can be a second and third harmonic; Paragraph 13 and 61-67 as well as figure 1-6 of Zhou et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. to have the first stub be configured to filter an nth harmonic component (n is a natural number equal to or greater than 2) of the transmission signal, and the second stub is configured to filter an (n+1)th harmonic component of the transmission signal as taught by Zhou et al. so that the stubs can suppress the interference caused by the harmonics since a spurious signal caused by the harmonics can be severe (Paragraph 60-78 of Zhou et al. et al.).
Regarding Claim 11, Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least one of a width and a length of each of the first stub and the second stub is set to filter the nth harmonic component and the (n+1)th harmonic component.
However, Zhou et al. does discloses wherein at least one of a width and a length of each of the first stub and the second stub is set to filter the nth harmonic component and the (n+1)th harmonic component (Harmonic units 21_1 and 22_2 are designed to suppress a second and third harmonic wherein said harmonic units comprise stubs in the form of extension portions 31 and 32 that comprise lengths equal to ¼ of the wavelength of the harmonic they suppress which can be a second and third harmonic; Paragraph 13 and 61-67 as well as figure 1-6 of Zhou et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. to have at least one of a width and a length of each of the first stub and the second stub is set to filter the nth harmonic component and the (n+1)th harmonic component as taught by Zhou et al. so that the stubs can suppress the interference caused by the harmonics since a spurious signal caused by the harmonics can be severe (Paragraph 60-78 of Zhou et al. et al.).
Regarding Claim 12, Watanabe et al. further discloses the feed line is connected to at least one of the plurality of ports (Ground plane 16 may comprise an opening serving as a single port wherein a high frequency circuit 62 may feed a signal through the fourth via 31c up to the rest of the invention however there may be a plurality of ports in the form of ports for columnar bodies 41c as well as additional feeding port like the one in the layer for feeding line 21b and 21a of figure 27 wherein ; Paragraph 122-133 and figure 12 of Watanabe et al.).
Regarding Claim 13, Watanabe et al. discloses an antenna module (High Frequency Filter antenna unit as seen in figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.) comprising:
an ground layer (Ground layer 16; Paragraph 239 and figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.); and
an antenna structure on the ground layer and comprising (Multilayer substrate 1 comprises the antennas and corresponding structures and is placed on ground plane 16 as seen in figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.):
a plurality of layers comprising a first layer (Multilayer substrate may comprise a first layer in substrate 11 that is connected to a via 31b and substate 11 may have an antenna element 101 disposed within; Paragraph 122-133 and 215-229 as well as figure 12 and 26-27 of Watanabe et al.), , a second layer, a third layer and a fourth layer wherein the second layer and the third layer are between the ground layer and the first layer, and the fourth layer is between the third layer and the ground layer; (A layer comprising stub 111a may be a second layer of the structure and a layer comprising the stub 11b may be a third layer of the structure wherein the second and third layers are between the first and the ground, furthermore a layer 14 may serve as a fourth layer between the third layer and ground 16 ; Paragraph 25-40 and 215-229 as well as figures 26-27 of Watanabe et al.);
a plurality of vias extending through at least a portion of the plurality of layers, the plurality of vias comprising a first via extending between the first layer and the second layer, a second via extending between the second layer and the third layer, a third via extending between the third layer and the fourth layer (Conductor columnar column 31 and 41 comprises multiple portions 31a-31c and 41a-c serving as a vias that extends through the plurality of layers wherein first portion of columnar body 31b is a first via extending between the first/second layer, another portion of 31b or 41b are a second via connecting the second and third layer, and a final portion of 31b or 41 connects the third and fourth layer; Paragraph 42-44 and 215-229 as well as Figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.), and a fourth via extending between the fourth layer and the ground layer (Columnar conductor portion 31c or portion 41c may serve as a third via that can be designed to extend between a fourth layer 15 and a ground layer 16 as seen in figure 12; Paragraph 122-133, 42-44 and 215-229 as well as Figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.);
a radiating element (Antenna structure can include a radiating element in the form of patch 102 or an antenna element 61; Paragraph 122-133 and 215-229 as well as figure 12 and 26-27 of Watanabe et al.) ;
a first stub in the second layer and extending from the second via in a first direction (Stub 111a can serve as a first stub in the second layer extending from the second via in a first direction Paragraph 215-229 as well as figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.) and
a second stub in the third layer and extending from the second via, wherein the plurality of vias are connected to at least one of the plurality of ports (Stub like 111b can serve as a second stub in the third layer wherein said stub extends from the same second via as the first stub 111a and at least one port of the ground layer 16 connects to the vias; Paragraph 215-229 as well figure 12 and 26-27 of Watanabe et al.); and
a first feed line (First feed line 21a may be disposed in the antenna structure; Paragraph 103 and 215-229 as well as figures 26-27 of Watanabe et al.)
wherein the ground layer comprises a port (Columnar conductor 31 may be represented by coupling line 71 wherein the ports would be the two ends of the column body including a port on the ground 16; Paragraph 65-72 and figure 4 of Watanabe et al.), and
wherein one port of the plurality of ports is connected to the fourth via and is configured to transmit a transmission signal, which is provided form the ground layer, to the fourth via (Ground plane 16 may comprise an opening serving as a single port wherein a high frequency circuit 62 may feed a signal through the fourth via 31c up to the rest of the invention however there may be a plurality of ports in the form of ports for columnar bodies 41c as well as additional feeding port like the one in the layer for feeding line 21b and 21a of figure 27 wherein ; Paragraph 122-133 and figure 12 of Watanabe et al.).
Watanabe et al. fail to explicitly disclose a radiating element in the first layer, a second stub in a second direction different form the first direction, a first feed line in the second layer and extending in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via, and a ground layer comprising a plurality of ports. Watanabe et al. does suggest the ground layer comprises a plurality of ports (Ground layer 16 would comprise multiple receiving points for the ends of columnar body 31 as well as for ends of columnar bodies 41 which would serve as port structures; Paragraph 122-133 and 215-229 as well as figure 12 and 26-27 of Watanabe et al.).
However, Liu et al. does disclose a radiating element in the first layer (Multilayer circuit discloses a patch 1415 disposed in a first layer 1404 with multiple stubs discloses in other layers; Paragraph 44-47 and figure 14 of Liu et al.), a second stub in a second direction different form the first direction (A second stub 913 extends in a different angled direction from a first stub 911 extending in a downward first direction; Paragraph 41-47 and figure 9-10 of Liu et al.), and a first feed line in the second layer and extending in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via (Multilayer structure can comprise a feed line structure formed by transmission line 104 and components 110/118 that connects a first via 302 that connects to a first layer like 206, which could be the ground of the patch layer of other embodiments, and a second via 212 that connects the second and third layers wherein the feed line 104 extends in third direction that is perpendicular to the extending direction of the first stub like 911; Paragraph 42-47 and figure 9-10 of Liu et al.).
Zhou et al. also discloses a second stub in a second direction different form the first direction (Antenna module comprises a two harmonic units 21_1 and 21_2, that suppress 2nd and 3rd harmonic components, with extension portions 31 and 32 forming a stub wherein the first unit 21_1 can extend in a first direction and the second unit 21_2 can extend in a second direction as seen in figure 6 or they can be on opposite sides as seen in figure 4 wherein 21_2 can be designed to extend the other way such that s2 is opposite of s1; Paragraph 47-76 and figure 1-6 of Zhou et al.)
Choi et al. further discloses wherein the ground layer comprises a plurality of ports (Antenna module 40 may comprise 4 ports on the ground plane 43 and 2 of the ports PT1 and PT3 comprise lines 44_1 and 44_2 that feed the antenna and are connected to the ports; Paragraph 84-87 and figure 12-13b of Choi et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. to have a radiating element in the first layer, and a first feed line extending in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via as taught by Liu et al. since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from wanting to place the antenna inside the first layer for achieving better antenna performance (Paragraph 47 of Liu et al.) and since the position of the feed line would affect how the feed pathway to the antenna are and hence antenna performance.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. to have a second stub in a second direction different form the first direction as taught by Zhou et al. since its position affects spacing requirements and antenna cable routing (Paragraph 74 of Zhou et al.) as well as affecting the coupling between structures.
It would also be obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al., Liu et al., and Zhou et al. to have the ground layer comprises a plurality of ports, as taught by Choi et al. to supply different signals to the antenna to transmit at different frequencies (Paragraph 38 and 87 of Choi et al.).
Regarding Claim 14, Watanabe et al., Liu et al., and Zhou et al. fails to disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of ports is connected to the radiating element through the plurality of vias.
However, Choi et al. does disclose wherein at least one of the plurality of ports is connected to the radiating element through the plurality of vias (Antenna module 40 may comprise 4 ports on the ground plane 43 and 2 of the ports PT1 and PT3 comprise power lines 44_1 and 44_2 serving as vias connected to the ports with them connecting to radiating element 41; Paragraph 84-87 and figure 12-13b of Choi et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al., Liu et al., and Zhou et al. to have at least one of the plurality of ports is connected to the radiating element through plurality of vias as taught by Choi et al. to supply different signals to the antenna to transmit at different frequencies (Paragraph 38 and 87 of Choi et al.).
Regarding Claim 15, Watanabe et al. further discloses wherein the plurality of vias are configured to transmit the transmission signal to the antenna structure ( Conductor columnar column 31 serves as inner conductors of a coaxial cable and are fed by a microstrip line 21b and connect to the radiating element by another microstrip line 21a to feed transmission signals; Paragraph 103 and figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.).
Regarding Claim 16, Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. fail to disclose each of the first stub and the second stub is configured to filter a harmonic component of the transmission signal.
However, Zhou et al. does disclose wherein each of the first stub and the second stub is configured to filter a harmonic component of the transmission signal (Harmonic units 21_1 and 22_2 are designed to suppress a second and third harmonic wherein said harmonic units comprise stubs in the form of extension portions 31 and 32 that comprise lengths equal to ¼ of the wavelength of the harmonic they suppress which can be a second and third harmonic; Paragraph 13 and 61-67 as well as figure 1-6 of Zhou et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. to have each of the first stub and the second stub is configured to filter a harmonic component of the transmission signal as taught by Zhou et al. to suppress the interference caused by the harmonics since a spurious signal caused by the harmonics can be severe (Paragraph 60-78 of Zhou et al. et al.).
Regarding Claim 17, Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of the first stub and the second stub resonates a harmonic component of the transmission signal
However, Zhou et al. does discloses wherein each of the first stub and the second stub resonates the harmonic component (Stubs in the form of extending elements 31 and 32 are resonate the harmonic components; Paragraph 13 and 61-67 as well as figure 1-6 of Zhou et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. to have each of the first stub and the second stub resonates the harmonic component as taught by Zhou et al. so that the stubs can suppress the interference caused by the harmonics since a spurious signal caused by the harmonics can be severe (Paragraph 60-78 of Zhou et al. et al.).
Regarding Claim 18, Watanabe et al. further discloses a device (High Frequency Filter antenna unit can be used in mobile body in a satellite communication system; Paragraph 2 of Watanabe et al.) comprising:
a radio frequency integrated circuit (RFIC) configured to process a transmission signal (High frequency circuit 62 is coupled to the antenna signal and provides in input/output signal; Paragraph 64 and figure 12 and 26-27 of Watanabe et al.); and
an antenna module configured to transmit the transmission signal (High Frequency Filter antenna unit as seen in figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.), the antenna module comprising:
a ground layer configured to transmit the transmission signal provided from the RFIC to the antenna module (High Frequency circuit is coupled to microstrip line 21b which is on the ground layer 16 in the second embodiment such that the ground layer would transmit the transmission signal to the antenna module and not components from different embodiments can be combined; Paragraph 129-131 and 237 as well as figure 12 of Watanabe et al.); and
an antenna structure stacked on the ground layer and comprising (Multilayer substrate 1 comprises the antennas and corresponding structures and is placed on ground plane 16 as seen in figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.):
a plurality of layers comprising a first layer (Multilayer substrate may comprise a first layer in substrate 11 that is connected to a via 31b and substate 11 may have an antenna element 101 disposed within; Paragraph 122-133 and 215-229 as well as figure 12 and 26-27 of Watanabe et al.), a second layer, a third layer and a fourth layer wherein the second layer and the third layer are between the ground layer and the first layer, and the fourth layer is between the third layer and the ground layer (First substrate 11 can serve as a first layer of the multilayer substrate 11 and second substrate 17 can serve as a second layer of the multilayer substrate wherein said layers are between the first layer and the ground plane 16; Paragraph 25-40 and 215-229 as well as figures 26-27 of Watanabe et al.);
a plurality of vias extending through at least a portion of the plurality of layers, the plurality of vias comprising a first via extending between the first layer and the second layer, a second via extending between the second layer and the third layer, a third via extending between the third layer and the fourth layer (Conductor columnar column 31 and 41 comprises multiple portions 31a-31c and 41a-c serving as a vias that extends through the plurality of layers wherein first portion of columnar body 31b is a first via extending between the first/second layer, another portion of 31b or 41b are a second via connecting the second and third layer, and a final portion of 31b or 41 connects the third and fourth layer; Paragraph 42-44 and 215-229 as well as Figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.),and a fourth via extending between the fourth layer and the ground layer (Columnar conductor portion 31c or portion 41c may serve as a third via that can be designed to extend between a fourth layer 15 and a ground layer 16 as seen in figure 12; Paragraph 122-133, 42-44 and 215-229 as well as Figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.);
a radiating element (Antenna structure can include a radiating element in the form of patch 102 or an antenna element 61; Paragraph 122-133 and 215-229 as well as figure 12 and 26-27 of Watanabe et al.) ;
a first stub in the second layer and extending from the second via in a first direction (Stub 51a can serve as a first stub disposed in the substrate 11 serving as a second layer wherein said stub extends from the second via 31a in a first direction; Paragraph 103-121 and 215-229 as well as figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.) and
a second stub in the third layer and extending from the second via (Stub like 111b can serve as a second stub in the third layer wherein said stub extends from the same second via as the first stub 111a; Paragraph 215-229 and figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.); and
a first feed line (First feed line 21a may be disposed in the antenna structure; Paragraph 103 and 215-229 as well as figures 26-27 of Watanabe et al.).
wherein the ground layer comprises a port (Columnar conductor 31 may be represented by coupling line 71 wherein the ports would be the two ends of the column body including a port on the ground 16; Paragraph 65-72 and figure 4 of Watanabe et al.), and
wherein one port of the plurality of ports is connected to the fourth via and is configured to transmit a transmission signal, which is provided form the ground layer, to the fourth via (Ground plane 16 may comprise an opening serving as a single port wherein a high frequency circuit 62 may feed a signal through the fourth via 31c up to the rest of the invention however there may be a plurality of ports in the form of ports for columnar bodies 41c as well as additional feeding port like the one in the layer for feeding line 21b and 21a of figure 27 wherein ; Paragraph 122-133 and figure 12 of Watanabe et al.).
Watanabe et al. fail to explicitly disclose a radiating element in the first layer, a second stub in a second direction different form the first direction, and a first feed line extending in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via.
However, Liu et al. does disclose a radiating element in the first layer (Multilayer circuit discloses a patch 1415 disposed in a first layer 1404 with multiple stubs discloses in other layers; Paragraph 44-47 and figure 14 of Liu et al.), and a first feed line extending in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via (Multilayer structure can comprise a feed line structure formed by transmission line 104 and components 110/118 that connects a first via 302 that connects to a first layer like 206, which could be the ground of the patch layer of other embodiments, and a second via 212 that connects the second and third layers wherein the feed line extends in a direction perpendicular to the extending direction of the stub like 911; Paragraph 42-47 and figure 10 of Liu et al.).
Zhou et al. also discloses a second stub in a second direction different form the first direction (Antenna module comprises a two harmonic units 21_1 and 21_2, that suppress 2nd and 3rd harmonic components, with extension portions 31 and 32 forming a stub wherein the first unit 21_1 can extend in a first direction and the second unit 21_2 can extend in a second direction as seen in figure 6 or they can be on opposite sides as seen in figure 4 wherein 21_2 can be designed to extend the other way such that s2 is opposite of s1; Paragraph 47-76 and figure 1-6 of Zhou et al.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. to have a radiating element in the first layer, and a first feed line extending in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via as taught by Liu et al. since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). The motivation stems from wanting to place the antenna inside the first layer for achieving better antenna performance (Paragraph 47 of Liu et al.) and since the position of the feed line would affect how the feed pathway to the antenna are and hence antenna performance.
It would have been further obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. to have a second stub in a second direction different form the first direction as taught by Zhou et al. since its position affects spacing requirements and antenna cable routing (Paragraph 74 of Zhou et al.) as well as affecting the coupling between structures.
Regarding Claim 19, Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. fail to disclose each of the first stub and the second stub is configured to filter a harmonic component of the transmission signal, and wherein each of the first stub and the second stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth(1/4) of a guided wavelength of the harmonic component.
However, Zhou et al. does disclose wherein each of the first stub and the second stub is configured to filter a harmonic component of the transmission signal , and wherein each of the first stub and the second stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth(1/4) of a guided wavelength of the harmonic component (Harmonic units 21_1 and 22_2 are designed to suppress a second and third harmonic wherein said harmonic units comprise stubs in the form of extension portions 31 and 32 that comprise lengths equal to ¼ of the wavelength of the harmonic they suppress which can be a second and third harmonic; Paragraph 13 and 61-67 as well as figure 1-6 of Zhou et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. to have each of the first stub and the second stub is configured to filter a harmonic component of the transmission signal, and wherein each of the first stub and the second stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth(1/4) of a guided wavelength of the harmonic component as taught by Zhou et al. to suppress the interference caused by the harmonics since a spurious signal caused by the harmonics can be severe (Paragraph 60-78 of Zhou et al. et al.).
Regarding Claim 21, Watanabe et al. further discloses wherein the first stub and the second stub have different paths from the ground layer (First stub 111a and second stub 111b are disposed in different layers and would have different paths form the ground plane; Paragraph 215-229 and figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.).
Regarding Claim 22, Watanabe et al. further discloses the first stub in the second layer and the second stub in the third layer (Stubs 111a are disposed in a second layer and stub 111b is disposed in a third layer; Paragraph 215-229 and figure 26-27 of Watanabe et al.).
Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. fails to explicitly disclose a first stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth (1/4) of a guided wavelength of an nth harmonic component (n is a natural number) and a second stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth (1/4) of a guided wavelength of the (n+1)th harmonic component.
However, Zhou et al. does disclose a first stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth (1/4) of a guided wavelength of an nth harmonic component (n is a natural number) and a second stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth (1/4) of a guided wavelength of the (n+1)th harmonic component (Harmonic units 21_1 and 22_2 are designed to suppress a second and third harmonic wherein said harmonic units comprise stubs in the form of extension portions 31 and 32 that comprise lengths equal to ¼ of the wavelength of the harmonic they suppress which can be a second and third harmonic; Paragraph 13 and 61-67 as well as figure 1-6 of Zhou et al.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art modify the antenna as taught by Watanabe et al. and Liu et al. to have a first stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth (1/4) of a guided wavelength of an nth harmonic component (n is a natural number) and a second stub has a length corresponding to one-fourth (1/4) of a guided wavelength of the (n+1)th harmonic component as taught by Zhou et al. to suppress the interference caused by the harmonics since a spurious signal caused by the harmonics can be severe (Paragraph 60-78 of Zhou et al. et al.).
Additional Comments Regarding the Clam Rejections
Examiner’s note – Regarding claims 2-3, 8, 10, 15-16, and 18-19, the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function, it is the position of the office that such limitations are not positive structural limitations, and thus, only require the ability to so perform. In this case the prior art applied herein is construed as at least possessing such ability. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Response to Arguments
“Without any admissions and solely in an effort to expedite prosecution of the present application, amended claim 1 clarifies the first stub extends from the second via in a first direction, the second stub extends from the second via in a second direction that is different from the first direction, and the first feed line extends in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via. Applicant respectfully submits the cited references do not teach or suggest these features.
For example, Liu discloses first signal transmission line 104, first impedance transformer 110 and short line segment 118. However, Liu does not disclose that the first signal transmission line 104, the first impedance transformer 110 and the short line segment 118 extend in the claimed directions.
Moreover, Zhou discloses antenna feeder configurations that include multiple harmonic suppression units 21 which suppress different frequencies. However, Zhou does not teach or suggest these features.
Choi also fails to disclose these features.
Accordingly, the cited references, whether considered alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest an antenna structure that comprises "a first stub in the second layer and extending from the second via in a first direction; a second stub in the third layer and extending from the second via in a second direction different from the first direction; and a first feed line in the second layer and extending in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via," as claimed.
As another example, Applicant respectfully submits the cited references do not teach or suggest "wherein one port of the plurality of ports is connected to the fourth via and is configured to transmit a transmission signal, which is provided from the ground layer, to the fourth via," as claimed. Watanabe discloses ports in a high-frequency filter circuit, but does not teach or suggest connections between ports and layers/vias in an antenna structure. Liu, Zhou and Choi also do not teach or suggest these features.“
Applicant's arguments filed on December 19th 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees that the references cited fail to disclose “a first stub in the second layer and extending from the second via in a first direction; a second stub in the third layer and extending from the second via in a second direction different from the first direction; and a first feed line in the second layer and extending in a third direction different from the first direction to connect the first via and the second via” and “wherein one port of the plurality of ports is connected to the fourth via and is configured to transmit a transmission signal, which is provided from the ground layer, to the fourth via”.
Referring to paragraphs 1-4 of applicants argument above. The examiner notes that the main reference of Watanabe does disclose the first and second stubs in a second and third layer extending form a second via connecting said layers. Watanabe does not tech the second stub in a second direction and a feed line in the second layer in a third direction. However the secondary reference of Liu does disclose having a feed line 104 in a second layer and a first stub 911 in said layer and a second stub 913 in another third layer (Figure 9 of Liu). Furthermore we can see that the first stub extends in a first downward direction, the second stub extends in a second different angled direction, and the feed line extends perpendicular to the first stub so thus in a different third direction (Though claim only teaches a third direction different form the first direction but not necessarily different form the second). Addi tonally, the second reference of Zhou also discloses a first and second harmonic stubs that can be oriented in different directions. As such these cited references do teach the subject matter of claim 1 as disclosed in the rejection above.
Referring to the last paragraph of the applicants arguments. The examiner notes that the main reference of Watanabe does disclose a plurality of ports connected to the columnar body 31 comprising the multiple via structures as seen in figure 4 (Columnar body 31 = coupling line 71). Furthermore we can see that one of those ports would have to be the ground layer 16 to which that fourth via 31c can be connected to such that it is fed by a RFIC circuit (figure 12). Thus Watanabe does disclose having at least one port in the ground layer for the feeding of the antenna but only suggest a plurality of ports in the ground due to the other ports being for ends of columnar bodies 41. However, secondary reference Choi et al. does disclose a ground plane with a plurality of ports wherein the ports can be connected for feeding through a via. As such the claimed subject matter is disclosed by the two references.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
US 20210057820 A1 (SUDO; Kaoru et al.) relates to a configuration of an patch antenna structure with stubs serving as filters and a plurality of ports.
US 20210328350 A1 (2021-10-21) relates to a configuration of a patch antenna structure with stubs serving as filters in a plurality of layers.
US 9048232 B2 (Colussi; Laurentius Cornelis et al.) relates to a configuration of multilayers structure with stubs serving as filters in a second and fist layer and said stubs comprising two portions of different widths.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/GURBIR SINGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2845