Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-18, 20 allowed.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-7 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims use the acronym Uu, but does not specify the acronym defines. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of Chae et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0225468 A1).
1, WU discloses a method of a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising: establishing a Uu link between the first UE and a base station [par 0048, 0049, SL-DRX involves both Uu and PC5 interfaces. For an RRC_CONNECTED UE (also referred to as a connected mode UE, In general, a first enhancement entails a gNB capable of triggering SL-DRX based on enhanced Uu MAC control element (CE) signaling to trigger UE to enter DRX. In the DRX command from gNB 202, an index may be used to point to one of the predefined (i.e., Uu or SL) DRX configurations. . This table can be part of RRC configuration via Uu RRC. For example, a Uu DRX command to trigger SL DRX 214 is provided between gNB 202 and first UE 204 via MAC CE layer-2 signaling];
establishing a sidelink (SL) between the first UE and a second communication UE[par 0047, 0049, Wireless communications system 200 includes a gNB 202 communicatively coupled with a first UE 204 and a second UE 206. First UE 204 is communicatively coupled to a fourth UE 208. Second UE 206 is communicatively coupled to a third UE 210 and a fifth UE 212. In the present examples, the UEs are shown as vehicles because SL is commonly employed for Vehicle-to-Vehicle (V2V).
An SL DRX command 216 (also layer-2 signaling) is made between first UE 204 and fourth UE 208. Tthe Uu DRX MAC CE layer-2 command includes a flag (or 2-bits)to point out to be used in Uu, in SL, or in both];
receiving a Uu discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration from the base station [par 0048, 0049, For example, a Uu DRX command to trigger SL DRX 214 is provided between gNB 202 and first UE 204 via MAC CE layer-2 signaling]
receiving a SL DRX configuration from the second UE [par 0049, 0050, 0053, For example, a Uu DRX command to trigger SL DRX 214 is provided between gNB 202 and first UE 204 via MAC CE layer-2 signaling. An SL DRX command 216 (also layer-2 signaling) is made between first UE 204 and fourth UE 208. Tthe Uu DRX MAC CE layer-2 command includes a flag (or 2-bits)to point out to be used in Uu, in SL, or in both. For example, a DRX configuration via Uu 218 (which can be designated to be used in Uu interface, or PC5 interface or both interfaces) in the form of RRC layer-3 signaling is provided from gNB 202 to second UE 206. Second UE 206 provides a UAI for SL operation 220 to gNB 202. A DRX configuration via PC5 222 (also layer-3 signaling) is provided from second UE 206 to third UE 210. A DRX configuration via PC5 224 is established between fifth UE 212 and second UE 206 by layer-3 signaling. In other embodiments, a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message may be used]
determining an overlapping period between a Uu on-duration period according to the Uu DRX configuration on the Uu link and a SL on-duration period according to the SL DRX configuration on the SL [fig 4b, par 0056, 0059, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX cycles, respectively, are temporally spaced apart 416 and overlap 418 in terms of the wake up time “onDuration.” When they overlap 418, e.g., due to alignment, First, for separate RX chain case, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX aligned with overlapping “onDurations.” Accordingly, FIG. 5A shows Uu and SL are overlapping in a aligned common wake up period (e.g., dedicated RX chain for SL)];
Wu fail to show performing a reception operation in the overlapping period using resources selected based on the SL DRX configurations
In an analogous art Chae show performing a reception operation in the overlapping period using resources selected based on the SL DRX configurations [par 0249, FIG. 24 illustrates an example of DRX pattern alignment. In this example, a starting of the SL DRX pattern is aligned with a starting of a Uu DRX pattern. In a TDD configuration, a wireless device may be able to receive a downlink signal and a sidelink signal during the overlapped time duration of the SL DRX and the Uu DRX].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and Chae because a wireless device may reduce power consumption due to the alignment between a SL DRX pattern and a Uu DRX pattern.[Chae par 0247]
5, Wu and Chae demonstrates the method according to claim 1, Wu fail to show wherein region within the overlapping period the overlapping period includes a first time resource region and a second time resource region subsequent to the first time resource region[Wu fig 5A, 5B, par 0059, 0060, First, for separate RX chain case, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX aligned with overlapping “onDurations.” Accordingly, FIG. 5A shows Uu and SL are overlapping in a aligned common wake up period. Second, for a single RX chain case, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX aligned but use non-overlapping, adjacent durations].
a reception operation based on the Uu DRX configuration is performed in the first time resource region, and the reception operation based on the SL DRX configuration is performed in the second time resource region[fig 5B, the figure shows the first region is Uu wake up region and a second region being a SL wake up region] .
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of Chae et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0225468 A1) in further view of KANG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0344771 A1) in view of PARK et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0272507 A1).
2, WU and Chae teaches the method according to claim 1, Wu and Chae fail to show wherein performing the reception operation comprises: comparing a priority of the Uu link to which the Uu DRX configuration is applied and a priority of the SL to which the SL DRX configuration is applied, and in response to determining that the SL has a higher priority than the Uu link, performing the reception operation for the second UE based on the SL DRX configuration in the overlapping period,
In an analogous art KANG show wherein performing the reception operation comprises: comparing a priority of the Uu link to which the Uu DRX configuration is applied and a priority of the SL to which the SL DRX configuration is applied [par 0191, 0192, Next, a method of configuring the priority between a sidelink and a Uu link according to various embodiments of the disclosure will be described. The sidelink and a packet to be transmitted through the Uu link at a particular moment, when it is difficult for the terminal to simultaneously transmit the sidelink packet and the Uu link packet, the order of transmitting the sidelink packet or the Uu link packet may be configured to the terminal],
and in response to determining that the SL has a higher priority than the Uu link [par 0195, When the transmission priority of the Uu link packet is low],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu, Chae, and KANG because the SL logical channel may be configured to correspond to a combination of the priority and the communication range. [KANG, par 0108]
Wu, Chae, and KANG fail to show performing the reception operation for the second UE based on the SL DRX configuration in the overlapping period,
In an analogous art Park show performing the reception operation for the second UE based on the SL DRX configuration in the overlapping period [par 0139, For example, the first SL DRX configuration may include information related to a timer for a first active time and information related to a first DRX cycle. In step S1320, the first apparatus may receive a second SL DRX configuration related to a second service. For example, the second SL DRX configuration may include information related to a timer for a second active time and information related to a second DRX cycle. In step S1330, the first apparatus may determine a time duration in which the first active time and the second active time overlap. In S1340, the first apparatus may compare a first priority value related to the first service to be transmitted within the overlapping time duration and a second priority value related to the second service to be received within the overlapping time duration]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu, Chae, KANG, and PARK because user equipment (UE) may efficiently perform retransmission based on hybrid automatic repeat request (HARD) feedback. [PARK par 0006]
3, Wu and Chae illustrates the method according to claim 1, Wu and KANG fail to show wherein performing the reception operation comprises: comparing a priority of a first cast type on the Uu link to which the first DRX configuration is applied and a priority of a second cast type on the SL to which the second DRX configuration is applied, and in response to determining that the second cast type has a higher priority than the first cast type, performing the reception operation for the second UE based on the SL DRX configuration in the overlapping period, wherein each of the first cast type and the second cast type is broadcast, groupcast, or unicast.
In an analogous art KANG show wherein performing the reception operation comprises: comparing a priority of a first cast type on the Uu link to which the first DRX configuration is applied [par 0099, LCG may be configured based on cast type. (configured as a separate LCG according to each or a combination of broadcast, groupcast, and unicast)],
and a priority of a second cast type on the SL to which the second DRX configuration is applied [abstract, par 0119, a wireless communication system includes: obtaining sidelink logical channel configuration information corresponding to a logical channel and including a sidelink logical channel priority (sl-priority) parameter; selecting a destination associated with one of unicast, groupcast, and broadcast, based on the sidelink logical channel configuration information and sl-priority configured for each of at least one logical channel including sidelink data available for transmission],
and in response to determining that the second cast type has a higher priority than the first cast type [par 0177, Operation 0: The terminal may select the logical channel having the highest priority for a combination of destination index+cast type among the sidelink logical channels with a packet to be transmitted. For example, the terminal may select a combination of destination index+cast type corresponding to the logical channel having the highest priority among the sidelink logical channels with a packet to be transmitted],
wherein each of the first cast type and the second cast type is broadcast, groupcast, or unicast [par 0158, allowedCastType, if configured, includes the cast type to the SL grant, here the cast type can be one of broadcast, groupcast, or unicast];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu, Chae, and KANG because the SL logical channel may be configured to correspond to a combination of the priority and the communication range. [KANG, par 0108]
Wu, Chae, and KANG fail to show performing the reception operation for the second UE based on the SL DRX configuration in the overlapping period,
In an analogous art Park show performing the reception operation for the second UE based on the SL DRX configuration in the overlapping period [par 0139, For example, the first SL DRX configuration may include information related to a timer for a first active time and information related to a first DRX cycle. In step S1320, the first apparatus may receive a second SL DRX configuration related to a second service. For example, the second SL DRX configuration may include information related to a timer for a second active time and information related to a second DRX cycle. In step S1330, the first apparatus may determine a time duration in which the first active time and the second active time overlap. In S1340, the first apparatus may compare a first priority value related to the first service to be transmitted within the overlapping time duration and a second priority value related to the second service to be received within the overlapping time duration]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu, Chae, KANG, and PARK because user equipment (UE) may efficiently perform retransmission based on hybrid automatic repeat request (HARD) feedback. [PARK par 0006]
4, Wu demonstrate the method according to claim 1, wherein performing the reception operation comprises: comparing a length of a Uu DRX cycle according to the Uu DRX
configuration with a length of a SL DRX cycle according to the SL DRX
configuration [fig 7, par 0065, In this example, alignment for Uu DRX and SL DRX means fully-aligned and Partial Alignment Option 2 (FIG-, 6). In FIG-, 7 the same DRX cycle applies to both downlink and sidelink. Cycle lengths are identical and UE may skip both PDCCII and PSCOI monitoring. SE DRX may also use a short and long cycle. OnDurations are aligned, although they need not necessarily be of identical length, and SL-DRX can have shorter onDuration],
and in response to determining that the length of the SL DRX cycle is longer than the length of the Uu DRX cycle [fig 4B, 4B shows the S cycle longer than the Uu cycle]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu, Chae, and KANG because the SL logical channel may be configured to correspond to a combination of the priority and the communication range. [KANG, par 0108]
Wu, Chae, and KANG fail to show performing the reception operation for the second UE based on the SL DRX configuration in the overlapping period
In an analogous art PARK show performing the reception operation for the second UE based on the SL DRX configuration in the overlapping period[par 0139, For example, the first SL DRX configuration may include information related to a timer for a first active time and information related to a first DRX cycle. In step S1320, the first apparatus may receive a second SL DRX configuration related to a second service. For example, the second SL DRX configuration may include information related to a timer for a second active time and information related to a second DRX cycle. In step S1330, the first apparatus may determine a time duration in which the first active time and the second active time overlap. In S1340, the first apparatus may compare a first priority value related to the first service to be transmitted within the overlapping time duration and a second priority value related to the second service to be received within the overlapping time duration]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu, Chae, KANG, and PARK because user equipment (UE) may efficiently perform retransmission based on hybrid automatic repeat request (HARD) feedback. [PARK par 0006]
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of Chae et al. (U.S. Pub No.2022/0225468 A1) in further view of Ghasemzadeh et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0289141 A1)
6, Wu and Chae discloses the method according to claim 5, Wu and Chae fail to show wherein a guard time is configured between the first time resource region and the second time resource region,
In an analogous art Ghasemzadeh show wherein a guard time is configured between the first time resource region and the second time resource region[par 0297, The sequence pattern may be associated with one or more of a periodicity of the pattern, a starting reference time of the pattern, and a guard time between at least the first and the second time periods].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu, Chae, and Ghasemzadeh because this provides a method of allocating a radio spectrum to a plurality of operators. [Ghasemzadeh para 0202]
Wu shows sizes of the first time resource region and the second time resource region are configured to be different from each other in each of overlapping periods between Uu on-duration periods according to the Uu DRX configuration and SL on-duration periods according to the SL DRX configuration [fig 5A, Fig 5A shows the Uu wake up period having a different size from SL wake up period]
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of PARK et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0256625 A1).
9, Wu describes the method according to claim 8, further comprising: establishing a second SL between the first UE and a third UE; transmitting a second SL DRX configuration to the third UE [fig 2, par 0050, Second UE 206 provides a UAI for SL operation 220 to gNB 202. A DRX configuration via PC5 222 (also layer-3 signaling) is provided from second UE 206 to third UE 210. A DRX configuration via PC5 224 is established between fifth UE 212 and second UE 206 by layer-3 signaling. In other embodiments, a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message may be used];
Wu fail to show comparing a degree of congestion on the first link SL to which the first SL DRX configuration is applied and a degree of congestion on the second SL to which the second SL DRX configuration is applied, and wherein performing the resource sensing operation- for one link on the first SL is performed based on the first SL having a lower congestion degree among the first link and than the second link SL.
In an analogous art PARK show comparing a degree of congestion on the first link SL to which the first SL DRX configuration is applied and a degree of congestion on the second SL to which the second SL DRX configuration is applied [par 0170, For example, the conditions described in the proposal include a situation in which a resource collision probability between different UEs or the congestion/interference level increases, a situation in which a resource collision probability between different UEs exceeds a threshold, or a situation in which the congestion/interference level between different UEs exceeds a threshold. For example, the previously configured SL DRX timer may include an SL DRX timer included in the SL DRX configuration described in this disclosure, or an SL DRX related timer defined to support other SL DRX operations],
and wherein performing the resource sensing operation- for one link on the first SL is performed based on the first SL having a lower congestion degree among the first link and than the second link SL [par 0169, Here, the UE may randomly select one of them (or may select it depending on UE's implementation), or the UE may preferentially select a common SL DRX configuration having relatively low interference level based on (past) measured interference level or the like over a reception slot related to the wake-up period of the common SL DRX configuration (e.g. common SL DRX on-duration) related. Or, for example, the UE may randomly select one of the common SL DRX configurations less than or equal to a threshold value configured specifically for service/QoS in advance].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and PARK because method by the UE to efficiently perform a sidelink DRX operation using the defined configuration of the sidelink DRX timer [Park par 0210]
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of KANG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0344771 A1) in further view of SHIN et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0295514 A1).
10, Wu disclose the method according to claim 8, further comprising: establishing a second SL between the first UE and a third UE; transmitting a second SL DRX configuration to the third UE[fig 2, par 0050, Second UE 206 provides a UAI for SL operation 220 to gNB 202. A DRX configuration via PC5 222 (also layer-3 signaling) is provided from second UE 206 to third UE 210. A DRX configuration via PC5 224 is established between fifth UE 212 and second UE 206 by layer-3 signaling. In other embodiments, a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message may be used];
Wu fail to show comparing a priority of a first cast type on the first link SL to which the first SL DRX configuration is applied and a priority of a second cast type on the second link SL to which the second SL DRX configuration is applied, and in response to determining that the first cast type has having a higher priority than the second cast type, performing the resource sensing operation on the first link in the overlapping period, wherein each of the first cast type and the second cast type is broadcast, groupcast, or unicast.
In an analogous art KANG show comparing a priority of a first cast type on the first link SL to which the first SL DRX configuration is applied and a priority of a second cast type on the second link SL to which the second SL DRX configuration is applied[par 0099, LCG may be configured based on cast type. (configured as a separate LCG according to each or a combination of broadcast, groupcast, and unicast)],
and in response to determining that the first cast type has having a higher priority than the second cast type[par 0177, Operation 0: The terminal may select the logical channel having the highest priority for a combination of destination index+cast type among the sidelink logical channels with a packet to be transmitted. For example, the terminal may select a combination of destination index+cast type corresponding to the logical channel having the highest priority among the sidelink logical channels with a packet to be transmitted],
wherein each of the first cast type and the second cast type is broadcast, groupcast, or unicast[par 0158, allowedCastType, if configured, includes the cast type to the SL grant, here the cast type can be one of broadcast, groupcast, or unicast];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and KANG because the SL logical channel may be configured to correspond to a combination of the priority and the communication range. [KANG, par 0108]
Wu and Chang fail to show performing the resource sensing operation on the first link in the overlapping period
In an analogous art SHIN show performing the resource sensing operation on the first link in the overlapping period [par 0161, In this case, in section (b) of FIG. 12, the sensing slot 1203 is adjusted to be set in the active time period 1201 of DRX, rather than being set in the overlapping period 1200, by sensing Method 1, so that sensing is rendered possible in the corresponding period].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu, KANG, and SHIN because provide a method and device for efficiently performing a sensing operation when a DRX operation is performed in a wireless communication system supporting sidelink communication. [Shin par 0014]
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of Pan et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0227621 A1)
11, Wu teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising establishing a second SL between the first UE and a third UE; transmitting a second SL DRX configuration to the third UE[fig 2, par 0050, Second UE 206 provides a UAI for SL operation 220 to gNB 202. A DRX configuration via PC5 222 (also layer-3 signaling) is provided from second UE 206 to third UE 210. A DRX configuration via PC5 224 is established between fifth UE 212 and second UE 206 by layer-3 signaling. In other embodiments, a SidelinkUEInformation (SUI) message may be used];
Wu fail to show comparing a length of a first SL DRX cycle according to the first SL DRX configuration with a length of a second SL DRX cycle according to the second SL DRX configuration, and wherein the resource sensing operation on the first SL is performed based on the length of the first SL DRX cycle is being longer than the length of the second SL DRX cycle
In an analogous art Pan show comparing a length of a first SL DRX cycle according to the first SL DRX configuration with a length of a second SL DRX cycle according to the second SL DRX configuration [claim 6, a cycle length used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than the length of the SL DRX cycle],
and wherein the resource sensing operation on the first SL is performed based on the length of the first SL DRX cycle is being longer than the length of the second SL DRX cycle [par 0445, a retransmission timer (e.g. drx-RetransmissionTimerSL) used for determining a maximum duration until a sidelink retransmission is received, a cycle length (e.g. drx-LongCycleStartOffsetSL) used for determining a length of the SL DRX cycle, a short cycle length (e.g. drx-ShortCycleSL) used for determining a length of a second SL DRX cycle shorter than the length of the SL DRX cycle, a cycle start offset (e.g. drx-StartOffset) used for determining a subframe where the SL DRX cycle starts, and/or a round trip-time timer (e.g. drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerSL) used for determining a maximum duration before a sidelink HARQ retransmission grant is expected].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and Pan because this inform the network of the UE's delay budget report carrying desired increment/decrement in the connected mode DRX cycle length. [Pan par 0203]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1)
8, Wu illustrates a method of a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising: establishing a first sidelink (SL) between the first UE and a second UE
transmitting a first SL DRX configuration to the second UE[par 0047, 0049, Wireless communications system 200 includes a gNB 202 communicatively coupled with a first UE 204 and a second UE 206. First UE 204 is communicatively coupled to a fourth UE 208. Second UE 206 is communicatively coupled to a third UE 210 and a fifth UE 212. In the present examples, the UEs are shown as vehicles because SL is commonly employed for Vehicle-to-Vehicle (V2V). An SL DRX command 216 (also layer-2 signaling) is made between first UE 204 and fourth UE 208. Tthe Uu DRX MAC CE layer-2 command includes a flag (or 2-bits)to point out to be used in Uu, in SL, or in both];
performing a resource sensing operation on the first SL [par 0034, 0050, 0057,The medium sensing operation may include CCA, which utilizes at least ED to determine the presence or absence of other signals on a channel in order to determine if a channel is occupied or clear. This LBT mechanism allows cellular/LAA networks to coexist with incumbent systems in the unlicensed spectrum and with other LAA networks. ED may include sensing RF energy across an intended transmission band for a period of time and comparing the sensed RE energy to a predefined or configured threshold. A second enhancement entails a UE including its desired SL-DRX configuration or choices into a UEAssista.nceInformation (UAI) message to a gNB. This can include all UE engaged DRX operations (common DRX, link-specific DRX). It can also establish how much traffic that is expected to be generated (e.g., how busy the link will be), so the DRX schedule (e.g., how frequently the UE will wake up) can be established];
performing a resource selection operation based on a result of the resource sensing operation and the first SL DRX configuration[par 0063, 0064, In a first embodiment, the UE avoids mode 1 operation when Uu DRX is configured. UE switches to mode 2 TX (autonomous resource selection). Sidelink RX is not disabled (so no power-saving in SL). The network will enable/disable this “mode-switch” with a flag. UE no longer initiates any RRC message (e.g., SidelinkUEInformation). UE delays any report of new/modified QoS flow to network, and employs default SL radio bearer SLRI3];
and performing a SL transmission to the second UE using resources selected by the resource selection operation [par 0064, 0068, In a second embodiment, SL RX is shut off as long as Uu DRX is inactive, but limited TX activity is allowed without sensing. This approach achieves improved power savings. Mode 2 UE can transmit with use of random TX resource selection in configured pools. in another embodiment to address the aforementioned issue, the DRX configuration is conveyed to other RRC_CONNECTED UEs via dedicated RRC signaling. If any CONNECTED UE B indicates it tries to transmit to a SL destination address which involves UE A's RX].
Response to Arguments
Applicants respectfully submit that Wu fails to disclose or render obvious performing, by a first EU, a reception operation in an overlapping period between a Uu on-duration and an SL on, using resources selected based on the SL DRX configuration, in the manner now recited in claim 1.
The applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Wu as allegedly disclosing the overlapping period recited in claim 1. Applicants respectfully submit, however, that inasmuch as the Office action interprets the teaching of overlapping Uu-DRX and SL-DRX cycles in Wu as allegedly disclosing the overlapping period recited in claim 1, Wu fails to disclose or render obvious anything about performing a reception operation in an overlapping period between a Uu on-duration and an SL on-duration using resources selected based on the SL DRX configuration, in the manner now recited in claim 1.
The applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly rejected claims.
Wu fails to disclose or render obvious at least "determining an overlapping period between a Uu on-duration period according to the Uu DRX configuration on the Uu link and a SL on-duration period according to the SL DRX configuration on the SL," and "performing a reception operation in the overlapping period using resources selected based on the SL DRX configuration," as now recited in claim 1.
The other applied references - Kang, Baglin, Ghasemzadeh, Mao, Guo, and Hwang - also fails to disclose or render obvious at least these elements of claim 1, nor were these references cite against claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in Wu, fig 4b, par 0056, 0059, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX cycles, respectively, are temporally spaced apart 416 and overlap 418 in terms of the wake up time “onDuration.” When they overlap 418, e.g., due to alignment, First, for separate RX chain case, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX aligned with overlapping “onDurations.” Accordingly, FIG. 5A shows Uu and SL are overlapping in a aligned common wake up period (e.g., dedicated RX chain for SL), the paragraphs shows determining an overlapping period between a Uu on-duration period according to the Uu DRX configuration on the Uu link and a SL on-duration period according to the SL DRX configuration on the SL.
The analogous art Chae performing a reception operation in an overlapping period between a Uu on-duration and an SL on-duration using resources selected based on the SL DRX configuration
Applicants respectfully submit that Wu does not disclose or suggest anything about resource selection based on a DRX configuration and SL transmission using the selected resources, as now recited in amended claim 8.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in WU par 0063, 0064, In a first embodiment, the UE avoids mode 1 operation when Uu DRX is configured. UE switches to mode 2 TX (autonomous resource selection). Sidelink RX is not disabled (so no power-saving in SL). The network will enable/disable this “mode-switch” with a flag. UE no longer initiates any RRC message (e.g., SidelinkUEInformation). UE delays any report of new/modified QoS flow to network, and employs default SL radio bearer SLRI3, the paragraphs shows an autonomous resource selection based on DRX operation.
Paragraph 0064, 0068 shows Mode 2 UE can transmit with use of random TX resource selection in configured pools. he DRX configuration is conveyed to other RRC_CONNECTED UEs via dedicated RRC signaling. If any CONNECTED UE B indicates it tries to transmit to a SL destination address which involves UE A's RX, it shares the UE'A DRX configuration in the RRCReconfig message to UE B. The paragraph show transmitting when the autonomous selection occurs in mode 2 to transmit in the sidelink the resource.
Wu fails to disclose or render obvious at least "performing a resource sensing operation on the first SL," "performing a resource selection operation based on a result of the resource sensing operation and the first SL DRX configuration," and "performing a SL transmission to the second UE using resources selected by the resource selection operation," as now recited in claim 8.
The examiner respectfully disagrees in Wu paragraphs par 0034, 0050, The medium sensing operation may include CCA, which utilizes at least ED to determine the presence or absence of other signals on a channel in order to determine if a channel is occupied or clear. This LBT mechanism allows cellular/LAA networks to coexist with incumbent systems in the unlicensed spectrum and with other LAA networks. ED may include sensing RF energy across an intended transmission band for a period of time and comparing the sensed RE energy to a predefined or configured threshold. A second enhancement entails a UE including its desired SL-DRX configuration or choices into a UEAssista.nceInformation (UAI) message to a gNB. This can include all UE engaged DRX operations (common DRX, link-specific DRX). It can also establish how much traffic that is expected to be generated (e.g., how busy the link will be), so the DRX schedule (e.g., how frequently the UE will wake up) can be established, the paragraphs show monitoring/ sensing on SL DRX to establish how much traffic that is expected to be generated (e.g., how busy the link will be), so the DRX schedule (e.g., how frequently the UE will wake up) can be established.
WU par 0063, 0064, In a first embodiment, the UE avoids mode 1 operation when Uu DRX is configured. UE switches to mode 2 TX (autonomous resource selection). Sidelink RX is not disabled (so no power-saving in SL). The network will enable/disable this “mode-switch” with a flag. UE no longer initiates any RRC message (e.g., SidelinkUEInformation). UE delays any report of new/modified QoS flow to network, and employs default SL radio bearer SLRI3, the paragraphs shows an autonomous resource selection based on DRX operation.
WU paragraph 0064, 0068 shows Mode 2 UE can transmit with use of random TX resource selection in configured pools. he DRX configuration is conveyed to other RRC_CONNECTED UEs via dedicated RRC signaling. If any CONNECTED UE B indicates it tries to transmit to a SL destination address which involves UE A's RX, it shares the UE'A DRX configuration in the RRCReconfig message to UE B. The paragraph show transmitting when the autonomous selection occurs in mode 2 to transmit in the sidelink the resource
Claim 13 has been amended to incorporate features of the original claim 20, which the Office action indicated as being allowable, and the intervening claim 19.
The examiner agrees the claim has been allowed.
The cited portions of Hwang describes a sensing operation of nm UE that may be exceptionally permitted to be performed again depending on a congestion control level or a priority value. Applicants respectfully submit, however, that, as the Office action appears to concede by indicating claim 20 as being allowable, Hwang fails to disclose or render obvious that that re-performing a resource sensing operation is limited or controlled by a maximum number of re-transmissions after the first resource sensing window, in the manner now recited in claim 13.
The examiner’s response the applicant’s argument is moot in view of allowable claims.
The other applied references - Kang, Baglin, Ghasemzadeh, and Mao - also fails to disclose or render obvious at least these features of claim 13, nor were these references cite for this purpose. Because the applied references, individually or in any combination, fail to disclose or render obvious each and every element of claim 13, claim 13 is allowable over the applied references.
The examiner’s response the applicant’s argument is moot in view of allowable claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468