CTNF 18/371,913 CTNF 87732 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim(s) 2-6, 8, 10, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The dependency(ies) of claim(s) 2-6 is not properly established/provided. Therefore, the examiner is unclear which claims, the claims 2-6 depend on or if it should be an independent claim(s). In the interest for further prosecution, the examiner will assume the dependencies of claims 2-6 will be to claim 1 (as similarly claimed in other independent claims). Claim 2 (similarly claims 8 and 14) recite: “collect information about datastores of the VD” and “in response to the VD being located on the datastore of the VM” and “in response to the VD being located on a datastore that is different from the datastore of the VM”. The examiner is unclear of the following: Since VD has datastores (i.e. plural) does all of the datastores associated with the VD located on the datastore of the VM to be considered as being located on the datastore of the VM or just one or any? Since VD has datastores (i.e. plural) does all of the datastores associated with the VD located on different datastore of the VM to be considered as being located on different datastore of the VM or just one or any? Claim 4 (similarly claims 10 and 16) recite: “applies storage filters and tags”. The examiner is unclear to what, storage filters and tags are being applied to. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-13 and 16-18 is/ are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gau rav et al. (Pub 20160124773) in view of Govindaraju et al. (Pub 20200241909) (hereafter Govind). As p er claim 1, Gaurav teaches: A cloud automated platform for optimizing and provisioning virtual data storage in a data center, the platform performs operations comprising: attaches a virtual disk (“VD”) to a virtual machine (“VM”) on a datastore of the VM; adjusts storage space of the VD based on storage space available to the VD; and ([Paragraph 71], A reservation identification block 1804 interrogates the properties of the VM to identify any relevant resource reservations. Examples of resource reservations include thick provisioned disks, CPU core reservations, and memory reservations. [Paragraph 55], In some implementations, reservations of memory are implemented as soft reservations. One way this is accomplished is to reallocate reserved yet unused memory to other computational loads that can use the memory. A specific method, used by some virtual machine monitors is called ballooning. The ballooning method relies on a ballooning driver installed on the VM. When the ballooning driver senses that there is an excessive amount of unused memory reserved by the VM, the balloon driver performs a memory allocation within the VM's memory space, pins the allocated memory in place so that the memory cannot be paged or swapped, and makes the reserved memory available to the virtual machine monitor for allocation to another VM. In this way, the balloon driver corrects the excess reservation by surrendering the unused resource back to the host resource manager. When soft memory-reservation techniques are used, memory use by the VMs is more efficient and client-side wastage is reduced. [Paragraph 57], Disk space is allocated to VMs in a variety of ways. In certain implementations, disk space is dynamically allocated from the host computer system as the demands of the VM increase. In other implementations, a fixed amount of storage space is allocated from the host computer system to the VM. Generally, storage space is not reclaimed from the VM once allocated. In FIG. 11, the first and second VMs 502 and 504 use a dynamic disk allocation method. Therefore the amount of host resources consumed correlates to the amount of storage space utilized by the VM. The third VM 506 demands a fixed disk reservation of 150 GB. For the third VM 506, the amount of host resources consumed is constant, even when only a portion of the reserved disk space is used to store information. The method of storage allocation used for the third VM 506 acts as a hard reservation of storage resources for the third VM 506. Excessive hard storage reservations contribute to client-side wastage.) Although Gaurav disclose of a virtual machine execution environment with configurable network-connected storage resources within a datacenter. ([Paragraph 32], Modern datacenters provide mixtures of general-purpose computer systems and virtual-machine execution environments, as well as configurable network-connected storage resources, and Internet connectivity.) Gaurav does not explicitly disclose retains data stored in the VD in response to receiving a request to delete the VM and the VD identifies as persistent. Govind teaches retains data stored in the VD in response to receiving a request to delete the VM and the VD identifies as persistent. ([Paragraph 43], Disk specifications may define the requirements/specifications of each virtual disk that will be attached to the virtual machine. Example disk specifications of the virtual disks may include:… [Paragraph 46], Persistent—Represents whether the disk should survive even after the virtual machine is deleted. [Paragraph 19], Thus, a right host computing system to deploy the virtual machine may be automatically determined such that the host computing system is to have access to all the storage entities (e.g., datastores) that support various disk specifications of the virtual machine.) Govind also teaches attaching of VD to a VM. ([Paragraph 48], Name—Name of the disk. If the name is in a first format (e.g., ${ } format), then the virtual disk is an existing disk that needs to be attached to the newly created virtual machine.) It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Gaurav wherein virtual disk (VD) is attached to a virtual machine (VM) and storage space of the VD is adjusted based on availability/need using thick/thin VD provisioning, into teachings of Govind wherein a specification for the VD provides storage type, capacity, data encryption, data persistency, etc., to be configured to be persistent even after the virtual machine is deleted, because this would enhance the teachings of Gaurav wherein by providing various specification to the VD for configuration (including persistency), it provides an environment supporting various disk specification for the VM. [Govind paragraph 19] As per claim 4, Gaurav teaches: The platform attaches the VD to the VM on a datastore of the VM comprises: in response to the provisioning type being thin provisioning, creates the VM and attach the VD to the VM; in response to the provisioning type of the VD being thick provisioning, determines whether thin provisioning is enabled; and in response to thin provisioning being enabled, changes VD from thick provisioning to the thin provisioning, and creates the VM and attaches the VD to the VM. ([Paragraph 4], Efficient operation of a datacenter involves properly selecting and configuring host computer systems that are able to meet the demands of a client's applications and programs at a reasonable cost. [Paragraph 74], This can be accomplished in a variety of ways including adding a balloon driver, converting thick provisioned disks to thin provisioned disks, and reconfiguring VM settings associated with the element of wastage. Some hard reservations are not convertible. When the hard resource reservation is convertible to a soft resource reservation, a recommendation is generated to convert the hard resource reservation to a soft resource reservation 2006.) Govind teaches, blueprint and storage profile which discloses applies storage filters and tags and retrieves a provision type from a user selected storage profile. ([Paragraph 19], Examples described herein may determine a host computing system to deploy a virtual machine based on various disk specifications. In one example, a method may include receiving a blueprint to deploy a virtual machine in a cloud computing environment, retrieving disk specifications (e.g., constraints) required to deploy the virtual machine from the blueprint, matching the retrieved disk specifications with storage profiles (e.g., predefined) associated with a plurality of storage entities, determining candidate storage entities that support the retrieved disk specifications based on the matching, and determining a host computing system that has connectivity to the candidate storage entities. The determined host computing system can be used to deploy the virtual machine. Thus, a right host computing system to deploy the virtual machine may be automatically determined such that the host computing system is to have access to all the storage entities (e.g., datastores) that support various disk specifications of the virtual machine. [Paragraph 32], In one example, storage entity determination unit 118 may retrieve the storage profiles associated with the plurality of storage entities from storage-profile repository 120, match the retrieved disk specifications (e.g., disk requirements in the form of disk constraints) with the retrieved storage profiles (e.g., storage profile capabilities expressed in the form of tags applied on the storage profile), and determine the candidate storage entities that support the retrieved disk specifications from the plurality of storage entities based on the matching. In this example, the storage entity determination unit 118 may match predefined tags (e.g., user hints) associated with the retrieved disk specifications with the retrieved storage profiles associated with the plurality of storage entities. Examples of predefined tags and storage profiles are explained with respect to FIGS. 4 and 5, respectively.) As per claim 5, Gaurav teaches: The platform retains data stored in the VD in response to receiving a request to delete the VM comprises: in response to the provisioning type of the VD being thick provisioning, converts the VD from thick provisioning to thin provisioning, ([Paragraph 4], Efficient operation of a datacenter involves properly selecting and configuring host computer systems that are able to meet the demands of a client's applications and programs at a reasonable cost. [Paragraph 74], This can be accomplished in a variety of ways including adding a balloon driver, converting thick provisioned disks to thin provisioned disks, and reconfiguring VM settings associated with the element of wastage. Some hard reservations are not convertible. When the hard resource reservation is convertible to a soft resource reservation, a recommendation is generated to convert the hard resource reservation to a soft resource reservation 2006.) Govind teaches detaches the VD from the VM, and deletes the VM. ([Paragraph 43], Disk specifications may define the requirements/specifications of each virtual disk that will be attached to the virtual machine. Example disk specifications of the virtual disks may include:… [Paragraph 46], Persistent—Represents whether the disk should survive even after the virtual machine is deleted. [Paragraph 19], Thus, a right host computing system to deploy the virtual machine may be automatically determined such that the host computing system is to have access to all the storage entities (e.g., datastores) that support various disk specifications of the virtual machine.) As per claim 6, Gaurav teaches: The platform adjusts storage space of the VD based on storage space available to the VD comprises: in response to provisioning type of the VD being thin provisioning, continues with storage deployment as thin provisioning; and in response to provisioning type of the VD being thick provisioning and insufficient storage space being available to the VD, reduces the storage space available to the VD to match a minimum acceptable threshold (“MAT”), and switches the VD from thick provisioning to thin provisioning when the storage space available to the VD is below the MAT. ([Paragraph 74], This can be accomplished in a variety of ways including adding a balloon driver, converting thick provisioned disks to thin provisioned disks, and reconfiguring VM settings associated... [Paragraph 46], The memory resource demands of second VM 504 includes a minimum memory reservation. The effect of the minimum memory reservation is represented in the chart 710 as unutilized memory 712 when the amount of memory used is less than the reservation amount. For example, in February, actual memory use is 6.6 GB and the amount of the memory reservation is 8 GB. There is an amount of unused and reserved memory of 1.4 GB in the month of February. When the amount of memory used is equal to or greater than the amount of the minimum memory reservation, there is no unutilized memory 714. In November, actual memory use was 10.4 GB, and the amount of the memory reservation was 8 GB. The reserved memory resource was fully used as is shown at 714 in chart 710. Chart 720 in FIG. 7B illustrates the use of persistent storage capacity such as hard disk storage or flash memory storage. Chart 730 in FIG. 7C shows Internet usage, and the final chart 740 in FIG. 7C, shows local area network use. [Paragraph 54], The amount of memory demanded from the host computer system by the second VM 504 sometimes exceeds the 8 gigabyte hard memory reservation that is configured for the second VM 504…) As per claims 7 and 10-12, these are method claims corresponding to the platform claims 1 and 4-6. Therefore, rejected based on similar rationale. As per claims 13 and 16-18, these are system claims corresponding to the platform claims 1 and 4-6. Therefore, rejected based on similar rationale . 07-21-aia AIA Claim(s ) 2, 3, 8, 9, 14 and 15 is /are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ga urav in view of Govind and further in view of Atia et al. (Pub 20180060098) (hereafter Atia). As per claim 2, Govind teaches: The platform attaches the VD to the VM on a datastore of the VM comprises: collects information about datastores of the VD and the VM; determines whether the VD is located on a datastore that is different from the datastore of the VM; in response to the VD being located on the datastore of the VM, attaches the VD to the VM; and ([Paragraph 28], Referring back to FIG. 1, management node 102 may include an application-blueprint-generation unit 128 to generate blueprint 116 with specifications of compute resources, network resources, and storage resources. Blueprints 116 can be mapped to corresponding ones of the clients. For example, an administrator 126 may use an associated computing device to access management node 102 to create blueprints 116 that can be entitled to users in a specific client. The specifications of the storage resources may include a plurality of virtual disks (e.g., 216 of FIG. 2) with various disk specifications. [Paragraph 29], Each storage profile may list storage capabilities of a storage entity (e.g., of a cloud service provider) that gets applied to the virtual disks deployed on that storage entity. The storage profiles may be created and stored either manually or through auto populating from the deployment environments. The storage entities may be selected from a group consisting of datastores 110A-N, datastores that are associated with/part of datastore clusters 112, datastores that are compatible with storage policies 114, or any combination thereof. Datastore may refer to a manageable storage entity, used as a repository for virtual machine files including log files, scripts, configuration files, virtual disks, and so on. Datastore cluster 112 may refer to a collection of datastores with shared resources and a shared management interface. Storage policy may refer to the rules that control which type of storage is provided for the virtual disks when the virtual disks are deployed within the storage entity. The storage policy may be used to identify candidate datastores or datastore clusters. [Paragraph 31], Example disk specifications may be selected from a group consisting of a storage-entity type, a storage-entity capacity, a data-reading rate, a data-writing rate, an access latency, an access failure rate, a failure frequency, support for data encryption, and a data persistency. [Paragraph 34], In another example, storage entity determination unit 118 may also determine a virtual disk (i.e., an existing virtual disk) in the cloud computing environment that needs to be attached to the virtual machine using blueprint 116. Further, storage entity determination unit 118 may determine a storage entity associated with the existing virtual disk. Then, host determination unit 122 may determine the host computing system that has connectivity to the candidate storage entities and the storage entity associated with the existing virtual disk. [Paragraph 48], Name—Name of the disk. If the name is in a first format (e.g., ${ } format), then the virtual disk is an existing disk that needs to be attached to the newly created virtual machine.) Govind discloses storage profile information (datastore location/type/latency) for virtual machines and virtual disks. However, Gaurav and Govind do not explicitly disclose in response to the VD being located on a datastore that is different from the datastore of the VM, listens for VD pre-attach event, executes a script that migrates the VD to the datastore of the VM, and attaches the VD to the VM. Atia teaches in response to the VD being located on a datastore that is different from the datastore of the VM, listens for VD pre-attach event, executes a script that migrates the VD to the datastore of the VM, and attaches the VD to the VM. ([Paragraph 90], In some embodiments, when identifying that a majority of a particular VM's traffic is transferred to another location, while taking into consideration mirroring traffic, the VM and its associated volumes may be migrated to the location the majority of the traffic is residing. The migration of the VM and associated volumes may be performed automatically, or a recommendation may be provided to the user to do so in order to gain efficiency and lower latency. The migration mechanisms may be used both for a situation in which affiliated volumes of the VM reside on different systems, as well as for a situation in which a VM has bounding volumes on several systems. In the latter case, traffic of the VM and its associated volumes may be analyzed to deduce in which system a majority of the traffic is occurring by the network sniffing operation, and therefore the VM and its associated volumes may be migrated to such system. [Paragraph 32], Rapid elasticity: capabilities can be rapidly and elastically provisioned, in some cases automatically, to quickly scale out and rapidly released to quickly scale in. To the consumer, the capabilities available for provisioning often appear to be unlimited and can be purchased in any quantity at any time. [Paragraph 65], The storage space in a rank may be allocated into logical volumes, which define the storage location specified in a write/read request. [Paragraph 78], Prompt 608 illustrates a prompt the user may receive when the network sniffing operation has detected that a majority of a VMs (and its volumes) traffic is being transferred to a separate location. Thus, prompt 608 may automatically migrate, or offer to migrate, the VM and its volumes to the environment (e.g. storage array) in which most of its traffic is located (e.g. “Would you like to place volume x, volume y here?”).) Atia also teaches collects information about datastores of the VD and the VM; determines whether the VD is located on a datastore that is different from the datastore of the VM; in response to the VD being located on the datastore of the VM, attaches the VD to the VM; ([Paragraph 90], In some embodiments, when identifying that a majority of a particular VM's traffic is transferred to another location, while taking into consideration mirroring traffic, the VM and its associated volumes may be migrated to the location the majority of the traffic is residing. The migration of the VM and associated volumes may be performed automatically, or a recommendation may be provided to the user to do so in order to gain efficiency and lower latency. The migration mechanisms may be used both for a situation in which affiliated volumes of the VM reside on different systems, as well as for a situation in which a VM has bounding volumes on several systems. In the latter case, traffic of the VM and its associated volumes may be analyzed to deduce in which system a majority of the traffic is occurring by the network sniffing operation, and therefore the VM and its associated volumes may be migrated to such system. [Paragraph 32], Rapid elasticity: capabilities can be rapidly and elastically provisioned, in some cases automatically, to quickly scale out and rapidly released to quickly scale in. To the consumer, the capabilities available for provisioning often appear to be unlimited and can be purchased in any quantity at any time. [Paragraph 65], The storage space in a rank may be allocated into logical volumes, which define the storage location specified in a write/read request. [Paragraph 78], Prompt 608 illustrates a prompt the user may receive when the network sniffing operation has detected that a majority of a VMs (and its volumes) traffic is being transferred to a separate location. Thus, prompt 608 may automatically migrate, or offer to migrate, the VM and its volumes to the environment (e.g. storage array) in which most of its traffic is located (e.g. “Would you like to place volume x, volume y here?”).) It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Gaurav and Govind wherein virtual disk (VD) is attached to a virtual machine (VM), storage space of the VD is adjusted based on availability/need using thick/thin VD provisioning and a specification for the VD provides storage type, capacity, data encryption, data persistency, etc., to be configured to be persistent even after the virtual machine is deleted, into teachings of Atia wherein in response to VD being located on a datastore that is different from the VM, VD and VM is moved/transferred/migrated to a same physical location, because this would enhance the teachings of Gaurav and Govind wherein by moving the VD and VM to a same location which majority of the traffic occurs, it allows improved access latency and gain efficiency. [Atia paragraph 90] As per claim 3, Gaurav teaches: The platform attaches the VD to the VM on the datastore of the VM comprises: creates the VM on the datastore; executes a request to attach the VM to the VD; in response to the VD being located on the datastore of the VM, attaches the VD to the VM; and ([Paragraph 26], The present disclosure is directed to methods and systems that monitor usage of computational resources and, in particular, to methods and systems that measure and report underutilization of computational resources in a datacenter that hosts one or more virtual machines (“VMs”) and/or application programs… [Paragraph 71], A reservation identification block 1804 interrogates the properties of the VM to identify any relevant resource reservations. Examples of resource reservations include thick provisioned disks, CPU core reservations, and memory reservations. When there is not a reservation associated with the measured computational resource, the actual amount of resources used on the host computer system is equal to the amount measured 1806, and there is no client-side wastage of the measured resource for the particular VM.) Govind also teaches ([Paragraph 28], Referring back to FIG. 1, management node 102 may include an application-blueprint-generation unit 128 to generate blueprint 116 with specifications of compute resources, network resources, and storage resources. Blueprints 116 can be mapped to corresponding ones of the clients. For example, an administrator 126 may use an associated computing device to access management node 102 to create blueprints 116 that can be entitled to users in a specific client. The specifications of the storage resources may include a plurality of virtual disks (e.g., 216 of FIG. 2) with various disk specifications. [Paragraph 29], Each storage profile may list storage capabilities of a storage entity (e.g., of a cloud service provider) that gets applied to the virtual disks deployed on that storage entity. The storage profiles may be created and stored either manually or through auto populating from the deployment environments. The storage entities may be selected from a group consisting of datastores 110A-N, datastores that are associated with/part of datastore clusters 112, datastores that are compatible with storage policies 114, or any combination thereof. Datastore may refer to a manageable storage entity, used as a repository for virtual machine files including log files, scripts, configuration files, virtual disks, and so on. Datastore cluster 112 may refer to a collection of datastores with shared resources and a shared management interface. Storage policy may refer to the rules that control which type of storage is provided for the virtual disks when the virtual disks are deployed within the storage entity. The storage policy may be used to identify candidate datastores or datastore clusters. [Paragraph 31], Example disk specifications may be selected from a group consisting of a storage-entity type, a storage-entity capacity, a data-reading rate, a data-writing rate, an access latency, an access failure rate, a failure frequency, support for data encryption, and a data persistency. [Paragraph 34], In another example, storage entity determination unit 118 may also determine a virtual disk (i.e., an existing virtual disk) in the cloud computing environment that needs to be attached to the virtual machine using blueprint 116. Further, storage entity determination unit 118 may determine a storage entity associated with the existing virtual disk. Then, host determination unit 122 may determine the host computing system that has connectivity to the candidate storage entities and the storage entity associated with the existing virtual disk. [Paragraph 48], Name—Name of the disk. If the name is in a first format (e.g., ${ } format), then the virtual disk is an existing disk that needs to be attached to the newly created virtual machine.) Govind discloses storage profile information (datastore location/type/latency) for virtual machines and virtual disks. However, Gaurav and Govind do not explicitly disclose in response to the VD not being located on the datastore of the VM, migrates the VD to the datastore of the VM, and attaches the VD to the VM. Atia teaches in response to the VD not being located on the datastore of the VM, migrates the VD to the datastore of the VM, and attaches the VD to the VM. ([Paragraph 90], In some embodiments, when identifying that a majority of a particular VM's traffic is transferred to another location, while taking into consideration mirroring traffic, the VM and its associated volumes may be migrated to the location the majority of the traffic is residing. The migration of the VM and associated volumes may be performed automatically, or a recommendation may be provided to the user to do so in order to gain efficiency and lower latency. The migration mechanisms may be used both for a situation in which affiliated volumes of the VM reside on different systems, as well as for a situation in which a VM has bounding volumes on several systems. In the latter case, traffic of the VM and its associated volumes may be analyzed to deduce in which system a majority of the traffic is occurring by the network sniffing operation, and therefore the VM and its associated volumes may be migrated to such system. [Paragraph 32], Rapid elasticity: capabilities can be rapidly and elastically provisioned, in some cases automatically, to quickly scale out and rapidly released to quickly scale in. To the consumer, the capabilities available for provisioning often appear to be unlimited and can be purchased in any quantity at any time. [Paragraph 65], The storage space in a rank may be allocated into logical volumes, which define the storage location specified in a write/read request. [Paragraph 78], Prompt 608 illustrates a prompt the user may receive when the network sniffing operation has detected that a majority of a VMs (and its volumes) traffic is being transferred to a separate location. Thus, prompt 608 may automatically migrate, or offer to migrate, the VM and its volumes to the environment (e.g. storage array) in which most of its traffic is located (e.g. “Would you like to place volume x, volume y here?”).) Atia also teaches creates the VM on the datastore; executes a request to attach the VM to the VD; in response to the VD being located on the datastore of the VM, attaches the VD to the VM; ([Paragraph 90], In some embodiments, when identifying that a majority of a particular VM's traffic is transferred to another location, while taking into consideration mirroring traffic, the VM and its associated volumes may be migrated to the location the majority of the traffic is residing. The migration of the VM and associated volumes may be performed automatically, or a recommendation may be provided to the user to do so in order to gain efficiency and lower latency. The migration mechanisms may be used both for a situation in which affiliated volumes of the VM reside on different systems, as well as for a situation in which a VM has bounding volumes on several systems. In the latter case, traffic of the VM and its associated volumes may be analyzed to deduce in which system a majority of the traffic is occurring by the network sniffing operation, and therefore the VM and its associated volumes may be migrated to such system. [Paragraph 32], Rapid elasticity: capabilities can be rapidly and elastically provisioned, in some cases automatically, to quickly scale out and rapidly released to quickly scale in. To the consumer, the capabilities available for provisioning often appear to be unlimited and can be purchased in any quantity at any time. [Paragraph 65], The storage space in a rank may be allocated into logical volumes, which define the storage location specified in a write/read request. [Paragraph 78], Prompt 608 illustrates a prompt the user may receive when the network sniffing operation has detected that a majority of a VMs (and its volumes) traffic is being transferred to a separate location. Thus, prompt 608 may automatically migrate, or offer to migrate, the VM and its volumes to the environment (e.g. storage array) in which most of its traffic is located (e.g. “Would you like to place volume x, volume y here?”).) It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Gaurav and Govind wherein virtual disk (VD) is attached to a virtual machine (VM), storage space of the VD is adjusted based on availability/need using thick/thin VD provisioning and a specification for the VD provides storage type, capacity, data encryption, data persistency, etc., to be configured to be persistent even after the virtual machine is deleted, into teachings of Atia wherein in response to VD being located on a datastore that is different from the VM, VD and VM is moved/transferred/migrated to a same physical location, because this would enhance the teachings of Gaurav and Govind wherein by moving the VD and VM to a same location which majority of the traffic occurs, it allows improved access latency and gain efficiency. [Atia paragraph 90] As per claims 8 and 9, these are method claims corresponding to the platform claims 2 and 3. Therefore, rejected based on similar rationale. As per claims 14 and 15, these are system claims corresponding to the platform claims 2 and 3. Therefore, rejected based on similar rationale. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DONG U KIM whose telephone number is (571)270-1313. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00am - 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Bradley Teets can be reached at 5712723338. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DONG U KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 2 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 3 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 4 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 5 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 6 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 7 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 8 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 9 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 10 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 11 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 12 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 13 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 14 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 15 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 16 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 17 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 18 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 19 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 20 Art Unit: 2197 Application/Control Number: 18/371,913 Page 21 Art Unit: 2197