DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kempeneers et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0028569). Regarding Claim 1, Kempeneers discloses a cable strain relief apparatus (80) comprising: at least a first section (first 81) sized and shaped to partially surround a portion of a cable connector (100); and a second section (second 81) aligned with the first section along a central longitudinal axis, the second section being sized and shaped to partially surround a portion of a cable (2) to which the cable connector is attached.
Regarding Claim 2, Kempeneers discloses a binder (3) sized and shaped to surround and secure the first section and the second section to the cable.
Regarding Claim 3, Kempeneers discloses the binder being a heat shrink tubing (3).
Regarding Claim 4, Kempeneers discloses the first section and the second section being rigid and non-conductive (Paragraph 0080).
Regarding Claim 5, Kempeneers discloses a cable strain relief apparatus (80) comprising: a first elongated member (first 81) including: a first section (section of 81 that surrounds 100) sized and shaped to partially surround a portion of a cable connector (100); a second section (section of 81 that surrounds 3 and 2) sized and shaped to partially surround a portion of a cable (2) to which the cable connector is attached, the second section being aligned with the first section along a central longitudinal axis; and a protrusion (82) extending from an exposed face of a wall (Fig. 9) of the second section of the first member; and a second elongated member (second 81) including: a first section (section of 81 that surrounds 100) sized and shaped to partially surround the portion of the cable connector; a second section (section of 81 that surrounds 3 and 2) sized and shaped to partially surround the portion of the cable to which the cable connector is attached; and a protrusion receptacle (83) integrated into at least an exposed face of a wall (Fig. 9) of the second section of the second member; wherein when the first member and the second member are mated together, the first section of the first member and the first section of the second member define a first compartment (Fig. 9) sized and shaped to snugly surround the portion of the cable connector, the second section of the first member and the second section of the second member define a second compartment (Fig. 9) sized and shaped to snugly surround the portion of the cable to which the cable connector is attached, and the protrusion of the first member mates with the protrusion receptacle of the second member.
Regarding Claim 6, Kempeneers discloses the second member being curved and further includes a protrusion (82) extending from a second exposed face of the wall of the second section of the second member.
Regarding Claim 7, Kempeneers disclose the first member being curved and further includes a protrusion receptacle (83) integrated into at least a second exposed face of the wall of the second section of the first member, and wherein when the first member and the second member are mated together, the protrusion of the second member mates with the protrusion receptacle of the first member.
Regarding Claim 8, Kempeneers discloses the first member and the second member being substantially identical (Paragraph 0080).
Regarding Claim 9, Kempeneers discloses a binder (3) sized and shaped to surround and retain the first member and the second member in a mated relationship when the first member and the second member are mated together (Paragraph 0080).
Regarding Claim 10, Kempeneers discloses the binder including heat shrink tubing (3).
Regarding Claim 11, Kempeneers discloses the cable being a coaxial cable (Paragraph 0007).
Regarding Claim 12, Kempeneers discloses each of the first member and the second member being a single molded component (Paragraph 0080).
Regarding Claim 13, Kempeneers discloses the wall of the second section of the first member being common to the first member entirely and wherein a width of an inside surface of the wall varies between the first section of the first member and the second section of the first member (Paragraph 0080).
Regarding Claim 14, Kempeneers discloses a cable assembly comprising: a cable (2); a connector (100) attached to a first portion of the cable; and a cable strain relief apparatus (80) providing strain relief at the first portion of the cable, the cable strain relief apparatus including: a first elongated member (first 81) that includes: a first section (section of 81 that surrounds 100) sized and shaped to receive and partially surround a portion of the connector; a second section (section of 81 that surrounds 3 and 2) sized and shaped to receive and partially surround a second portion of the cable; and a protrusion (82) extending from an exposed face of a wall (Fig. 9) of the second section of the first member; and a second elongated member (second 81) mated with the first member, the second member including: a first section (section of 81 that surrounds 100) sized and shaped to receive and partially surround the portion of the connector; a second section (section of 81 that surrounds 3 and 2) sized and shaped to receive and partially surround the second portion of the cable; and a protrusion receptacle (83) integrated into an exposed face of a wall (Fig. 9) of the second section of the second member; wherein the protrusion of the first member mates with the protrusion receptacle of the second member, the first section of the first member and the first section of the second member snugly surround the portion of the connector, and the second section of the first member and the second section of the second member snugly surround the second portion of the cable.
Regarding Claim 15, Kempeneers discloses the second member of the cable strain relief apparatus being curved and further includes a protrusion (82) extending from a second exposed face of the wall of the second section of the second member.
Regarding Claim 16, Kempeneers discloses the first member of the cable strain relief apparatus being curved and further includes a protrusion receptacle (83) integrated into a second exposed face of the wall of the second section of the first member, and wherein the protrusion of the second member mates with the protrusion receptacle of the first member.
Regarding Claim 17, Kempeneers discloses the first member and the second member being substantially identical (Paragraph 0080).
Regarding Claim 18, Kempeneers discloses a binder (3) sized and shaped to surround and retain the first member and the second member of the cable strain relief apparatus in a mated relationship.
Regarding Claim 19, Kempeneers discloses the binder including a heat shrunk tubing (3).
Regarding Claim 20, Kempeneers discloses the protrusion of the first member of the cable strain relief apparatus being a partially cylindrical tongue (82), and wherein the protrusion receptacle of the second member of the cable strain relief apparatus is a complementary, partially cylindrical groove (83).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses cable strain relief apparatuses, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having first and second sections surrounding cables and cable connectors.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833