DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in Table 3 on page 66, for 2,2-bis(4-hydroxycyclohexyl)propane the ring structure is listed as “benzene” (though there is no benzene ring) and for 1,4-bis(2-hydroxyethoxy)benzene the ring structure is listed as “cyclohexane.” Because the molecular weight correlates with ring structure and not the compound name from the first column , the total Van der Waals volume is presumed to be paired with the wrong name . In other words, just the names of the third compound (4th row) and the fourth compound (5th row) listed in Table 3 should be swapped. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim s 1-4, 8-13, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (WO 2019/244791 is cited for its publication date, English-language equivalent US 2021/0155240 is relied upon for citations below) in view of evidence provided by Kodera (US 2018/0030223) . With respect to claims 1 -4, 9, and 11, Sato discloses an acrylic matte resin film comprising having excellent appearance (abstract). In Table 4, Example 10 comprising an acrylic rubber-containing polymer comprising 50 parts by mass rubber-containing multistage polymer (I) having two Tg of -48°C and -10°C (paragraph 0291; Table 2) ; 10 parts by mass of hydroxyl group-containing polymer (II) having a Tg of 77°C (paragraphs 0324 and 0328); and 1.1 parts by mass UV absorber Adk stab LA-31R G . Kodera provides evidence that Adk stab LA-31R G is 2,2′-methylenebis[4-(1,1,3,3-tetramethylbutyl)6-(2H-benzotriazole-yl)phenol] (paragraph 0072), i.e., , which reads on Formula 1 when l = 1, m = n = 0, q = r = 1, L* is methylene, R 1 and R 2 are hydroxyl , and “a ring” and “b ring” are (tetramethylbutyl) - 6-(2H-benzotriazole-yl) benzene. Adk stab LA-31R G has a molecular weight of 659 g/mol and four benzene (i.e., C6 aromatic ring). Applicant’s own specification in Table 3 teaches hat a benzene ring has total van der Waals volume of 72.15, which satisfies claimed inequality (3) of 0.34 ≤ (72.15*4) / 659 = 0.44. The calculated value of “0. 4 4” is considered to be “at least” given that a polycyclic aromatic compound would be expected to have even higher total van der Waals volume. With respect to claim 8, Example 10 of Sato includes 10 parts by mass hydroxyl group-containing acrylic polymer (II) and 90 parts by mass total acrylic polymers (Table 4), which provides for an amount of hydroxyl group-containing acrylic polymer of about 11 parts by mass. With respect to claim 10, Example 10 of Table 4 has M2/M1 of 0.9. With respect to claims 12, 13, and 16, Sato exemplifies a laminate film comprising a transparent acrylic resin layer and the matte acrylic resin composition of Example 10 (paragraph 0338), wherein the laminate film has a thickness of 75µm (paragraph 0341) and a thickness of the matt acrylic resin film is 7.5µm (paragraph 0342). With respect to claim 17, Sato teaches that the laminate film is laminated to a base material (paragraph 0242). Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Sato (WO 2019/244791 is cited for its publication date, English-language equivalent US 2021/0155240 is relied upon for citations below) in view of evidence provided by Kodera (US 2018/0030223) and further in view of evidence provided by Ozora (JP 2016-017153, machine translation) . The discussion with respect to Sato and Kodera in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by re f erence. Neither Sato nor Kodera discloses the weight loss temperature of Adk stab LA-31RG. Ozora Ozora teaches that exemplified UV absorber is 2,2'-methylenebis[6-(2H-benzotriazol-2-yl)-4-(1,1,3,3-tetramethylbutyl)phenol] , manufactured by Asahi Denka Kogyo Co., Ltd. under trade name ADK STAB LA-31 which has a 5% weight loss temperature of 360°C (paragraph 0131). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2019/244791 is cited for its publication date, English-language equivalent US 2021/0155240 is relied upon for citations below) in view of evidence provided by Kodera (US 2018/0030223) . The discussion with respect to Sato and Kodera in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference. Sato teaches that the amount of fish eyes can be reduced by controlling gel content ratio (paragraphs 0090-0091), MFR retention ratio (paragraphs 0096-0097), the amount of hydroxyl group-containing polymer (paragraphs 0163-0164) , and the amount of light stabilizer (paragraphs 0229-0230). Sato does not explicitly disclose the number of fish eyes in 0.5 m 2 of a film having thickness of 40 µm. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a film having low amount of fish eyes like claimed because Sato teaches that fish eyes are undesirable and how to optimize the film composition to reduce fish eyes. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (WO 2019/244791 is cited for its publication date, English-language equivalent US 2021/0155240 is relied upon for citations below) in view of evidence provided by Kodera (US 2018/0030223) and further in view of Kauffman (US 7,713,452) . The discussion with respect to Sato and Kodera in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference. Sato fails to disclose a fluorene compound as a UV absorber to substitute with Sato’s benzotriazole UV absorber . Kauffman discloses UV absorbers such as exemplified fluorene (col. 7, lines 35-36 ), which has molecular weight of 672 g/mol and has 5 benzene rings. Applicant’s own specification in Table 3 teaches that a benzene ring has total van der Waals volume of 72.15, which satisfies claimed inequality (3) of 0.34 ≤ (72.15* 5 ) / 659 = 0. 54 . The calculated value of “0.54” is considered to be “at least” given that a polycyclic aromatic compound would be expected to have even higher total van der Waals volume. Kauffman teaches that the fluorene UV absorber is added to organic glass substrates such as poly(meth)acrylates (col. 23, lines 13-19). Given that Sato discloses adding UV absorbing compounds and further given that Kauffman discloses an effective UV absorber having a fluorene structure which satisfies claimed inequality formula (3) , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a known absorber as the UV in Sato. Case law holds that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co vs. Interchemical Corp., 325 US 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1045). Allowable Subject Matter Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the cited prior art discloses or suggests adding a diphenylfluorine to a resin composition comprising acrylic rubber-containing polymer and an acrylic polymer with a reactive group. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT VICKEY NERANGIS whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2701 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 8:30 am - 5:00 pm EST, Monday - Friday . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Del Sole can be reached at (571)272-11 30. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Vickey Nerangis/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763 vn