DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4, 9, 1, 18-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 and 15 recite confusing language as “providing each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors with a radio-frequency (RF) signaling at the connection locations of the fluid line assembly and at the plurality of fluid line quick connectors”. The language suggests a RF signal in communication with the quick connectors but then describes the signal reaching the two locations: fluid line assembly and fluid line quick connector. Since the language following this limitation describes that the quick connector has a RFID tag, it will be assumed that the signal will only communicate with the connector. Furthermore, the claims are written in a passive voice and would read better in an active voice.
Claim 3 and 16 recite “providing each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors with a data matrix scanning at the connection locations of the fluid line assembly and at the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors having a data matrix carried thereby conveying the first set of unique identifiers”. The claim language doesn’t particularly point out what is scanned and where a data matrix is. Firstly, the claim states the method provides a quick connector with a data matrix scanning at the fluid line assembly and at the quick connector. It is unclear as to how one would provide “a scanning” for an element but scan a data matrix at two different locations. While “providing… a data matrix scanning” is assumed to essentially means that the method has an event of scanning a data matrix at various locations, the language of providing a scanning results in confusion as to what the claim is clearly defining. Secondly, the claim further indicates the quick connectors “having a data matrix carried thereby conveying” information. The wording in this phrase would suggest that the quick connectors include a data matrix attached in some capacity and the data matrix carries, i.e is encoded with, the first unique identifiers. However, it is assumed that the claim is meaning the quick connector carries/contains a data matrix which is encoded with the first set of unique identifiers. It is also unclear how the mere inclusion of a data matrix on, within, or attached in some capacity to the quick connector would convey the unique identifiers. It is assumed that the wording “thereby conveying the first set of unique identifiers” relates rather to the act of scanning the data matrix, but this fact is unclear. The language used within this claim is unclear and cause difficulty in comprehension that would otherwise result in more accurately pointing out the claimed subject matter. Furthermore, the claims are written in a passive voice and would read better in an active voice.
Claim 4 fails to particularly point out the subject matter as it is unclear whether “the connection state or disconnection state”, line 2, of the fluid line quick connectors is a component of the first set of unique identifiers, a by-product of the first set of unique identifiers, or a wholly separate element within the method.
Furthermore regarding claim 4, the method claim describes that obtaining the first set of unique identifiers also includes obtaining a connection state or disconnection state presumably related to the first set of unique identifiers. However, this limitation is indefinite because there is insufficient description to identify how the result is achieved due to the specification merely reiterating the limitation of the claim as it relates to the result of obtaining a connection state or disconnection state. This is evident in Para. 12 lines 8-12, Para. 13 lines 22-26, Para. 16 lines 12-19, and Para. 22 lines 18-20. These instances indicate that the connection state or disconnection state is obtained via RFID or data matrices but add no supporting structure or process that would reasonably allow one skilled in the art to recognize how the RFID or data matrix would have and therefore convey said information. Furthermore, paragraph 19 of the specification primarily describes the display/output of the connection state for a user, however it, along with the other instances described above, does not iterate how the connection state is determined and encoded on the RFID tag or data matrix and would therefore be a component of obtaining the first unique identifier. Thus, the method in which the RFID and data matrix ascertains or obtains the connection information in the first place is ambiguous and makes the claim indefinite.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the second positional information" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites the limitation of positional information but does not indicate whether it relates to a first or second set of unique identifiers as well as if there is a first positional information or a second positional information. Therefore, there is no antecedent basis prior to the recitation of “the second positional information” in claim 9.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “second connection locations” in line 3. There is no recitation of a first connection location and therefore causes ambiguity in the perceived meaning of second connection locations. Furthermore, there is no support within specification which would insinuate a second connection location. The definition of second connection locations could be in reference to distance, time, or predetermined numbered locations.
Regarding claim 15 and 18, the method claims describe obtaining a connection or disconnection state via RFID tag located on a fluid line quick connector. The limitation as described by these claims is indefinite as there is insufficient description to identify how the result is achieved by the lack of supporting structure or processes that would allow one skilled in the art to recognize how the RFID tag would have the connection or disconnection state of the fluid line quick connector. This is evident as the claim language is merely reiterated within the specification with no additional support in Para. 13 lines 22-26, and Para. 16 lines 12-19. Therefore, the method of the RFID ascertaining or obtaining the connection information is ambiguous and makes the claim indefinite. Furthermore, claim 19 is rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 18.
Regarding claim 16, the method claim describes obtaining a connection or disconnection state via a data matrix located on each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors. However, the claim is indefinite as the disclosure fails to sufficiently identify how the result is achieved. The corresponding description in Para. 22 lines 18-20 within the specification merely reiterates the function as described in the claim without adding support to how the result is achieved, i.e. the data matrix having the connection or disconnection state of the fluid line quick connector. Therefore, the method of the data matrix ascertaining or obtaining the connection state is ambiguous and makes the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,4,8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Baudoin et. al. (US 20210231254).
Regarding claim 1, Baudoin et. al. teaches: A method of assembling a plurality of fluid line quick connectors in a fluid line assembly, the method comprising: assembling the plurality of fluid line quick connectors in respective connection locations of the fluid line assembly (“assembly 10 here includes a fluid line connector 12 and another separate and discrete connector 14” [Para. 26, lines 7-8 and Fig. 2]); obtaining a first set of unique identifiers of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors from each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, the first unique identifiers identifying individual fluid line quick connectors of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (“The RFID chip 32 transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signals with an RFID interrogator 56” [Para. 28, lines 3-4] and “The information conveyed can also include a serial number, location of installation, etc” [Para. 28, lines 28-30]); and displaying connection information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors in the fluid line assembly based at least on correspondence of the first set of unique identifiers with a second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (It is described in the disclosure that the RF signal 60 conveys data and information to the RFID interrogator 56 which can include conveying connection information as an “ON signal” to the interrogator, where the interrogator can be a mobile device/hand-held device [Para. 28, lines 18-27]).
Although the prior art does not disclose the plurality of connectors in the fluid line assembly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the connector and connection locations within a fluid line of Baudoin et. al., since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of the device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis CO., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 2, Baudoin et. al. teaches: wherein obtaining the first set of unique identifiers comprises providing each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors with a radio-frequency (RF) signaling at the connection locations of the fluid line assembly and at the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors having a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag conveying the first set of unique identifiers (“The RFID chip 32 transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signals with an RFID interrogator 56” [Para. 28, lines 3-4] and “The information conveyed can also include a serial number, location of installation, etc” [Para. 28, lines 28-30], where the RFID tag is located on the connector [Fig 2]).
Regarding claim 4, Baudoin et. al. teaches: wherein obtaining the first set of unique identifiers comprises obtaining a connection state or disconnection state of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (The communication between the RFID chip and interrogator is such that the RF signal 60 conveys data and information to the RFID interrogator 56 which can include conveying connection information from full securement detection [Para. 28, lines 1-8 and 18-27]).
Regarding claim 8, Baudoin et. al. teaches: further comprising obtaining first positional information, the first positional information providing first connection locations of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (“the first and second RFID chips, 32, 33 can convey additional information such as a serial number, location of installation, etc.” [Para. 34, lines 21-23]).
Regarding claim 9, Baudoin et. al. teaches: wherein the second unique identifiers identify the individual fluid line quick connectors of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, and the second positional information provides second connection locations of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (“fluid line connector 12 includes more than a single RFID chip. With particular reference to FIG. 3, a second RFID chip 33 is provided in addition to the first RFID chip 32. And like the first RFID chip 32, the second RFID chip 33 assists in the detection of proper and full securement between the fluid line connector 12 and the connector 14” [Para. 34, lines 1-7] and “the first and second RFID chips, 32, 33 can convey additional information such as a serial number, location of installation, etc.” [Para. 34, lines 21-23]).
Regarding claim 10, Baudoin et. al. teaches: wherein displaying the connection information comprises displaying individual connection states of each of the fluid line quick connectors at each of the respective connection locations of the fluid line assembly (The RF signal 60 conveys data and information to the RFID interrogator 56 which can include conveying connection information as an “ON signal” to the interrogator, where the interrogator can be a mobile device/hand-held device [Para. 28, lines 18-27]).
Regarding claim 11, Baudoin et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 10, wherein the individual connection states of the fluid line assembly is indicative of whether connections have been made between the plurality of fluid line quick connectors and corresponding connection ends of the fluid line assembly (The communication between the RFID chip and interrogator is such that the RF signal 60 conveys data and information to the RFID interrogator 56 which can include conveying connection information from full securement detection [Para. 28, lines 1-8 and 18-27] such that “when the fluid line connector 12 and connector 14 exhibit full securement, the first RFID chip 32 can convey the fully secured information to the RFID interrogator 56. Conversely, when the fluid line connector 12 and connector 14 are not fully secured together, the second RFID chip 33 can convey this less-than fully secured information to the RFID interrogator 56” [Para. 34, lines 9-16]).
Regarding claim 12, Baudoin et. al. teaches: wherein the connection information comprises presence or absence of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors at the respective connection locations of the fluid line assembly (“when not fully secured together, the first RFID chip 32 does not convey the fully secured information to the RFID interrogator 56. As in the previous embodiment, the first and second RFID chips, 32, 33 can convey additional information such as a serial number, location of installation, etc.” [Para. 34, lines 18-23]).
Regarding claim 13, Baudoin et. al. teaches: A method of ascertaining at least one connection state of a fluid line assembly, the method comprising: assembling a plurality of fluid line quick connectors in respective connection locations of the fluid line assembly (“assembly 10 here includes a fluid line connector 12 and another separate and discrete connector 14” [Para. 26, lines 7-8 and Fig. 2]); obtaining a first set of unique identifiers and a connection state or disconnection state of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors from each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, the first unique identifiers identifying individual fluid line quick connectors of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (“The RFID chip 32 transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signals with an RFID interrogator 56” [Para. 28, lines 3-4] where “The information conveyed can also include a serial number, location of installation, etc” [Para. 28, lines 28-30] and conveys whether there is proper connection/securement between the connector and the fluid line [Para. 28, lines 7-8]); and determining the at least one connection state of the fluid line assembly based at least on correspondence of the first set of unique identifiers with a second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, and based at least on the connection state or disconnection state of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (“fluid line connector 12 includes more than a single RFID chip. With particular reference to FIG. 3, a second RFID chip 33 is provided in addition to the first RFID chip 32. And like the first RFID chip 32, the second RFID chip 33 assists in the detection of proper and full securement between the fluid line connector 12 and the connector 14” [Para. 34, lines 1-7] and “the first and second RFID chips, 32, 33 can convey additional information such as a serial number, location of installation, etc.” [Para. 34, lines 21-23]).
Regarding claim 14, Baudoin et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 13, further comprising displaying the at least one connection state of the fluid line assembly based at least on correspondence of the first set of unique identifiers with the second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, and based at least on the connection state or disconnection state of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (“fluid line connector 12 includes more than a single RFID chip. With particular reference to FIG. 3, a second RFID chip 33 is provided in addition to the first RFID chip 32. And like the first RFID chip 32, the second RFID chip 33 assists in the detection of proper and full securement between the fluid line connector 12 and the connector 14” [Para. 34, lines 1-7] where the RF signal 60 conveys data and information to the RFID interrogator 56 which can include conveying connection information as an “ON signal” to the interrogator [Para. 28, lines 18-27]).
Regarding claim 15, Baudoin et. al. teaches: The method as set forth in claim 13, wherein obtaining the first set of unique identifiers and connection or disconnection state comprises providing each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors with a radio-frequency (RF) signaling at the connection locations of the fluid line assembly and at the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors having a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag conveying the first set of unique identifiers and connection or disconnection state identifiers (“The RFID chip 32 transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signals with an RFID interrogator 56” [Para. 28, lines 3-4] and “The information conveyed can also include a serial number, location of installation, etc” [Para. 28, lines 28-30], where the RFID tag is located on the connector [Fig 2] and the tag further conveys “the detection of proper and full securement between the fluid line connector 12 and the connector 14.” [Para. 28, lines 1-3]).
Claims 3,5-7, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Baudoin et. al. (US 20210231254) in view of Bianco et. al. (US 20150186837).
Regarding claim 3 and 16, Baudoin et. al. teaches the method as set forth in claim 1 and 13, respectively, but fails to teach the further limitations.
Bianco et. al. teaches: wherein obtaining the first set of unique identifiers and connection or disconnection state comprises providing each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors with a data matrix scanning at the connection locations of the fluid line assembly and at the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors having a data matrix carried thereby conveying the first set of unique identifiers and connection or disconnection state (“hose coupling 303 with barcode label 313 applied to recessed area 304 to form intelligent barcode quick connect hose coupling 336” [Para. 60, lines 5-7 and Fig. 11B] where the barcode is scanned for user to receive identifier information [Para. 6, lines 17-21]).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baudoin et. al. to substitute the RFID tag with a data matrix of Bianco et. al. as it is evident by the disclosure of Bianco et. al. that a data matrix is capable of being used in place of, and interchangeable with, RFID technology as both can use a scanner and convey information for accurate operation of the invention (Bianco et. al. – Para. 2, lines 9-13).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Baudoin et. al. teaches the method as set forth in claim 1 and 13, respectively, and obtain the second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (“the first and second RFID chips, 32, 33 can convey additional information such as a serial number, location of installation, etc.” [Para. 34, lines 21-23]) but fails to teach scanning of a data matrix for such.
Bianco et. al. teaches: scanning a data matrix in order to receive a second set of identifiable information (The use of a second barcode within the connection location: “intelligent barcode snap ring assembly 307A attached to a quick connect storage tank manifold ports 301, to form an intelligent manifold port assembly 335.” [Para. 59, lines 10-13] which is scanned to identify the port [Para. 6, lines 17-21]).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baudoin et. al. to substitute a RFID tag with a data matrix of Bianco et. al. as it is evident by the disclosure of Bianco et. al. that a data matrix is capable of being used in place of, and interchangeable with, RFID technology as both can use a scanner and convey information for accurate operation of the invention (Bianco et. al. – Para. 2, lines 9-13).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. further discloses: The method as set forth in claim 5 (See rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the data matrix is carried by the fluid line assembly (“intelligent barcode snap ring assembly 307A attached to a quick connect storage tank manifold ports 301, to form an intelligent manifold port assembly 335.” [Bianco et. al. - Para. 59, lines 10-13]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. further discloses: The method as set forth in claim 5 (See rejection of claim 5 above), wherein scanning the data matrix and obtaining the second set of unique identifiers and positional information is performed prior to obtaining the first set of unique identifiers (Contains the method which scans the barcode on the outlet/manifold port, thereby gathering the second set of unique identifiers, prior to scanning the barcode on the connector, thereby gathering the first set of unique identifiers [Bianco et. al. - Para. 6, lines 1-4]).
Regarding claim 18, Baudoin et. al. teaches: A method of ascertaining at least one connection state of a fluid line assembly, the method comprising: assembling a plurality of fluid line quick connectors in respective connection locations of the fluid line assembly (“assembly 10 here includes a fluid line connector 12 and another separate and discrete connector 14” [Para. 26, lines 7-8 and Fig. 2]); obtaining a first set of unique identifiers and a connection state or disconnection state of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors from each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, the first unique identifiers identifying individual fluid line quick connectors of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors having a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag conveying the first set of unique identifiers and connection or disconnection state (“The RFID chip 32 transmits and receives radio frequency (RF) signals with an RFID interrogator 56” [Para. 28, lines 3-4] where “The information conveyed can also include a serial number, location of installation, etc” [Para. 28, lines 28-30] and conveys whether there is proper connection/securement between the connector and the fluid line [Para. 28, lines 7-8]); and determining the at least one connection state of the fluid line assembly based at least on correspondence of the first set of unique identifiers with the second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, and based at least on the connection state or disconnection state of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (“fluid line connector 12 includes more than a single RFID chip. With particular reference to FIG. 3, a second RFID chip 33 is provided in addition to the first RFID chip 32. And like the first RFID chip 32, the second RFID chip 33 assists in the detection of proper and full securement between the fluid line connector 12 and the connector 14” [Para. 34, lines 1-7] and “the first and second RFID chips, 32, 33 can convey additional information such as a serial number, location of installation, etc.” [Para. 34, lines 21-23]).
Baudoin et. al. fails to teach scanning a data matrix to obtain information.
Bianco et. al. teaches: scanning a data matrix in order to receive a second set of identifiable information (The use of a second barcode within the connection location: “intelligent barcode snap ring assembly 307A attached to a quick connect storage tank manifold ports 301, to form an intelligent manifold port assembly 335.” [Para. 59, lines 10-13] which is scanned to identify the port [Para. 6, lines 17-21]).
It would have been obvious to someone skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Baudoin et. al. to substitute a RFID tag with a data matrix of Bianco et. al. as it is evident by the disclosure of Bianco et. al. that a data matrix is capable of being used in place of, and interchangeable with, RFID technology as both can use a scanner and convey information for accurate operation of the invention (Bianco et. al. – Para. 2, lines 9-13).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Baudoin et. al. and Bianco et. al. discloses: The method as set forth in claim 18, further comprising displaying the at least one connection state of the fluid line assembly based at least on correspondence of the first set of unique identifiers with the second set of unique identifiers and positional information of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors, and based at least on the connection state or disconnection state of each of the plurality of fluid line quick connectors (“fluid line connector 12 includes more than a single RFID chip. With particular reference to FIG. 3, a second RFID chip 33 is provided in addition to the first RFID chip 32. And like the first RFID chip 32, the second RFID chip 33 assists in the detection of proper and full securement between the fluid line connector 12 and the connector 14” [Baudoin et. al. - Para. 34, lines 1-7] where the RF signal 60 conveys data and information to the RFID interrogator 56 which can include conveying connection information as an “ON signal” to the interrogator [Baudoin et. al. - Para. 28, lines 18-27]. Furthermore, Bianco et. al. teachings include at barcode scanning terminal containing a display [Bianco et. al. – Para. 61, lines 3-6] which displays relevant information obtained from the barcodes on the ports and connectors [Para. 89, lines 9-13]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Johnson (US 20060076419) teaches a coupler for fluid conveyance which houses an RFID tag for storing information of the product, flow, and connection state (Para. 3).
Hoppenau et. al. (US 20200026894) teaches a sensor device using a machine-readable marking for tracking which uses varying machine-readable marking styles interchangeably (Para. 50-55).
Gauthier (US 20220163153) teaches a quick connector with a machine-readable printed label to verify connection (Para. 5 and 6).
Barbone (US 20220156907) teaches the use of a marker, such as a quick-response (QR) code, on a pipeline system that stores information on the marker (Abstract, lines 4-9)
Gocha et. al. (US 20220026002) teaches a quick connector which displays a scannable code that verifies engagement of the quick connector to a pipe (Para. 6, lines 6-13 and Fig. 2)
Rydin et. al. (US 20210285581) teaches a quick connector utilizing an RFID chip to verify connection (Para. 7 and Fig. 3 and 17).
Kerin (US 7128347) teaches a quick connector which utilizes a passive transmitter to provide the connector is properly connected (Col. 1, lines 6-10).
/JOSHUA D LEARY/Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/CRAIG M SCHNEIDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753