DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending in the present application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/27/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gestner et al. (US PGPUB 2018/0113013 A1, hereinafter Gestner) in view of Sylvia et al. (US PGPUB 2005/0210999 A1, hereinafter Sylvia).
Regarding claim 1, Gestner teaches an ultrasonic flowmeter that measures a flow rate of a fluid flowing through a flow path using an ultrasonic signal (see Abstract; see also Fig. 1 and 2, ultrasonic flow meter shown using ultrasonic signals 101/102), the ultrasonic flowmeter comprising: a first ultrasonic element configured to transmit, as a first signal, an ultrasonic signal and receive, as a second signal, an ultrasonic signal (see Fig. 2 and [0018], first ultrasonic element 110a transmits first (upstream) signal and receives a second (downstream) signal); a second ultrasonic element configured to receive, as the first signal, the ultrasonic signal and transmit, as the second signal, the ultrasonic signal (see Fig. 2 and [0018], second ultrasonic element 110b receives the first (upstream) signal and transmits the second (downstream) signal); a damping pipe defining a flow path, configured to attenuate the ultrasonic signal (see Fig. 2 and 3; see also [0030]-[0036], each type of pipe material defining a flow path has a different attenuation coefficient and is thus considered by the Examiner as being configured according to manufacturing specification and having an associated attenuation coefficient); a first ultrasonic propagator arranged outside the damping pipe, configured to propagate the first signal and the second signal of the ultrasonic signal between the first ultrasonic element and the damping pipe (see Fig. 2 and [0021], first ultrasonic propagator 120a are waveguides for the transmitted ultrasonic signals); a second ultrasonic propagator arranged outside the damping pipe, configured to propagate the first signal and the second signal of the ultrasonic signal between the second ultrasonic element and the damping pipe (see Fig. 2 and [0021], second ultrasonic propagator 120b are waveguides for the transmitted ultrasonic signals); a flow rate measurement unit that measures a flow rate of the flow path defined by the damping pipe based on the first signal and the second signal of the ultrasonic signal transmitted and received between the first ultrasonic element and the second ultrasonic element (see [0022], flow rate determination unit 150 measures flow rate defined by the various damping pipes).
Gestner fails to teach a housing that accommodates the first ultrasonic element, the first ultrasonic propagator, the damping pipe, the second ultrasonic element, and the second ultrasonic propagator; and a connection interface configured to connect to an external pipe to form a continuous flow path including a flow path of the external pipe and the flow path of the damping pipe.
Sylvia teaches an ultrasonic flowmeter (see Fig. 5, all elements) including a housing (55) that accommodates a first ultrasonic element (see Fig. 5, upper transducer 35), a second ultrasonic element (see Fig. 5, lower transducer 35) and a pipe segment (27); and further including a connection interface configured to connect to an external pipe to form a continuous flow path including a flow path of the external pipe and the flow path of the pipe segment (see Fig. 5, connection interfaces 29/31 form a continuous flow path between the pipe segment 27 and external pipes 17/19).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Gestner with the housing and connection interface of Sylvia. This allows for the flowmeter to be placed in an in-line configuration in a secured manner such that all of the elements are protected within a housing as is known in the art and described by Sylvia (see [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Gestner as modified by Sylvia above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Gestner teaches that the damping pipe has a smooth surface including an inner surface and an outer surface, and the first signal and the second signal of the ultrasonic signal pass through the inner surface and the outer surface (see Fig. 2, damping pipe 11 has smooth inner and outer surface as shown for passing the first (upstream) and second (downstream) signals through the respective surfaces).
Regarding claim 4, Gestner as modified by Sylvia above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Gestner as modified by Sylvia above fails to specifically teach that an inner diameter of the damping pipe is set to be larger than an inner diameter of the external pipe.
However, Sylvia teaches that an inner diameter of the damping pipe is set to be larger than an inner diameter of the external pipe (see Fig. 5, diameter A of the pipe segment 27 is larger than the inner diameter D of the external pipes).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the relative diameters of the damping pipe and the external pipe of Gestner as modified by Sylvia above with the further configuration of Sylvia. This allows for the transducers orientation and wall thicknesses to be controlled as described by Sylvia (see [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Gestner as modified by Sylvia above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 4.
Gestner as modified by Sylvia above fails to teach an enlarged flow path included in the continuous flow path is provided between the damping pipe and the external pipe, an inner diameter of the enlarged flow path being enlarged as a distance to the damping pipe decreases ; wherein a connection pipeline disposed between the damping pipe and the connection interface, and forming the enlarged flow path.
However, as described above, Sylvia teaches that the relative inner diameters between the damping pipe and the external pipe may be different (see Fig. 5, diameter A of the pipe segment 27 is larger than the inner diameter D of the external pipes).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to vary the inner diameter of the damping pipe relative to the external pipe of Gestner as modified by Sylvia above via various methods known in the art, including gradually decreasing/increasing pipe sections. This allows for better control over the transducer positions and would also allow for the in-line flow meter to be attached to various diameter external pipes, increasing the usage of the device in various systems.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Gestner as modified by Sylvia above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Gestner as modified by Sylvia above fails to specifically teach that that the connection interface includes an upstream connection interface for connection with the external pipe on an upstream side to make a flow path of the external pipe on the upstream side communicate with an upstream side of the flow path of the damping pipe, and a downstream connection interface for connection with the external pipe on a downstream side to make a flow path of the external pipe on the downstream side communicate with a downstream side of the flow path of the damping pipe; wherein the upstream connection interface, the damping pipe, and the downstream connection interface are arranged to be sequentially located on a same straight line from the upstream side to the downstream side in a flow direction of the fluid (see Fig. 5, upstream connection interface 29, the damping pipe 27, and the downstream connection interface 31 are arranged to be sequentially located on a same straight line from the upstream side to the downstream side in a flow direction of the fluid as shown).
However, Sylvia further teaches that the connection interface includes an upstream connection interface for connection with the external pipe on an upstream side to make a flow path of the external pipe on the upstream side communicate with an upstream side of the flow path of the damping pipe, and a downstream connection interface for connection with the external pipe on a downstream side to make a flow path of the external pipe on the downstream side communicate with a downstream side of the flow path of the damping pipe (see Fig. 5 and [0062], upstream connection interface 29 and downstream connection interface 19 configured as described); wherein the upstream connection interface, the damping pipe, and the downstream connection interface are arranged to be sequentially located on a same straight line from the upstream side to the downstream side in a flow direction of the fluid.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to further modify the device of Gestner as modified by Sylvia above with the connection interface configuration of Sylvia. This allows for the flowmeter to be placed in an in-line configuration in a secured manner as is known in the art and described by Sylvia (see [0073]).
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Gestner as modified by Sylvia above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 11.
Gestner as modified by Sylvia above fails to specifically teach a center block to which an upstream part and a downstream part of the damping pipe are fixed, wherein the upstream connection interface and the downstream connection interface are fixed to the upstream part and the downstream part of the center block, respectively; wherein the first ultrasonic propagator and the second ultrasonic propagator are fixed to the center block.
However, Sylvia teaches an additional embodiment comprising a center block to which an upstream part and a downstream part of the damping pipe are fixed, wherein the upstream connection interface and the downstream connection interface are fixed to the upstream part and the downstream part of the center block, respectively (see Fig. 4, connector element 45 considered a center block connected to the upstream connection interface 29 and the downstream connection interface 31 as shown); wherein the first ultrasonic propagator and the second ultrasonic propagator are fixed to the center block (see Fig. 5, housing for each transducer 35 considered ultrasonic propagators and fixed to the center block 45 via the central pipe section as shown).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to further modify the device of Gestner as modified by Sylvia above with the connection interface configuration of the additional embodiment of Sylvia. This allows for the flowmeter to be placed in an in-line configuration wherein the propagators are held in a secured manner as is known in the art and described by Sylvia (see [0073]).
Regarding claim 14, Gestner as modified by Sylvia above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 1-13.
Furthermore, Gestner teaches that the first ultrasonic element is fixed to the first ultrasonic propagator, and the second ultrasonic element is fixed to the second ultrasonic propagator (see Fig. 2, the first ultrasonic element 110a is fixed to the first ultrasonic propagator 120a, and the second ultrasonic element 110b is fixed to the second ultrasonic propagator 120b).
Regarding claim 15, Gestner as modified by Sylvia above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 10-12.
Gestner as modified by Sylvia above fails to specifically teach that the damping pipe is made of a material softer than a material forming the center block.
However, Gestner teaches that the damping pipe may include various softer, e.g. CPVC, or harder, e.g. copper, materials (see Fig. 3 and [0034]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to utilize a harder center block in the device Gestner as modified by Sylvia above relative to the damping pipe. This would ensure that the housing was able to secure the transducers to each damping pipe, regardless of the damping pipe material softness.
Regarding claim 16, Gestner as modified by Sylvia above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Gestner teaches that the damping pipe is made of a material softer than materials forming the first ultrasonic propagator and the second ultrasonic propagator.
However, as described above, Gestner teaches that the damping pipe may include various softer, e.g. CPVC, or harder, e.g. copper, materials (see Fig. 3 and [0034]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to utilize a harder center block in the device Gestner as modified by Sylvia above relative to the ultrasonic propagators. This would ensure that the transducers were able to be secured to the damping pipes, regardless of the damping pipe material softness.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gestner in view of Sylvia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hill et al. (US Pat. No. 6,065,350, hereinafter Hill).
Regarding claim 2, Gestner as modified by Sylvia above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Further, Gestner teaches that the damping pipe is made of a material having an ultrasonic signal attenuation capacity (see Fig. 3, damping pipe 11 has attenuation capacity R as shown based on the material of the damping pipe).
Gestner as modified by Sylvia above fails to teach an acoustic coupling member is interposed between the damping pipe and the first ultrasonic propagator and between the damping pipe and the second ultrasonic propagator.
However, Hill teaches the use of an acoustic coupling member interposed between the pipe and ultrasonic propagators (see Fig. 2A and col. 4, lines 30-64, coupling member 22a between pipe 25a and ultrasonic propagators (wedges) 22).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Gestner as modified by Sylvia above with the acoustic coupling member of Hill. This allows for the ultrasonic propagators (wedges) to form a secure contact line with one another as described by Hill (see col. 4, lines 30-64).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gestner in view of Sylvia as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view Kippersund et al. (US PGPUB 2011/0271769 A1, hereinafter Kippersund).
Regarding claim 7, Gestner as modified by Sylvia above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Gestner as modified by Sylvia above fails to teach a pressure measurement unit disposed in the housing, configured to measure a pressure of a fluid flowing through the flow path of the damping pipe.
Kippersund teaches an ultrasonic flowmeter (see Abstract; see also Fig. 6, ultrasonic flowmeter 500), wherein the device further includes a pressure measurement unit (see Fig. 5 and [0071, pressure measurement unit 520).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Gestner as modified by Sylvia above with the pressure measurement unit of Kippersund. This allows for the viscosity of the fluid to be measured so as to improve the flow rate measurement as suggested by Kippersund (see [0071]).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Gestner as modified by Sylvia and Kippersund above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 7.
Gestner as modified by Sylvia and Kippersund above fails to specifically teach an access path connected the flow path of the damping pipe is provided between the damping pipe and the connection interface, and the pressure measurement unit faces the access path to measure the pressure of the fluid flowing through the flow path of the damping; and a connection pipeline disposed between the damping pipe and the connection interface, configured to connect, as the continuous flow path, between the flow path of the damping pipe and the flow path of the external pipe, and the access path includes a first channel penetrating through a peripheral wall of the connection pipeline and a second channel connected to the first channel and extending to reach the pressure measurement unit.
However, Kippersund teaches an ultrasonic flowmeter (see Abstract; see also Fig. 6, ultrasonic flowmeter 500), wherein the device further includes a pressure measurement unit (see Fig. 5 and [0071], pressure measurement unit 520); wherein access paths are provided in the piping to measure the pressure of the fluid flowing through the fluid path (see Fig. 6 and [0071], access paths shown for pressure sensos within piping 110).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art lacking criticality, to further modify the device of Gestner as modified by Sylvia and Kippersund above with a pressure measurement unit of Kippersund that was placed within the piping or within a connection pipeline in any well-known configuration in the art. This would allow for the viscosity of the fluid to be measured so as to improve the flow rate measurement as suggested by Kippersund (see [0071]), regardless of where the pressure measurement was specifically taken.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855