DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/8/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/21/2023. These drawings are considered acceptable by Examiner.
Claim Objection(s)
Claim(s) 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 13, Examiner suggests modifying line 12, “the inorganic layer” to -- the inorganic layers -- in order to place the claim in better form.
Appropriate correction is required.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jang et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0314515 A1) in view of Lim et al., (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0079319 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jang et al., teaches a display device (500, “a display device,” ¶ [0170]; see at least Fig. 15), comprising: a first substrate (110, ¶ [0050]) including a display area (area beyond 701) having a plurality of pixels, and a non-display area (area within 701) surrounding the display area, the first substrate (110); an inorganic layer (135, “the encapsulation layer 135 may include a first inorganic material layer surrounding the light emitting device layer 133, an organic material layer surrounding the first inorganic material layer, and a second inorganic material layer surrounding the organic material layer,” 0064) on the first substrate (110); a planarization layer (combination of 250 + 700) on the inorganic layer (135); a bonding layer (630, “cover coupling member” [Wingdings font/0xE0] “be an adhesive resin, a double-sided adhesive tape, or a double-sided adhesive foam pad, and may have elasticity for absorbing an impact,” ¶ [0181]) on the inorganic layer (135) and the planarization layer; and a second substrate (650) on the bonding layer (630), wherein the planarization layer includes: a first planarization layer (250) overlapping the first substrate (110) in a plan view; and a second planarization layer (730) surrounding a side surface of the first planarization layer (250). Jang et al., does not explicitly teach the first substrate being made of one of transparent conducting oxide and oxide semiconductor.
In the same field of endeavor of display panels (1000, “display,” ¶ [0044]), Lim et al., teaches that a substrate is provided as either silicon dioxide (as also taught by Jang above) or titanium dioxide (¶ [0079]), thus exemplifying recognized equivalent materials of the substrates in the art. Lim et al., teaches the suitability of using a substrate being provided as silicon dioxide or titanium dioxide in order to ensure adequate transparency while maintaining functionality during operation.
In light of this teaching, Examiner reasonably contemplates that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the substrate of Jang et al., as titanium dioxide instead of as silicon dioxide, since the selection of any of these known equivalents would be considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Lim's teaching.
Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to using titanium dioxide as the substrate material as a matter of choice. Applicant(s) has not disclosed that the materials is for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected or significant result, or are otherwise critical and it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another configuration (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)).
Regarding Claim 2, Jang et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the second planarization layer (730) surrounds a side surface of the inorganic layer (135) and a side surface of the first substrate (110).
Regarding Claim 3, Jang et al., as modified by Lim et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a flexible film (710) on the first substrate (110) at one side of the non-display area (area within 701), wherein the second planarization layer (730) is in the non-display area (area within 701) at a lateral portion that excludes one side at which the flexible film (710) is disposed.
Motivation to combine would be the same as stated above.
Regarding Claim 4, Jang et al., as modified by Lim et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein an end of the second planarization layer (730) is further outside in a plan view relative to an end of the first substrate (110), and a portion of the second planarization layer (730) is on a same layer as the first substrate (110).
Motivation to combine would be the same as stated above.
Regarding Claim 5, Jang et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first planarization layer (250) and the second planarization layer (730) are integrated.
Regarding Claim 6, Jang et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a seal member (outermost surface of 730) surrounding a side surface of the second substrate (650), wherein an end of the second planarization layer (730) is covered by the seal member (outermost surface of 730).
Regarding Claim 7, Jang et al., as modified by Lim et al., teaches the display device of claim 6, wherein the first substrate (110), a portion of the second planarization layer (730), and a portion of the seal member (outermost surface of 730) are on a same layer.
Motivation to combine would be the same as stated above.
Regarding Claim 8, Jang et al., as modified by Lim et al., teaches the display device of claim 6, further comprising a polarizing plate (300, “polarization layer,” ¶ [0082]) or barrier film bonded to a bottom surface of the first substrate (110), a bottom surface of the second planarization layer (730), and a bottom surface of the seal member (outermost surface of 730), wherein the inorganic layer (135) is on a top surface of the first substrate (110).
Motivation to combine would be the same as stated above.
Regarding Claim 9, Jang et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein an end of the second planarization layer (730) is further outside in a plan view relative to an end of the bonding layer (630).
Regarding Claim 10, Jang et al., as modified by Lim et al., teaches the display device of claim 9, wherein an end of the first substrate (110) and an end of the inorganic layer (135) are further inside in the plan view relative to an end of the bonding layer (630).
Motivation to combine would be the same as stated above.
Regarding Claim 11, Jang et al., teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein an end of the second planarization layer (730) is further inside in a plan view relative to an end of the bonding layer (630).
Regarding Claim 12, Jang et al., teaches the claimed invention (see rejection in the claim above) in addition to a portion of the bonding layer (630) is on a same layer as the first substrate (110). Jang et al., does not explicitly teach the specific limitation of a width of the bonding layer on the same layer as the first substrate being 100 pm or less.
However, Examiner reasonably contemplates that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the width of the bonding layer on the same layer as the first substrate being 100 pm or less, since optimization of workable ranges is considered within the skill of the art as it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would entertain the idea of providing the width of the bonding layer on the same layer as the first substrate being 100 pm or less in order to improve the functionality and stability of the bonding layer overall.
Regarding Claim 13, Jang et al., teaches a display device, comprising: a first substrate (110) including a display area having a plurality of pixels, and a non-display area (area within 701) surrounding the display area, the first substrate (110); a plurality of inorganic layers (135, “the encapsulation layer 135 may include a first inorganic material layer surrounding the light emitting device layer 133, an organic material layer surrounding the first inorganic material layer, and a second inorganic material layer surrounding the organic material layer, ¶ [0064]) on the first substrate (110); a planarization layer (combination of 250 + 730) on the plurality of inorganic layers; a bonding layer (630) on the plurality of inorganic layers (of 135) and the planarization layer (combination of 250 + 730); a second substrate (650) on the bonding layer (630); and a seal member (outermost surface of 730) (outer-most edge/surface of 730) surrounding a side surface of the second substrate (650) and a side surface of the planarization layer (combination of 250 + 730), wherein the planarization layer (combination of 250 + 730) surrounds a side surface of the first substrate (110) and a side surface of the inorganic layer (135). Jang et al., does not explicitly teach the first substrate being made of one of transparent conducting oxide and oxide semiconductor.
In the same field of endeavor of display panels (1000, “display,” ¶ [0044]), Lim et al., teaches that a substrate is provided as either silicon dioxide (as also taught by Jang above) or titanium dioxide (¶ [0079]), thus exemplifying recognized equivalent materials of the substrates in the art. Lim et al., teaches the suitability of using a substrate being provided as silicon dioxide or titanium dioxide in order to ensure adequate transparency while maintaining functionality during operation.
In light of this teaching, Examiner reasonably contemplates that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the substrate of Jang et al., as titanium dioxide instead of as silicon dioxide, since the selection of any of these known equivalents would be considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Lim's teaching.
Regarding Claim 14, Jang et al., as modified by Lim et al., teaches the display device of claim 13, wherein a bottom surface of the first substrate (110), a part of a bottom surface of the planarization layer, and a bottom surface of the seal member (outermost surface of 730) are positioned on a same plane.
Motivation to combine would be the same as stated above.
Regarding Claim 15, Jang et al., teaches the display device of claim 13, wherein an end of the bonding layer (630) is on a top surface of the planarization layer (combination of 250 + 730).
Regarding Claim 16, Jang et al., teaches the display device of claim 13, wherein the bonding layer (630) surrounds a side surface of the planarization layer (combination of 250 + 730).
Other Prior Art Cited
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 10,802,638 B1 teaches a bonding layer covering the edge of a second substrate.
U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0345880 teaches first and second passivation layers.
Examiner's Note
The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Hana Featherly whose telephone number is (571)-272-8654. The examiner can normally be reached on M-R 10 AM - 2 PM. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, James Greece can be reached on 571-272-3711. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Hana Featherly/
USPTO Art Unit 2875
Patent Examiner Hana Featherly
/JAMES R GREECE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875