DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-8, 11-14, 23, and 25 in the reply filed on 03/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9, 10, 15-22, and 24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/19/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “open side” and “central space” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 504a and 504b. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“arranged translate along” in line 4 should read -arranged to translate along-.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 11-14, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the print head comprising: …a path length adjustment system positioned on the print head” in lines 6-14. It is unclear how the print head can “comprise” the path length adjustment system and the path length adjustment system can be positioned on the print head.
Claims 2-8, 11-14, 23, and 25 are rejected as depending from an indefinite claim and failing to recite sufficient limitations to overcome the indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Van Lent (US20220388245A1).
In reference to claim 1:
Van Lent discloses a three-dimensional printer for additive manufacturing of a part (abstract) comprising:
a build platen (build plate 94, Fig. 1);
a pre-extrusion system (filament feeding system 80, Fig. 8);
a print head located downstream of the pre-extrusion system and configured to receive and deposit a filament (para 0071; Fig. 8), the print head comprising:
a receiving section configured to receive the filament, the receiving section including an inlet through which the filament is threaded (Bowden tube 121, Fig. 11A);
an outlet through which the filament is deposited onto the build platen or a previously added layer of a part (print head 105, Fig. 11A);
a feeding mechanism constructed and arranged to feed the filament into the outlet (feeder 126, Fig. 11a); and
a path length adjustment system positioned on the print head, the path length adjustment system constructed and arranged to create slack in the filament being delivered from the pre-extrusion system (decoupler 1 para 0080, Fig. 11A).
In reference to claim 12:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Van Lent further discloses wherein the print head further comprises a sensor constructed and arranged to measure the linear position of the path length adjustment system (para 0059, Fig. 1A-1B).
In reference to claim 13:
In addition to the discussion of claim 1, above, Van Lent further discloses a controller constructed and arranged to direct one or both of the feed mechanism and the pre-extruder to feed the filament to the print head (para 0020).
In reference to claim 14:
In addition to the discussion of claim 13, above, Van Lent further discloses wherein the controller is configured to adjust the feed rate of the printer at one or both of the pre-extrusion system and feeding mechanism based on an output from the sensor in the path length adjustment system (paras 0020, 0072).
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (US20210221061A1).
Smith discloses a device for adjusting a path length in a three-dimensional printer (abstract), comprising:
a housing configured to be connected to a print head of a three-dimensional printer, the housing comprising an open side and a central space (Figs. 5-7);
a sliding component constructed and arranged to translate along the open side of the housing, the sliding component having a first portion that sits within the central space and a second portion that projects away from the open side (Fig. 6 showing the housing 133 having an “open side” with the lower portion of pin 120 projecting “away” from the open side); and
an inner bushing positioned within the first portion of the sliding component and having a diameter adapted to pass a filament therethrough (para 0052 discussing the sealing connector 122),
the sliding component adjusting a path length of the filament in response to a pressure on the filament during a printing process (para 0052).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 11, 25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
After search the prior art regarded as nearest the claimed invention is Van Lent (US20220388245A1). Van Lent discloses a three-dimensional printer for additive manufacturing of a part (abstract) comprising: a build platen (build plate 94, Fig. 1); a pre-extrusion system (filament feeding system 80, Fig. 8); a print head located downstream of the pre-extrusion system and configured to receive and deposit a filament (para 0071; Fig. 8), the print head comprising: a receiving section configured to receive the filament, the receiving section including an inlet through which the filament is threaded (Bowden tube 121, Fig. 11A); an outlet through which the filament is deposited onto the build platen or a previously added layer of a part (print head 105, Fig. 11A); a feeding mechanism constructed and arranged to feed the filament into the outlet (feeder 126, Fig. 11a); and a path length adjustment system positioned on the print head, the path length adjustment system constructed and arranged to create slack in the filament being delivered from the pre-extrusion system (decoupler 1 para 0080, Fig. 11A). Van Lent further discloses a sliding element (paras 0061-0062) but fails to disclose wherein the path length adjustment system comprises a housing connected to the print head and comprising an open side and a central space; a sliding component constructed and arranged translate along the open side of the housing, the sliding component having a first portion that sits within the central space and a second portion that projects away from the open side; and an inner bushing positioned within the first portion of the sliding component and having a diameter adapted to pass a filament therethrough. The Office is unable to discern a reasonable rationale from the prior art that such features are taught, suggested, or otherwise rendered obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zinniel (US20100327479A1)
O’Neil (US20150283751)
Distefano (US20180339486A1)
Wang (US20180154586A1)
Gjovik (US20200254690A1)
Manuel (US20200002121A1)
De Backer (US20200047402A1)
Sato (US20220176652A1)
/ANDREW L SWANSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745