DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendment filed 03/10/2026 has been entered.
Claims 21 is cancelled.
Claims 1, 7, 17 and 22 are amended.
Claims 1-20 and 22-27 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arulkumar (US 20220364565 A1) in view of Bourgeois (US 20220412859 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Arulkumar teaches at least one ultrasonic transducer configured to be coupled to a suction liner of the centrifugal pump[Ultrasonic sensor # 120 in Fig 1, 6 is attached to centrifugal pump. See 0070-0077];
a driver circuit electrically connected to the at least one ultrasonic transducer and configured to cause the at least one ultrasonic transducer to emit an ultrasonic pulse that passes through the suction liner, through a medium within the nose gap, and against an impeller face of an impeller of the centrifugal pump[Ultrasonic sensor #120 in Fig 1, 6 is attached to centrifugal pump. See 0070-0078 has ultrasonic transmission into the pump; 0004 has measuring nose gap];
and a signal analyzer in communication with the at least one ultrasonic transducer and configured to[0083 has analysis of ultrasonic data from the sensor]:
receive a first pulse return signal comprising a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from an interface between the suction liner and the medium[Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077 -0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners];
receive, a second pulse return signal comprising a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from the impeller face returned through the medium [Fig7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners; 0079 has second backwall going though liner twice meaning it has to go out of the liner and reflect off the impeller which is on the other side of the liner];
receive one or more pulse reflection signals associated with reflections of the ultrasonic pulse within the medium in the nose gap between the suction liner and the impeller face[Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners;]
and determine a distance between a liner wear surface of the suction liner and the impeller face at the nose gap based at least in part on one or more of the first pulse return signal, the second pulse return signal, or the one or more pulse reflection signals. [0004-0006, 0090, 0103, 0130 have use of sensor to measure thickness and gap; See also Claims 1-4 for sensor measuring thickness in pump]…
Arulkumar does not explicitly state wherein the at least one ultrasonic sensor is positioned between an outer plate of the centrifugal pump and the suction liner in alignment with the nose gap such that the ultrasonic pulse reflects off a portion of the impeller face having a substantially planar or predictable contour configuration;
and wherein the at least one transducer is mounted to a surface of the suction liner opposite a suction liner wear surface of the suction liner such that the at least one ultrasonic sensor remains attached to and moves with movement of the suction liner toward and away from the impeller.
Though it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made place the sensor in various positions for different reading in order to optimize position of the sensor and to get more readings, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Bourgeois teaches that explicitly state wherein the at least one ultrasonic sensor is positioned between an outer plate of the centrifugal pump and the suction liner in alignment with the nose gap such that the ultrasonic pulse reflects off a portion of the impeller face having a substantially planar or predictable contour configuration; [Fig 1 shows sensor #60 with pulse towards impeller face in the claimed configuration]
and wherein the at least one transducer is mounted to a surface of the suction liner opposite a suction liner wear surface of the suction liner such that the at least one ultrasonic sensor remains attached to and moves with movement of the suction liner toward and away from the impeller.[Fig 1 shows sensor #60 with pulse towards impeller face in the claimed configuration with wear sensor #10 that is attached and moves with the liner];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor of Arulkumar with the different sensor positions of Bourgeois in order to get readings in different configurations for more data and accuracy.
Regarding claim 7, Arulkumar teaches a casing defining a substantially annular interior chamber[Fig 2,3 has casing with interior chamber; See also 0069-0070];
a first plate coupled to the casing and defining a first bore[Fig 2,3 has casing with interior chamber; See also 0069-0070];
a second plate coupled to the casing opposite the first plate and defining an inlet bore configured to receive a medium being pumped[Fi 2,3 has casing with interior chamber and inlet; See also 0069-0070];
a pump shaft having a shaft axis, the pump shaft being received through the first bore and being configured to rotate about the shaft axis[abstract has impeller about an axis];
an impeller received in the substantially annular interior chamber and coupled to the pump shaft, the impeller defining an impeller face facing toward an interior side of the second [Abstract has impeller about an axis; Fig 2,3 has casing with interior chamber; See also 0069-0070];
a suction liner movably coupled to the second plate and defining a liner wear surface positioned adjacent the impeller face of the impeller, such that the liner wear surface and the impeller face at least partially define a nose gap therebetween[ Abstract has main and side liners];
and a measurement assembly for measuring the nose gap, the measurement assembly comprising:[Abstract concerns a sensing device for centrifugal pumps]
a driver circuit electrically connected to the at least one ultrasonic transducer and configured to cause the at least one ultrasonic transducer to emit an ultrasonic pulse that passes through the suction liner, through a medium in the nose gap, and against the impeller face[Ultrasonic sensor #120 in Fig 1, 6 is attached to centrifugal pump. See 0070-0078 has ultrasonic transmission into the pump];
and a signal analyzer in communication with the at least one ultrasonic transducer and configured to[0083 has analysis of ultrasonic data from the sensor]:
receive a first pulse return signal comprising a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from an interface between the suction liner and the medium[Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077 -0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners];
receive a second pulse return signal comprising a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from the impeller face returned through the medium[Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners; 0079 has second backwall going though liner twice meaning it has to go out of the liner and reflect off the impeller which is on the other side of the liner];
receive one or more pulse reflection signals associated with reflections of the ultrasonic sound wave between the suction liner and the impeller[Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners];
account for differences in speed of the one or more pulse return signals resulting from one or more of difference in a material of the suction liner, different mediums through which the ultrasonic pulse is transmitted, inconsistencies in the material of the suction liner or transition regions within the suction liner; [this appears to be correction and optimization or intended use and carries little patentable weight but the prior art does mention monitoring change in liner thickness at 0088-0090 meaning the changes in material, thickness etc is being monitored, Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners]
and determine a distance between a suction liner wear surface of the suction liner and the impeller face at the nose gap based at least in part on one or more of the first pulse return signal, the second pulse return signal, or the one or more pulse reflection signals. [0004-0006, 0090, 0103, 0130 have use of sensor to measure thickness and gap; See also Claims 1 -4 for sensor measuring thickness in pump]
Arulkumar does not explicitly state wherein the at least one ultrasonic sensor positioned between an inner face of the second plate and a surface of the suction liner opposite the nose gap between the suction liner and the impeller face, the at least one ultrasonic transducer being mounted to the suction liner such that the at least one ultrasonic transducer remains attached to the suction liner as the suction liner is moved;
Though it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made place the sensor in various positions for different reading in order to optimize position of the sensor and to get more readings, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Bourgeois teaches that wherein the at least one ultrasonic sensor positioned between an inner face of the second plate and a surface of the suction liner opposite the nose gap between the suction liner and the impeller face, the at least one ultrasonic transducer being mounted to the suction liner such that the at least one ultrasonic transducer remains attached to the suction liner as the suction liner is moved.[Fig 1 shows sensor #60 with pulse towards impeller face in the claimed configuration with wear sensor #10 that is attached and moves with the liner];…..
account for differences in speed of the one or more pulse return signals resulting from one or more of difference in a material of the suction liner, different mediums through which the ultrasonic pulse is transmitted, inconsistencies in the material of the suction liner or transition regions within the suction liner[this appears to be correction and optimization or intended use and carries little patentable weight but the prior art does mention monitoring change in liner thickness based on return pulse period at 0118 meaning the changes in material, thickness etc is being monitored]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor of Arulkumar with the different sensor positions of Bourgeois in order to get readings in different configurations for more data and accuracy.
Regarding claim 17, Arulkumar teaches A method for measuring a distance between a suction liner and an impeller of a centrifugal pump, the method comprising[0004-0006, 0090, 0103, 0130 have use of sensor to measure thickness and gap, See also Claims 1-4 for sensor measuring thickness in pump]:
causing at least one ultrasonic transducer to emit an ultrasonic pulse into and through the suction liner of the centrifugal pump, through a medium within a nose gap between a liner wear surface of the suction liner and against the impeller face of the impeller of the centrifugal pump, and against the impeller of the centrifugal pump[ Ultrasonic sensor #120 in Fig 1, 6 is attached to centrifugal pump. See 0070-0077];
receiving, via a signal analyzer in communication with the at least one ultrasonic transducer, a first pulse return signal comprising a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse as the ultrasonic pulse reaches an interface between the suction liner and the medium[0083 has analysis of ultrasonic data from the sensor; Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners];
receiving, via the signal analyzer, a second pulse return signal comprising a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from the impeller face [0083 has analysis of ultrasonic data from the sensor; Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from back walls and liners; 0079 has second backwall going though liner twice meaning it has to go out of the liner and reflect off the impeller which is on the other side of the liner];
receiving, via the signal analyzer, one or more pulse reflection signals associated with reflections of the ultrasonic pulse between the liner wear surface of the suction liner and the impeller face[0083 has analysis of ultrasonic data from the sensor; Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners];
detect and account for differences in speed of the one or more pulse return signals resulting from one or more of difference in a material of the suction liner, different mediums through which the ultrasonic pulse is transmitted, inconsistencies in the material of the suction liner or transition regions within the suction liner; [this appears to be correction and optimization or intended use and carries little patentable weight but the prior art does mention monitoring change in liner thickness at 0088-0090 meaning the changes in material, thickness etc is being monitored, Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners]
and determining the distance between the suction liner and the impeller face at the nose gap based at least in part on one or more of the first pulse return signal, the second pulse return signal, or the one or more pulse reflection signals.[0004-0006, 0090, 0103, 0130 have use of sensor to measure thickness and gap; See also Claims 1-4 for sensor measuring thickness in pump]
Bourgeois teaches detect and account for differences in speed of the one or more pulse return signals resulting from one or more of difference in a material of the suction liner, different mediums through which the ultrasonic pulse is transmitted, inconsistencies in the material of the suction liner or transition regions within the suction liner [this appears to be correction and optimization or intended use and carries little patentable weight but the prior art does mention monitoring change in liner thickness based on return pulse period at 0118 meaning the changes in material, thickness etc is being monitored]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor of Arulkumar with the different sensor positions of Bourgeois in order to get readings in different configurations for more data and accuracy.
Regarding claim 2 and 8, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches wherein the signal analyzer is configured to determine the size of the nose gap based at least in part on one or more differences between the first pulse return signal, the second return signal, and the one or more pulse reflection signals, and wherein the one or more differences include one or more time differences. [0077-0079 has time interval measurement of reflections to determine liner thickness].
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches wherein the at least one ultrasonic transducer comprises a plurality of ultrasonic transducers, and the plurality of ultrasonic transducers are configured to be circumferentially spaced around the suction liner. [0114 has various sensors# 100 around the pump].
Regarding claims 5, 11 and 20, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches further comprising a transmitter in communication with the signal analyzer and configured to communicate the size of the nose gap to a location remote from the centrifugal pump. [0086 has transmission for remote processing].
Regarding claims 6, and 12, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches wherein the signal analyzer is configured to determine the size of the nose gap during operation of the centrifugal pump. [0080 has sensor in taking samples during operation].
Regarding claim 13, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches wherein the suction liner is movably coupled to the second plate via a plurality of adjustment bolts extending through the second plate and contacting a back surface of the suction liner opposite the wear surface, the adjustment bolts being configured to cause the suction liner to move axially in a direction substantially parallel to the shaft axis of the pump shaft. [0018, 0072, 0089, 0103, 0120 and claims 2 and 9 have axially adjusting liner and change in thickness meaning it reads on the claim of adjusting liner based on sensor].
Regarding claim 14, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches further comprising a plurality of adjustment actuators, each of the plurality of adjustment actuators being coupled to a respective adjustment bolt and being configured to cause the respective adjustment bolts to move the suction liner axially. [0018, 0072, 0089, 0103, 0120 and claims 2 and 9 have axially adjusting liner and change in thickness meaning it reads on the claim of adjusting liner based on sensor].
Regarding claim 15, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches further comprising a suction liner controller in communication with the signal analyzer and the plurality of adjustment actuators, the suction liner controller being configured to: receive a nose gap signal indicative of the nose gap; and activate, based at least in part on the nose gap signal, one or more of the adjustment actuators to cause the suction liner to move axially. [0018, 0072, 0089, 0103, 0120 and claims 2 and 9 have axially adjusting liner and change in thickness meaning it reads on the claim of adjusting liner based on sensor].
Regarding claim 16, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches wherein the suction liner controller is configured to activate, based at least in part on the nose gap signal, one or more of the adjustment actuators to cause the suction liner to move axially to substantially maintain the nose gap within a range of nose gaps. [0018, 0072, 0089, 0103, 0120 and claims 2 and 9 have axially adjusting liner and change in thickness meaning it reads on the claim of adjusting liner based on sensor].
Regarding claim 18, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches wherein determining the distance between the suction liner and the impeller comprising determining one or more differences between one or more of the first pulse return signal, the second pulse return signal, or the one or more pulse reflection signals, and wherein determining the one or more differences comprises determining one or more time differences. [0004-0006, 0090, 0103,0130 have use of sensor to measure thickness and gap; See also Claims 1-4 for sensor measuring thickness in pump].
Regarding claim 19, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches wherein: the at least one ultrasonic transducer comprises a plurality of ultrasonic transducers coupled to the suction liner at locations spaced circumferentially around the suction liner[01 14 has various sensors# around the pump]; and determining the distance between the suction liner and the impeller comprises determining respective distances between the suction liner and the impeller at the respective locations spaced circumferentially around the suction liner, based at least in part on respective first pulse return signals and respective second pulse return signals. [0004-0006, 0090, 0103, 0130 have use of sensor to measure thickness and gap; See also Claims 1-4 for sensor measuring thickness in pump; 0077-0079 has time interval measurement of reflections to determine liner thickness].
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arulkumar (US 20220364565 A1) in view of Bourgeois (US 20220412859 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Wang (US 11,092,688 B1).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Arulkumar does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one ultrasonic transducer comprises: a first ultrasonic transducer having a first power level and a first frequency of operation;
and a second ultrasonic transducer having a second power level and a second frequency of operation, wherein at least one of: the first power level differs from the second power level, or the first frequency of operation differs from the second frequency of operation.
Wang teaches that wherein the at least one ultrasonic transducer comprises: a first ultrasonic transducer having a first power level and a first frequency of operation. [Col7; Lines 25- 35 have transducers with different amplitude/power and frequencies];
and a second ultrasonic transducer having a second power level and a second frequency of operation. [Col 7; Lines 25-35 have transducers with different amplitude/power and frequencies],
wherein at least one of: the first power level differs from the second power level, or the first frequency of operation differs from the second frequency of operation. [Col 7; Lines 25-35 have transducers with different amplitude/power and frequencies]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensors in Arulkumar with the different frequencies and amplitude of Wang in order to have each sensor have its own signature to distinguish between signals.
Claims 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arulkumar (US 20220364565 A1) in view of Bourgeois (US 20220412859 A1) and Wang (US 11,092,688 B1).
Regarding claim 22, Arulkumar teaches A method for adjusting a distance between a suction liner and an impeller of a centrifugal pump, the method comprising:[0004-0006 0090, 0103, 0130 have use of sensor to measure thickness and gap, See also Claims 1-4 for sensor measuring thickness in pump]
emitting a plurality of ultrasonic pulses from at least one ultrasonic transducer through the suction liner of the centrifugal pump, through a medium within a nose gap between the suction liner and an impeller face of the impeller of the centrifugal pump, and against the impeller face of the centrifugal pump[ Ultrasonic sensor #120 in Fig 1, 6 is attached to centrifugal pump. See 0070-0078 has ultrasonic transmission into the pump];…..
receiving, via a signal analyzer in communication with the at least one ultrasonic transducer, a first pulse return signal comprising a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse as the ultrasonic pulse reaches an interface between the suction liner and the medium[0083 has analysis of ultrasonic data from the sensor; Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners];
receiving, via the signal analyzer, a second pulse return signal comprising a reflection of the ultrasonic pulse from the impeller face[0083 has analysis of ultrasonic data from the sensor; Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from back walls and liners; 0079 has second backwall going though liner twice meaning it has to go out of the liner and reflect off the impeller which is on the other side of the liner];
receiving, via the signal analyzer, one or more pulse reflection signals associated with reflections of the ultrasonic pulse between the liner wear surface of the suction liner and the impeller[0083 has analysis of ultrasonic data from the sensor; Fig 7 shows various pulse returns; See also 0077-0079 for various interface echo and reflections from backwalls and liners];
determining the distance between the suction liner and the impeller face at the nose gap based at least in part on one or more of the first pulse return signal, the second pulse return signal, or the one or more pulse reflection signals[0004-0006, 0090, 0103, 0130 have use of sensor to measure thickness and gap; See also Claims 1-4 for sensor measuring thickness in pump];
and causing, based at least in part on the distance between the suction liner and the impeller, the suction liner to move axially in a direction substantially parallel to a shaft axis of a pump shaft coupled to the impeller. [0018, 0072, 0089, 0103, 0120 and claims 2 and 9 have axially adjusting liner and change in thickness meaning it reads on the claim of adjusting liner based on sensor]
…
Arulkumar does not explicitly state wherein the at least one ultrasonic sensor is positioned between an inner face of the second plate and a surface of the suction liner opposite the nose gap between a liner wear surface of the suction liner and the impeller face, the at least one ultrasonic transducer being mounted to the suction liner such that the at least one ultrasonic transducer remains attached to the suction liner as the suction liner is moved[Though it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made place the sensor in various positions for different reading in order to optimize position of the sensor and to get more readings, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.]; …..
and wherein the plurality of ultrasonic pulses include a first ultrasonic pulse emitted from a first ultrasonic transducer having a first power level and a first frequency of operation and a second ultrasonic transducer having a second power level and a second frequency of operation, wherein at least one of:
the first power level differs from the second power level:
or the first frequency of operation differs from the second frequency of operation.
Bourgeois teaches that wherein the at least one ultrasonic sensor is positioned between an inner face of the second plate and a surface of the suction liner opposite the nose gap between a liner wear surface of the suction liner and the impeller face, the at least one ultrasonic transducer being mounted to the suction liner such that the at least one ultrasonic transducer remains attached to the suction liner as the suction liner is moved.[Fig 1 shows sensor #60 with pulse towards impeller face in the claimed configuration with wear sensor #10 that is attached and moves with the liner];…..
Wang teaches and wherein the plurality of ultrasonic pulses include a first ultrasonic pulse emitted from a first ultrasonic transducer having a first power level and a first frequency of operation and a second ultrasonic transducer having a second power level and a second frequency of operation, wherein at least one of:[Col 7; Lines 25-35 have transducers with different amplitude/power and frequencies];
the first power level differs from the second power level: [Col 7; Lines 25-35 have transducers with different amplitude/power and frequencies],
or the first frequency of operation differs from the second frequency of operation. [Col 7; Lines 25-35 have transducers with different amplitude/power and frequencies],
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to have modified the ultrasonic sensor of Arulkumar with the different sensor positions of Bourgeois and with the different frequencies and amplitude of Wang in order to have each sensor have its own signature to distinguish between signals and to get readings in different configurations for more data and accuracy.
Regarding claim 23, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches wherein determining the distance between the suction liner and the impeller comprising determining one or more differences between one or more of the first pulse return signal, the second pulse return signal, or the one or more pulse reflection signals, and wherein determining the one or more differences comprises determining one or more time differences. [0004-0006, 0090, 0103,0130 have use of sensor to measure thickness and gap; See also Claims 1-4 for sensor measuring thickness in pump].
Regarding claim 24, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches that wherein causing the suction liner to move axially comprises rotating a plurality of adjustment bolts contacting a back surface of the suction liner opposite the impeller. [0018, 0072, 0089, 0103, 0120 and claims 2 and 9 have axially adjusting liner and change in thickness meaning it reads on the claim of adjusting liner based on sensor].
Regarding claim 25, Arulkumar, as modified, teaches wherein rotating the plurality of adjustment bolts comprises activating a plurality of adjustment actuators coupled to the adjustment bolts to cause the adjustment bolts to move the suction liner axially. [0018, 0072, 0089, 0103, 0120 and claims 2 and 9 have axially adjusting liner and change in thickness meaning it reads on the claim of adjusting liner based on sensor].
Regarding claim 26, Arulkumar discloses receiving, via a suction liner controller in communication with the signal analyzer and the plurality of adjustment actuators, a gap signal indicative of the distance between the suction liner and the impeller[0018, 0072, 0089, 0103, 0120 and claims 2 and 9 have axially adjusting liner and change in thickness meaning it reads on the claim of adjusting liner based on sensor];
and activating, via the suction liner controller, based at least in part on the gap signal, one or more of the plurality of adjustment actuators to cause the suction liner to move axially. [0018, 0072, 0089, 0103, 0120 and claims 2 and 9 have axially adjusting liner and change in thickness meaning it reads on the claim of adjusting liner based on sensor].
Regarding claim 27, Arulkumar discloses comparing, via the suction liner controller, the distance between the suction liner and the impeller to a range of distances between the suction liner and the impeller[0018, 0072, 0089, 0103, 0120 and claims 2 and 9 have axially adjusting liner and change in thickness meaning it reads on the claim of adjusting liner based on sensor];
and when the distance between the suction liner and the impeller is outside the range of distances, activating one or more of the plurality of adjustment actuators to cause the suction liner to move axially such that the distance between the suction liner and the impeller is within the range of distances. [(0018, 0072, 0089, 0103, 0120 and claims 2 and 9 have axially adjusting liner and change in thickness meaning it reads on the claim of adjusting liner based on sensor].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 and 22-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding applicant’s arguments regarding measurement of nose gap, it is pointed out that applicant’s own specification defines the nose gap as a clearance which changes in width and the prior art clear measures gaps and clearances that change in width which reads on the claim despite applicant’s assertation of the lack of exact term “nose gap”.
Regarding applicant’s arguments concerning reflection and time, it is pointed out that measuring reflections and time of travel is a well known concept in the ultrasonic arts.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Rejections are maintained – and no allowable subject matter can be identified at this time.
Conclusion
/VIKAS ATMAKURI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645