DETAILED ACTION
AIA
.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims, specification, and drawings filed 03/26/2026 have been considered and entered.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed 06/03/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of USPN 12292420 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
The Examiner helpfully suggests that in the future, Applicant may wish to consider using an (electronic) eTerminal Disclaimer. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/ patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/26/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the objection(s) to the Title, Applicant argued that the amendment overcame said objection(s); the Examiner is in agreement, therefore said objection(s) has/have been withdrawn.
Regarding the double patenting rejection(s) over U.S. Patent No. 12292420, Applicant provided a terminal disclaimer, therefore said rejection(s) have been withdrawn.
Regarding the provisional double patenting rejection(s) over copending application 18/371,405, Applicant still improperly provided no argument, which may merely be an oversight or a misunderstanding of the Examiner’s previous letter that broadly referenced double patenting rejections without explicitly specifying again the inclusion of those double patenting rejections which are provisional. While the Examiner considered another non-compliance/non-responsive letter, the Examiner was concerned of the 6 months statutory date and that a small delay in at least one of the Office mailing, Applicant receiving, and Applicant responding might surpass said statutory date (8/19/2026) and result in abandonment. The Examiner expects Applicant’s next response to address the provisional double patenting rejections.
Regarding the 103 prior art obviousness rejection(s) of at least independent claim(s) 1, Applicant argued that primary reference Isoi does not teach identifying the mobile phase container. MPEP § 2145(I) states:
Attorney argument is not evidence unless it is an admission, in which case, an examiner may use the admission in making a rejection. See MPEP § 2129 and § 2144.03 for a discussion of admissions as prior art.
The arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”). See MPEP § 716.01(c) for examples of attorney statements which are not evidence and which must be supported by an appropriate affidavit or declaration.
In the present case, Isoi explicitly teaches that the container 6 labeled with “a” corresponds to liquid “A”, and so forth ([0036] “container 6a that corresponds to the liquid A”; [0024] “Containers 6a to 6d that contain liquids as liquids A to D for analysis that are used for analysis are disposed in the analyzer 2” and determines abnormal use “Disposing the containers 6a to 6d includes disposing the containers 6a to 6d at specific positions”), and further teaches identifying correct container with correct liquid for normal use as well as identifying containers which are mispositioned and therefore do no contain the liquid needed for analysis ([0031] “If the containers 6a and 6b contain correct liquids A and B for analysis” and “determines that the container(s) the densities of which do not correspond with each other contain(s) a liquid that is not a liquid for analysis that needs to be contained. In this case, the liquid-for-analysis determining part 14 determines “abnormal use”””), and as put forth in the Summary of Invention the Invention pertains to the proper disposing of container that contain liquid in specific positions ([0004] ““A user needs to dispose a plurality of containers that contain liquids for analysis in specific positions, respectively, and needs to connect the plurality of containers with specific pipes, respectively. If a wrong kind of liquid for analysis is disposed or a liquid for analysis is connected to a wrong pipe, composition of a mobile phase becomes different from an intended composition, or a liquid different from a liquid for analysis that needs to be used is used. Consequently, analysis is not normally performed””). The Examiner still emphasizes the thrust of the rejection is that the liquid-for-analysis monitoring identifies by the weight & volume characteristics whether the mobile phase containers have been swapped—in other words user placed say container “a” with “A” not in the proper specific position but instead say placed container “b” with “B” in said specific position and vice versa—or are the appropriately identified mobile phase containers as intended and therefore not abnormal. Put another way, for Isoi, disposing the wrong container is disposing the wrong liquid and disposing the wrong liquid is disposing the wrong container, likewise disposing right container is disposing the right liquid and disposing the right liquid is disposing the right container, as liquid “A” is inherently in container denoted “a” per the defined nomenclature, and so forth.
Further regarding the 103 prior art obviousness rejection(s) of at least independent claim(s) 1, Applicant further argued that Isoi teaches determining whether the liquid for analysis is done without consideration of the container that contains the liquid, because Isoi teaches “Further, a shape of a container that contains a liquid for analysis may not allow a level of a liquid surface in the container to be proportional to a volume of the liquid for analysis. In this case, a level sensor does not measure a correct amount of a remaining liquid”. As put forth above, Isoi teaches the correspondence of the containers with the liquid (e.g., “a” with “A”, and so forth). While the Examiner acknowledges that Isoi (poorly) sectionally delineates Isoi’s “SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION” from the “Description of the Related Art”, upon closer review Applicant’s argument appears to be in reference to Isoi’s continued discussion of the even older prior art which appeared in preceding paragraph [0005] ([0005] “Such a method for monitoring an amount of liquid as shown in JP H11-192424 A and JP 2000-298122 A does not consider possibility of disposition of a wrong liquid for analysis or a liquid for analysis connected to a wrong pipe. Therefore, even if a wrong liquid for analysis is disposed or a liquid for analysis is connected to a wrong pipe, the error is not detected as abnormal use if amounts of decreases in liquids correspond to scheduled amounts of consumption.”; [0006]; see also [0002] which prefaces the later discussion of level sensors with being associated with conventional analyzers such as exemplary JPH11-192424: “[0002] Many conventional analyzers, such as a liquid chromatograph, detect amounts of remaining liquids used for analysis (hereinafter referred to as liquids for analysis) using level sensors, for example (see JP H11-192424 A). The detection of amounts of remaining liquids for analysis shows an appropriate time for replenishment and replacement of liquids for analysis, and also checks whether correct amounts of liquids for analysis have been used as scheduled or not, that is, whether operations that use liquids for analysis have been normally performed as scheduled or not.”), and it is in [0007] that Isoi resumes discussion of Isoi’s invention. While the Examiner would prefer that discussions of the prior art be relegated to only the section of the Description of the Related Art, it is (unfortunately) common in patent literature to continue contrasting with the prior art even in the Summary of the Invention. The Examiner respectfully concludes that Applicant’s argument pertaining to level sensors is not pertinent to Isoi.
Yet further regarding the 103 prior art obviousness rejection(s) of at least independent claim(s) 1, Applicant provided detail explanation of the support for independent claim 1 in the instant specification. While the Examiner generally acknowledges the advantages and improvements over Isoi within the instant specification, MPEP § 2111.01(II) IT IS IMPROPER TO IMPORT CLAIM LIMITATIONS FROM THE SPECIFICATION states in part (bold for emphasis):
Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See also Liebel-Flarsheim Co. v. Medrad Inc., 358 F.3d 898, 906, 69 USPQ2d 1801, 1807 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (discussing recent cases wherein the court expressly rejected the contention that if a patent describes only a single embodiment, the claims of the patent must be construed as being limited to that embodiment); E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“Interpretation of descriptive statements in a patent’s written description is a difficult task, as an inherent tension exists as to whether a statement is a clear lexicographic definition or a description of a preferred embodiment. The problem is to interpret claims ‘in view of the specification’ without unnecessarily importing limitations from the specification into the claims.”); Altiris Inc. v. Symantec Corp., 318 F.3d 1363, 1371, 65 USPQ2d 1865, 1869-70 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
As put forth within MPEP § 2111.01(I) THE WORDS OF A CLAIM MUST BE GIVEN THEIR “PLAIN MEANING” UNLESS SUCH MEANING IS INCONSISTENT WITH THE SPECIFICATION, the presumption that a term is given its ordinary and customary meaning may be rebutted by the applicant by clearly setting forth a different definition of the term in the specification. Therefore, the Examiner’s examination of the claim is only in view of the specification, and does not import Applicant’s disclosed exemplary methods to construe the claims as being so limited by said exemplary methods. Likewise see MPEP § 2145(VI) and In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993) also pertaining to not reading features that Applicant relies upon into the rejected claim(s). If there is particular limitation to be added from these sections that Applicant would like the Examiner to consider, the Examiner suggests presenting those in a proposed/amended/new claim to the Examiner.
Regarding new claim 20 & amended claim 8, Applicant had split the previous alternative limitations into separate claims, but did not provide any argument. The Examiner notes that in the previous Office Action the Examiner had the time to provide factual evidence only for one of the limitations, whereas with the change in claim scope appearing to the Examiner that Applicant wanted the claim limitations treated separately, the Examiner has now taken the time in response to provide factual evidence for the other claim limitation.
See present rejections for further details.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s)
(IDS) submitted on 02/20/2026 & 07/09/2026 is/are in compliance
with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
Instant Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over reference claim(s) 5, 6 of copending Application No. 18/371,392.
Instant Claim(s) 8 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over reference claim(s) 5, 6 of copending Application No. 18/371,392 in view of Kamata et al (WO 2020170320 A1; hereafter “Kamata”).
Instant Claim(s) 9 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over reference claim(s) 5, 6 of copending Application No. 18/371,392 in view of Li (US 20100057377 A1; hereafter “Li”).
Instant Claim(s) 10, 11 is/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over reference claim(s) 5, 6 of copending Application No. 18/371,392 in view of Shoykhet (DE 102018100779 A1; hereafter “Shoykhet”).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons put forth in the table below (which provides the specific instant claims to specific reference claims and secondary reference mappings):
One-Way Provisional Double Patenting Analysis Table
18/371,405
(instant)
18/371,392
(reference)
Obviousness Analysis of instant claim over reference claim
1
5
1. In a sample separation apparatus for separating a fluidic sample using a mobile phase provided from at least one mobile phase container, a method of identifying a mobile phase container (1. In a sample separation apparatus for separating a fluidic sample using a mobile phase provided from at least one mobile phase container), the method comprising:
determining a weight and volume characteristic of the mobile phase container (5. determining a weight and volume characteristic of the at least one mobile phase container); and
identifying the mobile phase container based on a comparison of the determined weight and volume characteristic of the mobile phase container with a pre-known reference weight and volume characteristic of one or more reference mobile phase containers with pre-known identity (5. identifying the at least one mobile phase container based on a comparison of the determined weight and volume characteristic of the at least one mobile phase container with a pre-known reference weight and volume characteristic of one or more reference mobile phase containers with a pre-known identity).
Indistinctly recites most limitations, differences being merely nominal nomenclatural differences or grammatical variations not amounting to patentable distinction.
2
6
2. The method according to claim 1, comprising one of the following features (6. The method according to claim 5, comprising one of the following features):
providing an information about the identified mobile phase container to a user of the sample separation apparatus (6. providing an information about the identified at least one mobile phase container to a user of the sample separation apparatus);
providing an information about the identified mobile phase container to a user of the sample separation apparatus (6. providing an information about the identified at least one mobile phase container to a user of the sample separation apparatus), and
further requesting the user to confirm that the identified mobile phase container matches or not with the actual mobile phase container (6. requesting the user to confirm that the identified at least one mobile phase container matches or not with the actual at least one mobile phase container).
Indistinctly recites most limitations, differences being merely nominal nomenclatural differences or grammatical variations not amounting to patentable distinction.
3
5
3. The method according to claim 1, comprising:
determining a weight and volume reduction behavior according to which weight and volume of mobile phase in a mobile phase container are reduced during conveying mobile phase from the mobile phase container in the sample separation apparatus (1. determining a weight and volume reduction behavior according to which weight and volume of the mobile phase in the at least one mobile phase container are reduced during conveying the mobile phase from the at least one mobile phase container into the sample separation apparatus).
Indistinctly recites most limitations, differences being merely nominal nomenclatural differences or grammatical variations not amounting to patentable distinction.
4
5
4. The method according to claim 3, comprising determining a density of the mobile phase based on the determined weight and volume reduction behavior (1. determining the density of the mobile phase based on the determined weight and volume reduction behavior).
Indistinctly recites most limitations, differences being merely nominal nomenclatural differences or grammatical variations not amounting to patentable distinction.
5
5
5. The method according to claim 3, comprising determining the weight and volume reduction behavior under consideration of a flow rate and a conveyance time according to which the mobile phase is driven from the at least one mobile phase container through the sample separation apparatus (1. wherein the determining of the weight and volume reduction behavior is done under consideration of a flow rate and a conveyance time according to which the mobile phase is driven from the at least one mobile phase container through the sample separation apparatus).
Indistinctly recites most limitations, differences being merely nominal nomenclatural differences or grammatical variations not amounting to patentable distinction.
8
5
+
Kamata
(‘392 is silent in claim 5) 8. The method according to claim 1, comprising at least one of the following features:
the method comprises receiving an initial mobile phase volume from a user input;
the method comprises determining an initial mobile phase volume based on a comparison of the determined weight and volume characteristic of the mobile phase container with a pre- known reference weight and volume characteristic of one or more reference mobile phase containers with pre-known initial mobile phase volume.
However, Kamata teaches wherein the method comprises receiving an initial mobile phase (mobile-phase) volume from a user input (Abstract “the operator to perform, when refilling the mobile phase containers with the mobile phases, visual measurement of the liquid volumes of the mobile phases and manual input of values of the liquid volumes to a control device”), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the conventional activity of the user inputting the initial volume of a mobile phase thereby providing a simple and low-tech solution to determining the volume of liquid which is easy for a user to perform and which provides an initial value for volume reduction calculations. The Examiner emphasizes that this feature is conventional in the art.
9
5
+
Li
(‘392 is silent in claim 5) 9. The method according to claim 1,
wherein the method comprises using the mobile phase from the at least one mobile phase container as carrier fluid for carrying the fluidic sample during sample separation.
However, Li teaches using the mobile phase as carrier fluid for carrying the fluidic sample during sample separation (Title; Abstract “chromatographic systems”; BACKGROUND [0001] “Chromatography is a process that provides for the physical separation, quantification and identification of various analytes in a sample in a single analysis. A chromatography system comprises a number of components, including a separation column that separates the sample into its individual components as the components are passed through the column by a mobile phase. The separation column includes an inlet portion that acts as the interface for input of the sample into a separation column. The mobile phase provides a carrier fluid and driving force to move the components of the sample from the inlet portion of the column to the outlet portion, with the separation of the components dependent on their interactions with an immobilized liquid or solid material within the column (stationary phase) and the mobile phase”), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the routine use—as factually supported by Li—of mobile phase as a carrier fluid for carrying the fluidic sample during sample separation in chromatography thereby providing the expected conventional facilitation of moving the sample in a chromatographic apparatus. The Examiner emphasizes that this feature is conventional in the art.
10
5
+
Shoykhet
(‘392 is silent in claim 5) 10. A sample separation apparatus for separating a fluidic sample, the sample separation apparatus comprising:
a fluid drive for driving a mobile phase, provided from at least one mobile phase container, and the fluidic sample when injected in the mobile phase;
a sample separation unit for separating the fluidic sample in the mobile phase; and
a control device configured for carrying out or controlling the method according claim 1.
However, Shoykhet teaches a sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) for separating a fluidic sample (fluidic sample) (Title “Identification And Correction Of A Fluid Composition In The Sample Separator”; Abstract “A control device (70) for controlling a sample separation device (10) for separating a fluidic sample using a mobile phase to be supplied according to a target composition, wherein the control device (70) comprises a determination device (152) for determining one for a Is set of mobile phase indicative information is set up, and a correction means (154), which is adapted to at least partially correct an influence of a deviation between the target composition and the actual composition”; page 2 section EPIPHANY first paragraph “object of the invention to operate a sample separation apparatus”), the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) comprising: a control device (fig. 1, control device 70) configured to carry out or control the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10), a fluid drive (fig. 1, fluid drive 20) configured to drive the mobile phase (mobile phase from supply unit 25) and the fluidic sample (fluidic sample) when injected (via fig. 1, sample application unit / injector device 40) into the mobile phase (mobile phase); and a sample separation unit (fig. 1, sample separator 30) configured to separate the fluidic sample (fluidic sample) in the mobile phase (mobile phase), wherein controlling the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) is based on a result of the determining the density of the mobile phase (mobile phase) (page 8 after middle of page “the fluid drive or fluid pump may be configured to convey the mobile phase through the system”; page 10 last paragraph “fluid pump as a fluid drive 20 containing solvents from a supply unit 25 supplied drives a mobile phase through a sample separator 30 (such as a chromatographic column)”; page 8 after middle of page “The sample separator may include a sample injector for introducing the sample into the fluidic separation path. Such a sample injector may comprise a syringe-dockable injection needle in a corresponding fluid path, which needle may be withdrawn from that seat to receive sample, wherein upon reintroduction of the needle into the seat, the sample is in a fluid path which, for Example, by switching a valve, can be switched into the separation path of the system, which leads to the introduction of the sample in the fluidic separation path”; page 6 about middle of page “the determining means for determining the information indicative of the actual composition by means of a measurement of at least one parameter from the group consisting of a density, a sound wave velocity in, and a viscosity of the mobile phase to be established. If the density, the speed of sound or the viscosity of the individual constituents are known (an empirical calibration curve can preferably be used), the respective proportion of a particular constituent can also be determined from a corresponding measurement of the respective parameter of the mobile phase composed thereof. It is also possible for two or more of the measurements mentioned to be cumulative, simultaneous, supplementary, parallel and / or complementary to determine the actual composition or indicative information. Thereby, the precision of the determination of the actual composition can be further increased”), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Shoykhet’s (Examiner asserted conventional) components and thereby providing the expected results of utilizing well-known & widely used separation techniques with a mobile drive, injector, and sample separation unit for the self-definitional motivation and/or for the expected purpose of analysis, isolation, purification, and/or for distinguishing individual compounds wherein the fluid drive commonsensically is configured to drive the mobile phase and the fluidic sample when injected via injector device into the mobile phase as is well-known in the art. The With regards to the controller, it is the Examiner's position that ‘392 teaches controlling, it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art, see MPEP § 2144.04(III) and In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194 (CCPA 1958), and further Shoykhet teaches using a controller for an analogous (though distinct) method and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to automate ‘392 controlling with a controller for cost/time-effective benefits and/or increased accuracy/precision. The Examiner emphasizes that these features are conventional in the art.
11
5
+
Shoykhet
(‘392 is silent in claim 5) The sample separation apparatus according to claim 10,
wherein the sample separation apparatus comprises at least one of the following features:
the sample separation apparatus is configured as an apparatus selected from the group consisting of:
a chromatography sample separation apparatus;
a liquid chromatography sample separation apparatus;
a gas chromatography sample separation apparatus; and
a supercritical fluid chromatography sample separation apparatus;
the sample separation apparatus comprises a detector configured to detect the separated fluidic sample;
the sample separation apparatus comprises a fractionating unit configured to collect separated fractions of the fluidic sample;
the sample separation apparatus comprises an injector configured to inject the fluidic sample in the mobile phase.
Shoykhet teaches: comprising at least one of the following features: the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) is configured as an apparatus selected from the group consisting of: a chromatography sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10); a liquid chromatography sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10); a gas chromatography sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10); and a supercritical fluid chromatography sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) (bottom paragraph of page 2 through second paragraph of page 3 “In this context, a fluid is understood as meaning a liquid, a gas, a mixture of a liquid and a gas, a substance in the supercritical state” and “chromatographic sample separation”); the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) comprises each of an injector (fig. 1, sample application unit / injector device 40) configured to inject the fluidic sample (fluidic sample) into the mobile phase (mobile phase); the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) comprises a detector (fig. 1, detector 50) configured to detect the separated fluidic sample (fluidic sample); and the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) comprises a fractionating unit (fig. 1, fractionator 60) configured to collect separated fractions of the fluidic sample (fluidic sample) (page 8 after middle of page “The sample separator may include a sample injector for introducing the sample into the fluidic separation path”; top of page 11 “a detector 50 a flow cell detects separated components of the sample, and a fractionator may be provided to dispense separated components of the sample into dedicated containers; reference claim on top of page 16 “the sample separator ( 10 ) has an injector device ( 40 ) for introducing the fluidic sample into a fluidic path between the fluid drive ( 20 ) and the sample separation device ( 30 )” and “the sample separator ( 10 ) has a detector ( 50 )” and “the sample separator ( 10 ) has a sample fractionator ( 60 ) for fractionating the separated fluidic sample”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shoykhet’s sample separation apparatus having injector, detector, & fractionator with ‘405’s sample separation apparatus therefore providing conventional components having the expected results of utilizing well-known & widely used components in chromatography including for usefully introducing the sample, analyzing the separated sample, and collecting separated components of the sample for further use and/or additional analysis, and thus commonsensically increasing the versatility and marketability. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine in the alternative each of gas, liquid, and supercritical versions/applications of chromatography sample separation—as taught by Shoykhet—with for the increased versatility and marketability within these respective fluid applications. Examiner emphasizes that these features are conventional in the art.
Dependent reference claims of the aforementioned reference claims likewise form the basis of provisional double patenting rejections (e.g., instant claims provisionally rejectable over reference claim 5 are likewise provisionally rejectable over dependent reference claim 6). This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented as of the date of writing this Office action.
The Double Patenting Rejections will not be held in abeyance. See MPEP § 804 & 714.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant previously cited Isoi (US 20190257731 A1; hereafter “Isoi”) in view of previously cited factual evidence Poole (NPL Encyclopedia of Separation Science; hereafter “Poole’s Encyclopedia”).
Regarding independent claim 1,
Isoi teaches in a sample separation apparatus (liquid chromatography analysis system) for separating (at once so envisaged that a chromatography system utilizing mobile phase inherently/implicitly includes separating; additional obviousness analysis provided) a fluidic sample (liquid sample) using a mobile phase (mobile-phase) provided from at least one mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6), a method of identifying a mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6) (Title “ANALYTICAL LIQUID MONITORING DEVICE”; Abstract “a liquid-for-analysis determining part configured to obtain a variation ΔM between a weight of the container weighed by the weighing scale before a decreasing operation that decreases the liquid for analysis and a weight of the container weighed by the weighing scale after the decreasing operation, and determine whether the liquid for analysis has been normally used in the decreasing operation or not, based on the obtained variation ΔM, a volume V of the decrease in the liquid in the container in the decreasing operation”; [0011] “if a liquid for analysis is not normally used, a liquid different from the liquid for analysis that needs to be used is actually used in a decreasing operation that decreases the liquid for analysis, or an analyzer does not operate normally. Because a user disposes a wrong liquid for analysis or connects a liquid for analysis to a wrong pipe, a liquid different from the liquid for analysis that needs to be used is actually used”), the method comprising:
determining a weight (via weighing scales 8) and volume characteristic of the mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6) (Abstract “A liquid-for-analysis monitor includes: a weighing scale that weighs a container that contains a liquid as a liquid for analysis that needs to be used in analysis”; [0014] “calculates an amount of feeding of a liquid for analysis based on an amount of an operation of a feed pump, a volume V of consumption of a liquid for analysis in a decreasing operation is calculated using the function of the analyzer”; [0037] “obtained amount of consumption of the liquid corresponds to a volume V.sub.A of a decrease in a liquid in the container 6a in the decreasing operation”); and
identifying the at least one mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6) (e.g., identify container 6a having liquid A) based on a comparison of the determined weight (ΔM of weighed container) and volume characteristic of the at least one mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6) with a pre-known reference weight and volume characteristic of one or more reference mobile phase containers (fig. 1, containers 6) with a pre-known identity (A is in container 6a, B is in container 6b, and so forth) ([0024] “Containers 6a to 6d that contain liquids as liquids A to D for analysis that are used for analysis are disposed in the analyzer 2” and “Disposing the containers 6a to 6d includes disposing the containers 6a to 6d at specific positions, or connecting the containers 6a to 6d to specific pipes”; [0031] “the liquid-for-analysis determining part 14 determines that the container(s) the densities of which do not correspond with each other contain(s) a liquid that is not a liquid for analysis that needs to be contained. In this case, the liquid-for-analysis determining part 14 determines “abnormal use””; [0036] “container 6a that corresponds to the liquid A”; [0043] “liquid-for-analysis monitor 4 described above determines whether liquids for analysis that need to be used are used as scheduled in an operation or not, based on variations ΔM between weights of the containers 6a to 6d before the decrease and weights of the containers 6a to 6d after the decrease, densities ρ of corresponding liquids for analysis, and amounts of consumption of liquids in the containers 6a to 6d or a consumption proportion between liquids in the containers 6a to 6d in a decreasing operation. Consequently, if a user does not correctly dispose the liquids A to D for analysis or connects the liquids A to D for analysis to wrong tubes, for example, the liquid-for-analysis monitor 4 detects the error as abnormal use when an operation that consumes the liquids for analysis start”; SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION [0004] “A user needs to dispose a plurality of containers that contain liquids for analysis in specific positions, respectively, and needs to connect the plurality of containers with specific pipes, respectively. If a wrong kind of liquid for analysis is disposed or a liquid for analysis is connected to a wrong pipe, composition of a mobile phase becomes different from an intended composition, or a liquid different from a liquid for analysis that needs to be used is used. Consequently, analysis is not normally performed”; the Examiner still emphasizes that the liquid-for-analysis monitoring identifies by the weight & volume characteristics whether the mobile phase containers have been swapped—in other words user placed say container “a” with “A” not in the proper specific position but instead say placed container “b” with “B” in said specific position and vice versa—or are the appropriately identified mobile phase containers as intended and therefore not abnormal. Put another way, for Isoi, disposing the wrong container is disposing the wrong liquid and disposing the wrong liquid is disposing the wrong container, likewise disposing right container is disposing the right liquid and disposing the right liquid is disposing the right container, as liquid “A” is inherently in container denoted “a” per the defined nomenclature, and so forth).
Isoi does not explicitly state that the chromatography apparatus is a separation apparatus for separating.
However:
The Examiner previously took Official Notice that chromatography conventionally uses separation techniques. As the Applicant had not adequately traversed this assertion, this is considered admitted prior art in accordance with MPEP § 2144.03(C).
Furthermore, and as supporting factual evidence of the aforementioned assertion, Poole’s Encyclopedia teaches “Chromatography is the most widely used separation technique” (Chapter Chromatography, first sentence of Introduction).
In view of the above, either one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would at once envisaged that Isoi’s chromatography is utilized for separating, or nevertheless, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize well-known and widely used separation techniques—as factually supported by Pool’s Encyclopedia—for the self-definitional motivation and/or for the expected purpose of analysis, isolation, purification, and/or for distinguishing individual compounds.
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1,
Isoi teaches comprising one of the following features:
providing an information about the identified mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6) to a user of the sample separation apparatus (liquid chromatography analysis system) ([0017] “a warning part that gives warning to a user when the liquid-for-analysis determining part determines that the liquid(s) for analysis has/have not been normally used in the decreasing operation. As a result, a user easily notices and quickly deals with disposition of a wrong liquid for analysis, a liquid for analysis connected to a wrong pipe, or an analyzer not normally operating”; [0032]; [0033] “When the liquid-for-analysis determining part 14 determines “abnormal use,” the warning part 16 gives warning to a user. For example, the warning may be displayed on a monitor connected to the system controller 10 and inform of abnormal use. Alternatively, the warning may be warning sound”; [0034] “Further, when the liquid-for-analysis determining part 14 determines “abnormal use,” the system controller 10 may transmit an instruction to the analyzer 2 so that the analyzer 2 interrupts a current operation, in addition to or instead of the warning”; [0038]; [0042]; [0043] “Consequently, if a user does not correctly dispose the liquids A to D for analysis or connects the liquids A to D for analysis to wrong tubes, for example, the liquid-for-analysis monitor 4 detects the error as abnormal use when an operation that consumes the liquids for analysis starts”);
(silent to request) providing an information about the identified mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6) to a user of the sample separation apparatus (liquid chromatography analysis system), and further requesting the user to confirm that the identified mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6) matches or not with the actual mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6).
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1,
Isoi teaches comprising:
determining a weight (via weighing scales 8) and volume reduction (volume V of the decrease in the liquid in the container) behavior according to which weight and volume of mobile phase (mobile-phase) in a mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6) are reduced during conveying (fed through an analysis path) mobile phase (mobile-phase) from the mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6) in the sample separation apparatus (liquid chromatography analysis system) ([0025] “mobile phases fed through an analysis flow path in a liquid chromatograph”; [0014] “calculates an amount of feeding of a liquid for analysis based on an amount of an operation of a feed pump, a volume V of consumption of a liquid for analysis in a decreasing operation is calculated using the function of the analyzer”; [0026] “the liquid-for-analysis monitor 4 includes weighing scales 8a to 8d and the system controller 10. The weighing scales 8a to 8d weigh the containers 6a to 6d, respectively, and are electronic scales, for example”).
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claim 3,
Isoi teaches comprising determining a density (ρ’) of the mobile phase (mobile-phase) based on the determined weight (ΔM of weighed container) and volume reduction (volume V of the decrease in the liquid in the container) behavior ([0012] “the liquid-for-analysis determining part is configured to obtain a density ρ′ of the liquid contained in the container by dividing the variation ΔM between a weight of the container before the decreasing operation and a weight of the container after the decreasing operation by the volume V of the decrease in the liquid in the container in the decreasing operation”)
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 3,
Isoi teaches comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the method comprises measuring a gross weight information and/or the weight reduction behavior (Abstract “liquid-for-analysis determining part configured to obtain a variation ΔM between a weight of the container weighed by the weighing scale before a decreasing operation that decreases the liquid for analysis and a weight of the container weighed by the weighing scale after the decreasing operation”);
(silent) wherein the method comprises receiving a gross weight information from a user input;
wherein the method comprises determining a gross weight information based on at least one of an assumption, an experience, and a previous measurement (Abstract “weighed by the weighing scale before a decreasing operation”).
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 3,
Isoi teaches comprising:
identifying the mobile phase (mobile-phase) (determining if correct kinds of liquids) based on a comparison of the determined weight (ΔM of weighed container) and volume reduction (volume V of the decrease in the liquid in the container) behavior with pre-known reference weight and volume reduction behavior of one or more reference mobile phase (mobile-phase) materials with pre-known identity ([0043] “the liquid-for-analysis monitor 4 described above determines whether liquids for analysis that need to be used are used as scheduled in an operation or not, based on variations ΔM between weights of the containers 6a to 6d before the decrease and weights of the containers 6a to 6d after the decrease, densities ρ of corresponding liquids for analysis, and amounts of consumption of liquids in the containers 6a to 6d or a consumption proportion between liquids in the containers 6a to 6d in a decreasing operation. Consequently, if a user does not correctly dispose the liquids A to D for analysis or connects the liquids A to D for analysis to wrong tubes, for example, the liquid-for-analysis monitor 4 detects the error as abnormal use when an operation that consumes the liquids for analysis starts”; [0008] “Using this knowledge allows determining whether correct amounts of correct kinds of liquids for analysis have been used or not. The present invention is made based on the findings and is characterized by determining whether liquids for analysis are normally used or not based on information on weights of containers that contain liquids as liquids for analysis and information on densities ρ of the liquids for analysis”; [0026] “liquid-for-analysis monitor 4 that monitors whether operations that decrease liquids for analysis, such as feeding of a mobile phase, use correct liquids for analysis as scheduled or not”; [0029] “the liquid-for-analysis determining part 14 determines whether the decreasing operation has used correct liquids for analysis”; [0031] “If the containers 6a and 6b contain correct liquids A and B for analysis, respectively, ρ′.sub.A=ρ.sub.A and ρ′.sub.B=ρ.sub.B” and “On the other hand, if ρ′.sub.A≠ρ.sub.A and/or ρ′.sub.B≠ρ.sub.B, the liquid-for-analysis determining part 14 determines that the container(s) the densities of which do not correspond with each other contain(s) a liquid that is not a liquid for analysis that needs to be contained”; [0043] “determines whether liquids for analysis that need to be used are used”).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant previously cited Isoi in view of previously cited factual evidence “Poole’s Encyclopedia” and in further view of Applicant cited Okada* (JP 2002277451 A; hereafter “Okada”) utilized as factual evidence.
*machine translation provided by Examiner with foreign document and utilized for English citations
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claim 3,
Isoi teaches comprising
determining the weight and volume reduction (volume V of the decrease in the liquid in the container) behavior is under consideration of (the Examiner emphasizes this is a broad and reasonable interpretation for consideration) a flow rate (implicit to the time being sufficient and to amount of an operation of a feed pump; additional obviousness analysis provided) and a conveyance time (time is explicit) according to which the mobile phase (mobile-phase) is driven from the at least one mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6) through the sample separation apparatus (liquid chromatography analysis system) ([0029] “When a decreasing operation has decreased some liquids for analysis (e.g. feeding of a mobile phase or cleaning with a cleaning liquid), the liquid-for-analysis determining part 14 determines whether the decreasing operation has used correct liquids for analysis as scheduled or not, based on differences ΔM between weights M1 of containers that correspond to the liquids for analysis at a time and a weights M2 of the containers after a period of time passes that is sufficiently long for measurement of the decreases in liquids in the container, densities ρ of liquids for analysis that need to be used in the decreasing operation, and volumes V of consumption of the liquids for analysis in the decreasing operation (or a proportion between volumes V)”; [0036], [0040] “After a period of time passes that is sufficiently long for measurement”; [0014] “analysis based on an amount of an operation of a feed pump”);
Isoi doesn’t explicitly state wherein the determination is under consideration of a flow rate.
However:
The Examiner previously took Official Notice that flowrate (Q) multiplied by time (t) is volume (V): Q*t=V (or put another way t=V/Q). As the Applicant had not adequately traversed this assertion, this is considered admitted prior art in accordance with MPEP § 2144.03(C). Nevertheless, the Examiner has provided factual evidence supporting the Examiner’s assertion and previous assessment of triviality of applying the formula to mobile phase pumps (and further supporting factual evidence can be found in the Conclusion).
In view of Applicant’s amendment, the Examiner notes as supporting factual evidence from the same/analogous field of endeavor (sample separation apparatus) and pertaining directly to the aforementioned understanding of the above formulaic relationship between time and flowrate and volume for mobile phase pumps, Okada teaches in a sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, Liquid Chromatograph) for separating a fluidic sample using a mobile phase (mobile phase) provided from at least one mobile phase container (fig. 1, mobile phase containers 1 & 2) (Title “LIQUID CHROMATOGRAPH”; Abstract) a method comprising: determining a volume reduction behavior according to which volume the mobile phase (mobile phase) in the at least one mobile phase container (fig. 1, mobile phase containers 1 & 2) are reduced during conveying the mobile phase (mobile phase) from the at least one mobile phase container (fig. 1, mobile phase containers 1 & 2) into the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, Liquid Chromatograph), wherein determining the volume reduction behavior is under consideration of a flow rate and a conveyance time according to which the mobile phase (mobile phase) is driven from the at least one mobile phase container (fig. 1, mobile phase containers 1 & 2) through the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, Liquid Chromatograph) ([0010] “The mobile phase is sent to a column 5 at a predetermined flow rate by a liquid sending pump unit 3”; about middle of page 4 “Prior to the start of the analysis, the mobile phase required amount calculation unit 13 obtains information g on the mobile phase flow rate and the analysis time from the program control section 11 and obtains the required mobile phase amount d in the next analysis”; second paragraph of page 5 “the rotation speed of the liquid sending pump unit 3 is proportional to the liquid sending amount, the number of rotations of the liquid sending pump unit 3 is counted and moved”; third paragraph of page 4 “The management of the mobile phase during the continuous analysis is performed as follows. The mobile phase consumption calculating unit 14 obtains the liquid feeding amount information f of the liquid feeding pump unit 3 from the program control unit 11, calculates the mobile phase consumption e by integrating the obtained information with time, and converts the value into the mobile phase consumption value. It is sent to the remaining amount calculating section 15, where the mobile phase remaining amount c is calculated by subtracting the mobile phase consumption amount e from the capacity value h of the mobile phase container 1”). The Examiner emphasizes that Okada is factual evidence supporting the Examiner’s notice as well as the Examiner’s position that an ordinary artisan would be expected to know (at least to some degree sufficient for waiting a period of time to pass for measurement of the decreases in liquids in the container) a flowrate & conveyance time associated with a mobile phase pump.
Therefore, in view of the above, it remains the Examiner’s position that either one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would at once envisaged that Isoi’s sufficient amount of time for liquid volume change implicitly or inherently involves knowledge about flowrate (at least to some accuracy), or nevertheless, or in the alternative, it would have been trivially obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the conventional knowledge of the relationship between flowrate, time, & volume with Isoi’s requirement for measurement sufficiency to determine based on flowrate & time if a sufficient volume change for reliable measurements has occurred and thus decreasing possibility of analysis occurring too soon to be reliable or unnecessarily too late to interrupt to prevent wastage. The Examiner emphasizes that at the least this is a broad and reasonable interpretation for the under consideration limitation which includes merely knowing that period of time is sufficient long for (at least a very rough understanding/boundary) of the flowrate for a proper measurement, and furthermore, even under a more narrow interpretation, factual evidence Okada shows the expectation of knowledge of an ordinary artisan of consideration of a more precise/accurate mobile phase pump flow rate and conveyance time according to which the mobile phase is driven from the at least one mobile phase container through the sample separation apparatus.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant previously cited Isoi in view of previously cited factual evidence Poole’s Encyclopedia and in further view of previously cited factual evidence Bell (NPL A Beginner's Guide to Uncertainty of Measurement; hereafter “Bell’s Beginner’s Guide”) with previously cited Shoykhet* (DE 102018100779 A1; hereafter “Shoykhet”).
*machine translation previously provided by Examiner
Regarding claim 20, which depends on claim 3,
Isoi teaches comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the method comprises determining the weight and volume reduction (volume V of the decrease in the liquid in the container) behavior under consideration of a measurement of a gross weight information and/or the weight reduction behavior for threshold conclusions based thereon that are within a margin of error (silent to repeating) (Abstract; [0031] “within a range of a margin of error”).
Isoi doesn’t explicitly state repeated measurement of a gross weight information and/or the weight reduction behavior.
However:
The Examiner previously took Official Notice that repeating measurements (statistically) decreases error. As the Applicant had not adequately traversed this assertion, this is considered admitted prior art in accordance with MPEP § 2144.03(C).
As supporting factual evidence of the aforementioned assertion, Bell’s Beginner’s Guide teaches to repeat measurements (Title Page “Measurement Good Practice Guide” and “A Beginner's Guide”; Abstract “Every measurement is subject to some uncertainty” and “Such uncertainties can be estimated using statistical analysis of a set of measurements”; section 3.1 ‘Measure thrice, cut once’ ... operator error “good reasons for repeating measurements many times”).
Moreover, and especially pertinent to solving a similar problem and in a same/analogous field of endeavor, Shoykhet teaches repeating measurements (Title “dentification And Correction Of A Fluid Composition In The Sample Separator”; Abstract “A control device (70) for controlling a sample separation device (10) for separating a fluidic sample using a mobile phase to be supplied according to a target composition, wherein the control device (70) comprises a determination device (152) for determining one for a Is set of mobile phase indicative information is set up, and a correction means (154), which is adapted to at least partially correct an influence of a deviation between the target composition and the actual composition”; page 6 about middle of page “the determining means for determining the information indicative of the actual composition by means of a measurement of at least one parameter from the group consisting of a density, a sound wave velocity in, and a viscosity of the mobile phase to be established” and “It is also possible for two or more of the measurements mentioned to be cumulative, simultaneous, supplementary, parallel and / or complementary to determine the actual composition or indicative information. Thereby, the precision of the determination of the actual composition can be further increased”).
In view of the above, it would have been trivially obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to commonsensically utilize repeat measurements to provide better results with less error—as factually supported by the good measurement practices in Bell’s Beginner’s Guide and as further shown by Shoykhet that cumulative measurements are known to increase precision of determinations in the art—and thus leading to better determinations of abnormalities (e.g., wrongly disposing liquids) being present or absent.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant previously cited Isoi in view of previously cited factual evidence Poole’s Encyclopedia and in further view of previously cited Kamata* et al (WO 2020170320 A1; hereafter “Kamata”).
*machine translation previously provided by Examiner
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1,
Isoi is silent to comprising at least one of the following features:
the method comprises receiving an initial mobile phase volume from a user input;
the method comprises determining an initial mobile phase volume based on a comparison of the determined weight and volume characteristic of the mobile phase container with a pre-known reference weight and volume characteristic of one or more reference mobile phase containers with pre-known initial mobile phase volume.
However:
The Examiner previously took Official Notice that a user inputting the initial volume of a mobile phase is a well-known & routine activity. As the Applicant had not adequately traversed this assertion, this is considered admitted prior art in accordance with MPEP § 2144.03(C).
Furthermore, and as supporting factual evidence of the aforementioned assertion, Kamata teaches wherein the method comprises receiving an initial mobile phase (mobile-phase) volume from a user input (Title “LIQUID CHROMATOGRAPH”; Abstract “the operator to perform, when refilling the mobile phase containers with the mobile phases, visual measurement of the liquid volumes of the mobile phases and manual input of values of the liquid volumes to a control device”).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the conventional activity of the user inputting the initial volume of a mobile phase thereby providing a simple and low-tech solution to determining the volume of liquid which is easy for a user to perform and which provides an initial value for Isoi’s volume reduction calculations.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant previously cited Isoi in view of previously cited factual evidence Poole’s Encyclopedia and in further view of previously cited Li (US 20100057377 A1; hereafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 1,
Isoi teaches the mobile phase (mobile-phase) from the at least one mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6) used for chromatography ([0001], [0024], [0025] “chromatograph”).
Isoi does not explicitly state using the mobile phase as carrier fluid for carrying the fluidic sample during sample separation.
However:
It is still (see analysis of independent claim) the Examiner’s position that Isoi’s chromatography apparatus is for separating (at once so envisaged that a chromatography system utilizing mobile phase inherently/implicitly includes separating). It is further the Examiner's position that utilizing the mobile phase as carrier fluid for carrying the fluidic sample during sample separation is likewise at once so envisaged for a chromatography system utilizing mobile phase, noting that an ordinary artisan would be knowledgeable that the jargon mobile phase implicitly, inherently, and/or definitionally is a carrier fluid.
Furthermore, Li teaches using the mobile phase as carrier fluid for carrying the fluidic sample during sample separation (Title; Abstract “chromatographic systems”; BACKGROUND [0001] “Chromatography is a process that provides for the physical separation, quantification and identification of various analytes in a sample in a single analysis. A chromatography system comprises a number of components, including a separation column that separates the sample into its individual components as the components are passed through the column by a mobile phase. The separation column includes an inlet portion that acts as the interface for input of the sample into a separation column. The mobile phase provides a carrier fluid and driving force to move the components of the sample from the inlet portion of the column to the outlet portion, with the separation of the components dependent on their interactions with an immobilized liquid or solid material within the column (stationary phase) and the mobile phase”).
In view of the above, either one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would at once envisaged that Isoi’s chromatography system having mobile phase would use said mobile phase as a carrier fluid for carrying the fluidic sample during sample separation, or nevertheless, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the routine use—as factually supported by Li—of mobile phase as a carrier fluid for carrying the fluidic sample during sample separation in chromatography thereby providing the expected conventional facilitation of moving the sample in a chromatographic apparatus.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant previously cited Isoi in view of previously cited factual evidence Poole’s Encyclopedia and in further view of previously cited Shoykhet.
Regarding claim 10, which depends on method claim 1,
Isoi teaches a sample separation apparatus (liquid chromatography analysis system) for separating a fluidic sample (liquid sample), the sample separation apparatus (liquid chromatography analysis system) comprising:
a fluid drive (not show; means for feeding/pumping/sampling from containers 6; additional obviousness analysis provided) for driving a mobile phase (mobile-phase), provided from the at least one mobile phase container (fig. 1, container 6), and the fluidic sample (liquid sample) when introduced (silent to injector) into the mobile phase (mobile-phase) ([0024] “If the containers 6a to 6d that contain the liquids A to D for analysis are correctly disposed, the analyzer 2 sucks liquids for analysis that are necessary for an analysis operation from the containers 6a to 6d with a feed pump or a sampling needle and uses the sucked liquids. Disposing the containers 6a to 6d includes disposing the containers 6a to 6d at specific positions, or connecting the containers 6a to 6d to specific pipes”); and
a sample separation unit (not shown; sample separation unit at once envisaged as part of liquid chromatography analysis system; additional obviousness analysis provided) for separating the fluidic sample (liquid sample) in the mobile phase (mobile-phase); and
a control device (fig. 1, system controller 10) configured for carrying out or controlling the respective method according to claim 1 (see analysis of independent claim 1) ([0027] “The system controller 10 includes a density storing part 12, a liquid-for-analysis determining part 14, and a warning part 16”; [0034] “the system controller 10 may transmit an instruction to the analyzer 2 so that the analyzer 2 interrupts a current operation, in addition to or instead of the warning”).
Isoi does not explicitly state item 1) that the chromatography apparatus is a separation apparatus comprising a fluid drive and sample separation unit configured to separate the fluidic sample in the mobile phase. Isoi is silent to item 2) an injector for injecting the fluidic sample into the mobile phase.
Regarding items 1) and 2):
The Examiner (again; see independent claim) previously took Official Notice that chromatography conventionally uses separation techniques, and the Examiner further previously took Official Notice that sample separation units (e.g., chromatography column) are conventional and (definitionally) expected component of chromatography. As the Applicant had not adequately traversed these assertions, said assertions are considered admitted prior art in accordance with MPEP § 2144.03(C).
Furthermore, and as supporting factual evidence of the aforementioned assertion, Poole’s Encyclopedia teaches “Chromatography is the most widely used separation technique” (Chapter Chromatography, first sentence of Introduction), and further teaches a fluid drive (pump) configured to drive the mobile phase and a sample separation unit (column) configured to separate the fluidic sample in the mobile phase (Introduction second paragraph “Chromatography is essentially a physical method of separation in which the components of a mixture are separated by their distribution between two phases; one of these phases in the form of a porous bed, bulk liquid, layer or film is generally immobile (stationary phase), while the other is a fluid (mobile phase) that percolates through or over the stationary phase. A separation results from repeated sorption/desorption events during the movement of the sample components along the stationary phase in the general direction of mobile-phase migration”; Section Liquid Chromatography “Modern LC employs columns with small particle sizes and high packing density requiring high pressures for operation at useful mobile-phase velocities. Syringe-type or single- or multiple-head reciprocating piston pumps are commonly used to provide the operating pressures needed in configurations that depend on the design of the solvent-delivery system. A single pump is sufficient for isocratic operation. A single pump and electronically operated proportioning valves can be used for continuous variation of the mobile-phase composition (gradient elution) or, alternatively, independent pumps in parallel (commonly two) are used to pump different solvents into a mixing chamber. Between the pump and sample inlet may be a series of devices (check valves, pulse dampers, mixing chambers, flow controllers, pressure transducers, etc.) that correct or monitor pump output to ensure that a homogeneous, pulseless liquid flow is delivered to the column at a known pressure and volumetric flow rate” and “Loop-injection valves situated close to the head of the column are universally used for sample introduction”).
Moreover, Shoykhet explicitly (substantially/exact same nomenclature) teaches a sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) for separating a fluidic sample (fluidic sample) (Title “Identification And Correction Of A Fluid Composition In The Sample Separator”; Abstract “A control device (70) for controlling a sample separation device (10) for separating a fluidic sample using a mobile phase to be supplied according to a target composition, wherein the control device (70) comprises a determination device (152) for determining one for a Is set of mobile phase indicative information is set up, and a correction means (154), which is adapted to at least partially correct an influence of a deviation between the target composition and the actual composition”; page 2 section EPIPHANY first paragraph “object of the invention to operate a sample separation apparatus”), the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) comprising: a control device (fig. 1, control device 70) configured to carry out or control the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10), a fluid drive (fig. 1, fluid drive 20) configured to drive the mobile phase (mobile phase) and the fluidic sample (fluidic sample) when injected (via fig. 1, sample application unit / injector device 40) into the mobile phase (mobile phase); and a sample separation unit (fig. 1, sample separator 30) configured to separate the fluidic sample (fluidic sample) in the mobile phase (mobile phase), wherein controlling the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) is based on a result of the determining the density of the mobile phase (mobile phase) (page 8 after middle of page “the fluid drive or fluid pump may be configured to convey the mobile phase through the system”; page 10 last paragraph “fluid pump as a fluid drive 20 containing solvents from a supply unit 25 supplied drives a mobile phase through a sample separator 30 (such as a chromatographic column)”; page 8 after middle of page “The sample separator may include a sample injector for introducing the sample into the fluidic separation path. Such a sample injector may comprise a syringe-dockable injection needle in a corresponding fluid path, which needle may be withdrawn from that seat to receive sample, wherein upon reintroduction of the needle into the seat, the sample is in a fluid path which, for Example, by switching a valve, can be switched into the separation path of the system, which leads to the introduction of the sample in the fluidic separation path”; page 6 about middle of page “the determining means for determining the information indicative of the actual composition by means of a measurement of at least one parameter from the group consisting of a density, a sound wave velocity in, and a viscosity of the mobile phase to be established. If the density, the speed of sound or the viscosity of the individual constituents are known (an empirical calibration curve can preferably be used), the respective proportion of a particular constituent can also be determined from a corresponding measurement of the respective parameter of the mobile phase composed thereof. It is also possible for two or more of the measurements mentioned to be cumulative, simultaneous, supplementary, parallel and / or complementary to determine the actual composition or indicative information. Thereby, the precision of the determination of the actual composition can be further increased”).
In view of the above, either one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would at once envisaged that Isoi’s chromatography is (definitionally) utilized for separating and has the conventional and routine fluid drive, injector, & sample separating unit (see preceding citations in Isoi which suggest to an ordinary artisan that these elements are present or universally expected), or nevertheless, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include such conventional components—as factually supported by Poole’s Encyclopedia and as further explicitly (nomenclaturally substantially the same as claimed) exemplified by Shoykhet—with Isoi’s chromatography apparatus, and therefore providing the expected results of utilizing well-known & widely used separation techniques with a mobile drive, injector, and sample separation unit for the self-definitional motivation and/or for the expected purpose of analysis, isolation, purification, and/or for distinguishing individual compounds wherein the fluid drive commonsensically is configured to drive the mobile phase and the fluidic sample when injected via injector device into the mobile phase as is well-known in the art. Complementarily, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Isoi’s mobile phase analysis & associated interruption/warning for improper disposition of mobile phases with Shoykhet’s sample separation apparatus for the expected purpose of likewise assisting with preventing improper disposition of mobile phases and associated waste of material and/or improper chromatographic techniques.
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claim 10,
Isoi teaches wherein the sample separation apparatus (liquid chromatography analysis system) comprises at least one of the following features:
the sample separation apparatus (liquid chromatography analysis system) is configured as an apparatus selected from the group consisting of:
a chromatography sample separation apparatus (liquid chromatography analysis system);
a liquid chromatography sample separation apparatus (liquid chromatography analysis system);
(silent) a gas chromatography sample separation apparatus; and
(silent) a supercritical fluid chromatography sample separation apparatus;
Isoi is silent to: the sample separation apparatus comprises each of an injector configured to inject the fluidic sample into the mobile phase, a detector configured to detect the separated fluidic sample, and a fractionating unit configured to collect separated fractions of the fluidic sample.
Shoykhet teaches: comprising at least one of the following features: the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) is configured as an apparatus selected from the group consisting of: a chromatography sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10); a liquid chromatography sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10); a gas chromatography sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10); and a supercritical fluid chromatography sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) (bottom paragraph of page 2 through second paragraph of page 3 “In this context, a fluid is understood as meaning a liquid, a gas, a mixture of a liquid and a gas, a substance in the supercritical state” and “chromatographic sample separation”); the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) comprises each of an injector (fig. 1, sample application unit / injector device 40) configured to inject the fluidic sample (fluidic sample) into the mobile phase (mobile phase); the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) comprises a detector (fig. 1, detector 50) configured to detect the separated fluidic sample (fluidic sample); and the sample separation apparatus (fig. 1, sample separation apparatus 10) comprises a fractionating unit (fig. 1, fractionator 60) configured to collect separated fractions of the fluidic sample (fluidic sample) (page 8 after middle of page “The sample separator may include a sample injector for introducing the sample into the fluidic separation path”; top of page 11 “a detector 50 a flow cell detects separated components of the sample, and a fractionator may be provided to dispense separated components of the sample into dedicated containers; reference claim on top of page 16 “the sample separator ( 10 ) has an injector device ( 40 ) for introducing the fluidic sample into a fluidic path between the fluid drive ( 20 ) and the sample separation device ( 30 )” and “the sample separator ( 10 ) has a detector ( 50 )” and “the sample separator ( 10 ) has a sample fractionator ( 60 ) for fractionating the separated fluidic sample”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Shoykhet’s sample separation apparatus having injector, detector, & fractionator with Isoi’s chromatography apparatus therefore providing conventional components having the expected results of utilizing well-known & widely used components in chromatography including for usefully introducing the sample, analyzing the separated sample, and collecting separated components of the sample for further use and/or additional analysis, and thus commonsensically increasing the versatility and marketability of Isoi’s chromatography apparatus. See also preceding combination and motivation analysis provided for preceding claim. It further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine in the alternative each of gas, liquid, and supercritical versions/applications of chromatography sample separation—as taught by Shoykhet—with Isoi’s method for the increased versatility and marketability within these respective fluid applications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is invited to review PTO form 892 accompanying this Office Action listing Prior Art relevant to the instant invention cited by the Examiner. The Examiner notes in particular factual evidence with regards to amended claim 5 and the Official Notice thereof:
Encyclopedia of Separation Science, Chapter Theory of Liquid Chromatography, page 780 section Mobile phase pertaining to relating volume, flow rate, & time.
Modern HPLC Pumps: Perspectives, Principles, and Practices “Constant flow rate pumps have been the standard approach since the debut of the first commercial HPLC system in the 1960s. This is important” and “Since V is equal to retention time (t) multiplied by flow rate (F)”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, John Breene can be reached on 571-272-4107. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/DAVID L SINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 30JUL2026