Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 9 filed on 12/23/2025 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MOTOYAMA et al. (US20190004178) hereafter MOTOYAMA (Single reference 103 as the claimed limitations are shown/disclosed in multiple figs/embodiments).
1. Regarding claim 1, MOTOYAMA discloses a plane detecting device (Figs 4-7, 9, 16 and 20, paras 0057-0067, 0114-0120 shows and discloses a plane detecting device and a plane detecting method) comprising:
a camera that captures an image data of a target having a predetermined plane (figs 4-7, 16 shows the camera 41 capturing the images (i.e image data see paras 0058, 0114) of a target having a predetermined plane (see figs 5, 7 and 16 shows a target having a predetermined plane) meeting the above claim limitations)); and
a processor that processes the image data (fig 20, paras 0232-0237 shows and discloses the CPU 201 that executes the programs and processes the image data as shown in figs 4-5, 7, 9 and 16);
wherein the processor is configured (fig 20, paras 0232-0237 shows and discloses the CPU 201 that executes the programs) to function as:
an information acquisition unit that acquires visible image information and 3D coordinate information corresponding to the visible image information from the image data (fig 4, para 0064 discloses the matching processing part 61 (i.e the information acquiring unit that acquires visible image information (i.e corresponding pixels (i.e visible image information) between the base camera image and the reference camera image (i.e the form the image data)) and fig 4 element 62 (Three dimensional calculating part 62), para 0067-0068 (i.e the 3D coordinate information corresponding to the visible image information (i.e the output corresponding to the matching unit 61) meeting the above claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics of the “an information acquisition unit, visible image information are not required by the current claim);
a likelihood acquisition unit that acquires likelihoods indicating a planarity of the predetermined plane of the target from the visible image information (figs 4, 6, 7, paras 0101- 0102 shows and discloses the plane correspondence detecting part (i.e a likelihood acquisition unit that acquires likelihoods indicating a planarity of the predetermined plane of the target (as seen in figs 5-7 and 16)) outputs a list of pairs of closest planes (i.e likelihoods indicating planarity of the predetermined plane) based on the information of the unit 61 (i.e the visible image information) meeting the above claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics of a likelihood acquisition unit are not required by the current claim); and
a plane detector that detects the predetermined plane of the target through a robust estimation method by using the 3D coordinate information and the likelihoods (fig 4, paras 0063, 0101-0103, 0122-0123 shows element 68 (positional relation estimation part 68 i.e a plane detector that detects the predetermined plane of the target through a robust estimation method) using the 3D coordinates (i.e fig 4 element 62 output used by fig 4 element 68) and the likelihoods (i.e fig 4, the plane correspondence detecting part 66 (i.e a likelihood acquisition unit that acquires likelihoods) meeting the above claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics plane detector and robust estimation method are not required by the current claim). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, different figs/embodiments of MOTOYAMA are combinable. The suggestion/motivation would be a highly accurate device at paras 0001, 0013.
2. Regarding claim 5, MOTOYAMA discloses the plane detecting device according to Claim 1, wherein the plane detector detects the predetermined plane of the target through RANSAC by using a plurality of sample points randomly selected from the 3D coordinate information and the likelihoods each corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of sample points (Para 0075 discloses RANSAC plane fitting method meeting the limitations of wherein the plane detector detects the predetermined plane of the target through RANSAC by using a plurality of sample points randomly selected from the 3D coordinate information and the likelihoods each corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of sample points).
3. Claim 8 is a corresponding method claim of claim 1. See the corresponding explanation of claim 1. MOTOYAMA discloses a method in fig 9.
4. Claim 9 is a corresponding computer-readable recording medium claim of claim 8. See the corresponding explanation of claim 8. MOTOYAMA discloses a computer-readable recording medium (i.e recording medium storing a program/instruction in paras 0233-0238).
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited figures, and paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested for the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Examiner has also cited references in PTO892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 6-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAYESH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2677
/JAYESH A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677