DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 9/22/2023.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the I/O section in claim 1, the flexible circuity communication contact in claim 1, the apparatus of claim 1, the flexible portion of claim 4, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 27, recites “communicatively aligned with the one or more flexible circuitry communication contacts”. It should be amended to “communicatively aligned with the at least one flexible circuitry communication contact”. This is to keep the claim language consistent, as “at least one communication contact” was the name given to the embodiment previously in the claim instead of “one or more flexible circuitry communication contacts”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 22 – 23, recite “stimulation signals between a cable connected to an apparatus and the…”. A “cable” was already introduced in line 18 of the claim, therefore it is unclear whether the “cable” in line 23 is the same “cable” introduced in line 18, or a completely different cable. The Examiner suggests applicant to amend line 23 to recite “the cable” instead of “a cable” if the cable in line 23 is the same cable in line 18. If it is a different “cable”, Examiner suggests applicant to use a different name for that embodiment to avoid any interpretation issues. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the “cable” in line 23 as being the same “cable” in line 18. Additionally, line 18 recites “the apparatus” but it was not positively recited in the claim, therefore it lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner notes that the “apparatus” is mentioned in the claim’s preamble, but it is recited as part of a functional limitation. This portion of the claim is indefinite because the claimed function is recited without positively claiming the structure necessary to perform the function. Later in line 23 of the claim, “an apparatus” is recited. It is unclear if the “apparatus” in line 23 refers to the same “apparatus” that was introduced in the claim’s preamble, or a completely different apparatus. The Examiner suggests to clarify whether the apparatus is being claimed, as the claim does not positively recite the apparatus as a structural limitation, only as a functional limitation. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret this as the apparatus not being positively claimed as a structure, only as a functional limitation.
Claim 1, line 32, recites “thereby creating or widening an aperture for insertion…”. The phrase “creating or widening an aperture” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the aperture exists prior to displacement of the retention feature or is formed as a result thereof. The Examiner suggests Applicant to clarify whether the aperture is formed from an initially closed position or is enlarged from a pre-existing aperture. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret as the aperture being enlarged from a pre-existing aperture.
Claim 1, line 11, recites “section of the flexible circuitry device”, but it was not positively recited in the claim, therefore it lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner notes that the “flexible circuitry device” is mentioned in the claim’s preamble, but it is recited as part of a functional limitation. This portion of the claim is indefinite because the claimed function is recited without positively claiming the structure necessary to perform the function. The Examiner suggests to clarify whether the flexible circuitry device is being claimed, as the claim does not positively recite the flexible circuitry device as a structural limitation, only as a functional limitation. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret this as the flexible circuitry device not being positively claimed as a structure, only as a functional limitation. The Examiner notes that this applies to all the instances of the “flexible circuitry device” in the claim.
Claim 1 is indefinite because terminology used in the claims is inconsistent with the terminology used in the specification. Specifically, the claim recites “one flexible circuitry communication contact”, “at least one contact of an input/output section”, “at least one cable interfacing circuit board”, “cable interface contact”, and “cable interface”. The specification describes similar features using different terminology without clearly indicating that such features correspond to the claimed elements (i.e. features having a different name). As a result, the claim language is subject to multiple reasonable interpretations, rendering the scope of the claim unclear. The Examiner suggests applicant to amend the previously mentioned embodiments in the claim to match with the name given to those embodiments in the specification in order to overcome this issue, or to simply provide a list of embodiments with the correct names that pertain to the embodiments in the claims. For examination purposes, the Examiner will interpret the “one flexible circuitry communication contact” as embodiment “302”, the “at least one contact of an input/output section” as the contacts in “214”, the “at least one cable interfacing circuit board” as embodiment “710”, the “cable interface contact” as the contacts in “224”, and “cable interface” as embodiment “718”.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 22 recites “further comprising a cable”, there is already a cable recited in claim 1, line 17. Since no other embodiments are recited in claim 22, it is improper because it doesn’t further limit the subject matter of the claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7 – 9, 12, 14, 22, 23, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (US 10630012).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) a connector (see figure 1) for interfacing a flexible circuitry device (see figure 3) with an apparatus, the connector comprising:
a housing (1, 2) comprising an upper housing portion (1) and a lower housing portion (2), wherein the upper housing portion (1) comprises a button region (1.1);
a button (3, 23) configured to be actuated via the button region (column 4, lines 1 – 27) of the housing (1, 2) and configured to be movable between a retain position (i.e. position when button is not actuated; column 5, lines 11 – 36) and a release position (i.e. position when button is actuated; column 5, lines 11 – 36);
one or more circuit boards (5, 25), wherein at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board (see figure 5, board where the contacts that connect to 28 are sitting on) of the one or more circuit boards (5, 25) comprises at least one flexible circuitry communication contact (contact of 28) for interfacing with a corresponding at least one contact of an input/output (I/O) section (25.1) of the flexible circuitry device (see figure 3), wherein the at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board (see figure 5, board where the contacts that connect to 28 are sitting on) is disposed between the button (3) and the lower housing portion (2), and at least one cable interfacing circuit board (25) of the one or more circuit boards (5, 25) comprises at least one cable interface contact (27.1.2), each cable interface contact (27.1.2) supporting transfer power, data, and/or stimulation signals (27.1.2 inherently transfers power; column 5, lines 11 – 36) between the flexible circuitry device (see figure 3) and a cable (26) connecting the connector (see figure 3) to the apparatus (26 is inherently connected to an apparatus);
at least one retention feature (27) for frictionally retaining the I/O section of the flexible circuitry device against the at least one flexible circuitry communication contact (i.e. 27 is capable of retaining the I/O section of 28, 25.1); and
a cable interface (part of 25 that connects to 26; column 4, lines 8 – 12) in electrical communication with the at least one cable interface contact (27.1.2), wherein the cable interface (part of 25 that connects to 26; column 4, lines 8 – 12) enables transfer of data and/or stimulation signals (i.e. inherently, data transfers from 26 to 25) between a cable (26) connected to an apparatus (26 is inherently connected to an apparatus) and the flexible circuitry device (see figure 3);
wherein, when the button (3) is in the retain position (i.e. position when button is not actuated; column 5, lines 11 – 36), the button (3, 23) creates a downward force on the at least one retention feature (4, 27) toward the lower housing portion (2), thereby causing a frictional retention force against the I/O section (5.1, 25.1) of the flexible circuitry device (see figure 3) when the at least one contact of the I/O section (5.1, 25.1) of the flexible circuitry device (see figure 3) is communicatively aligned with the one or more flexible circuitry communication contacts (contact of 28) of one or more circuit boards (5, 25) of the at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board (see figure 5, board where the contacts that connect to 28 are sitting on); and
wherein, when the button (3, 23) is in the release position (position when button is actuated; column 5, lines 11 – 36), the at least one retention feature (4, 27) is displaced in a direction of the upper housing portion (1), thereby creating or widening an aperture (i.e. aperture where 8 is inserted in figure 3; aperture widens when the button is pressed for 8 to be inserted) for insertion of the I/O section (5.1, 25.1) of the flexible circuitry device (see figure 3).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1, wherein the lower housing portion (2) comprises a recess (see recess of housing in figure 1, where 5 is being housed) for receiving a lower portion of the one or more circuit boards (i.e. the recess is capable of receiving a lower portion of circuit board 5).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1, wherein the button region (region in 1.1) comprises a flexible portion (21.3 is an insert snap portion, therefore it is flexible as it has to clip to 22) of the upper housing portion (1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1, wherein the button region (region in 1.1) comprises a button aperture (1.1).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1, wherein, when in the retain position (i.e. position when button is not actuated; column 5, lines 11 – 36), at least a portion of the button (3, 23) is vertically aligned with at least a portion of the at least one retention feature (27).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 7, wherein the portion of the button (3, 23) comprises a horizontal extension of the button (i.e. see figure 4, portion that extends towards 24).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1, wherein the button (3, 23) is configured to be depressed toward the at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board (i.e. 3, 23 is capable of being pushed/actuated towards the at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1, wherein the at least one retention feature (27) comprises one or more flexible circuitry communication contacts (27.1.2) of the at least one flexible circuitry communication contact (contact of 28).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1, wherein a printed circuit board assembly (see figure 1) comprises the one or more circuit boards (5, 25).
Regarding claim 22, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1, further comprising the cable (26).
Regarding claim 23, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1, wherein the flexible circuitry device (see figure 3) is a wearable medical device (i.e. see “Technical Field” section).
Regarding claim 25, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1, wherein the at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board (see figure 5, board where the contacts that connect to 28 are sitting on) comprises one or more of the at least one cable interfacing circuit board (25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 10, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 10630012) in view of Chiang (US 8029303).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1.
But Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein the button is configured to slide substantially parallel to the at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board.
Chiang teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein the button (40) is configured to slide substantially parallel to the at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board (i.e. 40 is capable of sliding parallel to 24).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao with the connector as disclosed by Chiang to provide the button being configured to slide substantially parallel to the at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board, because parallel sliding motion is a known and established technique for reliably engaging electrical conductors.
Regarding claim 10, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 9.
But Zhao does not explicitly disclose further comprising at least one spring disposed beneath an upper surface of the button such that, when the button is depressed, the at least one spring compresses, and when the button is released, the at least one spring exerts an upward force against the button.
Chiang teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector further comprising at least one spring (42) disposed beneath an upper surface of the button (surface of 432) such that, when the button (40) is depressed, the at least one spring compresses (column 3, lines 47 – 66), and when the button (40) is released, the at least one spring (42) exerts an upward force against the button (i.e. when spring 42 is released, it inherently exerts a force on 432).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao with the connector as disclosed by Chiang to provide at least one spring disposed beneath an upper surface of the button such that, when the button is depressed, the at least one spring compresses, and when the button is released, the at least one spring exerts an upward force against the button, because positioning a spring directly beneath a user-actuated button is a known and predictable mechanism for providing reliable return force and consistent actuation without altering the operation of the device.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 10.
But Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board comprises a spring aperture.
Chiang teaches (figures 1 – 10) a connector wherein the at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board (41) comprises a spring aperture (411).
Although Chiang teaches that the spring aperture is at the base of the connector, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Zhao with the connector disclosed by Chiang to provide the spring-receiving aperture in the flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board rather than in the connector base as taught by Chiang, because the aperture merely serves to locate the spring and relocating it to an adjacent rigid support structure constitutes a predictable mechanical variation that does not alter the spring’s function.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 10630012) in view of Christensson (WO 9619017).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 12.
But Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one retention feature comprises at least one leaf spring electrical contact.
Christensson teaches (figures 2 – 6) a connector wherein the at least one retention feature (20) comprises at least one leaf spring electrical contact (30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao with the connector as disclosed by Christensson to provide at least one leaf spring electrical contact, to improve the reliability of the electrical contacts, as leaf spring contacts are well known, predictable solutions for providing compliant electrical engagement.
Claim(s) 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 10630012) in view of Liu (US 9843127).
Regarding claim 20, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 1.
But Zhao does not explicitly disclose further comprising a flexible membrane disposed between the upper housing portion and the button, wherein the flexible membrane creates a water resistant seal surrounding at least a portion of the one or more circuit boards.
Liu teaches (figures 8A – 8D) a connector further comprising a flexible membrane (847) disposed between the upper housing portion (860) and the button (861a, 861b, 861c), wherein the flexible membrane (847) creates a water resistant seal (column 1, lines 49 – 56) surrounding at least a portion of the one or more circuit boards (820).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao with the connector as disclosed by Liu to provide a flexible membrane disposed between the upper housing portion and the button, wherein the flexible membrane creates a water resistant seal surrounding at least a portion of the one or more circuit boards, to improve the sealing performance of the connector against environmental factors, such as dust, liquid, or debris.
Regarding claim 21, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 20.
But Zhao does not explicitly disclose wherein the flexible membrane comprises at least a portion of the at least one retention feature.
Liu teaches (figures 8A – 8D) a connector wherein the flexible membrane (847) comprises at least a portion of the at least one retention feature (846).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao with the connector as disclosed by Liu to provide the flexible membrane comprising at least a portion of the at least one retention feature, to improve the sealing performance of the connector against environmental factors, such as dust, liquid, or debris.
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 10630012) in view of Justus (US 3895635).
Regarding claim 24, Zhao teaches (figures 1 – 6) the connector of claim 23.
But Zhao does not explicitly disclose further comprising a retention device for releasably attaching the connector to an article of clothing.
Justus teaches (figure 2) a connector further comprising a retention device (134) for releasably attaching the connector to an article of clothing (i.e. 134 is capable of attaching to an article of clothing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhao with the connector as disclosed by Justus to provide a retention device for releasably attaching the connector to an article of clothing, in order to secure the connector to clothing during use, thereby improving stability, preventing accidental disconnection, and enhancing user convenience and safety.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 15 – 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, the prior art of record fails to teach wherein when the button is in the release position, an upper portion of the at least one flexible circuitry interfacing circuit board is pivoted at an angle about the at least one projection in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record fails to teach wherein: the printed circuit board assembly comprises a lower retention plate, an upper retention plate, and a bridge section connecting the upper retention plate to the lower retention plate; and the I/O section of the flexible circuitry device is frictionally retained between the upper retention plate and the lower retention plate in combination with the remaining limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/CARLOS E LOPEZ-PAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834