Claim Objections
Claims 7, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipation by WU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1).
1, WU discloses a method of a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising: establishing a first link between the first UE and a first communication node; establishing a second link between the first UE and a second communication node [fig 2, par 0047, 0050 Second UE 206 is communicatively coupled to a third UE 210 and a fifth UE 212. In the present examples, the UEs are shown as vehicles because SL is commonly employed for Vehicle-to-Vehicle (V2V), which is a type of Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) communication. For example, a DRX configuration via Uu 218 (which can be designated to be used in Uu interface, or PC5 interface or both interfaces) in the form of RRC layer-3 signaling is provided from gNB 202 to second UE 206. Second UE 206 provides a UAI for SL operation 220 to gNB 202. A DRX configuration via PC5 222 (also layer-3 signaling) is provided from second UE 206 to third UE 210. A DRX configuration via PC5 224 is established between fifth UE 212 and second UE 206 by layer-3 signaling. Applicant specification para 0053, disclose the communication nodes as vehicle, the figure shows vehicle 206 communicating on three separate links with three different nodes];
identifying an overlapping period between a first on-duration period according to a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration on the first link and a second on-duration period according to a second DRX configuration on the second link [fig 4b, par 0056, 0059, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX cycles, respectively, are temporally spaced apart 416 and overlap 418 in terms of the wake up time “onDuration.” When they overlap 418, e.g., due to alignment, First, for separate RX chain case, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX aligned with overlapping “onDurations.” Accordingly, FIG. 5A shows Uu and SL are overlapping in a aligned common wake up period (e.g., dedicated RX chain for SL)];
and performing a reception operation in the overlapping period based on one or more DRX configurations among the first DRX configuration and the second DRX configuration [par 0065, FIG. 7 shows an example of alignment of DRX cycles in the SL-DRX for CONNECTED mode. In this example, alignment for Uu DRX and SL DRX means fully-aligned and Partial Alignment Option 2 (FIG-, 6). In FIG-, 7 the same DRX cycle applies to both downlink and sidelink. Cycle lengths are identical and UE may skip both PDCCII and PSCOI monitoring. SE DRX may also use a short and long cycle. The DRX connected mode is considered the reception operation in the overlapping period]
4, Wu demonstrate the method according to claim 1, wherein performing the reception operation comprises: comparing a length of a first DRX cycle according to the first DRX
configuration with a length of a second DRX cycle according to the second DRX
configuration [par 0065, In this example, alignment for Uu DRX and SL DRX means fully-aligned and Partial Alignment Option 2 (FIG-, 6). In FIG-, 7 the same DRX cycle applies to both downlink and sidelink. Cycle lengths are identical and UE may skip both PDCCII and PSCOI monitoring. SE DRX may also use a short and long cycle. OnDurations are aligned, although they need not necessarily be of identical length, and SL-DRX can have shorter onDuration],
and in response to determining that the length of the first DRX cycle is longer than the length of the second DRX cycle, performing the reception operation for the first communication node based on the first DRX configuration in the overlapping period [par 0065, 0066, FIG. 7 shows an example of alignment of DRX cycles in the SL-DRX for CONNECTED mode. OnDurations are aligned, although they need not necessarily be of identical length, and SL-DRX can have shorter onDuration. Inactivity timer configurations may be different as well].
8, Wu discloses a method of a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising: establishing a first link between the first UE and a first communication node; establishing a second link between the first UE and a second communication node [fig 2, par 0047, 0050 Second UE 206 is communicatively coupled to a third UE 210 and a fifth UE 212. In the present examples, the UEs are shown as vehicles because SL is commonly employed for Vehicle-to-Vehicle (V2V), which is a type of Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) communication. For example, a DRX configuration via Uu 218 (which can be designated to be used in Uu interface, or PC5 interface or both interfaces) in the form of RRC layer-3 signaling is provided from gNB 202 to second UE 206. Second UE 206 provides a UAI for SL operation 220 to gNB 202. A DRX configuration via PC5 222 (also layer-3 signaling) is provided from second UE 206 to third UE 210. A DRX configuration via PC5 224 is established between fifth UE 212 and second UE 206 by layer-3 signaling. Applicant specification para 0053, disclose the communication nodes as vehicle, the figure shows vehicle 206 communicating on three separate links with three different nodes];
identifying an overlapping period between a first on-duration period according to a first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration on the first link and a second on-duration period according to a second DRX configuration on the second link[fig 4b, par 0056, 0059, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX cycles, respectively, are temporally spaced apart 416 and overlap 418 in terms of the wake up time “onDuration.” When they overlap 418, e.g., due to alignment, First, for separate RX chain case, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX aligned with overlapping “onDurations.” Accordingly, FIG. 5A shows Uu and SL are overlapping in a aligned common wake up period (e.g., dedicated RX chain for SL)];
and performing a resource sensing operation on one link having a higher priority among the first link and the second link in the overlapping period [par 0065, FIG. 7 shows an example of alignment of DRX cycles in the SL-DRX for CONNECTED mode. In this example, alignment for Uu DRX and SL DRX means fully-aligned and Partial Alignment Option 2 (FIG-, 6). In FIG-, 7 the same DRX cycle applies to both downlink and sidelink. Cycle lengths are identical and UE may skip both PDCCII and PSCOI monitoring. SE DRX may also use a short and long cycle. The DRX connected mode is considered the reception operation in the overlapping period]
11, Wu provides the method according to claim 8, wherein performing the resource sensing operation comprises: comparing a length of a first DRX cycle according to the first DRX configuration with a length of a second DRX cycle according to the second DRX configuration[par 0065, In this example, alignment for Uu DRX and SL DRX means fully-aligned and Partial Alignment Option 2 (FIG-, 6). In FIG-, 7 the same DRX cycle applies to both downlink and sidelink. Cycle lengths are identical and UE may skip both PDCCII and PSCOI monitoring. SE DRX may also use a short and long cycle. OnDurations are aligned, although they need not necessarily be of identical length, and SL-DRX can have shorter onDuration],
and in response to determining that the length of the first DRX cycle is longer than the length of the second DRX cycle, performing the resource sensing operation on the first link in the overlapping period[par 0065, 0066, FIG. 7 shows an example of alignment of DRX cycles in the SL-DRX for CONNECTED mode. OnDurations are aligned, although they need not necessarily be of identical length, and SL-DRX can have shorter onDuration. Inactivity timer configurations may be different as well].
12, Wu defines the method according to claim 8, wherein each of the first link and the second link is a Uu link or a sidelink (SL) [par 0059, First, for separate RX chain case, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX aligned with overlapping “onDurations],
and the first UE performs a function of a transmitting UE on the first link and the second link [par 0064, In a second embodiment, SL RX is shut off as long as Uu DRX is inactive, but limited TX activity is allowed without sensing. This approach achieves improved power savings. Mode 2 UE can transmit with use of random TX resource selection in configured pools. Mode 1 UE TX relies on Configured Grant Type 2].
13, A method of a first user equipment (UE), the method comprising: establishing a first link between the first UE and a first communication node; establishing a second link between the first UE and a second communication node [fig 2, par 0047, 0050 Second UE 206 is communicatively coupled to a third UE 210 and a fifth UE 212. In the present examples, the UEs are shown as vehicles because SL is commonly employed for Vehicle-to-Vehicle (V2V), which is a type of Vehicle-to-Everything (V2X) communication. For example, a DRX configuration via Uu 218 (which can be designated to be used in Uu interface, or PC5 interface or both interfaces) in the form of RRC layer-3 signaling is provided from gNB 202 to second UE 206. Second UE 206 provides a UAI for SL operation 220 to gNB 202. A DRX configuration via PC5 222 (also layer-3 signaling) is provided from second UE 206 to third UE 210. A DRX configuration via PC5 224 is established between fifth UE 212 and second UE 206 by layer-3 signaling. Applicant specification para 0053, disclose the communication nodes as vehicle, the figure shows vehicle 206 communicating on three separate links with three different nodes];
performing a resource sensing operation for a transmission operation to the
second communication node in an off-duration period according to a first
discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration configured for the first link[fig 4b, par 0056, 0059, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX cycles, respectively, are temporally spaced apart 416 and overlap 418 in terms of the wake up time “onDuration.” When they overlap 418, e.g., due to alignment, First, for separate RX chain case, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX aligned with overlapping “onDurations.” Accordingly, FIG. 5A shows Uu and SL are overlapping in a aligned common wake up period (e.g., dedicated RX chain for SL)];
performing a resource selection operation based on a result of the resource
sensing operation [par 0033, the UE 122 and UE 120 and the RAN node 114 or RAN node 116 may perform one or more known medium-sensing operations and/or carrier-sensing operations in order to determine whether one or more channels in the unlicensed spectrum is unavailable or otherwise occupied prior to transmitting in the unlicensed spectrum];
and transmitting data to the second communication node using a transmission resource selected by the resource selection operation[par 0064, In a second embodiment, SL RX is shut off as long as Uu DRX is inactive, but limited TX activity is allowed without sensing. This approach achieves improved power savings. Mode 2 UE can transmit with use of random TX resource selection in configured pools. Mode 1 UE TX relies on Configured Grant Type 2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of KANG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0344771 A1).
2, WU teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein each of the first link and the second link is a Uu link or a sidelink (SL) [par 0059, First, for separate RX chain case, Uu-DRX and SL-DRX aligned with overlapping “onDurations.” Accordingly, FIG. 5A shows Uu and SL are overlapping in a aligned common wake up period]
Wu fail to show wherein performing the reception operation comprises: comparing a priority of the first link to which the first DRX configuration is applied and a priority of the second link to which the second DRX configuration is applied, and in response to determining that the first link has a higher priority than the second link, performing the reception operation for the first communication node based on the first DRX configuration in the overlapping period,
In an analogous at KANG show wherein performing the reception operation comprises: comparing a priority of the first link to which the first DRX configuration is applied and a priority of the second link to which the second DRX configuration is applied, and in response to determining that the first link has a higher priority than the second link, performing the reception operation for the first communication node based on the first DRX configuration in the overlapping period [par 0191-0196, 0198-0200, a method of configuring the priority between a sidelink and a Uu link according to various embodiments of the disclosure will be described. When the terminal has a packet to be transmitted through the sidelink and a packet to be transmitted through the Uu link at a particular moment, when it is difficult for the terminal to simultaneously transmit the sidelink packet and the Uu link packet, As an embodiment of the disclosure, a condition in which the sidelink packet may be preferentially transmitted over the Uu link packet may include the following: When the transmission priority of the Uu link packet is low. When a priority threshold value for sidelink transmission is configured and the highest priority value of the SL logical channel included in the MAC PDU. BSR transmitted through Uu link has higher priority than BSR transmitted through SL link. PC5 RRC has higher priority than user packet of Uu link or SL link],
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and KANG because the SL logical channel may be configured to correspond to a combination of the priority and the communication range. [KANG, par 0108]
3, Wu illustrates the method according to claim 1, Wu fail to show wherein performing the reception operation comprises: comparing a priority of a first cast type on the first link to which the first DRX configuration is applied and a priority of a second cast type on the second link to which the second DRX configuration is applied, and in response to determining that the first cast type has a higher priority than the second cast type, performing the reception operation for the first communication node based on the first DRX configuration in the overlapping period, wherein each of the first cast type and the second cast type is broadcast, groupcast, or unicast.
KANG show wherein performing the reception operation comprises: comparing a priority of a first cast type on the first link to which the first DRX configuration is applied and a priority of a second cast type on the second link to which the second DRX configuration is applied, and in response to determining that the first cast type has a higher priority than the second cast type, performing the reception operation for the first communication node based on the first DRX configuration in the overlapping period [par 0192, 0193, 0196, 0197, When the terminal has a packet to be transmitted through the sidelink and a packet to be transmitted through the Uu link at a particular moment, when it is difficult for the terminal to simultaneously transmit the sidelink packet and the Uu link packet, As an embodiment of the disclosure, a condition in which the sidelink packet may be preferentially transmitted over the Uu link packet may include the following: (3) When a priority threshold value for sidelink transmission is configured and the highest priority value of the SL logical channel included in the MAC PDU is lower than the priority threshold value (assuming that the priority increases as the priority value decreases); In the case of (3), the priority threshold value for SL unicast, SL groupcast, or SL broadcast may be separately configured, and the priority threshold value may be configured based on the priority parameter of an SL flow or an SL packet]
wherein each of the first cast type and the second cast type is broadcast, groupcast, or unicast[par 0117, When the terminal is in an RRC Connected state, the configuration through the RRC dedicated signaling may be used. The SL configuration may correspond to at least one of SL unicast, SL broadcast, or SL groupcast].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and KANG because the SL logical channel may be configured to correspond to a combination of the priority and the communication range. [KANG, par 0108]
10, Wu convey the method according to claim 8, Wu fail to show wherein performing the resource sensing operation comprises: comparing a priority of a first cast type on the first link to which the first DRX configuration is applied and a priority of a second cast type on the second link to which the second DRX configuration is applied, and in response to determining that the first cast type has a higher priority than the second cast type, performing the resource sensing operation on the first link in the overlapping period, wherein each of the first cast type and the second cast type is broadcast, groupcast, or unicast.
In an analogous art Kang show wherein performing the resource sensing operation comprises: comparing a priority of a first cast type on the first link to which the first DRX configuration is applied and a priority of a second cast type on the second link to which the second DRX configuration is applied, and in response to determining that the first cast type has a higher priority than the second cast type, performing the resource sensing operation on the first link in the overlapping period [par 0192, 0193, 0196, 0197, When the terminal has a packet to be transmitted through the sidelink and a packet to be transmitted through the Uu link at a particular moment, when it is difficult for the terminal to simultaneously transmit the sidelink packet and the Uu link packet, As an embodiment of the disclosure, a condition in which the sidelink packet may be preferentially transmitted over the Uu link packet may include the following: (3) When a priority threshold value for sidelink transmission is configured and the highest priority value of the SL logical channel included in the MAC PDU is lower than the priority threshold value (assuming that the priority increases as the priority value decreases); In the case of (3), the priority threshold value for SL unicast, SL groupcast, or SL broadcast may be separately configured, and the priority threshold value may be configured based on the priority parameter of an SL flow or an SL packet]
wherein each of the first cast type and the second cast type is broadcast, groupcast, or unicast [par 0117, When the terminal is in an RRC Connected state, the configuration through the RRC dedicated signaling may be used. The SL configuration may correspond to at least one of SL unicast, SL broadcast, or SL groupcast].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and KANG because the SL logical channel may be configured to correspond to a combination of the priority and the communication range. [KANG, par 0108]
Claim(s) 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of Baglin et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2012/0113825 A1).
5, Wu demonstrates the method according to claim 1, Wu fail to show wherein performing the reception operation comprises: performing the reception operation for the first communication node based on the first DRX configuration in a first time resource region within the overlapping period, and performing the reception operation for the second communication node based on the second DRX configuration in a second time resource region subsequent to the first time resource region within the overlapping period.
In an analogous art Baglin show wherein performing the reception operation comprises: performing the reception operation for the first communication node based on the first DRX configuration in a first time resource region within the overlapping period [par 0048, 0049, CPC mode typically includes a DRX phase including multiple DRX cycles and a DTX phase including multiple DTX cycles. In accordance with the present invention, each DRX cycle includes a serving cell monitoring period, unless preempted by a compressed mode (CM) gap as detailed below with respect to FIGS. 7-10. Each DTX cycle includes a control information transmission period that overlaps a serving cell monitoring period of the DRX phase, unless preempted or otherwise affected by a CM gap. During each DRX cycle, the wireless device receiver 305 is activated during a period of time 502, 601 to receive control signals from the serving base station 203 and one or more of the neighboring cell base stations 204-206],
and performing the reception operation for the second communication node based on the second DRX configuration in a second time resource region subsequent to the first time resource region within the overlapping period [par 0050, If the wireless device receiver 305 is deactivated at the time at which the wireless device 201 is to begin receiving transmit power control information (e.g., because the wireless device 201 is implementing a DRX phase of a CPC mode)].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and Baglin because this provides a method for performing neighbor cell analysis functions while operating in a continuous packet connectivity (CPC) mode and without requiring dedicated time periods for performing the neighbor cell analysis functions as part of a discontinuous reception (DRX) phase of the CPC mode.
Claim(s) 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of Baglin et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2012/0113825 A1) in view of Ghasemzadeh et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2015/0289141 A1).
6, Wu and Baglin discloses the method according to claim 5, Wu and Baglin fail to show wherein a guard time is configured between the first time resource region and the second time resource region, and sizes of the first time resource region and the second time resource region are configured to be different from each other in each of overlapping periods between first on-duration periods according to the first DRX configuration and second on-duration periods according to the second DRX configuration.
In an analogous art Ghasemzadeh show wherein a guard time is configured between the first time resource region and the second time resource region [par 0297, The sequence pattern may be associated with one or more of a periodicity of the pattern, a starting reference time of the pattern, and a guard time between at least the first and the second time periods],
and sizes of the first time resource region and the second time resource region are configured to be different from each other in each of overlapping periods between first on-duration periods according to the first DRX configuration and second on-duration periods according to the second DRX configuration [par 0294-0296, One or both of the first and the second time periods may comprise at least one radio frame. Also, one or both of the first and second time periods may be determined based on one or more of the following: M number of the first time periods and N number of the second time periods are comprised in a sequence pattern, where M≧1 and N≧1 and the length of the pattern is at least the sum of the M first and N second time periods].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and Ghasemzadeh because this provides a method of allocating a radio spectrum to a plurality of operators. [Ghasemzadeh para 0202]
9. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of Mao et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0058826 A1).
9, Wu illustrates the method according to claim 8, WU fail to show wherein performing the resource sensing operation comprises: comparing a degree of congestion on the first link to which the first DRX configuration is applied and a degree of congestion on the second link to which the second DRX configuration is applied, and performing the resource sensing operation for one link having a lower congestion degree among the first link and the second link.
In an analogous art Mao show wherein performing the resource sensing operation comprises: comparing a degree of congestion on the first link to which the first DRX configuration is applied and a degree of congestion on the second link to which the second DRX configuration is applied [Par 0228, The performances of the two forwarding schemes is compared using simulations on the IAB network (connected with two UEs through two IAB nodes) in FIG. 18. The comparison is limited to the backhaul links (e.g., links between the donor DU and the access IAB node) as the UE is not involved in the network coding operation. In this network, there are two paths between the IAB donor node and UE1 (Donor-node 1-node 3-UE1 access node, and Donor-node 2 node 3-UE1 access node), whereas for UE2 there is only one path (Donor-node 2-UE2 access node). Because of congestion at node 1, the supported data rate of link 1-3 is only 2% of the other links. Furthermore, because the link between node 3 and UE1 access node is weak due to blockage or mobility, the packet dropping rate is high (20%)],
and performing the resource sensing operation for one link having a lower congestion degree among the first link and the second link [PAR 0228, 0244, For direct-forwarding, no re-encoding is performed in the middle of any path, so we change the overall network coding rate for UE1. For adaptive coded-forward, we only change the network coding rate for the link node 3—UE1 access node (e.g., the weak link) but keep the network coding rate fixed (10% redundancy, same as for UE2) for the other links. For each UE the network coding rate on each link determines the “pre-defined number” M.sub.ij in the adaptive coded-forwarding scheme. BT is a mechanism whereby equipment (for example, UEs 2501 RAN nodes 2511, etc.) senses a medium (for example, a channel or carrier frequency) and transmits when the medium is sensed to be idle (or when a specific channel in the medium is sensed to be unoccupied). The medium sensing operation may include CCA, which utilizes at least ED to determine the presence or absence of other signals on a channel in order to determine if a channel is occupied or clear].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and Mao because this provides methods to ensure efficient selection of parents by IAB nodes and UEs during the integration procedure so that signaling related to handovers of UEs and IAB nodes can be avoided or minimized. [Mao par 0165]
10. Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of Guo et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0058826 A1).
14, Wu demonstrates the method according to claim 13, Wu fail to show wherein a start time of the resource sensing operation is set to a start time of the off-duration period.
In an analogous art Guo show wherein a start time of the resource sensing operation is set to a start time of the off-duration period [par 0059, In these scenarios, if behaviors of UE (e.g., UE 101a or UE 101b illustrated and shown in FIG. 1) in Off duration for SL DRX are configured as not performing a sensing operation during the Off duration for SL DRX even if a partial sensing window has been configured]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and Guo because Both a partial sensing mechanism and a SL DRX mechanism may help UE to save power, because both mechanisms may enable the UE working only in a partial period of the time domain, and configurations for both mechanisms are defined in a periodic manner. [Guo par 0052]
15, Wu describes the method according to claim 13, Wu fail to show wherein an on-duration period according to a second DRX configuration for the second link existing after an end time of a resource sensing window in which the resource sensing operation is performed is configured as a resource selection window in which the resource selection operation is performed.
In an analogous art Guo show wherein an on-duration period according to a second DRX configuration for the second link existing after an end time of a resource sensing window in which the resource sensing operation is performed is configured as a resource selection window in which the resource selection operation is performed [Fig 2, par 0048, FIG. 2, there are three partial sensing cycles in a partial sensing window, and each partial sensing cycle (e.g., Partial Sensing Cycle as shown in FIG. 2) includes ON Sensing duration (e.g., ON Sensing as shown in FIG. 2) and OFF duration (e.g., OFF as shown in FIG. 2). The fig show an on-duration period existing after a sensing cycle window].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and Guo because Both a partial sensing mechanism and a SL DRX mechanism may help UE to save power, because both mechanisms may enable the UE working only in a partial period of the time domain, and configurations for both mechanisms are defined in a periodic manner. [Guo par 0052]
16, Wu reveal the method according to claim 13, Guo fail to show wherein the resource sensing operation is performed in one or more off-duration periods according to the first DRX configuration, and a length of the one or more off-duration periods does not exceed a length of a resource sensing window configured for the resource sensing operation.
In an analogous art Guo show wherein the resource sensing operation is performed in one or more off-duration periods according to the first DRX configuration[par 0059, In these scenarios, if behaviors of UE (e.g., UE 101a or UE 101b illustrated and shown in FIG. 1) in Off duration for SL DRX are configured as not performing a sensing operation during the Off duration for SL DRX even if a partial sensing window has been configured],
and a length of the one or more off-duration periods does not exceed a length of a resource sensing window configured for the resource sensing operation[par 0057, FIG. 3) includes subframe #0 and subframe #1, while OFF Duration of the SL DRX cycle (i.e., OFF as shown in FIG. 3) includes subframe #2 to subframe #4. The other SL DRX cycle includes subframe #5 to subframe #9, ON Duration of the SL DRX cycle (i.e., ON DRX as shown in FIG. 3) includes subframe #5 and subframe #6, while OFF Duration of the SL DRX cycle (i.e., OFF as shown in FIG. 3) includes subframe #7 to subframe #9]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and Guo because Both a partial sensing mechanism and a SL DRX mechanism may help UE to save power, because both mechanisms may enable the UE working only in a partial period of the time domain, and configurations for both mechanisms are defined in a periodic manner. [Guo par 0052]
17, Wu create the method according to claim 13, Wu fail to show wherein a resource sensing window in which the resource sensing operation is performed includes n off-duration periods according to the first DRX configuration, the resource sensing operation is performed in the n off-duration periods, and n is a natural number.
In an analogous art Guo show wherein a resource sensing window in which the resource sensing operation is performed includes n off-duration periods according to the first DRX configuration, the resource sensing operation is performed in the n off-duration periods, and n is a natural number [fig 3, par 0057, FIG. 3) includes subframe #0 and subframe #1, while OFF Duration of the SL DRX cycle (i.e., OFF as shown in FIG. 3) includes subframe #2 to subframe #4. The other SL DRX cycle includes subframe #5 to subframe #9, ON Duration of the SL DRX cycle (i.e., ON DRX as shown in FIG. 3) includes subframe #5 and subframe #6, while OFF Duration of the SL DRX cycle (i.e., OFF as shown in FIG. 3) includes subframe #7 to subframe #9].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and Guo because both a partial sensing mechanism and a SL DRX mechanism may help UE to save power, because both mechanisms may enable the UE working only in a partial period of the time domain, and configurations for both mechanisms are defined in a periodic manner. [Guo par 0052]
18, Wu defines the method according to claim 13, Wu fail to show wherein the resource sensing operation is performed in an overlapping period between the off-duration period and an on-duration period according to the second DRX configuration for the second link.
In an analogous art Guo show wherein the resource sensing operation is performed in an overlapping period between the off-duration period and an on-duration period according to the second DRX configuration for the second link [par 0057, 0058, FIG. 3) includes subframe #0 and subframe #1, while OFF Duration of the SL DRX cycle (i.e., OFF as shown in FIG. 3) includes subframe #2 to subframe #4. As shown in FIG. 3, ON Sensing Duration of a Partial Sensing Cycle overlaps with SFN 1 in time domain, while SFN 0 and SFN 2 are located within OFF Duration of the Partial Sensing Cycle].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and Guo because both a partial sensing mechanism and a SL DRX mechanism may help UE to save power, because both mechanisms may enable the UE working only in a partial period of the time domain, and configurations for both mechanisms are defined in a periodic manner. [Guo par 0052]
11. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WU et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0312543 A1) in view of Guo et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0058826 A1) in further view of HWANG et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2022/0287086 A1)
19, Wu creates the method according to claim 13, Wu fail show wherein performing the resource sensing operation comprises: performing the resource sensing operation in a first resource sensing window configured in the off-duration period; and re-performing the resource sensing operation after the first resource sensing window when a degree of congestion on the first resource sensing window is greater than or equal to a threshold.
In an analogous art Guo show wherein performing the resource sensing operation comprises: performing the resource sensing operation in a first resource sensing window configured in the off-duration period[par 0059, In these scenarios, if behaviors of UE (e.g., UE 101a or UE 101b illustrated and shown in FIG. 1) in Off duration for SL DRX are configured as not performing a sensing operation during the Off duration for SL DRX even if a partial sensing window has been configured]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu and Guo because both a partial sensing mechanism and a SL DRX mechanism may help UE to save power, because both mechanisms may enable the UE working only in a partial period of the time domain, and configurations for both mechanisms are defined in a periodic manner. [Guo par 0052]
Wu and Guo fail to show re-performing the resource sensing operation after the first resource sensing window when a degree of congestion on the first resource sensing window is greater than or equal to a threshold
In an analogous art HWANG show re-performing the resource sensing operation after the first resource sensing window when a degree of congestion on the first resource sensing window is greater than or equal to a threshold [par 0521, The sensing operation of the UE may be exceptionally permitted for the sensing slot before the specific time point again according to the priority value and/or according to the congestion control level. Here, the exception may mean a case where the priority value is equal to or less than or less than a (pre)configured threshold. Further, the exception may mean a case where the congestion level is equal to or more than or more than a (pre)configured threshold].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Wu, Guo, and HWANG because a sensing result in a region where sensing is permitted may be used for resource (re)selection of the UE. [Hwang, para 0521]
Conclusion
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468