DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 - claims 1-20 in the reply filed on 08/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 9 and 20, the limitation, “…square nodes, triangular nodes, hexagonal nodes, octagonal nodes, spiral nodes…” is grammatically incorrect. The last terms need to have a coordinating conjunction word such as “and” or “or” before the terms “spiral nodes” for better flow of English and defining boundaries of the claimed limitation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claims 7 and 18, the term “unnecessary” in the claims is a relative term which render the claims indefinite. The term “unnecessary” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear from the claim or specification by what amount of backtracking or repeated motions in a toolpath will be considered as unnecessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3,5-8,11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borish et al. (US 20210055710 A1) in view of Neill (US 20220219392 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Borish et al. teaches, a system for optimizing tool path in manufacturing (method/system for optimizing toolpath for additively manufacturing an object, [0017] and [0080]), the system comprising:
a user device (computer, [0080]) configured to receive input data from at least one user (computer receiving representation of an object from the user, [0030] and [0080]), wherein the input data comprises at least one shape outline (3-D presentation of the object in a CAD file, [0080]) and one input weight (user defined settings such as weight for each edge, [0080] and [0128]);
a computer enabled manufacturing tool (3-D printer) configured to receive instructions (“…generating a toolpath for the 3-D printer that allows the printer to print each layer of the part as a single continuous path…”, [0035]); and
at least one node matrix (graph) in relation to the at least one shape outline (from the 3-D representation/CAD file, a graph of nodes (matrix) is generated, [0030] and [0080]), generate an offset geometry from at least one dispatched node inside the at least one shape outline (a minimum spanning tree is constructed and executed1 on tree/matrix of nodes representing the shape of the 3-D object, [0127] and [0129]),
and to convert the optimized tool path into at least one output instruction for a manufacturing tool (the generated optimized toolpath is used by the 3-D printer to print the object, [0035] and [0080]).
Borish et al. does not teach the details of a cloud computing network configured with an algorithm to dispatch and generate an optimized tool path through at least one Boolean operation based on the offset geometry and input weight. However, Borish et al. teaches a computer in [0080] that has algorithms and other software/hardware required to generate optimized toolpath using minimum spanning tree algorithm as taught in [0129]. The computer can be connected over a cloud network to expand manufacturing capacity in a remote setup. Also, the generated toolpath can be further optimized using other techniques such as Boolean operation for further improvement or optimization of the toolpath.
Neill teaches, a cloud computing network configured with an algorithm to dispatch (the multi-dimensional build platform synthesis system application2 can be implemented using cloud computing, [0228] and [0274]),
and generate an optimized tool path through at least one Boolean operation based on the offset geometry and input weight (toolpath for the target object is generated using Boolean and other optimization methods3 and user inputs in the form of meta data such as material to be used and others [0174]-[0175] and [0270], see also [0281]).
Borish et al. and Neill are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor that is generating toolpath from a 3-D presentation of an object.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system/method having a computer for generating an optimizing toolpath based on user input and shape outline and using minimum spanning tree as taught by Borish et al. by applying the known technique of using computer in cloud network for remote operation and applying Boolean operation in combination with other optimization techniques (minimum spanning tree in view of Borish et al.) as taught by Neill to yield predictable results of generating optimized toolpath for manufacturing an object implementing various optimization techniques together in a cloud for remote operation.
Borish et al. teach:
[0030] In general, another innovative aspect of the subject matter described in this specification can be embodied in a method of generating a toolpath for additively manufacturing an object. The method including obtaining a 3-D digital representation of the object, slicing the 3-D digital representation of the object into a plurality of layers, one of the plurality of layers including a plurality of isolated contours including a perimeter contour and a plurality of inset contours surrounded by the
perimeter contour, identifying a plurality of regions between the isolated contours including candidate bridge locations, generating a graph where nodes4 of the graph represent the plurality of isolated contours and edges of the graph represent the plurality of regions between the isolated contours, wherein a root node represents the perimeter contour and each of the nodes connect to at least one other node in a parent-child relationship or sibling-sibling relationship, wherein the edges of the graph
are weighted, selecting a subset of the edges that connect all of the nodes without any cycles based on edge weight, beginning with the root node and based on the selected subset of edges, selecting a bridge location from the candidate bridge locations between the isolated contours for each of the selected subset of edges, and traversing the graph to generate a toolpath for 3D printing the object.
[0129] Kruskal's algorithm, or another algorithm, can be utilized to construct a minimum spanning tree. That is, a tree that connects to all nodes with minimal cost according to edge weight5. Given the weights in this exemplary embodiment, the algorithm can either select edge A or B and Edge C for a total cost of 101. Tie breakers are implicit as part of Kruskal's algorithm and occur by virtue of the evaluation order of the nodes/edges in the graph. In other embodiments, other types of tiebreakers can be utilized. In the depicted example, edge A and C are selected—and all other, un-selected, edges are removed from the tree.
Neill teach:
[0174] In an embodiment, significantly more complex build volume section geometries are generated through the generative computing method of CSG in conjunction with a build volume section primitive library database. In this method, a library of geometric primitives (including as example: cylinders, cuboids, conical, spherical, toroid, spline surfaces and angular wedges; full solids or half-spaces, and combinations thereof) are utilized in conjunction with a plurality of computational operations (such as Boolean and other rigid transformations) to generate a build volume section in accordance to a desired target object geometry. The desired geometry represents the build volume section that reduces or minimizes both geometric and feature error (considering the additive manufacturing system capabilities) associated to fabrication of a given target object geometric, structural, and functional specification. In an embodiment the use of CSG operations and multiple optimizations 6and/or predictive methods are used to produce the build volume section for a given target object input, set of fabrication requirements/specifications, and additive manufacturing system capability specifications.
Regarding claim 3, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the system of claim 1. In addition, Borish et al. teaches, wherein the offset geometry is created based on a minimum spanning tree (algorithm like minimum spanning tree used to connect all the nodes generated from the 3D presentation of the object, [0127] and [0129]), generated by the algorithm from the at least one dispatched node inside the at least one shape outline (algorithm like minimum spanning tree used to connect all the nodes in a graph generated from the 3D presentation of the object , [0030] and [0129]).
Regarding claim 5, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the system of claim 1. In addition, Borish et al. teaches, wherein the at least one output instruction is sent to a fabrication tool utilizing a single point manufacturing methodology (printing object using additive manufacturing machine having a nozzle-single point manufacturing, [0080]).
Regarding claim 6, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the system of claim 1. In addition, Borish et al. teaches, wherein the at least one output instruction is sent to a fabrication tool utilizing an additive manufacturing methodology (printing object using additive manufacturing machine, [0080]).
Regarding claim 7, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the system of claim 1. In addition, Borish et al. teaches, wherein the cloud computing network is further configured to optimize the tool path by removing unnecessary motions and backtracking (applying minimum spanning tree removes the un-selected edges (backtracking) from the graph of nodes thus optimizing toolpath by removing unnecessary motions and backtracking, [0129]).
Regarding claim 8, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the system of claim 1. In addition, Neill teaches, wherein the cloud computing network is further
configured to accept and process input shapes without a defined outline (the object to be manufactured can have irregular shape that is no defined outline which can be processed by the system/method, [0134], [0138] and [0174]).
Regarding claim 11, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the claimed system for optimizing tool path in manufacturing. Therefore together they teach the method for optimizing tool path in manufacturing implementing the functional steps of the claimed system for optimizing tool path in manufacturing as discussed above in claim 1.
Regarding claims 13 and 14, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the claimed system for optimizing tool path in manufacturing. Therefore together they teach the method for optimizing tool path in manufacturing implementing the functional steps of the claimed system for optimizing tool path in manufacturing as discussed above in claims 6 and 5.
Regarding claim 15, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the claimed method of claim 11. In addition, Borish et al. teaches, wherein a junction geometry is adjusted to allow an overlap to increase internal strength (zippering overlapping bridges are prioritized7 withing the structure to increase bond strength that is increasing internal strength of the printed structure, [0121] and [0130]).
Regarding claim 16, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the claimed method of claim 11. In addition, Neill teaches, wherein the at least one output instruction is stored in a database to train an AI model (the completed design from the platform database is used to train predictive and machine learning methods-AI model, [0176]).
Regarding claim 17, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the claimed method of claim 11. In addition, Neill teaches, wherein the method is applied in a three-dimensional space (system or method supporting tool path generation and orientation in a 3D space, [0117] and [0124]).
Regarding claim 18, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the method of claim 11. In addition, Borish et al. teaches, further comprising optimizing the tool path by removing unnecessary motions and backtracking (applying minimum spanning tree removes the un-selected edges (backtracking) from the graph of nodes thus optimizing toolpath by removing unnecessary motions and backtracking, [0129]).
Regarding claim 19, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the method of claim 11. In addition, Borish et al. teaches, further comprising accepting and processing input shapes without a defined outline (the object to be manufactured can have irregular shape that is no defined outline which can be processed by the system/method, [0134], [0138] and [0174]).
Claim(s) 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borish et al. (US 20210055710 A1) in view of Neill (US 20220219392 A1) and Kobida et al. (US 20160221259 A1).
Regarding claim 2 combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the system of claim 1.
Neither in combination nor individually Borish et al. and Neill teach the details of the input weight enables the cloud computing network to create texture outputs as part of the at least one output instruction. However, Neill teaches user inputs in the form of meta data such as material to be used and others in [0174]-[0175] and [0270] for manufacturing the object. The input weight can include other information related to the object to the manufactured.
Kobida et al. teaches, wherein the input weight enables the cloud computing
network8 to create texture outputs as part of the at least one output instruction (when fabricating the color object, based on surface texture information as provided, (user input weight), adapt the tool instructions accordingly to achieve intended surface texture, [0060] and [0064]).
Kobida et al., Borish et al. and Neill are analogous art because they from the same field of endeavor that is manufacturing an object from a 3D presentation of the object.
Regarding claim 12, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the claimed system for optimizing tool path in manufacturing. Therefore, together they teach the method for optimizing tool path in manufacturing implementing the functional steps of the claimed system for optimizing tool path in manufacturing as discussed above in claim 2.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borish et al. (US 20210055710 A1) in view of Neill (US 20220219392 A1) and Bandara et al. (US
20220091580 A1).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the system of claim 1.
Neither in combination nor individually Borish et al. and Neill teach wherein the algorithm replaces the at least one dispatched node with closed looped graphics. However Borish et al. teaches in [0030] and [0119] to create a graph/matrix of nodes representing the object and apply minimum spanning tree on the generated graph/matrix of nodes to generate optimized tool path. But it does not teach to replace the nodes to closed loop graphics.
Bandara et al. teaches, wherein the algorithm replaces the at least one dispatched node with closed looped graphics (the geometric shape within the design space is represented by points (point/node matrix) where the points are mapped to coordinates (closed loop graphics such as letters and numbers) to aid with object manufacturing, [0060] and [0077]).
Bandara et al., Borish et al. and Neill are analogous art because they from the same field of endeavor that is manufacturing an object from 3D presentation of the object.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system for optimizing a tool path in manufacturing an object where an algorithm dispatches a node matrix having nodes representing the object as taught by combination of Borish et al. and Neill by applying the known technique of replacing the node/point with coordinates as closed graphics as a step of generative design process as taught by Bandara et al. to yield predictable results of generating instructions for manufacturing the object based on the generative design process output as taught by Bandara et al. in [0158].
Claim(s) 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Borish et al. (US 20210055710 A1) in view of Neill (US 20220219392 A1) and Bonner et al. (US 20130135302 A1).
Regarding claim 9, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the system of claim 1.
Neither in combination nor individually Borish et al. and Neill teach the details of the at least one node matrix comprises at least one of: square nodes, triangular nodes, hexagonal nodes, octagonal nodes, spiral nodes. However, Borish et al. teaches to generate a graph/matrix of nodes but the shape of the generated graph or matrix is not defined. Any shape of the matrix can be generated as required or desired by the system or user.
Bonner et al. teaches, wherein the at least one node matrix comprises at least one of: square nodes, triangular nodes (the nodes are represented as triangular or quad-square mesh, [0040] and [0065]), hexagonal nodes, octagonal nodes, spiral nodes (nodes represented as hexagonal or form/shape of meshes, [0040] and [0067]).
Bonner et al., Borish et al. and Neill are analogous art because they from the same field of endeavor that is manufacturing an object from 3D presentation of the object.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system for optimizing a tool path in manufacturing an object where an algorithm dispatches a node matrix having nodes representing the object as taught by combination of Borish et al. and Neill by applying the known technique of representing the nodes matrix/graph with various shapes such as triangular, hexagonal and others as taught by Bonner et al. to yield predictable result of generating a 3D presentation of the object to be manufactured using various shapes of nodal matrix for precise surface mathematical calculations during designing.
Regarding claim 20, combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the claimed system for optimizing tool path in manufacturing. Therefore, together they teach the method for optimizing tool path in manufacturing implementing the functional steps of the claimed system for optimizing tool path in manufacturing as discussed above in claim 9.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C.103 as being unpatentable over Borish et al. (US 20210055710 A1) in view of Neill (US 20220219392 A1) and CN50 (CN 111753350 A).
Regarding claim 10 combination of Borish et al. and Neill teach the system of claim 1. In addition Neill teaches, wherein the cloud computing network (the multi-dimensional build platform synthesis system application9 can be implemented using cloud computing, [0228] and [0274]) is further configured to iteratively augment weights (adjusting weight of the neural network to improve learning of the neural network to perform known and unknown functions in a 3D space, [0281] and [0286]).
Neither in combination nor individually Borish et al. and Neill teach augmenting/adjusting weights of unvisited paths across multiple iterations or layers to ensure traversal.
CN50 teaches, unvisited paths across multiple iterations or layers to
ensure traversal (when generating laser cutting path, the cutting path is optimized using greedy algorithm where for each time step (iterations) it is ensured all the coordinates are traversed10, page 6, 12th and 13th paragraph, page 7, 1st paragraph and page 8, 1st paragraph).
CN50, Borish et al. and Neill are analogous art because they from the same field of endeavor that is generating tool path from a 3D presentation of an object.
Therefore it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system for optimizing a tool path in manufacturing an object where weights of the neural network performing known functions and unknown functions in a 3D space for designing an object followed by generating manufacturing the object as taught by combination of Borish et al. and Neill by applying the known technique of greedy algorithm to optimize a tool path by ensuring all the paths are visited when optimizing the tool path as taught by CN50 to yield predictable results of generating and optimizing tool path for manufacturing an object as taught by CN50 in page 4, 1st paragraph.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sondergaard et al. (US 20220155752 A1) teaches a computer-implemented method for customizing a parametric design and manufacturing process of a physical product where the physical product is represented in the form of nodal matrix.
/ANZUMAN SHARMIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Offset geometry generated from the matrix of nodes.
2 Algorithm for generating optimized toolpath in view of [0284] and [0287])
3 Spanning tree algorithm in view of Borish et al.
4 The graph of nodes in the claimed node matrix.
5 Based on user input such as edge weight and 3-D presentation of the object, graph of nodes are generated on which minimum spanning tree is generated and executed for optimization to generate a toolpath for manufacturing the object.
6 Combination of Boolean and minimum spanning tree in view of Borish et al. are used together to generate optimized toolpath as taught in [0228].
7 Junction geometry of the structure/object to be printed is adjusted.
8 In view of Neill, the multi-dimensional build platform synthesis system application implemented using cloud computing, [0228] and [0274]),
9 Algorithm for generating optimized toolpath in view of [0284] and [0287])
10 Unvisited paths for cutting are traversed and rewarded using greedy algorithm in multiple iterations.