Applicants’ remarks and amendments, filed on April 23, 2026, have been carefully considered. Claims 8, 9 and 14 have been amended; no new claims have been added.
Claims 1-18 are presently pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Applicants’ Priority Document was filed on October 25, 2023.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, in the reply filed on April 23, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that "search and/or examination of all of the alleged inventions would not give the Examiner any substantially more burden than search and/or examination of any one of the pending invention because the Examiner is likely to search in the same classification with substantially the same queries.” This is not found persuasive because as shown in the restriction requirement, Groups I-VI have differing fields of search, resulting in the formation of differing search strategies and/or queries for each group.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 9-18 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to the nonelected inventions of (a) a method of producing a catalyst comprising at least Mo and Bi (claims 9-14), (b) and (c) methods of producing an α,β-unsaturated aldehyde and/or an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid from an alkene, alcohol or an ether (claims 15 and 16), (d) a method of producing an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid from an α,β-unsaturated aldehyde (claim 17), and (d) a method of producing an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid ester from an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid (claim 18), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on April 23, 2026.
Applicants’ submission that “the method claims should be examined with the elected claims because they have been amended to depend from and incorporate all limitations of elected claim 1” has been considered. Although claim 9 has been amended to depend from claim 1, the method recited in this claim (and in claims 10-14 depending therefrom) was shown, in the previous Restriction Requirement, to be an invention distinct from at least Group I, as the catalyst of Group I has been shown to be produced by another and materially different process; see Item 5 of the previous restriction requirement.
For this reason, rejoinder of Group II, claims 9-14, with elected Group I, claims 1-8, will not be done at this time.
Applicants’ request that the withdrawn claims “be rejoined once the elected claims are in condition for allowance in accordance with MPEP 821.04” is duly noted and will be considered in the event the elected claims are determined to contain allowable subject matter. Applicants are respectfully remined that all rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103, and 112.
Claims 1-8 are presently under consideration by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1 of claim 8, “wherein a catalyst composition” should be amended to recite “wherein the catalyst composition”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/371,240 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The claims in the instant application are drawn to a catalyst comprising at least molybdenum and bismuth, wherein the catalyst exhibits a ratio of B/A ranging from 1.3 to 5, wherein A is a ratio of the amount of bismuth atoms to the amount of molybdenum atoms, calculated from ICP (inductively coupled plasma) atomic emission spectrometry is A, and B is a ratio of a peak area of bismuth atoms to a peak area of molybdenum atoms, measured by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy.
The claims in the copending ‘240 application are drawn to a catalyst comprising at least molybdenum, said catalyst having a chemical oxygen demand (COD) ranging between 300 and 11000 ppm. The catalysts in the respective sets of claims have similar formulae (claim 8 of the instant application; claims 4 and 9 of the copending ‘240 application), with the exception that in the copending ‘240 application, the formulae recited therein contain an additional (NH4)h1 and (NH4)h2, with h1 and h2 each ranging from 0 to 30. Thus, in the copending ‘240 application, when h1 and h2 are 0, the formulae recited therein read on that recited in claim 8 of the instant application; the respective catalysts would be expected to exhibit the properties of COD and claimed ratio of B/A in comparable values.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurimoto et al. (U. S. Patent No. 5,700,752).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 8, Kurimoto et al. teach a catalyst for the production of unsaturated aldehyde and unsaturated carboxylic acid by the vapor-phase catalytic oxidation of at least one compound selected from the group consisting of propylene, isobutylene, t-butanol, and methyl-t-butyl ether (“for use in production of an α,β-unsaturated aldehyde and/or an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid from an alkene, an alcohol, or an ether”). The catalyst comprises (a) a catalyst having Mo, Bi, and Fe as essential components and (b) a solid acid. The catalyst having Mo, Bi, and Fe as essential components is represented by a general formula comparable to that recited in Applicants’ claim 8. See col. 3, lines 25-57 of Kurimoto et al., as well as col. 7, line 51 to col. 8, line 14, which describes the aforementioned vapor-phase catalytic oxidation reactions in which the aforementioned catalyst is employed, and also teaches exemplary unsaturated aldehydes and unsaturated carboxylic acids obtained from said reactions.
Kurimoto et al. do not explicitly teach or suggest that the aforementioned catalyst exhibits a ratio B/A of 1.3 to 5, wherein A represents a ratio of the amount of bismuth atoms to the amount of molybdenum atoms, calculated from ICP (inductively coupled plasma) atomic emission spectrometry, and B represents a ratio of peak area of bismuth atoms to a peak area of molybdenum atoms, measured by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, as recited in claim 1. Kurimoto et al. also do not teach or suggest the B/A ranges recited in claims 2 and 3, or the values of A and B recited in claims 4-6.
However, as discussed above, the catalyst disclosed in Kurimoto et al. structurally reads upon Applicants' instantly claimed catalyst, said disclosed catalyst comprising at least molybdenum and bismuth, as recited in claim 1, and also formulaically comparable to that recited in Applicants' claim 8. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicants' invention to reasonably expect the catalyst disclosed in Kurimoto et al. to exhibit the ratio B/A, as well as he values for A and B, in amounts comparable to those respectively recited in Applicants’ claims 1-6, absent the showing of convincing evidence to the contrary.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 94 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Further, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); see also MPEP 2112.01(I).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii et al. (U. S. Patent No. 4,118,419).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Ishii et al. teach a catalyst composition represented by the formula PaMobBicSbdXeYfOg, wherein Mo is molybdenum, P is phosphorus, Bi is bismuth, Sb is antimony, O is oxygen, X is at least one element selected from the group consisting of potassium, rubidium, cesium, and thallium; and Y is at least one element selected from the group consisting of cobalt, zinc, niobium, chromium, nickel, iron, silicon, tantalum, cadmium, uranium, manganese, copper, thorium, selenium, aluminum, titanium, tungsten and cerium, and wherein the subscripts a-g represent the atomic ratio of each component such that a is 0.5 to 6, bis 12, c is 0.01 to 6, d is 0.01 to 12, e is 0.2 to 6, f is 0.01 to 6, and g is a value which is determined by the valencies of the elements present in the catalyst; note that this formula is comparable to that recited in Applicants’ claim 8. See col. 1, lines 37-62 of Ishii et al.
Regarding claim 7, while the catalyst disclosed in Ishii et al. is employed in the preparation of acrylic acid or methacrylic acid by contacting a gaseous mixture of acrolein or methacrolein and molecular oxygen (col. 1, lines 41-47 therein), this reference does not explicitly teach that the aforementioned catalyst is employed in the production of an α,β-unsaturated aldehyde and/or an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid from an alkene, an alcohol, or an ether.
However, it is considered that because Ishii et al. teach a catalyst structurally reading upon that instantly claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicants' invention to reasonably expect the catalyst disclosed in Ishii et al. to suitably and effectively produce an α,β-unsaturated aldehyde and/or an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid from an alkene, an alcohol, or an ether, absent the showing of convincing evidence to the contrary.
Additionally, the claim limitation “for use in production of an α,β-unsaturated aldehyde and/or an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid from an alkene, an alcohol, or an ether” is considered a statement of intended use.
Applicants’ attention is drawn to MPEP 2111.02 which states that intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is the examiner’s position that the intended use recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art and further that the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use. Given that Ishii et al. teach a catalyst structurally reading upon that instantly claimed, it is clear that the catalyst disclosed in this reference would be capable of performing the intended use presently claimed, i.e., in the production of an α,β-unsaturated aldehyde and/or an α,β-unsaturated carboxylic acid from an alkene, an alcohol, or an ether, as required in the above cited portion of the MPEP, and thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Ishii et al. do not explicitly teach or suggest that the aforementioned catalyst exhibits a ratio B/A of 1.3 to 5, wherein A represents a ratio of the amount of bismuth atoms to the amount of molybdenum atoms, calculated from ICP (inductively coupled plasma) atomic emission spectrometry, and B represents a ratio of peak area of bismuth atoms to a peak area of molybdenum atoms, measured by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy, as recited in claim 1. Ishii et al. also do not teach or suggest the B/A ranges recited in claims 2 and 3, or the values of A and B recited in claims 4-6.
However, as discussed above, the catalyst disclosed in Ishii et al. structurally reads upon Applicants’ instantly claimed catalyst, said disclosed catalyst comprising at least molybdenum and bismuth, as recited in Applicants’ claim 1, and also formulaically comparable to that recited in Applicants’ claim 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicants' invention to reasonably expect the catalyst disclosed in Ishii et al. to exhibit the ratio B/A, as well as he values for A and B, in amounts comparable to those respectively recited in Applicants’ claims 1-6, absent the showing of convincing evidence to the contrary.
It is well settled that when a claimed composition appears to be substantially the same as a composition disclosed in the prior art, the burden is properly upon the applicant to prove by way of tangible evidence that the prior art composition does not necessarily possess characteristics attributed to the CLAIMED composition. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 15 USPQ2d 1655 (Fed. Circ. 1990); In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 94 (CCPA 1980); In re Swinehart, 439 F.2d 2109, 169 USPQ 226 (CCPA 1971).
Further, it has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); see also MPEP 2112.01(I).
Conclusion
/Patricia L. Hailey/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 May 5, 2026