DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. 6,859,271, hereinafter Carney.
Regarding claim 1, Carney teaches a thermoanalytical instrument (item 90) comprising: a thermoanalytical sensor (item 120) for receiving a sample object in thermal contact therewith (column 8, lines 53-57); a tray (sample tray, column 9, lines 19-21) having at least one storage location for holding the sample object (column 9, lines 19-21); and a sample changer (items 125 and 810) wherein a releasing sample support (not positively recited, MPEP § 2115) is any one of said storage locations of said tray (column 9, lines 18-29), and a receiving sample support (not positively claimed, MPEP § 2115) is said thermoanalytical sensor (column 9, lines 18-29), and wherein the sample object (not positively recited, MPEP § 2115) is an empty crucible or a crucible accommodating a specimen of a substance to be analyzed (pan, column 9, lines 18-29), said sample changer comprising: a moveable member (item 125) driven for movement between at least a receiving position to pick up the sample object at the releasing sample support and the releasing position to deposit said sample object at a receiving sample support (column 9, lines 18-29); and a camera (item 810) mounted to said moveable member for movement therewith (figure 19), said camera having a field of view and a depth of focus adapted to capture an at least partial image of at least one of said sample object, said releasing or receiving sample support (column 20, lines 19-23).
Regarding claim 2, Carney teaches a light source (item 850) mounted to said moveable member for movement therewith to illuminate said field of view of said camera (column 16, lines 48-57).
Regarding claim 14, Carney teaches a cover (item 152) configured to shield said sample changer from the ambient atmosphere all the way along its path of movement (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carney in view of United States Application Publication No. 2015/0245009, hereinafter Tozuka.
Regarding claim 3, Carney teaches all limitaitons of claim 1; however, Carney fails to teach the light source is a ring light surround the camera.
Tozuka teaches a camera system in which the light source utilizes a ring light for shadowless photographing over the entire circumference of a lens of the digital camera (Tozuka, paragraph [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a ring light which surrounds the camera because it would provide a shadowless photographing over the entire circumference of a lens of the digital camera (Tozuka, paragraph [0059]).
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carney in view of EP 2776844, hereinafter Muller.
Regarding claim 4-8, Carney teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Carney fails to teach an image processing means for analyzing at least one of the images captured by said camera, wherein: said image processing means operates to analyze said at least one image for a positional relationship between said sample object and at least one of said releasing or receiving sample support, a signal indicative of said positional relationship is used for controlling said movement of said moveable member, said image processing means operates to analyze said at least one image for at least one visually distinguishable feature of said sample object and said image processing means operates to analyze said at least one image for at least one dimensional feature of said sample object.
Muller teaches a device for processing specimen containers which has a camera (Muller, item 1816) with an image processing means (Muller, paragraph [0067]) for analyzing at least one of the images captured by said camera (Muller, paragraph [0067]), wherein: said image processing means operates to analyze said at least one image for a positional relationship between said sample object and at least one of said releasing or receiving sample support (Muller, paragraph [0067]), a signal indicative of said positional relationship is used for controlling said movement of said moveable member (Muller, paragraph [0069]), said image processing means operates to analyze said at least one image for at least one visually distinguishable feature of said sample object (Muller, paragraph [0067]) and said image processing means operates to analyze said at least one image for at least one dimensional feature of said sample object (Muller, paragraph [0067]) as this provides a system which can process images while the gripper and the robotic arm is moving thereby resulting in a very efficient process (Muller, paragraph [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the image processing means and functions of Muller because it would provide a system which can process images while the gripper and the robotic arm is moving thereby resulting in a very efficient process (Muller, paragraph [0069]).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carney in view of United States Application Publication No. 2015/0258694, hereinafter Hand.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Carney teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Carney fails to teach a line or crosshair laser having a laser's optical axis oriented so as to cause an observable shadow of said sample object on one of said releasing or receiving sample supports and said line or crosshair laser is mounted for movement with said moveable member.
Hand teaches a robotic arm which utilizes line lasers to create cross-hair which would provide for automated or manual centering of the robotic arm (Hand, paragraph [0076]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added line lasers to create cross-hair because it would provide for automated or manual centering of the robotic arm (Hand, paragraph [0076]).
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carney in view of United States Application Publication No. 2003/0228697, hereinafter Kocher.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Carney teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Carney fails to teach the thermoanalytical sensor comprises a color-calibration area for performing a white balance operation for an image captured by said camera being a color camera and said color-calibration area is arranged at an outer peripheral portion of said sensor.
Kocher teahces an analysis device which has a calibration color region on the receiver so that the reader can read the color areas and match the known colors compared to the read colors (Kocher, paragraphs [0011] and [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a color-calibration area on the outer peripheral portion of the sensor because it would allow for the reader can read the color areas and match the known colors compared to the read colors (Kocher, paragraphs [0011] and [0028]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the camera captures an image e.g, with spatial resolution) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In this case the claim only states that the camera is adapted to capture an at least partial image of at least one of said sample object. The claim is only stating that there is a partial image and as the claim has not provided detail as to what is considered to be a partial image, as the sensor assembly and optical fiber would be capture some amount of an image, thereby reading on the claim.
Regarding applicant’s argument that the term camera, image, field of view and depth of focus do not appear anywhere in Carney and therefore does not teach the specified limitations is not found persuasive. The examiner acknowledges that Carney does not specifically state the terms the applicant’s argue, however, as the sensor assembly and optical fiber of Carney is capturing some amount of light from the device, which is considered to be the at least partial image, the sensor assembly and optical fiber would also have a field of view and depth of focus which allows the light to be seen by the sensor assembly and the optical fiber, thereby reading on the instant limitations.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., an image sensor that is capable of converting a captured image into a two-dimensional pixel representation suitable for further processing and/or evaluation) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The scalar reflectivity measurement is considered to a partial image as a partial image could be a single pixel (the scalar reflectivity measurement) and the amount of light would be considered to be grayscale amount of light which a single pixel made up of a specified amount of light is the same thing as a singular pixel of a partial image.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796