DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 03/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “noise suppressor” of claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said seal material" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, Examiner will interpret this as referring to the material of the stopper, which in claim 1 is disclosed as a “stopper operable to seal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavanchy et al (U.S. 2015/0313279) in view of Kirk (U.S. 4,052,179) and Counts et al (KR 0178388 B1). Note: references made with regards to Counts are referencing the translation provided by Examiner herewith.
Regarding claim 1, Lavanchy teaches an extinguisher(seen in Figs 2-4) comprising:
a housing (defined by outer vessel 211, 227 and 223) with a first end (lower end) and a second end (upper end);
a hinge (defined at pin 221) movably connected to said second end of said housing (pin 221 is at the second/upper end of the housing, see Fig 4);
a lid (cap 205) connected to said hinge (see Fig 4), wherein said lid includes a recess (recess defined by space that houses the stopper defined by o-ring 209 and plug 207) operable to locate a stopper (stopper defined by o-ring 209 and plug 207);
a tube (defined by vessel 213 and 215) with a first end (lower end of 213), a second end (upper end of 213), an interior chamber (interior volume of vessel 213), wherein said first end is sealed (the first/lower end is sealed by inner sleeve 215) and said second end is open (the second/upper end is open at lip 219), and said tube is removably mounted inside said housing (the tube is removable as seen in Fig 4) such that said lid covers said tube (lid 205 cover the tube, as seen in Fig 3); said stopper is operable to seal said tube second end (stopper 207 seals the second/upper end of the tube, as seen in Figs 2 and 4);
However, Lavanchy does not teach the extinguisher being a vacuum extinguisher comprising a pump attached to said housing that is operable to create a vacuum in said tube by removing air from said tube interior chamber; a battery operable to power said pump; a controller operable to allow charging of said battery and controlling the power supplied by said battery to said pump; a back cover that removably attaches to said housing such that an enclosed space is created between said housing and said back cover that encloses said pump, said battery, and said controller; and a button operable to activate and deactivate said pump.
Kirk teaches a portable container for extinguishing an item (see abstract) comprising a pump (defined by fan 72 and motor 74) attached to a housing (12) that is operable to create a vacuum in said housing by removing air from an interior chamber (compartment 14) (col 3, lines 51-63: the fan and motor create a suction force that forces air out of the compartment, i.e. it creates a vacuum to a degree); a battery (76) operable to power said pump (col 3, lines 64+); a controller (control circuit 78) for controlling the power supplied by said battery to said pump (as disclosed in col 3, lines 64+); a back cover (42) that removably attaches to said housing (as seen in Fig 1, back 42 opens or closes, i.e. is detachable from the housing 12) such that an enclosed space (16) is created between said housing and said back cover that encloses said pump, said battery, and said controller (as seen in Fig 1, 16 houses all equipment related to the operation of the pump); and a button operable to activate and deactivate said pump (the controller 78, which controls the pump, is operated by a switch, i.e. button – see col 4, line 10).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lavanchy to incorporate the teachings of Kirk to provide a vacuum pump into the housing in order to exhaust smoke from the tube through a filter (see abstract of Kirk), which would purify and deodorize the air (see col 1, lines 6-11 of Kirk).
Counts teaches a smoking mechanism (95), wherein the mechanism includes rechargeable battery (power supply 16), wherein a controller (control circuitry) is operable to allow charging of said battery (as disclosed in the paragraphs highlighted in the translation provided by Examiner).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lavanchy and Kirk to incorporate the teachings of Counts to provide the battery as a rechargeable battery in order to have the capability of using the same battery multiple times over the lifespan of the device without having the need to replace it. This would render the device cheaper to use and more environmentally friendly by reducing battery disposals.
Regarding claim 2, Lavanchy, Kirk and Counts teach an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said controller has an adaptive charger operable to vary charging speed based on battery charge level (as disclosed in the highlighted section of the translation of Counts, charging speed is tailored by the controller based on characteristics of the unit being charged).
Regarding claim 4, Lavanchy, Kirk and Counts teach an apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a noise suppressor operable to reduce the noise generated by said pump (as disclosed in col 3, lines 58-61 of Kirk: By shock mounting fan 72, housing 12 does not act as a resonator and the noise level from fan 72 can be reduced. Thus a noise suppressor of sorts is disclosed. Examiner notes that the “noise suppressor” is broadly disclosed without particular structure. As such, the sound suppressing means of Kirk read on claim language).
Regarding claim 5, Lavanchy, Kirk and Counts teach an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said battery is a battery or capacitor (Kirk teaches a battery 76).
Regarding claim 6, Lavanchy, Kirk and Counts teach an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said tube material is glass, aluminum, titanium, plastic, or ceramic (tube 213 of Lavanchy is disclosed as made of polypropylene, see Par 0064; wherein polypropylene is a plastic).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Lavanchy, Kirk and Counts teach an apparatus according to claim 1, wherein said seal material is one of a group consisting of rubber, Polytetrafluoroethylene, Fluorosilicone, Polyurethane, silicone, nitrile, or latex (as best understood, the stopper which is defined by o-ring 209 of Lavanchy is disclosed as comprising rubber, see Par 0064).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lavanchy et al (U.S. 2015/0313279) in view of Kirk (U.S. 4,052,179) and Counts et al (KR 0178388 B1); further in view of Arsin (WO 2018/114856 A1). Note: references made with regards to Arsin are referencing the translation provided by Examiner herewith.
Regarding claim 3, Lavanchy, Kirk and Counts teach an apparatus according to claim 1. However, they do not teach the apparatus wherein said controller is operable to vary vacuum generation speed.
Arsin teaches a fire extinguishing apparatus by suction (see abstract) comprising a vacuum pump (defined by vacuum generator 26, which consists of a motor 28 and rotor blades 30), wherein a controller is operable to vary vacuum generation speed of the vacuum pump (as disclosed in the highlighted section seen in the translation of Arsin provided by Examiner).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lavanchy and Kirk to incorporate the teachings of Arsin to provide means to control vacuum speed in order to adjust the vacuum force based on need (as disclosed in the highlighted section of the translation of Arsin).
Conclusion
If there are any inquiries that are not being addressed by first contacting the Examiner or the Supervisor, you may send an email inquiry to TC3700_Workgroup_D_Inquiries@uspto.gov.
/JUAN C BARRERA/
Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/ARTHUR O. HALL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3752