DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4 and 9 – 12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,730,261 to Weir in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,606,970 to Sharps, Jr.
Weir discloses a protective cover comprising a composite sheet comprising: a substrate formed from a nonwoven material, the substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; and a first layer of plastic film adjacent the substrate first surface; wherein the nonwoven material has a puncture resistance exceeding 500 N; a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first and the second end, a second lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, and an axis extending between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge; the composite sheet being folded about the axis such that the first end of the composite sheet is proximate the second end of the composite sheet; and a partially enclosed space having an opening proximate the first and second ends of the composite sheet, wherein the first layer of plastic film is within the partially enclosed space (Claims 1 – 3) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 2, a second layer of plastic film adjacent the substrate second surface (Claim 1). Regarding claim 3, the second layer of plastic film is thicker than the first layer of plastic film (Claims 9 and 10). For claim 4, disposing at least one third layer of plastic film on an exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film (Claim 1). In claim 5, the at least one third layer of plastic film comprises two discrete layers of plastic film disposed on the exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film, and wherein the discrete layers each define a smaller surface area than the second layer of plastic film (Claims 11 and 12). As in claim 7, the nonwoven material comprises needlepunched polyester fibers (Claim 4). Weir further discloses a protective cover, comprising a first panel having a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, and a second lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, the first panel comprising: a first layer of nonwoven material, the first layer of nonwoven material having a first surface and an opposite second surface; and a first layer of plastic film adjacent the first surface of the first layer of nonwoven material; a second panel having a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, and a second lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, the second panel comprising: a second layer of nonwoven material, the second layer of nonwoven material having a first surface and an opposite second surface; and a second layer of plastic film adjacent the first surface of the second layer of nonwoven material; wherein the first panel is disposed with respect to the second panel such that the first layer of plastic film of the first panel is in facing opposition to the second layer of plastic film of the second panel; a first coupling between the first panel and the second panel, the first coupling located proximate the respective first lateral edges of the first and second panels; a second coupling between the first panel and the second panel, the second coupling located proximate the respective second lateral edges of the first and second panels; and an opening defined between the first and second panels proximate the respective first ends of the first and second panels; wherein the first and second layers of nonwoven material each have a puncture resistance exceeding 500 N (Claims 1 and 3) as in claim 8. With respect to claim 9, the first and second panels are each part of a single sheet of composite material (Claim 1). Regarding claim 10, the first and second layers of nonwoven material each have a puncture resistance exceeding 1000 N (Claim 3). In claim 12, a third layer of plastic film having an interior surface adjacent the second surface of the first layer of nonwoven material and a fourth layer of plastic film having an interior surface adjacent the second surface of the second layer of nonwoven material (Claim 1). With regard to claim 13, a fifth layer of plastic film coupled with an exterior surface of the third layer of plastic film and a sixth layer of plastic film coupled with an exterior surface of the fourth layer of plastic film (Claim 1). Weir also discloses a protective cover comprising a composite sheet having a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first and the second end, a second lateral edge opposite the first lateral edge and extending between the first end and the second end, and an axis extending between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge; wherein the composite sheet defines a first panel between the first end, the axis, and the first and second lateral edges; wherein the composite sheet defines a second panel between the second end, the axis, and the first and second lateral edges; each of the first and second panels comprising: a substrate formed from a nonwoven material having a puncture resistance exceeding 500 N, the substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; and a first layer of plastic film disposed adjacent the substrate first surface; the composite sheet being folded about the axis such that the portion of the first layer of plastic film disposed on the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis is in facing opposition to the portion of the first layer of plastic film disposed on the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis; and a partially enclosed space defined between the first and second panels (Claims 1 – 3) as in claim 14. Regarding claim 16, a second layer of plastic film disposed adjacent the substrate second surface (Claim 1). For claim 17, the first layer of plastic film has a first thickness and the second layer of plastic film has a second thickness, and wherein the first thickness is less than the second thickness (Claims 9 and 10). In claim 18, a third layer of plastic film disposed adjacent an exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film (Claim 1). With regard to claim 19, the third layer of plastic film has a third thickness that is greater than the first and second thicknesses (Claim 10). As in claim 20, the third layer of plastic film is disposed adjacent both the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis and the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis (Claims 10 – 12). However, Weir fails to disclose heat sealing the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis to the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis, the first panel and the second panel are heat-sealed together at the first and second couplings, and the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis is heat-sealed together with the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis.
Sharps, Jr. et al. teach a protective cover comprising a composite sheet comprising: a substrate formed from a nonwoven material, the substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; and a first layer of plastic film adjacent the substrate first surface (Abstract), wherein heat sealing the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis to the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis (Column 5, lines 16 – 22), and the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis is heat-sealed together with the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis (Column 5, lines 16 – 22) for the purpose of forming a bag (Column 5, lines 16 – 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a heat-sealed layers in Weir in order to form a bag as taught by Sharps, Jr.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 8, and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,787,146 to Weir in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,606,970 to Sharps, Jr.
Weir discloses a protective cover comprising a composite sheet comprising: a substrate formed from a nonwoven material, the substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; and a first layer of plastic film adjacent the substrate first surface; wherein the nonwoven material has a puncture resistance exceeding 500 N; a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first and the second end, a second lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, and an axis extending between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge; the composite sheet being folded about the axis such that the first end of the composite sheet is proximate the second end of the composite sheet; and a partially enclosed space having an opening proximate the first and second ends of the composite sheet, wherein the first layer of plastic film is within the partially enclosed space (Claims 1, 8, and 13) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 2, a second layer of plastic film adjacent the substrate second surface (Claims 1, 8 and 13). Regarding claim 3, the second layer of plastic film is thicker than the first layer of plastic film (Claim 2). For claim 4, disposing at least one third layer of plastic film on an exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film (Claims 3, 8 and 13). In claim 5, the at least one third layer of plastic film comprises two discrete layers of plastic film disposed on the exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film, and wherein the discrete layers each define a smaller surface area than the second layer of plastic film (Claim 5). As in claim 7, the nonwoven material comprises needlepunched polyester fibers (Claim 7). Weir further discloses a protective cover, comprising a first panel having a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, and a second lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, the first panel comprising: a first layer of nonwoven material, the first layer of nonwoven material having a first surface and an opposite second surface; and a first layer of plastic film adjacent the first surface of the first layer of nonwoven material; a second panel having a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, and a second lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, the second panel comprising: a second layer of nonwoven material, the second layer of nonwoven material having a first surface and an opposite second surface; and a second layer of plastic film adjacent the first surface of the second layer of nonwoven material; wherein the first panel is disposed with respect to the second panel such that the first layer of plastic film of the first panel is in facing opposition to the second layer of plastic film of the second panel; a first coupling between the first panel and the second panel, the first coupling located proximate the respective first lateral edges of the first and second panels; a second coupling between the first panel and the second panel, the second coupling located proximate the respective second lateral edges of the first and second panels; and an opening defined between the first and second panels proximate the respective first ends of the first and second panels; wherein the first and second layers of nonwoven material each have a puncture resistance exceeding 500 N (Claims 1, 8, and 13) as in claim 8. With respect to claim 9, the first and second panels are each part of a single sheet of composite material (Claims 1, 8, and 13). Regarding claim 10, the first and second layers of nonwoven material each have a puncture resistance exceeding 1000 N (Claim 6). In claim 12, a third layer of plastic film having an interior surface adjacent the second surface of the first layer of nonwoven material and a fourth layer of plastic film having an interior surface adjacent the second surface of the second layer of nonwoven material (Claim 4, 8 and 13). With regard to claim 13, a fifth layer of plastic film coupled with an exterior surface of the third layer of plastic film and a sixth layer of plastic film coupled with an exterior surface of the fourth layer of plastic film (Claims 8 and 13). Weir also discloses a protective cover comprising a composite sheet having a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first and the second end, a second lateral edge opposite the first lateral edge and extending between the first end and the second end, and an axis extending between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge; wherein the composite sheet defines a first panel between the first end, the axis, and the first and second lateral edges; wherein the composite sheet defines a second panel between the second end, the axis, and the first and second lateral edges; each of the first and second panels comprising: a substrate formed from a nonwoven material having a puncture resistance exceeding 500 N, the substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; and a first layer of plastic film disposed adjacent the substrate first surface; the composite sheet being folded about the axis such that the portion of the first layer of plastic film disposed on the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis is in facing opposition to the portion of the first layer of plastic film disposed on the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis; and a partially enclosed space defined between the first and second panels (Claim 1, 8 and 13) as in claim 14. Regarding claim 16, a second layer of plastic film disposed adjacent the substrate second surface (Claim 4, 8 and 13). For claim 17, the first layer of plastic film has a first thickness and the second layer of plastic film has a second thickness, and wherein the first thickness is less than the second thickness (Claim 2). In claim 18, a third layer of plastic film disposed adjacent an exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film (Claim 1, 8 and 13). With regard to claim 19, the third layer of plastic film has a third thickness that is greater than the first and second thicknesses (Claim 2). As in claim 20, the third layer of plastic film is disposed adjacent both the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis and the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis (Claim 1, 8 and 13). However, Weir fails to disclose heat sealing the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis to the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis, the first panel and the second panel are heat-sealed together at the first and second couplings, and the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis is heat-sealed together with the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis.
Sharps, Jr. et al. teach a protective cover comprising a composite sheet comprising: a substrate formed from a nonwoven material, the substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; and a first layer of plastic film adjacent the substrate first surface (Abstract), wherein heat sealing the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis to the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis (Column 5, lines 16 – 22), and the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis is heat-sealed together with the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis (Column 5, lines 16 – 22) for the purpose of forming a bag (Column 5, lines 16 – 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a heat-sealed layers in Weir in order to form a bag as taught by Sharps, Jr.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6 and 8 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hild et al. (USPN 8,079,945) in view of Sharps, Jr. (USPN 4, 606,970).
Hild et al. discloses a protective cover (Figures 1 – 3b; Abstract) comprising a composite sheet (Figure 1, #10) comprising: a substrate formed from a nonwoven material (Figure 1, #16; Column 6, lines 58 – 68), the substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (Figure 1, #16); and a first layer of plastic film adjacent the substrate first surface (Figure 1, #12); a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first and the second end, a second lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, and an axis extending between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge (Figures 1 – 3b); the composite sheet being folded about the axis such that the first end of the composite sheet is proximate the second end of the composite sheet (Column 9, line 65 to Column 10, line 9); and a partially enclosed space having an opening proximate the first and second ends of the composite sheet, wherein the first layer of plastic film is within the partially enclosed space (Figures 1 – 3b; Column 9, line 65 to Column 10, line 9) as in claim 1. With respect to claim 2, a second layer of plastic film adjacent the substrate second surface (Figure 1, #14). Regarding claim 3, the second layer of plastic film is thicker than the first layer of plastic film (Column 5, lines 11 – 15). Weir further discloses a protective cover (Figures 1 – 3b; Abstract) comprising a first panel having a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, and a second lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end (Figures 1 – 3b), the first panel comprising: a first layer of nonwoven material, the first layer of nonwoven material having a first surface and an opposite second surface (Figure 1, #16; Column 6, lines 58 – 68); and a first layer of plastic film adjacent the first surface of the first layer of nonwoven material (Figure 1 #12); a second panel having a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end, and a second lateral edge extending between the first end and the second end (Figures 1 – 3b), the second panel comprising: a second layer of nonwoven material, the second layer of nonwoven material having a first surface and an opposite second surface (Figure 1, #16; Column 6, lines 58 – 68); and a second layer of plastic film adjacent the first surface of the second layer of nonwoven material (Figure 1 #12); wherein the first panel is disposed with respect to the second panel such that the first layer of plastic film of the first panel is in facing opposition to the second layer of plastic film of the second panel (Figures 1 – 3b); a first coupling between the first panel and the second panel, the first coupling located proximate the respective first lateral edges of the first and second panels; a second coupling between the first panel and the second panel, the second coupling located proximate the respective second lateral edges of the first and second panels; and an opening defined between the first and second panels proximate the respective first ends of the first and second panels (Figures 1 – 3b; Column 9, line 65 to Column 10, line 9) as in claim 8. With respect to claim 9, the first and second panels are each part of a single sheet of composite material (Figures 1 – 3b). Weir also discloses a protective cover (Figures 1 – 3b; Abstract) comprising a composite sheet having a first end, a second end, a first lateral edge extending between the first and the second end, a second lateral edge opposite the first lateral edge and extending between the first end and the second end, and an axis extending between the first lateral edge and the second lateral edge (Figures 1 – 3b; Abstract); wherein the composite sheet defines a first panel between the first end, the axis, and the first and second lateral edges (Figures 1 – 3b; Abstract); wherein the composite sheet defines a second panel between the second end, the axis, and the first and second lateral edges; each of the first and second panels (Figures 1 – 3b; Abstract) comprising: a substrate formed from a nonwoven material (Figure 1, #16; Column 6, lines 58 – 68), the substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (Figure 1, #16; Column 6, lines 58 – 68); and a first layer of plastic film disposed adjacent the substrate first surface (Figure 1, #12); the composite sheet being folded about the axis such that the portion of the first layer of plastic film disposed on the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis is in facing opposition to the portion of the first layer of plastic film disposed on the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis; and a partially enclosed space defined between the first and second panels (Figures 1 – 3b; Column 9, line 65 to Column 10, line 9) as in claim 14. Regarding claim 16, a second layer of plastic film disposed adjacent the substrate second surface (Figure 1, #14). For claim 17, the first layer of plastic film has a first thickness and the second layer of plastic film has a second thickness, and wherein the first thickness is less than the second thickness (Column 5, lines 11 – 15). However, Hild et al. fails to disclose the nonwoven material has a puncture resistance exceeding 500 N, disposing at least one third layer of plastic film on an exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film, the at least one third layer of plastic film comprises two discrete layers of plastic film disposed on the exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film, and wherein the discrete layers each define a smaller surface area than the second layer of plastic film, heat sealing the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis to the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis, the first and second layers of nonwoven material each have a puncture resistance exceeding 1000 N, a third layer of plastic film having an interior surface adjacent the second surface of the first layer of nonwoven material and a fourth layer of plastic film having an interior surface adjacent the second surface of the second layer of nonwoven material, a fifth layer of plastic film coupled with an exterior surface of the third layer of plastic film and a sixth layer of plastic film coupled with an exterior surface of the fourth layer of plastic film, the first panel and the second panel are heat- sealed together at the first and second couplings, a third layer of plastic film disposed adjacent an exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film, the third layer of plastic film has a third thickness that is greater than the first and second thicknesses, and the third layer of plastic film is disposed adjacent both the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis and the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis.
Sharps, Jr. et al. teach a protective cover comprising a composite sheet comprising: a substrate formed from a nonwoven material, the substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface; and a first layer of plastic film adjacent the substrate first surface (Abstract), wherein heat sealing the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis to the lateral edges of the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis (Column 5, lines 16 – 22), and the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis is heat-sealed together with the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis (Column 5, lines 16 – 22) for the purpose of forming a bag (Column 5, lines 16 – 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a heat-sealed layers in Weir in order to form a bag as taught by Sharps, Jr.
With regard to the limitations of “the nonwoven material has a puncture resistance exceeding 500 N” and “the first and second layers of nonwoven material each have a puncture resistance exceeding 1000 N”, although Hild et al, does not explicitly teach the limitations of a puncture resistance exceeding 500 N or 1000N, it is reasonable to presume that said limitations are inherent to the invention. Support for said presumption is found in the use of similar materials and in the similar production steps used to produce the protective cover. Hild et al. clearly discloses films made of the same materials and having the same thickness (Column 3, lines 63 to Column 5, line 15) and fiber made of similar materials and parameters (Column 5, lines 16 – 40; Column 7, lines 27 - 67). The film and the nonwoven are laminated together with nip rollers to form the composite (Column 12, lines 34 – 51). The burden is upon the Applicant to prove otherwise. MPEP 2112.
With regard to the limitations of “disposing at least one third layer of plastic film on an exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film , a third layer of plastic film having an interior surface adjacent the second surface of the first layer of nonwoven material and a fourth layer of plastic film having an interior surface adjacent the second surface of the second layer of nonwoven material, a fifth layer of plastic film coupled with an exterior surface of the third layer of plastic film and a sixth layer of plastic film coupled with an exterior surface of the fourth layer of plastic film, a third layer of plastic film disposed adjacent an exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have additional film layers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
With regard to the limitations of “the at least one third layer of plastic film comprises two discrete layers of plastic film disposed on the exterior surface of the second layer of plastic film, and wherein the discrete layers each define a smaller surface area than the second layer of plastic film, and the third layer of plastic film has a third thickness that is greater than the first and second thicknesses, and the third layer of plastic film is disposed adjacent both the portion of the composite sheet extending between the first end and the axis and the portion of the composite sheet extending between the second end and the axis”, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the size of the third film layer, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hild et al. (USPN 8,079,945) in view of Sharps, Jr. (USPN 4, 606,970) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ambrose, Jr et al. (USPGPub 2007/0039268 A1).
Hild et al., as modified with Sharps, Jr., discloses the claimed invention except for the nonwoven material comprises needlepunched polyester fibers.
Ambrose, Jr. et al. teach a composite with a film layer and a non-woven fiber layer (Abstract; Figure 1), wherein nonwoven material comprises needlepunched polyester fibers (Paragraph 0035 – 0036 and 0066) for the purpose of increasing the density of the nonwoven material (Paragraph 0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have needlepunched polyester fibers in the modified Hild et al. in order to increase the density of the nonwoven material as taught by Ambrose, Jr. et al.
Conclusion
/Patricia L. Nordmeyer/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/pln/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 March 12, 2026