Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 11, 15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by English (US 6484660). With respect to claim 1, English discloses a modular hydrodynamic subsea vehicle 10 with a main body portion 12 extending fore and aft and a number of self-contained propulsion pods coupled to the main body portion, the main body portion has an exterior housing for supporting a plurality of functional modules (Figures 1-2; column 2, lines 27-35), with an upper section with a first 14 upper primary module and a separate second 46 upper primary module, a lower section operatively connected to the upper section with a first 22 and second 28 modules and a control interface 40, 42, 44 operatively connected to the upper section. With respect to claim 5, note English, 46, 140, 144, 14, 46; Figures 1, 3. With respect to claim 7, note English, note 14, 140; Figures 1-3. With respect to claim 11, note English, 14, 146, 140; Figures 1, 3. With respect to claims 15-18, note English, 22, 28, 142, 24, 26, 142, 42, 44; Figures 1-3. With respect to claim 19, the method follows inherently from the English disclosure if the intermediate set is zero.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English (US 6484660). With respect to claim 4, English discloses an umbilical interface 30A but does not disclose a control interface. It would have been an obvious choice of engineering design to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of English with the control interface comprising an umbilical interface with a high likelihood of success for improved umbilical control. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art of designing complex and expensive undersea marine systems would have years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would have found the combination to have been obvious.
Claim(s) 6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over English (US 6484660) in view of Daley et al (US 2019/0031308). With respect to claims 6, 8-10 , English does not disclose foam blocks and a row of holes. It would have been an obvious choice of engineering design to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of English with a row of holes with a high likelihood of success for improved accessory attachment. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the device of English with foam blocks as taught by Daley et al with a high likelihood of success to increase the overall buoyancy of the device. Further, it is noted that a person of ordinary skill in the art of designing complex and expensive undersea marine systems would have years of experience and advanced degrees. Such a person would have found the combination to have been obvious. With respect to claim 9, English discloses a payload bay cover 14/46 (Figure 1), top 140 (Figure 3) and panel (divider between 14 and 46; Figure 1).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With respect to claims 15-16 the use of “standardized” is unclear.
Claims 2-3 and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. King et al (US 6854410) show a modular device. Marion et al (US 2008/0127878) show a modular device.
STEPHEN AVILA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3617
/STEPHEN P AVILA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615