Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7,9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (USPN 2022/0254837).
With regard to claim 1,
Yang et al. disclose a color filter film comprising: a first protection layer (TS-IL2); a color filter (CF) layer on the first protection layer; a black matrix (BM) dividing the color filter layer; and a second protection layer (WBS, WBS/WHCL) on the color filter layer and the black matrix (See e.g., fig 17D).
With regard to claim 2,
Yang et al. disclose the color filter film of claim 1, wherein the first protection layer comprises one of photoacryl (PAC), silicon-based elastomer, and thermoplastic polyurethane or thermal poly-urethane (TPU) (See paragraph 141).
With regard to claim 3,
Yang et al. disclose the color filter film of claim 1, wherein the first protection layer and the second protection layer comprise different materials (see paragraphs 113,140, inorganic first protection layer).
With regard to claim 4,
Yang et al. disclose the color filter film of claim 1, wherein the second protection layer covers the color filter layer and the black matrix (See e.g., fig 17D).
With regard to claim 5,
Yang et al. disclose the color filter film of claim 1, wherein the first protection layer and the second protection layer have different thicknesses (necessarily, see, e.g., fig. 17D, second protection layer WBS has variable thickness).
With regard to claim 6,
Yang et al. disclose the color filter film of claim 1, further comprising an adhesive member on the second protection layer (see paragraph 197).
With regard to claim 7,
Yang et al. disclose the color filter film of claim 1, wherein the black matrix comprises: a first black matrix (TS-BM1 see fig. 19F) on the first protection layer; and a second black matrix (TS-BM2) on the first black matrix, and wherein a sum of thicknesses of the first black matrix and the second black matrix is less than or equal to a thickness of the color filter layer (See figure 19F).
With regard to claim 9
Yang et al. disclose the color filter film of claim 1, wherein the black matrix comprises: a first black matrix (lower portion, see fig. 17D) on the first protection layer; and a second black matrix (upper portion)on the first black matrix, and wherein a sum of thicknesses of the first black matrix and the second black matrix is greater than a thickness of the color filter layer (See fig. 17D).
With regard to claim 10,
Yang et al. disclose the color filter film of claim 1, further comprising one or more inorganic layers (TFE, see paragraph 88) under the first protection layer.
With regard to claim 11,
Yang et al. disclose the color filter film of claim 10, further comprising one or more inorganic layers (WHCL, see paragraph 88) on the second protection layer.
With regard to claim 12,
Yang et al. disclose a display device comprising: a foldable (see paragraph 3) display panel including a bending region (BA) bent in a curved shape; a color filter film (RPL+) on the foldable display panel; and a cover member (PL) on the foldable display panel, wherein the color filter film comprises: a first protection layer (TS-IL2) on the foldable display panel, a color filter layer (CF) on the first protection layer, a black matrix (BM) dividing the color filter layer, and a second protection layer (WBS, WBS/WHCL) on the color filter layer and the black matrix.
With regard to claim 13,
Yang et al. disclose the display device of claim 12, further comprising: a first adhesive member between the foldable display panel and the color filter film; and a second adhesive member between the color filter film and the cover member (See paragraph 72).
With regard to claim 14,
Yang et al. disclose the display device of claim 12, wherein the first protection layer comprises one of photoacryl (PAC), silicon-based elastomer, and thermoplastic polyurethane or thermal poly-urethane (TPU) (see paragraph 141).
With regard to claim 15,
Yang et al. disclose the display device of claim 12, wherein the color filter layer and the black matrix are surrounded by the first protection layer and the second protection layer (See, e.g., fig 17D).
With regard to claim 16,
Yang et al. disclose the display device of claim 12, wherein the first protection layer and the second protection layer have different thicknesses (necessarily, see, e.g., fig 17D, second protection layer WBS has variable thickness).
With regard to claim 17,
Yang et al. disclose the display device of claim 13, wherein the foldable display panel comprises: a thin film transistor (TR1) on a substrate; an organic emission layer (EML, see paragraph 100) connected with the thin film transistor; an encapsulation layer (TFE) on the organic emission layer; and a touch sensing layer (TS) on the encapsulation layer, and wherein the first protection layer is provided on the touch sensing layer (See e.g., fig 17D).
With regard to claim 18,
Yang et al. disclose the display device of claim 17, wherein the first adhesive member is provided between the touch sensing layer and the first protection layer, and attaches the touch sensing layer on the first protection layer, and the first adhesive member comprises one of a transparent adhesive and a semitransparent adhesive (see paragraph 72).
With regard to claim 19,
Yang et al. disclose the display device of claim 17, wherein the second adhesive member is provided between the color filter film and the cover member, and attaches the color filter film on the cover member, and the second adhesive member comprises one of a transparent adhesive and a semitransparent adhesive (See paragraph 72).
With regard to claim 20,
Yang et al. disclose the display device of claim 12, further comprising: a supporting plate (SUB) provided under the foldable display panel; and a third adhesive member attaching the foldable display panel on the supporting plate, wherein the third adhesive member comprises one of a transparent adhesive, a semitransparent adhesive, and an opaque adhesive (See paragraph 72).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (as above).
With regard to claim 8,
Yang et al. disclose the color filter film of claim 7, wherein the first black matrix has a tapered shape, and the second black matrix has a reverse tapered shape (see fig. 17D). While Yang et al. do not disclose this feature when the sum of the thickness is less than or equal to the filter, this feature is disclosed in figure 19F and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine these concepts in order to try to provide a thinner device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 2021/0055819, 2021/0200365.
/CHRISTOPHER M RAABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875