DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 113135945 A).
Regarding Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, Li teaches a material represented by C13 (page 4/9):
C-13 reads on applicants’ Formula 1 wherein L1 = phenyl, Ring A= bridged cyclohexane; X = N-L2-R3, L2 = phenyl, R3 = tert-butyl; R1 = bridged cyclohexane; R4 = tert-butyl; R2 = H; Ring C and D = phenyl (per claim 1).
C-13 contains two aryl amino groups (per claim 2)
Ring A =
C and D = phenyl (per claim 4)
R1 = bridged cyclohexane; R4 = tert-butyl (per claim 5)
R3 = tert-butyl (per claim 7)
Regarding Claims 9-10, Li teaches an OLED light-emitting device generally includes: a substrate material, such as glass, metal foil, or polymer film; an anode, such as transparent conductive indium tin oxide; a cathode, such as conductive
aluminum or other metal; and one or more organic semiconductors, such as
an electron injection layer between the light-emitting layer and the cathode,
and a hole injection layer between the light-emitting layer and the anode,
wherein the light-emitting layer contains light-emitting dopants mixed with the
host material to form the light-emitting layer (machine trans paragraph 13). C-23 is used in the light emitting layer (machine trans paragraph 26) (per claims 9-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 113135945 A).
Regarding Claims 3 and 6, Li teaches a material represented by C13, above, wherein R2 = H. C-13 is derived from generic I (GI) (abstract):
GI shows X5 = H which corresponds to applicants’ R2.
Li teaches a finite set of options for X1-X5 which is independently viewed as functionally independent whereby upon selected gives rise to obvious variants of GI such as C-13.
One such obvious variant reading on the instant limitations is best viewed as a modification of C-13 wherein X5 as H is replaced by a phenyl group resulting in C-13-X5Ph:
Je teaches various substituents options for R1-R18. Such groups are viewed as functional equivalent substituents which gives rise to obvious variants based on generic Compound 1a.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to have made a variety of derivatives of GI by selecting various functional equivalent substituents which would have included the above variant which reads on the instant limitations, absent unexpected results (per claim 6).
C-13-X5Ph reads on
wherein L1 = phenyl, Ring A= bridged cyclohexane; X = N-L2-R3, L2 = phenyl, R3 = tert-butyl; R1 = bridged cyclohexane; R4 = tert-butyl; R2 = phenyl; Ring C and D = phenyl (per claim 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
A comprehensive search did not show the claimed compounds.
Conclusion
/GREGORY D CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786