DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority to Application No. (63/410,332) filed on the September 27, 2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jenski et al. (US 6557824 B1).
Regarding Claim 1, Jenski discloses a coupling arrangement for use in an air delivery circuit, the coupling arrangement comprising (Fig. 1-5B):
a first connector tube (Fig. 1-5B; 14) defining a first passage therethrough;
a second connector tube (Fig. 1-5B; 12) defining a second passage therethrough disposed about a longitudinal axis (Fig. 1-5B; Examiner notes: tube 12 fits into 14), the second connector tube structured to telescopically receive a portion of the first connector tube within the second passage of the second connector tube (Fig. 1-5B); and
a release mechanism (Fig. 1-4; 35, 37, 39, 60) having a number of actuatable wedges (Fig. 1-4; 37) , the release mechanism coupled to one of the first connector tube or the second connector tube (Fig. 1-4; is connected to 14), wherein the first connector tube and the second connector tube each have a number of corresponding features which latch the first connector tube within the second passage of the second connector tube when the first connector tube is axially inserted along the longitudinal axis a predetermined distance (d) within the second passage of the second connector tube (Fig. 1-4), and
wherein actuation of the number of wedges (35 with 37 is pushed down towards the center axis) radially toward the longitudinal axis causes axial movement among the first connector tube and the second connector tube a second predetermined distance (d') sufficient to unlatch the corresponding features (Fig. 1-4; Col. 2 ln 20- Col. 4 ln 31).
Regarding Claim 2, Jenski discloses the coupling arrangement of claim 1, wherein the number of actuatable wedges (Fig. 1-4; 35, 37) comprises at least two wedges positioned as an opposing pair (Fig. 1-4; 35, 37; Col. 4 ln 22-30; there are two 37 wedges on opposing sides of 14 but only one is labeled in figure 3).
Regarding Claim 3, Jenski discloses the coupling arrangement of claim 2, wherein the release mechanism comprises a biasing member coupled between the at least two wedges, the biasing member being structured to bias the at least two wedges apart.
Regarding Claim 7, Jenski discloses the coupling arrangement of claim 1, wherein the number of corresponding features of the first connector tube (Fig. 1-4; 14) comprises at least one prong (Fig. 1-4; balls 30 and 58), and wherein the number of corresponding features of the second connector (Fig. 1-4; 12) tube comprises a shoulder portion (Fig. 1-4; 20 and 66) bounding the second passage.
Regarding Claim 8, Jenski discloses the coupling arrangement of claim 7, wherein a free end of each prong(Fig. 1-4; balls 30 and 58) is hooked onto the shoulder portion (Fig. 1-4; 20 and 66) when the second connector tube is coupled to the first connector tube (Fig. 1-4), and wherein actuating the release mechanism forces the prong to be unhooked from the shoulder and decouples the second connector tube from the first connector tube (Col. 3 ln 41-Col. 4 ln 30).
Regarding Claim 15, Jenski discloses the method of operating a coupling arrangement, the method comprising:
coupling a first connector tube (Fig. 1-4; 14) and second connector tube (Fig. 1-4; 12) by inserting the first connector tube into the second connector tube a distance (d) along a longitudinal axis of the second connector tube such that a number of corresponding features of the first connector tube and the second connector tube latch the first connector tube within the second passage of the second connector tube ((Fig. 1-4; Col. 2 ln 20- Col. 4 ln 31); and
decoupling the first connector tube and second connector tube by actuating a number of wedges (Fig. 1-4; 35, 56, 37, 39) of a release mechanism radially toward the longitudinal axis by grasping/pressing the number of wedges (37) with a single hand thus causing axial movement among the first connector tube and the second connector tube a second predetermined distance (d') that is sufficient to unlatch the first connector tube from the second connector tube (Col. 4 ln 22-30).
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kuo et al. (US 20150107586 A1), hereafter as Kuo.
Regarding Claim 11, Kuo discloses a respiratory interface system for use in providing a regimen of respiratory therapy to a patient (Fig. 1-6), the respiratory interface system comprising: a pressure generating device (para. 0022; flow of gas to the mask); a delivery conduit (Fig. 1; 4); a patient interface (Fig 1; 1); and a coupling arrangement coupling the delivery conduit to the patient interface (Fig. 1-6), the coupling arrangement comprising:
a first connector tube (Fig. 1; 2) defining a first passage therethrough;
a second connector tube (Fig. 1; 3) defining a second passage therethrough disposed about a longitudinal axis, the second connector tube structured to telescopically receive a portion of the first connector tube within the second passage of the second connector tube (Fig. 1; 2 and 3 are connected together; shown best in Fig. 5); and
a release mechanism (Fig. 1-5; 32) having a number of actuatable wedges (Fig. 5; the corners of 32), the release mechanism coupled to the second connector tube (Fig. 1-6; 32 is connected to 3),
wherein the first connector tube and the second connector tube each have a number of corresponding features (Fig. 5; protuberances 21-22 fits onto recesses 31, 33) which latch the first connector tube within the second passage of the second connector tube when the first connector tube is axially inserted along the longitudinal axis a predetermined distance (d) within the second passage of the second connector tube (Fig. 5), and
wherein actuation of the number of wedges radially toward the longitudinal axis causes axial movement among the first connector tube and the second connector tube a second predetermined distance (d') sufficient to unlatch the corresponding features (Fig. 5-6; para. 0022-0023).
Regarding Claim 12, Kuo discloses the respiratory interface system of claim 11, wherein the number of actuatable wedges (Fig. 5; the corners of 32) comprises at least two wedges positioned as an opposing pair (Fig. 5; there are two wedges on either side of elbow 3) ,
wherein the release mechanism (Fig. 1-5; 32) comprises a biasing member coupled between the at least two wedges (Fig. 1-6; elbow 3 is connected between the two wedges), and wherein the biasing member is structured to bias the at least two wedges apart (Fig. 5 shows it best).
Regarding Claim 13, Kuo discloses the respiratory interface system of claim 11, wherein:
the coupling arrangement (Fig. 1-2, 5-6; 2 and 3 connects) couples the delivery conduit (Fig. 1; 4) to the patient interface (Fig. 1-2; 1),
the one of the first connector tube (Fig. 1; 2) extends from a manifold portion of a tubing assembly associated with the patient interface (Fig. 1-2, 5-6), and the second connector tube extends from the delivery conduit (Fig. 1-2).
Regarding Claim 14, Kuo discloses the respiratory interface system of claim 11, wherein the coupling arrangement couples the delivery conduit to the patient interface (Fig. 1-2), the second connector tube (Fig. 1-4; 3) extends from an elbow connector coupled to the delivery conduit (Fig. 1-2; 4), and the other of the first connector tube (Fig. 1-2; 2) extends from a faceplate associated with the patient interface (Fig. 1-2; 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenski, as applied to claim 1, in view of Kuo.
Regarding Claim 9, Jenski discloses the coupling arrangement of claim 1, wherein the one of the first connector tube (Fig. 1-4; 14) or the second connector tube (Fig. 1-4; 12)
Jenski does not specifically disclose where one of the tubes extends from a manifold portion of a tubing assembly, and the other of the first connector tube or the second connector tube extends from a flexible conduit.
However, Kuo teaches where one of the tubes extends from a manifold portion (Fig. 1-2; 1) of a tubing assembly, and the other of the first connector tube or the second connector tube extends from a flexible conduit (Fig. 1-2; 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection of Jenski to be connect where one of the tubes extends from a manifold portion of a tubing assembly, and the other of the first connector tube or the second connector tube extends from a flexible conduit as taught by Kuo for the purpose of user can easily attach or detach the pipe-end joint to or from the respiratory mask by using his/her fingers to simultaneously press the resilient members (para. 0008).
Regarding Claim 10, Jenski discloses the coupling arrangement of claim 1,
Jenski does not disclose wherein the one of the first connector tube or the second connector tube extends from an elbow connector, and the other of the first connector tube or the second connector tube extends from a faceplate.
However, Kuo teaches wherein the one of the first connector tube or the second connector tube extends from an elbow connector (Fig. 1-4; 3), and the other of the first connector tube or the second connector tube extends from a faceplate (Fig. 1-2; 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the connection of Jenski to be connect the one of the first connector tube or the second connector tube extends from an elbow connector, and the other of the first connector tube or the second connector tube extends from a faceplate as taught by Kuo for the purpose of user can easily attach or detach the pipe-end joint to or from the respiratory mask by using his/her fingers to simultaneously press the resilient members (para. 0008).
Claim Objections
Claim 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The subject matter of the dependent claim could either not be found or was not suggested in the prior art of record. The prior art does not disclose or render obvious the combination as claimed specifically including the tube connection of claim 1, wherein each wedge of the number of actuatable wedges comprises a wedge body having a radially inward-facing sloped surface structured to engage one of the first connector tube or the second connector tube, an outward facing pressing surface, a base surface structured to engage the other one of the first connector tube and the second connector tube, and a leading edge disposed between the inward-facing sloped surface and the base surface that is structured to engage an intersection between the first connector tube and the second connector tube.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references. Other prior art of particular note include: Ciccone et al. (US 20180256878 A1; Fig. 2H and 3H), Poder et al. (US 20100127492 A1; Fig. 1).
MAAP A. ELLABIB
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/M.A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785