Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
Electric unit
1
A driving battery, a power converter, a motor, and the like (¶0015))
Heating unit
1
The bypass path of a hot water passage of a cooling circuit (¶0023) or a heat exchanger (¶0043)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “contact-type automatic charger” in claim 1 is used by the claim to mean “a charging device which receives power from a contact power feed or non-contact power feed” while the accepted meaning is “a charging device which receives power from a contact power feed.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term. As stated in the specification in paragraph ¶0016 of the PGPUG, the contact-type automatic charger is described as either receiving power from contact power or non-contact power, and so it is unclear if the contact-type automatic charger is intended to limit the system to contact based power transmission methods or non-contact, wireless, based power transmission methods. For the purpose of this examination, examiner interprets this term to be read as its accepted meaning of “a charging device which receives power from a contact power feed”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, & 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stockinger et al. (USPGPN 2019/0263278), in view of Amma et al. (USPGPN 2013/0175987) and Yasuzawa (Japanese Publication JP 2016112919 A – published 2016).
Regarding Claim 1, Stockinger (Fig.1) teaches a charging control device comprising:
a contact-type automatic charger (14) arranged under a floor (¶0074: underbody of the vehicle) and having an opening that opens to an outer surface of a vehicle body (Fig.1: the underbody of the vehicle is open to an outer surface of the vehicle body); and
a heating unit (29) which heats the contact-type automatic charger.
Stockinger fails to explicitly teach a protective cover that opens and closes the opening;
a cooling water circuit that cools at least one of an internal combustion engine prime mover or an electric unit; and
a heating unit that is provided on a high water temperature path of the cooling water circuit and heats the contact-type automatic charger.
However, Amma (Fig.9) teaches a protective cover (63) that opens and closes an opening (64a) for a vehicle charger (32) arranged under a floor (¶0039: power receiving system is on the lower surface of the vehicle body).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Stockinger with Amma to include a protective cover for opening and closing an opening to a vehicle charger. Doing so helps prevent contamination of components of the vehicle charger such as adhesion of mud or the like, as evidenced by Amma (¶0013).
Lastly, Yasuzawa (Fig.3) teaches a cooling water circuit (90) that cools at least one of an internal combustion engine prime mover (22) or an electric unit; and
a heating unit (104) that is provided on a high water temperature path of the cooling water circuit (branch 104 is positioned after the engine 22 and therefore has higher water temperature due to heat exchanged with the engine) and heats a component (106) for the benefit of suppressing freezing of the component (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Stockinger with Yasuzawa to include a cooling water circuit that cools at least one of an internal combustion engine prime mover or an electric unit, and replacing the heating unit of Stockinger with a heating unit that is provided on a high water temperature path of the cooling water circuit and heats a vehicle charger. Doing so would provide the benefit of suppressing freezing of a vehicle component, in this case the vehicle charger, using the high water temperature path of the cooling water circuit, as evidenced by Yasuzawa.
Regarding Claim 3, Stockinger, as modified, further teaches wherein the heating unit includes a bypass path (Yasuzawa - Fig.3: 104) and in which hot water for cooling waste heat of the cooling water circuit flows (as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above); and
a heat exchanger (Stockinger – heating unit 29 is exposed to the air and would exchange heat between outside air and the heating unit to warm air near the protective cover; Yasuzawa – branch flow path 104 is connected to grill shutter 106 therefore indicating the presence of a heat exchanger) that is provided in the bypass path, exchanges heat between outside air and hot water in the bypass path, and delivers warm air to the protective cover.
Stockinger, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except the heating unit is not provided on a front side of the vehicle body compared to the contact-type automatic charger. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to move the heating unit to a front side of the vehicle body, since applicant has not disclosed that the specific location solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the heating unit provided on a front side of the vehicle body instead of the back.
Regarding Claim 4, Stockinger further teaches a temperature sensor that detects temperature (Stockinger - ¶0120: heating is activated if the temperature is below freezing, indicating the presence of a temperature sensor),
a changeover switch (Yasuzawa – Fig.3:164) that is provided between a hot water passage in the cooling water circuit and the bypass path and causes a part of the hot water to flow in the bypass path, and
a processor that controls the changeover switch on a basis of a result of the detection of the temperature sensor (Yasuzawa – Fig.3:24).
Claim(s) 1 & 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patwardhan (USPGPN 2009/0011616), in view of Amma et al. (USPGPN 2013/0175987) and Yasuzawa (Japanese Publication JP 2016112919 A – published 2016).
Regarding Claim 1, Patwardhan (Fig.6) teaches a charging control device comprising:
a contact-type automatic charger (13) arranged under a floor (Fig.5) and having an opening that opens to an outer surface of a vehicle body (Fig.5: the underbody of the vehicle is open to an outer surface of the vehicle body); and
a heating unit (¶0050: heating elements embedded in the conducting arrays) which heats the contact-type automatic charger.
Stockinger fails to explicitly teach a protective cover that opens and closes the opening;
a cooling water circuit that cools at least one of an internal combustion engine prime mover or an electric unit; and
a heating unit that is provided on a high water temperature path of the cooling water circuit and heats the contact-type automatic charger.
However, Amma (Fig.9) teaches a protective cover (63) that opens and closes an opening (64a) for a vehicle charger (32) arranged under a floor (¶0039: power receiving system is on the lower surface of the vehicle body).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Patwardhan with Amma to include a protective cover for opening and closing an opening to a vehicle charger. Doing so helps prevent contamination of components of the vehicle charger such as adhesion of mud or the like, as evidenced by Amma (¶0013).
Lastly, Yasuzawa (Fig.3) teaches a cooling water circuit (90) that cools at least one of an internal combustion engine prime mover (22) or an electric unit; and
a heating unit (104) that is provided on a high water temperature path of the cooling water circuit (branch 104 is positioned after the engine 22 and therefore has higher water temperature due to heat exchanged with the engine) and heats a component (106) for the benefit of suppressing freezing of the component (Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Patwardhan with Yasuzawa to include a cooling water circuit that cools at least one of an internal combustion engine prime mover or an electric unit, and replacing the heating unit of Patwardhan with a heating unit that is provided on a high water temperature path of the cooling water circuit and heats a vehicle charger. Doing so would provide the benefit of suppressing freezing of a vehicle component, in this case the vehicle charger, using the high water temperature path of the cooling water circuit, as evidenced by Yasuzawa.
Regarding Claim 2, Patwardhan, as modified, further teaches herein the heating unit includes a bypass path (Yasuzawa - Fig.3: 104) which passes through a part of the contact-type automatic charger (Patwardhan - ¶0050: heating elements embedded in the conducting arrays) and in which hot water for cooling waste heat of the cooling water circuit flows (Yasuzawa - branch 104 is positioned after the engine 22 and therefore has higher water temperature due to heat exchanged with the engine).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hiramitsu et al. (USPGPN 2017/0365901) teaches a heating system for a vehicle fuel cell.
/JOHN P ONDRASIK/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859