DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 05/04/2026 in which claims 1-26 and 28-30 are pending. Claim 27 was canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/29/2026 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks filed on 05/04/2026 with respect to amended independent claim 10 have been fully considered. Based on the amendments to the claims, further consideration and search were performed resulting in a new ground(s) of rejection presented below. Applicant’s amendment are addressed below. The claims have not overcome the claim rejections as shown below.
Claims 1-26 and 28-30 are pending.
Claim 27 was canceled.
Response to Arguments
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant argues that Hong fails to disclose that the random access timer value is determined according to a terminal device capability.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hong recites in [0285], “when a UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication receives the NTN RTD offset information (or information for calculating it), the window or timer may be configured to be running until the value allocated to the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer plus the NTN RTD offset… when a UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication receives the NTN RTD offset information (or information for indicating it), the UE ignores the value assigned to the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContennonResolunonTimer and uses the NTN RTD offset to run the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer”. The random access timer value with the Ra-ResponseWindow is set based on the UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication. Thus, the timer is determined according to the non-terrestrial network communication capability of the UE.
Regarding amended independent claim 1, Applicant further argues that Hong fails to disclose that at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval is not configured to be used by a communication circuit of the terminal device to perform reception or transmission.
Based on the amendments to the claim, further search was conducted resulting in the new ground of rejection presented below. The newly found prior art of Höglund et al. (US 2023/0043517), hereinafter “Höglund” discloses the amended features of claim 1 as shown below in the Office Action.
Therefore, the amended independent claim 1 is rendered unpatentable. Independent claims 11 and 21 recite similar distinguishing features as claim 1, thus are also rendered unpatentable. As a result the features of the claims are shown by the cited references as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-14, 17, 19-24, 26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2022/0007455) in view of Höglund et al. (US 2023/0043517), hereinafter “Höglund”.
As to claim 1, Hong teaches a synchronization method (Hong, Fig. 6, [0082], a random access procedure. [0084], during the random access procedure the UE receives a random access response with TAC information for synchronization), comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, a first time interval (Hong, [0285], the UE may add the corresponding offset information to the random access timer value or use the offset information as the random access timer value. The random access timer value includes the ra-ResponseWindow), wherein the first time interval is configured to be used by the terminal device to acquire synchronization information (Hong, [0273], [0277], during the ra-ResponseWindow, the UE monitors for a random access response. [0084], the random access response (RAR) includes TAC information for synchronization), a length of the first time interval is determined according to a terminal device capability (Hong, [0285], “when a UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication receives the NTN RTD offset information (or information for calculating it), the window or timer may be configured to be running until the value allocated to the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer plus the NTN RTD offset… when a UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication receives the NTN RTD offset information (or information for indicating it), the UE ignores the value assigned to the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContennonResolunonTimer and uses the NTN RTD offset to run the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer”. The random access timer value with the Ra-ResponseWindow is set based on the UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication); and
acquiring, by the terminal device, the synchronization information based on the first time interval (Hong, Fig. 6, [0084], the UE receives the random access response with TAC information for synchronization. [0273], [0277], the UE receives the random access response during the ra-ResponseWindow. See also Fig. 13, [0145]), the synchronization information being used to transmit a first physical channel or signal (Hong, [0084], the random access response (RAR) includes TAC information for synchronization. [0085], the UE performs scheduled transmissions by applying the TAC in the random access response).
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 1, and at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval is not configured to be used by a communication circuit of the terminal device to perform reception or transmission.
However, Höglund teaches and at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval is not configured to be used by a communication circuit of the terminal device to perform reception or transmission (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, during the Ra-Response window, the DCINewServiceOffset is set to 2, which causes the UE B to sleep for the next 2 PDCCH occasions and not receive a communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Höglund in order to avoid decoding unnecessary PDCCH and RARs, thereby reducing the energy consumed by the UE (Höglund, [0098]).
As to claim 2, Hong teaches wherein the synchronization information comprises at least one of:
uplink timing synchronization (Hong, [0084], the random access response (RAR) includes TAC information for uplink synchronization), uplink frequency offset synchronization (Hong, [0084], [0284]-[0285], offset information is indicated for the ra-ResponseWindow. [0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is used to receive the random access response for uplink synchronization), downlink timing synchronization, or downlink frequency offset synchronization.
As to claim 3, Hong teaches wherein the synchronization information is acquired based on first information (Hong, Fig. 6, [0084], the UE receives the TAC information included in the random access response), and the first information comprises at least one of:
timing information (Hong, [0084], the random access response includes resource and time alignment command information), timing change information (Hong, [0084], the random access response included timing alignment information to adjust uplink synchronization), frequency offset information, frequency offset change information, location information, or ephemeris information.
As to claim 4, Hong teaches wherein the first physical channel or signal comprises an uplink physical channel (Hong, [0085], the UE performs scheduled transmissions by applying the TAC in the random access response. [0044], uplink transmissions are performed via PUSCH and PUCCH) or an uplink reference signal, and the synchronization information is used to send the first physical channel or signal (Hong, [0085], the UE performs scheduled transmissions by applying the TAC in the random access response).
As to claim 7, Hong teaches wherein the acquiring, by the terminal device, the synchronization information based on the first time interval (Hong, Fig. 6, [0084], the UE receives the random access response with TAC information for synchronization. [0273], [0277], the UE receives the random access response during the ra-ResponseWindow. See also Fig. 13, [0145]) comprises:
acquiring, by the terminal device, the synchronization information based on a second time domain resource in the first time interval (Hong, Fig. 6, [0084], the UE receives the random access response with TAC information for synchronization. [0273], [0276]-[0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is a window in the time domain to monitor for the random access response. The ra-ResponseWindow has occasions and expires. This indicates that the ra-ResponseWindow includes time resources to receive the random access response. [0286], the ra-ResponseWindow is configured with slots) and a communication circuit of the terminal device (Hong, Fig. 18, [0360], the UE 1800 to receive the signals described), wherein the second time domain resource is at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval (Hong, [0273], [0276]-[0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is a window in the time domain to monitor for the random access response. The ra-ResponseWindow has occasions and expires. This indicates that the ra-ResponseWindow includes time resources to receive the random access response. [0286], the ra-ResponseWindow is configured with slots).
As to claim 9, Hong teaches wherein the synchronization information comprises a Timing Advance (TA) value corresponding to uplink timing synchronization of the terminal device (Hong, [0084], the random access response (RAR) includes TAC information for uplink synchronization), and
the terminal device performs TA adjustment based on the first time interval and the TA value (Hong, [0085], the UE performs scheduled transmissions by applying the TAC in the random access response).
As to claim 10, Hong teaches wherein a length of the first time interval satisfies at least one of:
the length of the first time interval being greater than or equal to a timing offset length corresponding to the TA value,
the length of the first time interval being greater than or equal to a timing offset length corresponding to a maximum of the TA value, or
the length of the first time interval being greater than or equal to a length corresponding to a round trip time between the terminal device and a network device (Hong, [0283], a new parameter for long round trip delay (RTD). [0284]-[0285], the length of the ra-Responsewindow is calculated as the ra-ResponseWindow plus the NTN RTD offset or just as the NTN RTD offset. In both cases, the ra-ResponseWindow is greater than or equal than NTN RTD offset).
As to claim 11, Hong teaches a terminal device (Hong, Fig. 6, Fig. 18, [0349], a UE), comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to (Hong, Fig. 6, Fig. 18, [0350], [0374], the UE includes a controller that executes software in a memory to perform the functions of the UE):
determine a first time interval (Hong, [0285], the UE may add the corresponding offset information to the random access timer value or use the offset information as the random access timer value. The random access timer value includes the ra-ResponseWindow), wherein the first time interval is configured to be used by the terminal device to acquire synchronization information (Hong, [0273], [0277], during the ra-ResponseWindow, the UE monitors for a random access response. [0084], the random access response (RAR) includes TAC information for synchronization), a length of the first time interval is determined according to a terminal device capability (Hong, [0285], “when a UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication receives the NTN RTD offset information (or information for calculating it), the window or timer may be configured to be running until the value allocated to the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer plus the NTN RTD offset… when a UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication receives the NTN RTD offset information (or information for indicating it), the UE ignores the value assigned to the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContennonResolunonTimer and uses the NTN RTD offset to run the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer”. The random access timer value with the Ra-ResponseWindow is set based on the UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication); and
acquire the synchronization information based on the first time interval (Hong, Fig. 6, [0084], the UE receives the random access response with TAC information for synchronization. [0273], [0277], the UE receives the random access response during the ra-ResponseWindow. See also Fig. 13, [0145]), the synchronization information being used to transmit a first physical channel or signal (Hong, [0084], the random access response (RAR) includes TAC information for synchronization. [0085], the UE performs scheduled transmissions by applying the TAC in the random access response).
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 11, and at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval is not configured to be used by a communication circuit of the terminal device to perform reception or transmission.
However, Höglund teaches and at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval is not configured to be used by a communication circuit of the terminal device to perform reception or transmission (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, during the Ra-Response window, the DCINewServiceOffset is set to 2, which results in the UE B to sleep for the next 2 PDCCH occasions and not receive a communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Höglund in order to avoid decoding unnecessary PDCCH and RARs, thereby reducing the energy consumed by the UE (Höglund, [0098]).
As to claim 12, Hong teaches wherein the synchronization information comprises at least one of:
uplink timing synchronization (Hong, [0084], the random access response (RAR) includes TAC information for uplink synchronization), uplink frequency offset synchronization (Hong, [0084], [0284]-[0285], offset information is indicated for the ra-ResponseWindow. [0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is used to receive the random access response for uplink synchronization), downlink timing synchronization, or downlink frequency offset synchronization.
As to claim 13, Hong teaches wherein the synchronization information is acquired based on first information (Hong, Fig. 6, [0084], the UE receives the TAC information included in the random access response), and the first information comprises at least one of:
timing information (Hong, [0084], the random access response includes resource and time alignment command information), timing change information (Hong, [0084], the random access response included timing alignment information to adjust uplink synchronization), frequency offset information, frequency offset change information, location information, or ephemeris information.
As to claim 14, Hong teaches wherein the first physical channel or signal comprises an uplink physical channel (Hong, [0085], the UE performs scheduled transmissions by applying the TAC in the random access response. [0044], uplink transmissions are performed via PUSCH and PUCCH) or an uplink reference signal, and the synchronization information is used to send the first physical channel or signal (Hong, [0085], the UE performs scheduled transmissions by applying the TAC in the random access response).
As to claim 17, Hong teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
acquire the synchronization information based on a second time domain resource in the first time interval (Hong, Fig. 6, [0084], the UE receives the random access response with TAC information for synchronization. [0273], [0276]-[0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is a window in the time domain to monitor for the random access response. The ra-ResponseWindow has occasions and expires. This indicates that the ra-ResponseWindow includes time resources to receive the random access response. [0286], the ra-ResponseWindow is configured with slots) and a communication circuit of the terminal device (Hong, Fig. 18, [0360], the UE 1800 to receive the signals described), wherein the second time domain resource is at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval (Hong, [0273], [0276]-[0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is a window in the time domain to monitor for the random access response. The ra-ResponseWindow has occasions and expires. This indicates that the ra-ResponseWindow includes time resources to receive the random access response. [0286], the ra-ResponseWindow is configured with slots).
As to claim 19, Hong teaches wherein the synchronization information comprises a Timing Advance (TA) value corresponding to uplink timing synchronization of the terminal device (Hong, [0084], the random access response (RAR) includes TAC information for uplink synchronization), and
the terminal device performs TA adjustment based on the first time interval and the TA value (Hong, [0085], the UE performs scheduled transmissions by applying the TAC in the random access response).
As to claim 20, Hong teaches wherein a length of the first time interval satisfies at least one of:
the length of the first time interval being greater than or equal to a timing offset length corresponding to the TA value,
the length of the first time interval being greater than or equal to a timing offset length corresponding to a maximum of the TA value, or
the length of the first time interval being greater than or equal to a length corresponding to a round trip time between the terminal device and a network device (Hong, [0283], a new parameter for long round trip delay (RTD). [0284]-[0285], the length of the ra-Responsewindow is calculated as the ra-ResponseWindow plus the NTN RTD offset or just as the NTN RTD offset. In both cases, the ra-ResponseWindow is greater than or equal than NTN RTD offset).
As to claim 21, Hong teaches a network device (Hong, Fig. 19, [0361]-[0362], a network node/base station), comprising: a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to (Hong, Fig. 19, [0362], [0374], the base station includes a controller that executes software in a memory to perform the functions of the network node):
send configuration information of a first time interval to a terminal device (Hong, [0209], [0284]-[0285], the offset information is indicated by a signal from the base station to the UE. The offset information is used to calculate the ra-ResponseWindow), wherein the first time interval is configured to be used by the terminal device to acquire synchronization information (Hong, [0273], [0277], during the ra-ResponseWindow, the UE monitors for a random access response. [0084], the random access response (RAR) includes TAC information for synchronization), a length of the first time interval is determined according to a terminal device capability (Hong, [0285], “when a UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication receives the NTN RTD offset information (or information for calculating it), the window or timer may be configured to be running until the value allocated to the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer plus the NTN RTD offset… when a UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication receives the NTN RTD offset information (or information for indicating it), the UE ignores the value assigned to the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContennonResolunonTimer and uses the NTN RTD offset to run the ra-ResponseWindow or the ra-ContentionResolutionTimer”. The random access timer value with the Ra-ResponseWindow is set based on the UE capable of the non-terrestrial network communication), and the synchronization information is configured to be used by the terminal device to transmit a first physical channel or signal (Hong, [0084], the random access response (RAR) includes TAC information for synchronization. [0085], the UE performs scheduled transmissions by applying the TAC in the random access response).
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 21, at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval is not configured to be used by a communication circuit of the terminal device to perform reception or transmission.
However, Höglund teaches at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval is not configured to be used by a communication circuit of the terminal device to perform reception or transmission (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, during the Ra-Response window, the DCINewServiceOffset is set to 2, which causes the UE B to sleep for the next 2 PDCCH occasions and not receive a communication).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Höglund in order to avoid decoding unnecessary PDCCH and RARs, thereby reducing the energy consumed by the UE (Höglund, [0098]).
As to claim 22, Hong teaches wherein the configuration information of the first time interval (Hong, [0209], [0284], the offset information of the ra-ResponseWindow) comprises at least one of:
a length of the first time interval (Hong, [0284]-[0285], the length of the ra-Responsewindow is calculated as the ra-ResponseWindow plus the NTN RTD offset or just as the NTN RTD offset),
a start position of the first time interval (Hong, [0154], [0303], the response timer is started based on the offset information received), or
an end position of the first time interval (Hong, [0284]-[0285], the length of the ra-Responsewindow is calculated as the ra-ResponseWindow plus the NTN RTD offset or just as the NTN RTD offset. The length indicates when the ra-ResponseWindow ends).
As to claim 23, Hong teaches wherein the configuration information of the first time interval comprises at least one of a first offset value (Hong, [0209], [0284]-[0285], the offset information is indicated by a signal from the base station to the UE. The offset information is used to calculate the ra-ResponseWindow) or a second offset value,
wherein the first offset value is used to determine a distance between a start position of the first time interval and the first physical channel or signal (Hong, [0085], [0285]-[0286], the offset information (NTN RTD offset) is used to determine the length of the ra-ResponseWindow. The length of the ra-ResponseWindow is between the start of the ra-ResponseWindow and the scheduled transmission by the UE), and the second offset value is used to determine a distance between an end position of the first time interval and the first physical channel or signal.
As to claim 24, Hong teaches wherein the first time interval is before the first physical channel or signal in time domain (Hong, Fig. 6, [0085], [0284]-[0285], the ra-ResponseWindow (window to receive the RAR) occurs before the UE applies the TAC for the scheduled transmissions (i.e. message 3)), and the first offset value is used to determine a distance between the start position of the first time interval and a start position of the first physical channel or signal (Hong, [0209], [0284]-[0285], the offset information is indicated by a signal from the base station to the UE. The offset information is used to calculate the ra-ResponseWindow. The ra-ResponseWindow has a length between the start of the ra-ResponseWindow and the start of the scheduled transmission by the UE), or
the first time interval is after the first physical channel or signal in the time domain, and the first offset value is used to determine a distance between an end position of the first physical channel or signal and the start position of the first time interval.
As to claim 26, Hong teaches wherein the first time interval has a first association relationship with the first physical channel or signal (Hong, Fig. 6, [0085], [0284]-[0285], the ra-ResponseWindow (window to receive the RAR) occurs before the UE applies the TAC for the scheduled transmissions (i.e. message 3)).
As to claim 30, Hong teaches wherein the synchronization information comprises a Timing Advance (TA) value corresponding to uplink timing synchronization of the terminal device (Hong, [0084], the random access response (RAR) includes TAC information for uplink synchronization), and a length of the first time interval satisfies at least one of:
the length of the first time interval being greater than or equal to a timing offset length corresponding to the TA value,
the length of the first time interval being greater than or equal to a timing offset length corresponding to a maximum of the TA value, or
the length of the first time interval being greater than or equal to a length corresponding to a round trip time between the terminal device and the network device (Hong, [0283], a new parameter for long round trip delay (RTD). [0284]-[0285], the length of the ra-Responsewindow is calculated as the ra-ResponseWindow plus the NTN RTD offset or just as the NTN RTD offset. In both cases, the ra-ResponseWindow is greater than or equal than NTN RTD offset).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2022/0007455) in view of Höglund et al. (US 2023/0043517), hereinafter “Höglund” and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2022/0007319), hereinafter “Kim”.
Hong and Höglund teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong and Höglund do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 5, wherein the first physical channel or signal comprises a downlink physical channel or a downlink reference signal, and the synchronization information is used to receive the first physical channel or signal.
As to claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the first physical channel or signal comprises a downlink physical channel or a downlink reference signal (Kim, Fig. 11, [0127], the child node receives a first DL signal transmitted by the parent node. [0059], the DL signal and transmission is performed via PDCCH, PDSCH ), and the synchronization information is used to receive the first physical channel or signal (Kim, Fig. 11, [0127], the information about the TA value is used by the child node to receive the first DL signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Höglund to have the features, as taught by Kim in order to efficiently determine a downlink transmission timing by a node in a next-generation communication system (Kim, [0010]).
Hong and Höglund teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong and Höglund do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 15, wherein the first physical channel or signal comprises a downlink physical channel or a downlink reference signal, and the synchronization information is used to receive the first physical channel or signal.
As to claim 15, Kim teaches wherein the first physical channel or signal comprises a downlink physical channel or a downlink reference signal (Kim, Fig. 11, [0127], the child node receives a first DL signal transmitted by the parent node. [0059], the DL signal and transmission is performed via PDCCH, PDSCH ), and the synchronization information is used to receive the first physical channel or signal (Kim, Fig. 11, [0127], the information about the TA value is used by the child node to receive the first DL signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Höglund to have the features, as taught by Kim in order to efficiently determine a downlink transmission timing by a node in a next-generation communication system (Kim, [0010]).
Claims 6, 8, 16, 18 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2022/0007455) in view of Höglund et al. (US 2023/0043517), hereinafter “Höglund” and further in view of Gulati et al. (US 2020/0053683), hereinafter “Gulati”.
As to claim 6, Hong teaches wherein acquiring, by the terminal device, the synchronization information based on the first time interval (Hong, Fig. 6, [0084], the UE receives the random access response with TAC information for synchronization. [0273], [0277], the UE receives the random access response during the ra-ResponseWindow. See also Fig. 13, [0145]) comprises:
acquiring, by the terminal device, the synchronization information based on a first time domain resource in the first time interval (Hong, Fig. 6, [0084], the UE receives the random access response with TAC information for synchronization. [0273], [0276]-[0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is a window in the time domain to monitor for the random access response. The ra-ResponseWindow has occasions and expires. This indicates that the ra-ResponseWindow includes time resources to receive the random access response. [0286], the ra-ResponseWindow is configured with slots), wherein the first time domain resource is at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval (Hong, [0273], [0276]-[0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is a window in the time domain to monitor for the random access response. The ra-ResponseWindow has occasions and expires. This indicates that the ra-ResponseWindow includes time resources to receive the random access response. [0286], the ra-ResponseWindow is configured with slots).
Hong and Höglund teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong further discloses in [0360] and Fig. 18 a receiver 1830 in the UE 1800 to receive the signals described. Hong and Höglund does not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 6, acquiring the synchronization information based on a positioning circuit of the terminal device.
However, Gulati teaches acquiring the synchronization information based on a positioning circuit of the terminal device (Gulati, Fig. 2, [0029], the UE includes a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to obtain position, navigation and timing. [0039], the UE rely on GNSS for continued timing and frequency synchronization information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Höglund to have the features, as taught by Gulati in order to provide synchronization to UEs that have lost communication with a eNB as a synchronization source (Gulati, [0006]).
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein the terminal device acquires the synchronization information based on a first time domain resource in the first time interval, wherein the first time domain resource is at least part of the time domain resources in the first time interval, and the first time domain resource and the second time domain resource do not overlap in time domain.
As to claim 8, Höglund teaches wherein the terminal device acquires the synchronization information based on a first time domain resource in the first time interval (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, during the Ra-Response window, the DCINewServiceOffset is set to 2, which causes the UE B to sleep for the next 2 PDCCH occasions and not receive a communication. The RAR is later received in a third PDCCH occasion), wherein the first time domain resource is at least part of the time domain resources in the first time interval (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, the intended RAR in the third PDDCH occasion is part of the PDCCH occasions in the ra-Response window), and the first time domain resource and the second time domain resource do not overlap in time domain (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, the 2 PDCCH occasions where the UE is sleeping and the PDCCH occasion where the UE receives the RAR do not overlap in time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Höglund in order to avoid decoding unnecessary PDCCH and RARs, thereby reducing the energy consumed by the UE (Höglund, [0098]).
Hong and Höglund teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong further discloses in [0360] and Fig. 18 a receiver 1830 in the UE 1800 to receive the signals described. Hong and Höglund do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 8, a positioning circuit of the terminal device.
However, Gulati teaches a positioning circuit of the terminal device (Gulati, Fig. 2, [0029], the UE includes a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to obtain position, navigation and timing. [0039], the UE rely on GNSS for continued timing and frequency synchronization information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Höglund to have the features, as taught by Gulati in order to provide synchronization to UEs that have lost communication with a eNB as a synchronization source (Gulati, [0006]).
As to claim 16, Hong teaches wherein the processor is further configured to:
acquire the synchronization information based on a first time domain resource in the first time interval and a positioning circuit of the terminal device (Hong, Fig. 6, [0084], the UE receives the random access response with TAC information for synchronization. [0273], [0276]-[0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is a window in the time domain to monitor for the random access response. The ra-ResponseWindow has occasions and expires. This indicates that the ra-ResponseWindow includes time resources to receive the random access response. [0286], the ra-ResponseWindow is configured with slots), wherein the first time domain resource is at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval (Hong, [0273], [0276]-[0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is a window in the time domain to monitor for the random access response. The ra-ResponseWindow has occasions and expires. This indicates that the ra-ResponseWindow includes time resources to receive the random access response. [0286], the ra-ResponseWindow is configured with slots).
Hong and Höglund teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong further discloses in [0360] and Fig. 18 a receiver 1830 in the UE 1800 to receive the signals described. Hong and Höglund do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 16, acquire the synchronization information based on a positioning circuit of the terminal device.
However, Gulati teaches acquire the synchronization information based on a positioning circuit of the terminal device (Gulati, Fig. 2, [0029], the UE includes a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to obtain position, navigation and timing. [0039], the UE rely on GNSS for continued timing and frequency synchronization information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Höglund to have the features, as taught by Gulati in order to provide synchronization to UEs that have lost communication with a eNB as a synchronization source (Gulati, [0006]).
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 18, wherein the terminal device acquires the synchronization information based on a first time domain resource in the first time interval and a positioning circuit of the terminal device, wherein the first time domain resource is at least part of the time domain resources in the first time interval, and the first time domain resource and the second time domain resource do not overlap in time domain.
As to claim 18, Höglund teaches wherein the terminal device acquires the synchronization information based on a first time domain resource in the first time interval (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, during the Ra-Response window, the DCINewServiceOffset is set to 2, which causes the UE B to sleep for the next 2 PDCCH occasions and not receive a communication. The RAR is later received in a third PDCCH occasion), wherein the first time domain resource is at least part of the time domain resources in the first time interval (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, the intended RAR in the third PDDCH occasion is part of the PDCCH occasions in the ra-Response window), and the first time domain resource and the second time domain resource do not overlap in time domain (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, the 2 PDCCH occasions where the UE is sleeping and the PDCCH occasion where the UE receives the RAR do not overlap in time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Höglund in order to avoid decoding unnecessary PDCCH and RARs, thereby reducing the energy consumed by the UE (Höglund, [0098]).
Hong and Höglund teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong further discloses in [0360] and Fig. 18 a receiver 1830 in the UE 1800 to receive the signals described. Hong and Höglund do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 18, a positioning circuit of the terminal device.
However, Gulati teaches a positioning circuit of the terminal device (Gulati, Fig. 2, [0029], the UE includes a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to obtain position, navigation and timing. [0039], the UE rely on GNSS for continued timing and frequency synchronization information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Höglund to have the features, as taught by Gulati in order to provide synchronization to UEs that have lost communication with a eNB as a synchronization source (Gulati, [0006]).
As to claim 28, Hong teaches wherein a first time domain resource in the first time interval is configured to be used by a circuit of the terminal device to acquire the synchronization information (Hong, Fig. 6, [0084], the UE receives the random access response with TAC information for synchronization. [0273], [0276]-[0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is a window in the time domain to monitor for the random access response. The ra-ResponseWindow has occasions and expires. This indicates that the ra-ResponseWindow includes time resources to receive the random access response. [0286], the ra-ResponseWindow is configured with slots. [0360], Fig. 18, a receiver 1830 in the UE 1800 to receive the signals described), wherein the first time domain resource is at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval (Hong, [0273], [0276]-[0277], the ra-ResponseWindow is a window in the time domain to monitor for the random access response. The ra-ResponseWindow has occasions and expires. This indicates that the ra-ResponseWindow includes time resources to receive the random access response. [0286], the ra-ResponseWindow is configured with slots).
Hong and Höglund teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong further discloses in [0360] and Fig. 18 a receiver 1830 in the UE 1800 to receive the signals described. Hong and Höglund do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 28, a positioning circuit.
However, Gulati teaches a positioning circuit (Gulati, Fig. 2, [0029], the UE includes a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to obtain position, navigation and timing. [0039], the UE rely on GNSS for continued timing and frequency synchronization information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Höglund to have the features, as taught by Gulati in order to provide synchronization to UEs that have lost communication with a eNB as a synchronization source (Gulati, [0006]).
Hong teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 29, wherein a second time domain resource in the first time interval is configured to be used by a communication circuit of the terminal device to acquire the synchronization information, wherein the second time domain resource is at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval, wherein the second time domain resource in the first time interval and a first time domain resource in the first time interval do not overlap, and the first time domain resource is configured to be used by a positioning circuit of the terminal device to acquire the synchronization information.
As to claim 29, Höglund teaches wherein a second time domain resource in the first time interval is configured to be used by a communication circuit of the terminal device to acquire the synchronization information (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, during the Ra-Response window, the DCINewServiceOffset is set to 2, which causes the UE B to sleep for the next 2 PDCCH occasions and not receive a communication. The RAR is later received in a third PDCCH occasion), wherein the second time domain resource is at least part of time domain resources in the first time interval (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, the intended RAR in the third PDDCH occasion is part of the PDCCH occasions in the ra-Response window), wherein the second time domain resource in the first time interval and a first time domain resource in the first time interval do not overlap (Höglund, [0098], Fig. 8, the 2 PDCCH occasions where the UE is sleeping and the PDCCH occasion where the UE receives the RAR do not overlap in time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong to have the features, as taught by Höglund in order to avoid decoding unnecessary PDCCH and RARs, thereby reducing the energy consumed by the UE (Höglund, [0098]).
Hong and Höglund teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong further discloses in [0360] and Fig. 18 a receiver 1830 in the UE 1800 to receive the signals described. Hong and Höglund do not explicitly teach the following underlined features: regarding claim 29, the first time domain resource is configured to be used by a positioning circuit of the terminal device to acquire the synchronization information.
However, Gulati teaches the first time domain resource is configured to be used by a positioning circuit of the terminal device to acquire the synchronization information (Gulati, Fig. 2, [0029], the UE includes a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver to obtain position, navigation and timing. [0039], the UE rely on GNSS for continued timing and frequency synchronization information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Höglund to have the features, as taught by Gulati in order to provide synchronization to UEs that have lost communication with a eNB as a synchronization source (Gulati, [0006]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 2022/0007455) in view of Höglund et al. (US 2023/0043517), hereinafter “Höglund” and further in view of Cao et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,641,633), hereinafter “Cao”.
As to claim 25, Hong teaches wherein the first time interval is before the first physical channel or signal in time domain (Hong, Fig. 6, [0085], [0284]-[0285], the ra-ResponseWindow (window to receive the RAR) occurs before the UE applies the TAC for the scheduled transmissions (i.e. message 3)).
Hong and Höglund teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Hong and Höglund do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 25, the second offset value is used to determine a distance between the end position of the first time interval and a start position of the first physical channel or signal, or
the first time interval is after the first physical channel or signal in the time domain, and the second offset value is used to determine a distance between an end position of the first physical channel or signal and the end position of the first time interval.
However, Cao teaches the second offset value is used to determine a distance between the end position of the first time interval and a start position of the first physical channel or signal (Cao, col 11 ln 32-37, Fig. 3, the determined relative timing offset is used to advance or delay the transmission of the data unit 304 by a distance from the defined time period after then end of the synchronization data unit 302 and the transmission of the data unit 304), or
the first time interval is after the first physical channel or signal in the time domain, and the second offset value is used to determine a distance between an end position of the first physical channel or signal and the end position of the first time interval.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Hong and Höglund to have the features, as taught by Cao in order to synchronize transmissions increase throughput and transmit power gain (Cao, col 3 ln 16-42).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473