CTNF 18/371,880 CTNF 60603 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP0203873 !A1) in view of DE2918520 (C2), further in view of Lepetit et al (US 4,650,653). EP0203873 !A1)discloses the Bayer process by attacking bauxite at a temperature between 100 and 170 C, then separated from the insoluble residues from the attack. (See claim 1 of the English translation.) Regarding claims 1-5, EP0203873 !A1) also discloses in Paragraph [0055] hat wash water from washing the red mud is recycled. The differences between the process disclosed by EP0203873! A1), and that recited in applicant’s claims, is that EP0203873! A1) does not disclose that the filtering step occurs at a temperature of at least 95 C, that the washing is carried out with hot water, and the water after washing the red mud is fed for dilution of the alumina slurry or dilution of the filtrate. DE2918520 (C2) discloses the Bayer process and discloses in Paragraph [0022] of the English translation that the red mud is washed with hot water at a temperature of 40 C or more. Lepetit et al disclose the Bayer process, and teach at col. 6, lines 43-50 that the water from washing the red mud is recycled as dilution liquor A4 , which would be for dilution of the alumina slurry after digestion of the bauxite. (See FIG. 1 and its description.). It would be obvious to filter the slurry at a temperature of at least 95C. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since EP0203873! A1) teaches in claim 1 that the bauxite attack occurs between 100 and 170C and then separated from the insoluble residues, with no indication that cooling occurs between those steps. It would be further obvious from DE2918520 (C2) to wash the red mud of EP0203873! A1) with hot water. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since DE2918520 (C2) discloses a hot water wash in Paragraph [0022] of the English translation, and the processes of EP0203873! A1) and DE2918520 (C2) are analogous in that both are directed to the Bayer process including the steps of filtration and washing of the red mud. It would be even further obvious from Lepetit et al to recycle the wash water of EP0203873! A1) for dilution of the slurry. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since Lepetit et al disclose such step in FIG.1, and EP0203873! A1) teaches in Paragraph [0055] that the wash liquor can be recycled. Regarding claim 6, it would be within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable rate of consumption of the hot water in the washing step. Regarding claim 7, centrifuges and filter presses are conventionally used in filtration processes. Regarding claim 8, EP0203873! A1) discloses in Paragraph [0055] is recycled directly to the precipitation . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 1, the term “hot water” is indefinite since the term “hot” is relative. The terms “specified concentrations” and “specified concentration” are indefinite, since it would not be ascertainable as to whether a given concentration is “specified”. In claim 6, it is indefinite as to what would constitute a “specific” rate of consumption. The other references are made of record for disclosing the Bayer process including filtration and washing of the red mud. . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WAYNE A LANGEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-1353. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 8:15 am to 4:15 pm.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anthony Zimmer can be reached at 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WAYNE A LANGEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736 Application/Control Number: 18/371,880 Page 2 Art Unit: 1736 Application/Control Number: 18/371,880 Page 3 Art Unit: 1736 Application/Control Number: 18/371,880 Page 4 Art Unit: 1736 Application/Control Number: 18/371,880 Page 5 Art Unit: 1736