DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to Applicant’s amendment in which claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 15 have been amended, claims 3, 5, 7, 10, 12, and 14 have been canceled, and claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13, 15, and 17-19 remain pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,458,101. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed structure of the present invention may be wholly derived from the claimed subject matter of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Richter (DE 196 11 797 A1) in view of Paintin et al. (US 2009/0217552), herein Paintin.
Regarding claim 1, Richter discloses a rapid-entry shoe comprising: a sole portion and an upper (Fig. 1); a rapid-entry structure (1) coupled to the upper and disposed at a rear portion of the rapid-entry shoe and extending from the sole portion continuously from a medial side portion of the sole portion, around a rear portion of the sole portion, and to a lateral side portion of the sole portion (Fig. 6), the rapid-entry structure comprising a base portion (Fig. 6) extending from the sole portion and an elevated portion (1), the elevated portion of the rapid-entry structure extending to the topline of the rapid-entry shoe (Fig. 1); wherein expansion or deformation of the flexible element enlarges a foot opening of the rapid-entry shoe, and wherein contraction of the flexible element reduces the foot opening of the rapid-entry shoe (Fig. 1); wherein the base portion of the rapid-entry structure is configured to provide resistance against the rear portion of the rapid-entry shoe from one or more of collapsing downward, flexing rearward and pivoting rearward (Fig. 6); wherein the base portion of the rapid-entry structure extends from the sole at a position rearward relative to a heel of a user when the heel is positioned in the rapid-entry shoe (Fig. 1, 6).
Richter discloses that the upper is flexible (Fig. 1), but does not disclose a distinct flexible element disposed at a side portion of the rapid-entry shoe. Paintin teaches a rapid-entry shoe comprising: an upper (506) forming a first portion of a topline and comprising a flexible element (552) disposed at a side portion of the shoe, the flexible element extending to and forming a second portion of the topline aligned with the first portion of the topline. Expansion of the flexible element enlarges a foot opening, and contraction of the flexible element reduces the foot opening of the shoe. The flexible element is configured to enable a portion of the upper of the rapid-entry shoe to flex and/or pivot relative to the sole portion (paragraph 0052; Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a flexible element at a side portion, as taught by Paintin, to the upper of Richter, in order to provide improved stretchability and elastic rebound at the sides of the heel portion, allowing the heel to fully open, and helping to bias the upper back to the closed position.
Regarding claim 2, Richter discloses that the rapid-entry structure comprises a heel loop (1), wherein the base portion of the rapid-entry structure comprises a body having a first end and a second end, the first end coupled to or extending from the medial side of the sole portion of the rapid-entry shoe and the second end coupled to or extending from the lateral side of the sole portion of the rapid-entry shoe (Fig. 2, 6).
Regarding claim 4, Richter discloses that the rapid-entry structure defines a space for expansion (space between elevated portion and base, which can expand and contract with the concertina folds; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Richter discloses a rapid-entry shoe comprising: a sole portion and an upper (Fig. 1); a rapid-entry structure (1) disposed at a rear portion of the rapid-entry shoe and extending from the sole portion continuously from a medial side portion of the sole portion, around a rear portion of the sole portion, and to a lateral side portion of the sole portion, the rapid-entry structure comprising a body portion (Fig. 6) extending from the sole portion and at least partially extending between the sole portion and an elevated portion (1); wherein the rapid-entry structure comprises a heel loop (1), wherein the body portion of the rapid-entry structure comprises a first end, a second end, and a central portion therebetween, the first end coupled to or extending from the medial side of the sole portion of the rapid-entry shoe, the second end coupled to or extending from the lateral side of the sole portion of the rapid-entry shoe opposite the medial side, and the central portion extending from the sole at a rear portion between the medial side portion and the lateral side portion (Fig. 6), wherein the heel loop extends from the body portion of the rapid-entry structure (as point A; Fig. 6).
Richter discloses that the upper is flexible (Fig. 1), but does not disclose a distinct flexible element disposed at a side portion of the rapid-entry shoe. Paintin teaches a rapid-entry shoe comprising: an upper (506) forming a first portion of a topline and comprising a flexible element (552) disposed at a side portion of the shoe, the flexible element extending to and forming a second portion of the topline aligned with the first portion of the topline. Expansion of the flexible element enlarges a foot opening, and contraction of the flexible element reduces the foot opening of the shoe. The flexible element is configured to enable a portion of the upper of the rapid-entry shoe to flex and/or pivot relative to the sole portion (paragraph 0052; Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a flexible element at a side portion, as taught by Paintin, to the upper of Richter, in order to provide improved stretchability and elastic rebound at the sides of the heel portion, allowing the heel to fully open, and helping to bias the upper back to the closed position.
Regarding claim 9, Richter discloses that the rapid-entry structure defines a space for expansion (space between elevated portion and base, which can expand and contract with the concertina folds; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 11, Richter discloses that the rapid-entry structure is covered by the upper (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Richter discloses that the base portion extends from the sole portion at side and rearward positions (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 19, Richter discloses that at least a portion (portion of concertina folds; Fig. 6) of the rapid-entry structure defines an "S-shaped" profile.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 17-18 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARON M PRANGE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732