Drawings
The drawings were received on 22 September 2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 5/22/2026. As directed by the amendment, claims 1-4, 8-9, 13, 15-16 and 18 have been amended and claim 20 has been added. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in this application.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the grounds of rejection set forth in the previous action, however, new or otherwise amended grounds of the rejection have been applied to the claims in this action, as necessitated by applicant’s amendments.
The affidavit under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 22 May 2026 is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claim 4 and 16 based upon 35 U.S.C 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baudoin et. al. (US 20210231254) in view of Bianco et. al. (US 20150186837).
Regarding claims 1, 13, and 18, Baudoin et. al. teaches: A method of assembling and ascertaining a plurality of fluid line quick connectors in a fluid line assembly, the method comprising: assembling the plurality of fluid line quick connectors in respective connection locations of the fluid line assembly (“assembly 10 here includes a fluid line connector 12 and another separate and discrete connector 14” [Para. 26, lines 7-8 and Fig. 2]); obtaining a first set of unique identifiers and a connection state or disconnection state of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors from each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, the first unique identifiers identifying individual fluid line quick connectors of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors having a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag conveying the first set of unique identifiers and connection or disconnection state (“The RFID chip 32 transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signals with an RFID interrogator 56” [Para. 28, lines 3-4] and “The information conveyed can also include a serial number, location of installation, etc.” [Para. 28, lines 28-30] and conveys whether there is proper connection/securement between the connector and the fluid line [Para. 28, lines 7-8]); and determining the at least one connection state of the fluid line assembly and displaying connection information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors and based at least on the connection state or disconnection state of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (It is described in the disclosure that the RF signal 60 conveys data and information to the RFID interrogator 56 which can include conveying connection information as an “ON signal” to the interrogator, where the interrogator can be a mobile device/hand-held device [Para. 28, lines 18-27]).
Baudoin et. al. fails to teach: scanning a data matrix in order to obtain a second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the fluid line quick connectors, and determining and displaying connection state in the fluid line assembly based at least on correspondence of the first set of unique identifiers with a second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, wherein the second set of unique identifiers is a reference for the first set of unique identifiers
Bianco et. al. teaches: A method of assembling and ascertaining a plurality of fluid line quick connectors in a fluid line assembly which comprises assembling the plurality of fluid line quick connectors in respective connection locations of the fluid line assembly (relating method is to correctly determine plurality of line connections with connectors using RFID or data matrix [Para. 52, lines 4-14 and Fig. 2]); scanning a data matrix in order to obtain a second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the fluid line quick connectors (“hose coupling 303 with barcode label 313 applied to recessed area 304 to form intelligent barcode quick connect hose coupling 336” [Para. 60, lines 5-7 and Fig. 11B] where the barcode is scanned for user to receive identifier information [Para. 6, lines 17-21]). Where the use of a second barcode within the connection location: “intelligent barcode snap ring assembly 307A attached to a quick connect storage tank manifold ports 301, to form an intelligent manifold port assembly 335.” [Para. 59, lines 10-13] which is scanned to identify the port [Para. 6, lines 17-21]), and determining and displaying connection state in the fluid line assembly based at least on correspondence of the first set of unique identifiers with a second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, wherein the second set of unique identifiers is a reference for the first set of unique identifiers (Method describes information of the connector and port being used in reference with each other to determine correct connection and then the connection state is displayed [Para. 89, lines 4-13 and Para. 5, lines 7-14]).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the connector of Baudoin et. al. with the teachings of Bianco et. al. as it is evident by the disclosure of Bianco et. al. that a data matrix is capable of being used in place of, and interchangeable with, RFID technology as both can use a scanner and convey information for accurate operation of the invention (Bianco et. al. – Para. 2, lines 9-13) which can be used in a method of verifying a plurality of connections (Bianco et. al. - Para. 52, lines 4-14) in order to prevent mix-up between hoses, tanks, or other equipment that necessitates the connection, in an accurate and cost-effective way (Bianco et. al. - Para. 2).
Regarding claim 2 and 15, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 1 and 13, respectively, wherein obtaining the first set of unique identifiers and connection or disconnection state comprises providing each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors with a radio-frequency (RF) signaling at the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors having a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag conveying the first set of unique identifiers and connection or disconnection state (Baudoin et. al. - “The RFID chip 32 transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signals with an RFID interrogator 56” [Para. 28, lines 3-4] and “The information conveyed can also include a serial number, location of installation, etc” [Para. 28, lines 28-30], where the RFID tag is located on the connector [Fig 2] and the tag further conveys “the detection of proper and full securement between the fluid line connector 12 and the connector 14.” [Para. 28, lines 1-3]).
Regarding claim 3 and 16, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 1 and 13, respectively, wherein obtaining the first set of unique identifiers and connection or disconnection state comprises scanning a data matrix at the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors carrying a data matrix, the data matrix conveying the first set of unique identifiers when scanned and connection or disconnection state when scanned (“hose coupling 303 with barcode label 313 applied to recessed area 304 to form intelligent barcode quick connect hose coupling 336” [Bianco et. al. - Para. 60, lines 5-7 and Fig. 11B] where the barcode is scanned for user to receive identifier information [Bianco et. al. - Para. 6, lines 17-21]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 1, further comprising obtaining a connection state or disconnection state of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (Baudoin et. al. - The communication between the RFID chip and interrogator is such that the RF signal 60 conveys data and information to the RFID interrogator 56 which can include conveying connection information from full securement detection [Para. 28, lines 1-8 and 18-27]).
Regarding claim 5 and 17, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 1 and 13, respectively, further comprising scanning a data matrix in order to obtain the second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (The use of a second barcode within the connection location: “intelligent barcode snap ring assembly 307A attached to a quick connect storage tank manifold ports 301, to form an intelligent manifold port assembly 335.” [Bianco et. al. - Para. 59, lines 10-13] which is scanned to identify the port [Bianco et. al. - Para. 6, lines 17-21]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 5 (See rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the data matrix is carried by the fluid line assembly (“intelligent barcode snap ring assembly 307A attached to a quick connect storage tank manifold ports 301, to form an intelligent manifold port assembly 335.” [Bianco et. al. - Para. 59, lines 10-13]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 5 (See rejection of claim 5 above), wherein scanning the data matrix and obtaining the second set of unique identifiers and positional information is performed prior to obtaining the first set of unique identifiers (Contains the method which scans the barcode on the outlet/manifold port, thereby gathering the second set of unique identifiers, prior to scanning the barcode on the connector, thereby gathering the first set of unique identifiers [Bianco et. al. - Para. 6, lines 1-4]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 1, wherein the positional information is second positional information, the connection locations are first connection locations, and the method further comprises obtaining first positional information, the first positional information providing the first connection locations of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, wherein the second positional information is a reference for the first positional information (Bianco et. al. - “hose coupling 303 with barcode label 313 applied to recessed area 304 to form intelligent barcode quick connect hose coupling 336” [Para. 60, lines 5-7 and Fig. 11B] where the barcode is scanned for user to receive identifier information [Para. 6, lines 17-21]). Where the use of a second barcode within the connection location: “intelligent barcode snap ring assembly 307A attached to a quick connect storage tank manifold ports 301, to form an intelligent manifold port assembly 335.” [Para. 59, lines 10-13] which is scanned to identify the port [Para. 6, lines 17-21]), where the connector and port being used in reference with each other to determine correct connection and then the connection state is displayed [Para. 89, lines 4-13 and Para. 5, lines 7-14]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 8, further comprising obtaining the second positional information, the second positional information providing second connection locations of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, and wherein the second unique identifiers identify the individual fluid line quick connectors of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors Bianco et. al. - “hose coupling 303 with barcode label 313 applied to recessed area 304 to form intelligent barcode quick connect hose coupling 336” [Para. 60, lines 5-7 and Fig. 11B] where the barcode is scanned for user to receive identifier information [Para. 6, lines 17-21]). Where the use of a second barcode within the connection location: “intelligent barcode snap ring assembly 307A attached to a quick connect storage tank manifold ports 301, to form an intelligent manifold port assembly 335.” [Para. 59, lines 10-13] which is scanned to identify the port [Para. 6, lines 17-21]), where the connector and port being used in reference with each other to determine correct connection and then the connection state is displayed [Para. 89, lines 4-13 and Para. 5, lines 7-14]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 1, wherein displaying the connection information comprises displaying individual connection states of each of the fluid line quick connectors at each of the respective connection locations of the fluid line assembly (display of connection states is done individually for each connection [Bianco et. al. - Para. 89, lines 4-13] and The RF signal 60 conveys data and information to the RFID interrogator 56 which can include conveying connection information as an “ON signal” to the interrogator, where the interrogator can be a mobile device/hand-held device [Baudoin et. al. - Para. 28, lines 18-27]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 10, wherein the individual connection states of the fluid line assembly is indicative of whether connections have been made between the plurality of fluid line quick connectors and corresponding connection ends of the fluid line assembly (Baudoin et. al. - The communication between the RFID chip and interrogator is such that the RF signal 60 conveys data and information to the RFID interrogator 56 which can include conveying connection information from full securement detection [Para. 28, lines 1-8 and 18-27] such that “when the fluid line connector 12 and connector 14 exhibit full securement, the first RFID chip 32 can convey the fully secured information to the RFID interrogator 56. Conversely, when the fluid line connector 12 and connector 14 are not fully secured together, the second RFID chip 33 can convey this less-than fully secured information to the RFID interrogator 56” [Para. 34, lines 9-16]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 1, wherein the connection information comprises presence or absence of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors at the respective connection locations of the fluid line assembly (Baudoin et. al. - “when not fully secured together, the first RFID chip 32 does not convey the fully secured information to the RFID interrogator 56. As in the previous embodiment, the first and second RFID chips, 32, 33 can convey additional information such as a serial number, location of installation, etc.” [Para. 34, lines 18-23]).
Regarding claim 14 and 19, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 13 and 18, respectively, further comprising displaying the at least one connection state of the fluid line assembly based at least on correspondence of the first set of unique identifiers with the second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, and based at least on the connection state or disconnection state of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (“fluid line connector 12 includes more than a single RFID chip. With particular reference to FIG. 3, a second RFID chip 33 is provided in addition to the first RFID chip 32. And like the first RFID chip 32, the second RFID chip 33 assists in the detection of proper and full securement between the fluid line connector 12 and the connector 14” [Baudoin et. al. - Para. 34, lines 1-7] where the RF signal 60 conveys data and information to the RFID interrogator 56 which can include conveying connection information as an “ON signal” to the interrogator [Baudoin et. al. - Para. 28, lines 18-27]. Furthermore, Bianco et. al. teachings include at barcode scanning terminal containing a display [Bianco et. al. – Para. 61, lines 3-6] which displays relevant information obtained from the barcodes on the ports and connectors [Para. 89, lines 9-13]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 1, further comprising obtaining the second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors via a predefined line map (Bianco et. al. – the scanner and operator receive a schedule containing the unique identifier and positional information [Para. 5, lines 5-7]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 15-16, filed 22 May 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Baudoin et. al. (US 20210231254) in view of Bianco et. al. (US 20150186837).
Regarding the argument made for patentability of claim 18, see page 17, applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Applicant merely states the deficiencies of “Baudoin are not cured by Bianco” (lines 12-13). However, Baudoin et. al. in view of Bianco et. al. teaches the limitations of claim 18 as described in the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C 103 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA D LEARY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753