DETAILED ACTION
The following is a second final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 01/09/2026 for response of the office actions mailed on 12/16/2025. Claims 12 and 15-30 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-11, 13-14 and 31-43 are pending and addressed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/04/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/532,469. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is “anticipated by” claims 1-2 of copending Application No. 18/532,469.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application No. 18/371,189
(Instant)
Co-pending Application No. 18/532,469
1. An apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories and configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to: send user equipment (UE) assistance information to a network entity, the UE assistance information comprising information indicative of: a requested length of a requested time window; a requested periodicity at which the requested time window repeats; and a first requested communication configuration for communicating during the requested time window; receive a communication configuration from the network entity; and communicate according to the communication configuration, wherein: the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of a requested length of a requested gap period during which the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission, and a requested periodicity at which the requested gap period repeats within the requested time window or the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of a requested duty cycle the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window, and a requested maximum consecutive duration the apparatus can be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window.
1. An apparatus configured for wireless communications, comprising: one or more memories comprising processor-executable instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the processor-executable instructions and cause the apparatus to: send user equipment (UE) assistance information to a network entity, the UE assistance information comprising information indicative of a requested duration during which the apparatus is allowed to deny up to a requested maximum number of uplink transmissions; and the requested maximum number of uplink transmissions the apparatus is allowed to deny during the requested duration; and receive an autonomous denial configuration from the network entity, the autonomous denial configuration comprising information indicative of:a duration during which the apparatus is allowed to deny up to a maximum number of uplink transmissions; and the maximum number of uplink transmissions the apparatus is allowed to deny during the duration.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the UE assistance information further comprises information indicative of a requested cycle length for a periodically recurring communication cycle, the periodically recurring communication cycle comprising a first time period corresponding to the requested duration and a second time period.
Claim 31 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11-12 of copending Application No. 18/532,469. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 31 is “anticipated by” claims 11-12 of copending Application No. 18/532,469.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Application No. 18/371,189
(Instant)
Co-pending Application No. 18/532,469
31. A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: sending UE assistance information to a network entity, the UE assistance information comprising information indicative of: a requested length of a requested time window; a requested periodicity at which the requested time window repeats; and a first requested communication configuration for communicating during the requested time window; receiving a communication configuration from the network entity; and communicating according to the communication configuration, wherein: the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of: a first requested cycle length of a first requested communication cycle, the first requested communication cycle comprising a first requested active time period and a first requested inactive time period; and a first requested duration for the first requested active time period of the first requested communication cycle; the information indicative of the requested periodicity at which the requested time window repeats comprises information indicative of a second requested cycle length of a second requested communication cycle, the second requested communication cycle comprising a first requested time period for communicating according to the first requested communication cycle and a second requested time period; and the information indicative of the requested length of the requested time window comprises information indicative of a second requested duration for the first requested time period of the second requested communication cycle.
11. A method for wireless communications by an apparatus comprising: sending user equipment (UE) assistance information to a network entity, the UE assistance information comprising information indicative of: a requested duration during which the apparatus is allowed to deny up to a requested maximum number of uplink transmissions; and the requested maximum number of uplink transmissions the apparatus is allowed to deny during the requested duration; and receiving an autonomous denial configuration from the network entity, the autonomous denial configuration comprising information indicative of: a duration during which the apparatus is allowed to deny up to a maximum number of up link transmissions; and the maximum number of uplink transmissions the apparatus is allowed to deny during the duration.
12. The method of claim 11, wherein the UE assistance information further comprises information indicative of a requested cycle length for a periodically recurring communication cycle, the periodically recurring communication cycle comprising a first time period corresponding to the requested duration and a second time period.
Similarly, all other dependent claims of the instant application (Application No. 18/371,189) are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over combinations of dependent claims (similar to combinations of independent/dependent claims as shown above) of Co-pending Application No. 18/532,469. Although those claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because combination of those dependent claims are “anticipated by” the combination of dependent claims of Co-pending Application No. 18/532,469.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (2015/0327280) Zhang hereinafter, in view of Maleki et al. (2024/0381484), Maleki hereinafter, further in view of Lee et al. (2015/0296556), Lee556 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Zhang teaches an apparatus (Fig.1, 114/Fig.2-4, 210/Fig.7) configured for wireless communications (Fig.1-3/Fig.4A-B), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 7 & ¶0047); and one or more processors (Fig. 7 & ¶0047) coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the apparatus to: send user equipment (UE) assistance information to a network entity, the UE assistance information comprising information indicative of: a requested length of a requested time window; a requested periodicity at which the requested time window repeats; and a first requested communication configuration for communicating during the requested time window (Fig. 2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0015 - … a UE may report IDC assistance information to an eNB. … …. IDC assistance information may also include time-division multiplexing (TDM) patterns or parameters to enable appropriate discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration for TDM solutions on the serving E-UTRA carrier. TDM assistance information (see table 1) can be either DRX configuration parameters (see table 1, e.g., drx-CycleLength-r11, drx-offset-r11, drx-ActiveTime-r11) ….. In DRX configuration parameter (drx-AssistanceInfo, see table 1), the field drx-Offset depends on SFN timing. Fig.2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0030 - UE 210 sends an InDeviceCoexIndication message 228 to the MeNB 212. The InDeviceCoexIndication message 228 may include assistance information for frequency-division multiplexing (FDM) and/or TDM. Fig.2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0032 - the InDeviceCoexlndication message 228 includes enhancements for DRX configuration parameters (e.g., the information element (IE) drx-AssistanceInfo; see table 1, e.g., drx-CycleLength-r11, drx-offset-r11, drx-ActiveTime-r11) for dual connectivity. Fig.2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0033 - For TDM, however, the drx-Offset reported in the InDeviceCoexIndication message 228 is not the same for MCG and SCG due to the SFN timing offset discussed above. Thus, in one embodiment, TDM assistance information with enhanced DRX configuration parameters includes a DRX starting offset according to MCG SFN timing. In another embodiment, TDM assistance information with enhanced DRX configuration parameters includes a DRX starting offset according to SCG SFN timing.); receive a communication configuration from the network entity (Fig.2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0030 - If the in-device interference problem is in MCG only, the MeNB 212 may determine a solution to the interference problem, without involving the SeNB 214, and sends an IDC Response message 230 to the UE 210 with either an FDM solution (e.g., handover or SCell release) or a TDM solution (e.g., DRX parameters) for the MCG. Fig.2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0031- The SeNB 214 passes to the MeNB 212 an SeNB Modification Request Acknowledge message 236 that includes SCG-Configuration parameters indicating FDM and/or TDM solutions for the SCG. The MeNB 212 includes the SeNB's FDM or TDM solution in the IDC Response message 230 to the UE 210 for the SCG.);
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach communicate according to the communication configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses communicate according to the communication configuration (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0151 - receiving configuration signaling that configures the one or more retransmission parameters 22 (Block 420). Regardless, in one or more such embodiments, the method may comprise operating in C-DRX operation according to the one or more retransmission parameters as configured (Block 430). Also, see 520 & 530 in Fig. 5.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for in-device co-existence interference avoidance for dual connectivity in a wireless communication network to include Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuously monitoring downlink control channel by using connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for improving power conservation available from C-DRX operation by allowing a user device in transmitting assistance information to a wireless communication network which, in turn, reduces amount of time that the user device monitors the downlink control channel, so as to thereby reduce the user device's power consumption and prolong the user device's battery life operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0003-¶0004, Maleki)
Yet, Zhang and Maleki do not expressly teach wherein: the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of a requested length of a requested gap period during which the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission, and a requested periodicity at which the requested gap period repeats within the requested time window; the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of a requested duty cycle the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window, and a requested maximum consecutive duration the apparatus can be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window.
However, in the analogous art, Lee556 explicitly discloses wherein: the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of a requested length of a requested gap period during which the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission, and a requested periodicity at which the requested gap period repeats within the requested time window (Fig. 5-6 & ¶0167 - At step S100, the UE receives a configuration for autonomous denial over a first connection with a first system. At step S110, the UE applies the autonomous denial for a first UL transmission over the first connection based on the received configuration if DL transmission over a second connection with a second system (e.g., GNSS, see ¶0168) collides with the first UL transmission. At step S120, the UE prohibits the autonomous denial for a second UL transmission over the first connection if the second UL transmission corresponds to a specific signal. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0168 - The first system may be an E-UTRAN, and the second system may be a system on ISM band such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or global navigation satellite system (GNSS). The specific signal may be specific RRC messages such as a handover complete message, RRC connection re-establishment complete message, RRC connection request message. Or, the specific signal may be a periodic or aperiodic sounding reference signal. Or, the specific signal may be a random access preamble or a scheduling request which is triggered to carry a specific RRC message. Or, the specific signal may be a MAC control element or RLC/PDCP control information. Also, see Tables 3-4 & ¶0164, where parameters for autonomous denial are configured in OtherConfig information element (IE), for example, autonomousDenialSubframes Indicates the maximum number of the assigned UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny the scheduled UL transmission. Value n2 corresponds to 2 subframes, n5 to 5 subframes and so on. autonomousDenialValidity Indicates the validity period over which the UL autonomous denial subframes shall be counted. Value sf200 corresponds to 200 subframes, sf500 corresponds to 500 subframes and so on. A moving window is used to count the validity of the UL autonomous denial, i.e. the UE can deny a particular UL subframe if over a duration of validity period from this subframe in the past, the autonomousDenialSubframes will not be exceeded. Also, examiner’s interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “Or” in the limitation.); or the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of a requested duty cycle the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window, and a requested maximum consecutive duration the apparatus can be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for in-device co-existence interference avoidance for dual connectivity in a wireless communication network and Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuously monitoring downlink control channel by using connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) in a wireless communication system to include Lee556’s invention of a system and a method for prohibiting autonomous denial in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for avoiding or minimizing IDC (in-device coexistence) interference between collocated radio transceivers, for example, when a UE (User Equipment) is equipped with a LTE radio transceiver module and a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) radio transceiver module operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0005-¶0007, Lee556)
Re. Claim 11, Zhang, Maleki and Lee556 teach claim 1.
Yet, Zhang and Maleki do not expressly teach wherein: the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of the requested length of the requested gap period during which the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission; and the requested periodicity at which the requested gap period repeats within the requested time window.
However, in the analogous art, Lee556 explicitly discloses wherein: the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of the requested length of the requested gap period during which the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission; and the requested periodicity at which the requested gap period repeats within the requested time window. (Fig. 5-6 & ¶0167 - At step S100, the UE receives a configuration for autonomous denial over a first connection with a first system. At step S110, the UE applies the autonomous denial for a first UL transmission over the first connection based on the received configuration if DL transmission over a second connection with a second system (e.g., GNSS, see ¶0168) collides with the first UL transmission. At step S120, the UE prohibits the autonomous denial for a second UL transmission over the first connection if the second UL transmission corresponds to a specific signal. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0168 - The first system may be an E-UTRAN, and the second system may be a system on ISM band such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or global navigation satellite system (GNSS). The specific signal may be specific RRC messages such as a handover complete message, RRC connection re-establishment complete message, RRC connection request message. Or, the specific signal may be a periodic or aperiodic sounding reference signal. Or, the specific signal may be a random access preamble or a scheduling request which is triggered to carry a specific RRC message. Or, the specific signal may be a MAC control element or RLC/PDCP control information. Also, see Tables 3-4 & ¶0164, where parameters for autonomous denial are configured in OtherConfig information element (IE), for example, autonomousDenialSubframes Indicates the maximum number of the assigned UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny the scheduled UL transmission. Value n2 corresponds to 2 subframes, n5 to 5 subframes and so on. autonomousDenialValidity Indicates the validity period over which the UL autonomous denial subframes shall be counted. Value sf200 corresponds to 200 subframes, sf500 corresponds to 500 subframes and so on. A moving window is used to count the validity of the UL autonomous denial, i.e. the UE can deny a particular UL subframe if over a duration of validity period from this subframe in the past, the autonomousDenialSubframes will not be exceeded. Also, examiner’s interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “Or” in the limitation.); or the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of a requested duty cycle the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window, and a requested maximum consecutive duration the apparatus can be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for in-device co-existence interference avoidance for dual connectivity in a wireless communication network and Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuously monitoring downlink control channel by using connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) in a wireless communication system to include Lee556’s invention of a system and a method for prohibiting autonomous denial in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for avoiding or minimizing IDC (in-device coexistence) interference between collocated radio transceivers, for example, when a UE (User Equipment) is equipped with a LTE radio transceiver module and a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) radio transceiver module operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0005-¶0007, Lee556)
Re. Claim 13, Zhang teaches an apparatus (Fig.1, 114/Fig.2-4, 210/Fig.7) configured for wireless communications (Fig.1-3/Fig.4A-B), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 7 & ¶0047); and one or more processors (Fig. 7 & ¶0047) coupled to the one or more memories and configured to cause the apparatus to: send user equipment (UE) assistance information to a network entity, the UE assistance information comprising information indicative of: a requested length of a requested time window; a requested periodicity at which the requested time window repeats; and a first requested communication configuration for communicating during the requested time window (Fig. 2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0015 - … a UE may report IDC assistance information to an eNB. … …. IDC assistance information may also include time-division multiplexing (TDM) patterns or parameters to enable appropriate discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration for TDM solutions on the serving E-UTRA carrier. TDM assistance information (see table 1) can be either DRX configuration parameters (see table 1, e.g., drx-CycleLength-r11, drx-offset-r11, drx-ActiveTime-r11) ….. In DRX configuration parameter (drx-AssistanceInfo, see table 1), the field drx-Offset depends on SFN timing. Fig.2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0030 - UE 210 sends an InDeviceCoexIndication message 228 to the MeNB 212. The InDeviceCoexIndication message 228 may include assistance information for frequency-division multiplexing (FDM) and/or TDM. Fig.2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0032 - the InDeviceCoexlndication message 228 includes enhancements for DRX configuration parameters (e.g., the information element (IE) drx-AssistanceInfo; see table 1, e.g., drx-CycleLength-r11, drx-offset-r11, drx-ActiveTime-r11) for dual connectivity. Fig.2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0033 - For TDM, however, the drx-Offset reported in the InDeviceCoexIndication message 228 is not the same for MCG and SCG due to the SFN timing offset discussed above. Thus, in one embodiment, TDM assistance information with enhanced DRX configuration parameters includes a DRX starting offset according to MCG SFN timing. In another embodiment, TDM assistance information with enhanced DRX configuration parameters includes a DRX starting offset according to SCG SFN timing.); receive a communication configuration from the network entity (Fig.2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0030 - If the in-device interference problem is in MCG only, the MeNB 212 may determine a solution to the interference problem, without involving the SeNB 214, and sends an IDC Response message 230 to the UE 210 with either an FDM solution (e.g., handover or SCell release) or a TDM solution (e.g., DRX parameters) for the MCG. Fig.2-4/Fig.4A-B & ¶0031- The SeNB 214 passes to the MeNB 212 an SeNB Modification Request Acknowledge message 236 that includes SCG-Configuration parameters indicating FDM and/or TDM solutions for the SCG. The MeNB 212 includes the SeNB's FDM or TDM solution in the IDC Response message 230 to the UE 210 for the SCG.);
Yet, Zhang does not expressly teach communicate according to the communication configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses communicate according to the communication configuration (Fig. 1-4 & ¶0151 - receiving configuration signaling that configures the one or more retransmission parameters 22 (Block 420). Regardless, in one or more such embodiments, the method may comprise operating in C-DRX operation according to the one or more retransmission parameters as configured (Block 430). Also, see 520 & 530 in Fig. 5.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for in-device co-existence interference avoidance for dual connectivity in a wireless communication network to include Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuously monitoring downlink control channel by using connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for improving power conservation available from C-DRX operation by allowing a user device in transmitting assistance information to a wireless communication network which, in turn, reduces amount of time that the user device monitors the downlink control channel, so as to thereby reduce the user device's power consumption and prolong the user device's battery life operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0003-¶0004, Maleki)
Yet, Zhang and Maleki do not expressly teach wherein the communication configuration comprises information indicative of: a length of a time window; a periodicity at which the time window repeats; a length of a gap period during which the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission; and a periodicity at which the gap period repeats within the time window.
However, in the analogous art, Lee556 explicitly discloses wherein the communication configuration comprises information indicative of: a length of a time window; a periodicity at which the time window repeats; a length of a gap period during which the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission; and a periodicity at which the gap period repeats within the time window. (Fig. 5-6 & ¶0167 - At step S100, the UE receives a configuration for autonomous denial over a first connection with a first system. At step S110, the UE applies the autonomous denial for a first UL transmission over the first connection based on the received configuration if DL transmission over a second connection with a second system (e.g., GNSS, see ¶0168) collides with the first UL transmission. At step S120, the UE prohibits the autonomous denial for a second UL transmission over the first connection if the second UL transmission corresponds to a specific signal. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0168 - The first system may be an E-UTRAN, and the second system may be a system on ISM band such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or global navigation satellite system (GNSS). The specific signal may be specific RRC messages such as a handover complete message, RRC connection re-establishment complete message, RRC connection request message. Or, the specific signal may be a periodic or aperiodic sounding reference signal. Or, the specific signal may be a random access preamble or a scheduling request which is triggered to carry a specific RRC message. Or, the specific signal may be a MAC control element or RLC/PDCP control information. Also, see Tables 3-4 & ¶0164, where parameters for autonomous denial are configured in OtherConfig information element (IE), for example, autonomousDenialSubframes Indicates the maximum number of the assigned UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny the scheduled UL transmission. Value n2 corresponds to 2 subframes, n5 to 5 subframes and so on. autonomousDenialValidity Indicates the validity period over which the UL autonomous denial subframes shall be counted. Value sf200 corresponds to 200 subframes, sf500 corresponds to 500 subframes and so on. A moving window is used to count the validity of the UL autonomous denial, i.e. the UE can deny a particular UL subframe if over a duration of validity period from this subframe in the past, the autonomousDenialSubframes will not be exceeded.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for in-device co-existence interference avoidance for dual connectivity in a wireless communication network and Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuously monitoring downlink control channel by using connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) in a wireless communication system to include Lee556’s invention of a system and a method for prohibiting autonomous denial in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for avoiding or minimizing IDC (in-device coexistence) interference between collocated radio transceivers, for example, when a UE (User Equipment) is equipped with a LTE radio transceiver module and a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) radio transceiver module operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0005-¶0007, Lee556)
Re. Claim 14, Zhang, Maleki and Lee556 teach claim 1.
Yet, Zhang and Maleki do not expressly teach wherein: the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of: the requested duty cycle the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window; and the requested maximum consecutive duration the apparatus can be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window.
However, in the analogous art, Lee556 explicitly discloses wherein: the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of: the requested duty cycle the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window; and the requested maximum consecutive duration the apparatus can be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window. (Fig. 5-6 & ¶0167 - At step S100, the UE receives a configuration for autonomous denial over a first connection with a first system. At step S110, the UE applies the autonomous denial for a first UL transmission over the first connection based on the received configuration if DL transmission over a second connection with a second system (e.g., GNSS, see ¶0168) collides with the first UL transmission. At step S120, the UE prohibits the autonomous denial for a second UL transmission over the first connection if the second UL transmission corresponds to a specific signal. Fig. 5-6 & ¶0168 - The first system may be an E-UTRAN, and the second system may be a system on ISM band such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, or global navigation satellite system (GNSS). The specific signal may be specific RRC messages such as a handover complete message, RRC connection re-establishment complete message, RRC connection request message. Or, the specific signal may be a periodic or aperiodic sounding reference signal. Or, the specific signal may be a random access preamble or a scheduling request which is triggered to carry a specific RRC message. Or, the specific signal may be a MAC control element or RLC/PDCP control information. Also, see Tables 3-4 & ¶0164, where parameters for autonomous denial are configured in OtherConfig information element (IE), for example, autonomousDenialSubframes Indicates the maximum number of the assigned UL subframes for which the UE is allowed to deny the scheduled UL transmission. Value n2 corresponds to 2 subframes, n5 to 5 subframes and so on. autonomousDenialValidity Indicates the validity period over which the UL autonomous denial subframes shall be counted. Value sf200 corresponds to 200 subframes, sf500 corresponds to 500 subframes and so on. A moving window is used to count the validity of the UL autonomous denial, i.e. the UE can deny a particular UL subframe if over a duration of validity period from this subframe in the past, the autonomousDenialSubframes will not be exceeded. Also, examiner’s interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “Or” in the limitation.); or the information indicative of the first requested communication configuration comprises information indicative of a requested duty cycle the apparatus is not to be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window, and a requested maximum consecutive duration the apparatus can be scheduled for uplink transmission during the requested time window.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Zhang’s invention of a system and a method for in-device co-existence interference avoidance for dual connectivity in a wireless communication network and Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for discontinuously monitoring downlink control channel by using connected mode discontinuous reception (C-DRX) in a wireless communication system to include Lee556’s invention of a system and a method for prohibiting autonomous denial in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for avoiding or minimizing IDC (in-device coexistence) interference between collocated radio transceivers, for example, when a UE (User Equipment) is equipped with a LTE radio transceiver module and a GNSS (global navigation satellite system) radio transceiver module operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0005-¶0007, Lee556)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 31-43 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments for §103 rejection filed on 01/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Based on the claimed amendment as submitted on 01/09/2026, an updated search revealed a new prior art (2015/0296556 <=> Lee, see PTO-892), which is applicable for the amended independent claims 1 and 13 (applicant rolled up objected claimed features as identified in earlier office action mailed on 12/16/2025). Therefore, a second non-final is being sent out.
Examiner also attempted to reach out to attorney Kyle M. Pendergrass by sending an e-mail at OCPat_USPTO@qualcomm.com on 02/26/2026 (see attached e-mail), as mentioned in the remarks submitted on 01/09/2026. Unfortunately, no response was received. A phone number of applicant’s representative, would help in expediting for a compact prosecution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (2019/0349836); See Abstract, ¶0150-¶0163 along with Fig. 6/Fig. 11-12.
3GPP TSG RAN WG2 Meeting #78; R2-122360; Source: New Postcom; Title: Discussion on the autonomous denial of LTE transmission/reception; Prague, Czech, 21st – 25th May 2012. See §2-§3.
3GPP TSG-RAN WG2#78; R2-122708; Source: Motorola Mobility; Title: Restrictions on Autonomous Denials; 21--25 May, 2012, Prague, Czech Republic. See §2-§3.
3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #76; R2-116108; Source: InterDigital Communications, Nokia Siemens Networks and Nokia Corporation; Title: Analysis and discussion on Autonomous Denials; 14th – 18th November 2011, San Francisco, USA. See §2-§3.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467