DETAILED ACTION
Reply Under 37 CFR 1.111
The submission of the reply filed on 7/17/2026 to the non-final Office action of 4/17/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-12, 14-16, and 21-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by US 2020/0203301 to Yu et al. (hereafter “Yu”, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 22, Yu discloses: a circuit board arrangement (Fig. 7) comprising: a circuit board (110) having an upper side (110-TS) and an underside (108-TS); at least one electrical module (106A) having an upper side and an underside (Fig. 7), the upper side of the at least one electrical module (106A) being arranged on the underside (108-TS) of the circuit board (110); a heat sink (TM); means for providing a pressure (301, 302), with which the underside of the at least one electrical module (106A) is pressed against the heat sink (TM); and a heat- conducting material (104B) that is arranged between the underside of the at least one electrical module (106A) and the heat sink (TM), wherein the at least one electrical module (106A) is embedded in an encapsulating material (108', 106a-5) that terminates with the underside of the at least one electrical module (106A) without covering the underside of the at least one electrical module (106A), wherein the encapsulating material (108') is provided such that the encapsulating material presses the heat- conducting material (104B) against the heat sink (TM) in a region adjacent to the at least one electrical module (106A), and wherein the encapsulating material (106a-5) is disposed within a gap that extends between the upper side of the at least one electrical module (106A) and the underside (108-TS) of the circuit board (110), (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2020/0203301 to Yu et al. (hereafter “Yu”, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 21, Yu discloses a circuit board arrangement (Figs. 7) comprising: a circuit board (110) having an upper side (110-TS) and an underside (108-TS); at least two electrical modules (106A) (Fig. 7; pars. [0013]-[0014], specifically, see “plurality of semiconductor dies” in par. [0014]), each electrical module (106A) of the at least two electrical modules having an upper side and an underside (Fig. 7), the upper side of the respective electrical module (106A) being arranged on the underside (108-TS) of the circuit board (110); a heat sink (TM); means for providing a pressure (301, 302), with which the underside of the at least one electrical module (106A) is pressed against the heat sink (TM); and a heat-conducting material (104B) that is arranged between the underside of the at least one electrical module (106A) and the heat sink (TM), wherein the at least two electrical modules (106A) are embedded in an encapsulating material (108’, 106a-5) that terminates with the underside of the at least two electrical modules (106A) without covering the underside of the at least two electrical modules (106A), and wherein the encapsulating material (108’, 106a-5) is provided and configured to press the heat- conducting material (104B) against the heat sink (TM) in a region adjacent to the at least two electrical modules (106A).
Alternative interpretation.
Regarding claim 1, Yu discloses a circuit board arrangement (Fig. 8) comprising: a circuit board (SB) having an upper side and an underside (Fig. 8); at least two electrical module (106A) (Fig. 8; pars. [0013]-[0014], specifically, see “plurality of semiconductor dies” in par. [0014]), each electrical module (106A) of the at least two electrical modules having an upper side and an underside (Fig. 8), the upper side of the respective electrical module (106A) being arranged on the underside of the circuit board (SB); a heat sink (TM); means for providing a pressure (301, 302), with which the underside of the at least one electrical module (106A) is pressed against the heat sink (TM); and a heat-conducting material (104B) that is arranged between the underside of the at least one electrical module (106A) and the heat sink (TM), wherein the at least two electrical modules (106A) are embedded in an encapsulating material (108’, 106a-6) that terminates with the underside of the at least two electrical modules (106A) without covering the underside of the at least two electrical modules (106A), and wherein the encapsulating material (108’, 106a-5) is provided such that the encapsulating material (108’) presses the heat-conducting material (104B) against the heat sink (TM) in a region adjacent to the at least two electrical modules (106A).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in related arts before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided at least two electrical modules in Yu instead of the at least one, in order to adapt the circuit board arrangement of Yu for a particular application, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) and St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Applicants amended independent claim 1 to incorporate the subject matter of allowable dependent claim 13. Therefore, amended independent claim 1 is allowable over the cited prior art references. Claims 2-12 and 14-16 depend, either directly or indirectly, from allowable independent claim 1 and are allowable for at least this reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 21, Applicant contends that, allegedly, “Yu et al. do not teach or disclose at least two electrical modules that "are embedded in an encapsulating material that terminates with the undersides of the at least two electrical modules without covering the undersides of the at least two electrical modules," as recited by new independent claim 21. As shown in Figure 2, Yu et al. disclose an insulating material 108 formed on a buffer layer 104 and over a single semiconductor die 106A. Yu et al. do not teach or disclose at least two semiconductor dies 106A being embedded in the insulating material 108, as required by new independent claim 21. Therefore, new independent claim 21 is allowable over the cited prior art reference.”
As shown by the rejection above, the aforementioned Applicant’s conclusion is in error. Yu clearly teaches a plurality of the semiconductor modules (i.e., pars. [0013]-[0014], specifically, see “plurality of semiconductor dies” in par. [0014]).
Regarding claim 22, Applicant contends that, allegedly “Yu et al. do not teach or disclose a gap between the redistribution layer 110 and the semiconductor die 106A and, more specifically, do not teach or disclose that the insulating material 108 is disposed within such a gap. Accordingly, Yu et al. do not teach or disclose that "the encapsulating material is disposed within a gap that extends””.
As shown by the rejection above, the aforementioned Applicant’s conclusion is in error. Yu clearly teaches the encapsulating material (106a-5) is disposed within a gap that extends between the upper side of the at least one electrical module (106A) and the underside (108-TS) of the circuit board (110), (Fig. 7).
In view of the above the rejection is hereby maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Anatoly Vortman/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841