Claims 1-4, 6-9, and 12-17, and 19-24 are examined in this office action
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 9, 12, and 14-15 are currently amended.
Claims 21-24 are new.
Claims 5, 10, 11, and 18 are cancelled
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 recites “a latching mechanism” and claim 21 recites “a latching mechanism”. It I unclear if the “a latching mechanism” of claim 21 is the same “a latching mechanism” as claim 1 because antecedent basis has not been created. Thus rendering the claims indefinite.
Claims 21-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 and 24 recite that “the latching mechanism is irreversible” and claims 21 and 23 recite “a latching mechanism is configured to selectively secure”. Both irreversible and selectively secure are broad terms that are not defined by the claim or the specification, thus rendering the claims indefinite. Examiner interprets ‘the latching mechanism is irreversible” and “a latching mechanism is configured to selectively secure” as meaning that the latching mechanism cannot be removed from a position with out an external force.
Claims 21 and 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 21 recites "a latching mechanism configured to selectively secure the assistive dispensing cover at the first stage and at the second stage. Claim 1, from which claim 21 depends, recites that in the first stage "the adjustable closure engages the collapsible fluid reservoir of the BFS vial to secure the assistive dispensing cover at least partially around the BFS vial." and that in the second stage "the at least one compression structure compresses the collapsible fluid reservoir of the BFS vial …". The first and second stages as described by claim 1 recite specific characteristics of the stages such as "secure the assistive dispensing cover at least partially around the BFS vial" and "the at least one compression structure compresses the collapsible fluid reservoir" that are narrower than the description of the stages in claims 21 and 22 which simply states that the in the first and second stages the cover is selectively secured or irreversible, which is broader than the description in claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9, 10-11, 15-16, and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1) as being anticipated by Ferreri et al. (US 2013/0345669 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ferreri teaches a system (delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (delivery device 10, Fig. 4), comprising:
an assistive dispensing cover (delivery device 10, Fig. 4) to facilitate distribution of liquids from a blow-fill-seal (BFS) vial (deformable container 20, Fig. 4) the assistive dispensing cover including:
an adjustable closure (clip element 30, Fig. 1) defining a longitudinal axis (See annotated Fig. 4) and an interior passage (See annotated Fig. 4) extending along the longitudinal axis, the interior passage sized to fit at least partially around a collapsible fluid reservoir (chamber 23) of the BFS vial (Fig. 4),
at least one compression structure (longitudinal surfaces 70, catch 94, and teeth 92, Fig. 4) extending radially inwardly (See annotated Fig. 4) from the adjustable closure (clip element 30, Fig. 1) relative to the longitudinal axis (See annotated Fig. 4) and into the interior passage (See annotated Fig. 4); and
a latching mechanism (teeth 92 and catch 94, Fig. 4) configured to selectively secure the assistive dispensing cover at multiple stages relative to the BFS vial ("… the locking element includes a plurality of teeth 92 on one longitudinal end of the clip element which engages a corresponding catch 94 located opposite end of the clip element." - Para [0054]) in response to one or more compressive forces applied to the adjustable cover ("The embodiments of FIGS. 1-5 are activated by pressing the moveable distal and proximal ends of the clip element together to activate the device …" - Para [0054]);
wherein, in a first stage of the assistive dispensing cover responsive to a first compressive force ("the user then applies force to the clip element 30 …" - Para [0059]) applied to the adjustable cover (clip element 30, Fig. 1), the adjustable closure engages the collapsible fluid reservoir of the BFS vial ("The embodiments of FIGS. 1-5 are activated by pressing the moveable distal and proximal ends of the clip element together to activate the device …" - Para [0054]) to secure the assistive dispensing cover at least partially around the BFS vial ("The locking element enables the clip element to be secured in place …" - Para [0050]), and
wherein, in a second stage of the assistive dispensing cover responsive to a second compressive force ("the user than applies force to the clip element 30 …" - Para [0059]) applied to the adjustable cover (clip element 30, Fig. 1), the at least one compression structure (longitudinal surfaces 70, Fig. 4) compresses the collapsible fluid reservoir (chamber 23, Fig. 4) of the BFS vial to distribute liquid contained therein ("The embodiments of FIGS. 1-5 are activated by pressing the moveable distal and proximal ends of the clip element together to activate the device …" - Para [0054]).
Examiner interprets that each successive engagement of catch 94 with a different tooth 92 defines a different stage of compression and thus requires a different compressive force applied by the user to the clip element 30 in order to move the catch to a subsequent tooth. At each one of these stages the latching mechanism is secured because it cannot be reversed, opened, or moved in the opposite direction of the arrows as shown in Fig. 4 without an external force.
Regarding claim 2, Ferreri discloses the system (delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, further comprising
an injection assembly ("… the vascular access device is a syringe …" - Para [0043]) designed to be secured ("The male luer tip 26 may be removably connectable to a female luer connection of a vascular access device." - Para [0040]) to a distal end of the BFS vial ("The deformable container 20 further comprises … an open distal end 25 including a male luer tip 26 …" - Para [0040], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Ferreri discloses the system (delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
the latching mechanism (longitudinal surfaces 70, catch 94, and teeth 92, Fig. 4) includes a first latch portion ("… one longitudinal end of the clip element …" - Para [0054], See annotated Fig. 4) and a second latch portion ("… the opposite end of the clip element …" - Para [0054], See annotated Fig. 4) that are configured to engage each other ("… the locking element includes a plurality of teeth 92 on one longitudinal end of the clip element which engages a corresponding catch 94 located on the opposite end of the clip element." - Para [0054], Fig. 4), and wherein at least one of the first latch portion and the second latch portion are movable upon an application of the compression force ("The embodiment of FIGS. 1-5 are activated by pressing the moveable distal and proximal ends of the clip element together …" - Para [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Ferreri discloses the system (delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
the first latch portion and the second latch portion are configured for advancement toward each other (See the arrows in Fig. 4 above) in order to move the adjustable cover corresponding to the second stage of the assistive dispensing cover ("The embodiments of FIGS. 1-5 are activated by pressing the moveable distal and proximal ends of the clip element together to activate the device …" - Para [0054]), but are not configured for movement in the opposite direction in order to deter opening of the adjustable cover when in the second stage of the assistive dispensing cover once in the closed position ("The locking element enables the clip element to be secured in place …" - Para [0050]).
Examiner interprets the activation of the device to be the closed position of the device and that each successive engagement of catch 94 with a different tooth 92 defines a different stage as shown in annotated Fig. 4 above which cannot be moved in the opposite direction of the arrows as shown in Fig. 4 without external force.
Regarding claim 5, Ferreri discloses the system (delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
the first latch portion and the second latch portion are configured for advancement toward each other (See the arrows in Fig. 4 above) until the at least one compression structure (longitudinal surfaces 70, Fig. 4) provides a sufficient force on the fluid reservoir to deliver the liquid from the fluid reservoir ("The clip element 30 comprises a distal end 31, a proximal end 32, and a pivot 33 … for collapsing the deformable container 20 to drive the fluid out of the chamber 23 …" - Para [0040]).
Regarding claim 7, Ferreri discloses the system (delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
the first latch portion (longitudinal surface 70, Fig. 4) comprises a first mating arm (See annotated Fig. 4) having a plurality of indexed protrusion (teeth 92, Fig. 4), and the second latch portion (longitudinal surface 70, Fig. 4) comprises a second mating arm (See annotated Fig. 4) having a plurality of indexed protrusions (catch 94, Fig. 4) ("… the locking element 40 includes at least one protrusion and at least one corresponding cavity." - Para [0045]), and wherein the plurality of indexed protrusions are configured to mate at different stages of engagement between the first mating arm and the second mating arm ("… a plurality of teeth 92 on one longitudinal end of the clip element which engages a corresponding catch 94 …" - Para [0054]) upon continued application of compression forces ("The locking element 40 is arranged to be manually activated by a user …" - Para [0045], See annotated Fig. 4).
Examiner interprets the different stages of engagement to correspond with the engagement of the catch with different teeth, caused by the compressive force as shown in annotated Fig. 4 above.
Regarding claim 9, Ferreri discloses the system (delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
the plurality of indexed protrusions are configured to produce an audible indication ("The locking element 40 provides feedback to the user to confirm delivery of a desired volume of fluid from the chamber 23." - Para [0050], "The feedback may be … audible." - Para [0011]) upon achievement of each of the different stages of engagement between the first mating arm and the second mating arm (See annotated Fig. 4).
Examiner interprets the delivery of desired volume of fluid from the chamber to be a stage of engagement. The position of the arms in Fig. 4 is another stage of engagement.
Regarding claim 15, Ferreri discloses a system (delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (delivery device 10, Fig. 4), comprising:
a lockable (lockable element 40, Fig. 1) assistive dispensing cover (delivery device 10, Fig. 4) to facilitate distribution of liquids from a blow-fill-seal (BFS) vial (deformable container 20, Fig. 4) ("… collapsing the deformable container 20 to drive fluid out …" - Para [0040]), the assistive dispensing cover including:
an adjustable closure (clip element 30, Fig. 4) defining a longitudinal axis (See
annotated Fig. 4) and an interior passage (See annotated Fig. 4) extending along the
longitudinal axis, the interior passage sized to fit at least partially around a collapsible
fluid reservoir (chamber 23) of the BFS via (deformable container 20, Fig. 4) (as shown in Fig. 4),
first and second compression structures (longitudinal surfaces 70, catch 94, teeth 92) extending radially inwardly (See annotated Fig. 4) from the adjustable closure (clip element 30, Fig. 4) relative to the longitudinal axis (See annotated Fig. 4) and into the interior passage (See annotated Fig. 4), the first and second compression structures disposed in opposed relation relative to the longitudinal axis (as shown in Fig. 4) and being configured to apply pressure to the fluid reservoir upon engagement with the fluid reservoir ("The embodiments of FIGS. 1-5 are activated by pressing the moveable distal and proximal ends of the clip element together to activate the device and delivery the contents …" - Para [0054])
wherein the assistive dispensing cover (clip element 30, Fig. 4) is configured to, in response to receiving a first compression force ("the user than applies force to the clip element 30 …" - Para [0059]) applied to the adjustable cover (clip element 30, Fig. 4), move the adjustable cover from an open position into an at least partially closed position ("The embodiments of FIGS. 1-5 are activated by pressing the moveable distal and proximal ends of the clip element together to activate the device …" - Para [0054]) to secure the assistive dispensing cover at least partially around the BFS vial ("The locking element enables the clip element to be secured in place …" - Para [0050]), and
wherein additional compression forces ("the user than applies force to the clip element 30 …" - Para [0059]) applied to the adjustable cover (clip element 30, Fig. 4) further advances the adjustable closure such that the first and second compression structures compress the fluid reservoir (chamber 23) to an at least partially compressed position to dispense the liquid out of the fluid reservoir ("The embodiments of FIGS. 1-5 are activated by pressing the moveable distal and proximal ends of the clip element together to activate the device …" - Para [0054]).
Examiner interprets that each successive engagement of catch 94 with a different tooth 92 defines a different stage of compression and thus requires a different compressive force applied by the user to the clip element 30 in order to move the catch to a subsequent tooth. At each one of these stages the latching mechanism is secured because it cannot be reversed, opened, or moved in the opposite direction of the arrows as shown in Fig. 4 without an external force.
Regarding claim 16, Ferreri discloses the system (delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, further comprising
an injection assembly ("… the vascular access device is a syringe …" - Para [0043]) designed to be secured ("The male luer tip 26 may be removably connectable to a female luer connection of a vascular access device." - Para [0040]) to a distal end of the BFS vial ("The deformable container 20 further comprises … an open distal end 25 including a male luer tip 26 …" - Para [0040], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Ferreri discloses the system (delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
the adjustable closure is configured to produce an indication ("The locking element 40 provides feedback to the user to confirm delivery of a desired volume of fluid from the chamber 23." - Para [0050]) upon achievement of each of the different stages of engagement between the first mating arm and the second mating arm (See annotated Fig. 4 above).
Examiner interprets the delivery of desired volume of fluid from the chamber to be a stage of engagement. The position of the arms in Fig. 4 is another stage of engagement.
Regarding claim 21, Ferreri discloses the system as recited above, including
a latching mechanism (longitudinal surfaces 70, catch 94, and teeth 92, Fig. 4) configured to selectively secure ("The locking element enables the clip element to be secured in place …" - Para [0050]) the assistive dispensing cover (clip element 30, Fig. 1) at the first stage (See annotated Fig. 4) and at the second stage (See annotated Fig. 4).
Examiner interprets that each successive engagement of catch 94 with a different tooth 92 defines a different stage of compression and thus requires a different compressive force applied by the user to the clip element 30 in order to move the catch to a subsequent tooth. At each one of these stages the latching mechanism is secured because it cannot be reversed, opened, or moved in the opposite direction of the arrows as shown in Fig. 4 without an external force which is interpreted as selectively secured.
Regarding claim 22, Ferreri discloses the system as recited above, wherein
the latching mechanism (longitudinal surfaces 70, catch 94, and teeth 92, Fig. 4) is irreversible ("The locking element enables the clip element to be secured in place …" - Para [0050]) when the assistive dispensing cover (clip element 30, Fig. 1) is in the first stage (See annotated Fig. 4) and when in the second stage (See annotated Fig. 4).
Examiner interprets that each successive engagement of catch 94 with a different tooth 92 defines a different stage of compression and thus requires a different compressive force applied by the user to the clip element 30 in order to move the catch to a subsequent tooth. At each one of these stages the latching mechanism is secured because it cannot be reversed, opened, or moved in the opposite direction of the arrows as shown in Fig. 4 without an external force which is interpreted as irreversible.
Regarding claim 23, Ferreri discloses the system as recited above, including
a latching mechanism (longitudinal surfaces 70, catch 94, and teeth 92, Fig. 4) configured to selectively secure ("The locking element enables the clip element to be secured in place …" - Para [0050]) the adjustable closure (clip element 30, Fig. 1) at the at least partially closed portion (first stage in annotated Fig. 4) and at the at least partially compressed position (second stage in annotated Fig. 4).
Examiner interprets that each successive engagement of catch 94 with a different tooth 92 defines a different stage of compression and thus requires a different compressive force applied by the user to the clip element 30 in order to move the catch to a subsequent tooth. At each one of these stages the latching mechanism is secured because it cannot be reversed, opened, or moved in the opposite direction of the arrows as shown in Fig. 4 without an external force which is interpreted as selectively secured.
Regarding claim 24, Ferreri discloses the system as recited above, wherein
the latching mechanism (catch 94 and teeth 92, Fig. 4) is irreversible ("The locking element enables the clip element to be secured in place …" - Para [0050]) when the adjustable closure (clip element 30) is at the at least partially closed position (first stage in annotated Fig. 4) and when the adjustable closure is at the at least partially compressed position (second stage in annotated Fig. 4).
Examiner interprets that each successive engagement of catch 94 with a different tooth 92 defines a different stage of compression and thus requires a different compressive force applied by the user to the clip element 30 in order to move the catch to a subsequent tooth. At each one of these stages the latching mechanism is secured because it cannot be reversed, opened, or moved in the opposite direction of the arrows as shown in Fig. 4 without an external force which is interpreted as irreversible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 12-13, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreri et al. (US 2013/0345669 A1) in view of Ko et al. (US Pub No. 2023/0095848 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Ferreri in view of Ko discloses the system (Ferreri, delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (Ferreri, clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (Ferreri, delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
the first latch portion and the second latch portion are locked in a mated position after delivery of the liquid (Ferreri, "The locking element 40 enables the clip element 30 to be secured in place after the solution has been expelled." - Para [0050])
Ferreri does not expressly disclose so that the dispensing cover may not be removed from the vial without partial destruction of the cover
Ko teaches so that the dispensing cover (locking guide unit 5, Fig. 5) may not be removed from the vial without partial destruction of the cover ("The locking guide unit 5 according to the present embodiment has a through-hole 500 formed therein to allow the internal needle to pass through, wherein the through-hole 500 is deformed in withdrawal of the penetrating internal needle 110 …" - Para [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ferreri to include so that the dispensing cover may not be removed from the vial without partial destruction of the cover as taught by Ko to structurally prevent the re use of thereof (Ko, Para [0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Ferreri in view of Ko discloses the system (Ferreri, delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (Ferreri, clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (Ferreri, delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
the first mating arm and the second mating arm are locked in a mated position after delivery of the liquid (Ferreri, "The locking element 40 enables the clip element 30 to be secured in place after the solution has been expelled." - Para [0050])
Ferreri does not expressly disclose so that the dispensing cover may not be removed from the vial without partial destruction of the dispensing cover.
Ko teaches so that the dispensing cover (locking guide unit 5, Fig. 5) may not be removed from the vial without partial destruction of the dispensing cover ("The locking guide unit 5 according to the present embodiment has a through-hole 500 formed therein to allow the internal needle to pass through, wherein the through-hole 500 is deformed in withdrawal of the penetrating internal needle 110 …" - Para [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ferreri to include so that the dispensing cover may not be removed from the vial without partial destruction of the cover as taught by Ko to structurally prevent the re use of thereof (Ko, Para [0004]).
Regarding claim 13, Ferreri in view of Ko discloses the system (Ferreri, delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (Ferreri, clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (Ferreri, delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, further comprising
Ferreri does not expressly disclose at least one gripping portion disposed on an outer surface of the assistive dispensing cover.
Ko teaches at least one gripping portion (holder 305, Fig. 3) ("… the shape of the holder 305 has a structure capable of being projected or forming friction …" - Para [0053]) disposed on an outer surface of the assistive dispensing cover (slide casing 30, Figs. 3&4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ferreri to include at least one gripping portion disposed on an outer surface of the assistive dispensing cover as taught by Ko to enable an operator to push up the slide casing (Ko, Para [0053]).
Examiner interprets a structure capable of forming friction to be inclusive of a gripping portion.
Regarding claim 17, Ferreri in view of Ko discloses the system (Ferreri, delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (Ferreri, clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (Ferreri, delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
the adjustable closure (Ferreri, "… V-shaped clip element …", Fig. 4) includes a first mating arm (Ferreri, "… one longitudinal end of the clip element …" - Para [0054], See annotated Fig. 4) and a second mating arm (Ferreri, "… the opposite end of the clip element …" - Para [0054], See annotated Fig. 4) that are movable between different stages of engagement (Ferreri, Fig. 4), with a final stage of engagement being locked in a mated position after dispensing the liquid (Ferreri, "The locking element 40 enables the clip element 30 to be secured in place after the solution has been expelled." - Para [0050])
Ferreri does not expressly disclose so that the dispensing cover may not be removed from the vial without partial destruction of the dispensing cover.
Ko teaches so that the dispensing cover (locking guide unit 5, Fig. 5) may not be removed from the vial without partial destruction of the dispensing cover ("The locking guide unit 5 according to the present embodiment has a through-hole 500 formed therein to allow the internal needle to pass through, wherein the through-hole 500 is deformed in withdrawal of the penetrating internal needle 110 …" - Para [0071]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ferreri to include so that the dispensing cover may not be removed from the vial without partial destruction of the cover as taught by Ko to structurally prevent the re use of thereof (Ko, Para [0004]).
Regarding claim 18, Ferreri in view of Ko discloses the system (Ferreri, delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (Ferreri, delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, further comprising
Ferreri does not expressly disclose at least one gripping portion disposed on an outer surface of the assistive dispensing cover.
Ko teaches at least one gripping portion (holder 305, Fig. 3) ("… the shape of the holder 305 has a structure capable of being projected or forming friction …" - Para [0053]) disposed on an outer surface of the assistive dispensing cover (slide casing 30, Figs. 3&4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ferreri to include at least one gripping portion disposed on an outer surface of the assistive dispensing cover as taught by Ko to enable an operator to push up the slide casing (Ko, Para [0053]).
Claim(s) 8 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreri et al. (US 2013/0345669 A1) in view of Beran et al. (US Patent No. 11,020,566 B2).
Regarding claim 8, Ferreri in view of Beran discloses the system (Ferreri, delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (Ferreri, clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (Ferreri, delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
the plurality of protrusions of the second mating arm (see annotated Fig. 4) comprises a plurality of teeth (Ferreri, teeth 92, Fig. 4), and wherein upon insertion of the second mating arm within the first mating arm the plurality of teeth mate with the plurality of catches (Ferreri, "… a plurality of teeth 92 on one longitudinal end of the clip element which engages a corresponding catch 94 …" - Para [0054]) (Ferreri, "… the locking element 40 includes at least one protrusion and at least one corresponding cavity." - Para [0045]) securing the assistive dispensing cover into the closed position (Ferreri, "The locking element enables the clip element to be secured in place …" - Para [0050]).
Ferreri does not expressly disclose that the first mating arm includes a slot sized to receive at least a portion of the second mating arm, the plurality of indexed protrusions comprising a plurality of catches supported within the slot,
Beran teaches that the first mating arm (locking case 719, Fig. 37) includes a slot (opening 721, Fig. 37) sized to receive at least a portion of the second mating arm (gear rack 705, Fig. 37) ("The top opening 720 permits the gear rack 705 to slide into the locking case 719, and allows for engagement of gear rack notches 711 with the teeth of the ratchet 720." - Para [73]), the plurality of indexed protrusions comprising a plurality of catches supported within the slot (a ratchet with teeth 720, Fig. 37),
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ferreri to include that the first mating arm includes a slot sized to receive at least a portion of the second mating arm, the plurality of indexed protrusions comprising a plurality of catches supported within the slot as taught by Beran to lock the device closed (Beran, Para [66]).
Regarding claim 19, Ferreri in view of Beran discloses the system (Ferreri, delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (Ferreri, delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
the second mating arm (Ferreri, See annotated Fig. 4 above) supporting a plurality of teeth (Ferreri, teeth 92, Fig. 4), and wherein upon insertion of the second mating arm within the first mating arm the plurality of teeth mate with the plurality of catches (v"… a plurality of teeth 92 on one longitudinal end of the clip element which engages a corresponding catch 94 …" - Para [0054]) ("… the locking element 40 includes at least one protrusion and at least one corresponding cavity." - Para [0045]).
Ferreri does not expressly disclose that the first mating arm includes a slot sized to receive at least a portion of the second mating arm, the first mating arm supporting a plurality of catches within the slot,
Beran teaches that the first mating arm (locking case 719, Fig. 37) includes a slot (opening 721, Fig. 37) sized to receive at least a portion of the second mating arm (gear rack 705, Fig. 37) ("The top opening 720 permits the gear rack 705 to slide into the locking case 719, and allows for engagement of gear rack notches 711 with the teeth of the ratchet 720." - Para [73]), the first mating arm supporting a plurality of catches within the slot (a ratchet with teeth 720, Fig. 37),
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ferreri to include that the first mating arm includes a slot sized to receive at least a portion of the second mating arm, the first mating arm supporting a plurality of catches within the slot as taught by Beran to lock the device closed (Beran, Para [66]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferreri et al. (US 2013/0345669 A1) in view of Consolaro et al. (US Patent No. 12,246,127 B2).
Regarding claim 14, Ferreri in view of Consolaro discloses the system (Ferreri, delivery device 10, deformable container 20, Fig. 4) comprising an accessory (Ferreri, clip element 30, Fig. 4) for a medical dispensing device (Ferreri, delivery device 10, Fig. 4) as recited above, wherein
Ferreri does not expressly disclose that the at least one compression structure comprises a pair of curved compressive structures positioned at opposing sides of the interior passage.
Consolaro teaches that the at least one compressive structure comprises a pair of curved compressive structures (See annotated Fig. 6A below) positioned at opposing sides of the interior passage (activation compartment 2, Fig. 6A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Ferrari to include that the at least one compressive structure comprises a pair of curved compressive structures positioned at opposing sides of the interior passage as taught by Consolaro to compress the activation compartment (Consolaro, Para [95]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 8-10, filed 7/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, and 12- under 35 USC 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ferreri.
102 and 103
Applicant argues that that there are no compression structures extending inwardly from the flat surfaces 70 assuming the flat surfaces 70 and/or the clip are equivalent to the recited “adjustable closure” (which position Applicant does not concede). Moreover, the flat surface of 70 are completely devoid of any inward extending compression structures, and thus, cannot realize the advantages thereby provided.
Examiner interprets that Ferreri teaches a compression structure extending inwardly as recited in independent claims 1 and 15. The longitudinal surface 70 and the catch 94 and the teeth 92 together are interpreted as the compression structure. The catch 94 and the teeth 92 both extend radially inward as shown in Fig. 4.
With respect to the applicant’s arguments the rejection above teaches the claimed limitations. The rejection above is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESHA PRAKASH KASHYAP/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /CHELSEA E STINSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783