DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 and 18-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any interpretation applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 14, 18, 21, 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Back (US 2022/0296361, of record) in view of Esfandiarijahromi (US 2023/0305318, of record).
Regarding claim 1, Back discloses a contact lens (see Fig 49A), the lens including an optic zone (see Fig 49A; Para [0314]; ophthalmic lens includes a central optical zone 4901 and an annular zone 4902) comprising: a central region, the central region having a base power to provide distance correction (Para [0196-0197]; the first optical zone may have a first power for distance/myopia correction), a first optical axis (see Fig 49A; Para [0314]; ophthalmic lens includes a central optical zone 4901 and an annular zone 4902; a first optical axis is taken to be the solid axis going through the center of the lens as seen in Fig 49A), a centre of curvature that is on the first optical axis (see Fig 49A; Para [0315]; a central zone 4901 has a specific radius of curvature centered on the optical axis); and an annular region comprising a plurality of concentric treatment zones that are adjacent to each other (see Fig 48 and 49A; a number of conjoined curvature are placed adjacent to each other either overlapping on next to each other as seen in said figures), wherein each treatment zone has a radial sagittal power profile that increases with increasing radial distance from the optical axis (see Fig 49B; Para [0319]; annular region 4902 of lens has treatment zones that increase in power with increase in radial distance), and wherein light rays from a distant point source that pass through a radial midpoint of each treatment zone converge at a distal focal surface (see Fig 48; Para [0311]; light rays passing through midpoint each converge at a point 4801a as seen in Fig 48), and wherein light from a distant point source that passes through each treatment zone is focused towards a focal surface that is closer to the lens than the distal focal surface (see Fig 48; Para [0311]; light rays from treatment zones 4802a-c are focused at closer focal surfaces at 4805a and 4805b as seen in Fig 48).
Back does not disclose a diameter that is less than 1.0 mm; wherein at a point halfway across the radial width of all of the treatment zones the radial sagittal power matches the base power of the central region to provide distance correction.
Back and Esfandiarijahromi are related because both disclose contacts lenses.
Esfandiarijahromi discloses a contact lens (see Fig 1), the lens including an optic zone comprising: a central region, the central region having a base power to provide distance correction (see Fig 1; Para [0058]; a central region 103 may have a base myopic correction), a first optical axis, a centre of curvature that is on the first optical axis, and a diameter that is less than 1.0mm (see Fig 6A; Para [0086]; a central zone may have a diameter of 0.25mm); and an annular region comprising a plurality of concentric treatment zones that are adjacent to each other (see Fig 1; Para [0060]; peripheral zone 104 contains a number of adjacent zones 104a-104r), wherein each treatment zone has a radial sagittal power profile that increases with increasing radial distance from the optical axis (see Fig 3A-3B; Para [0064]; P-V values of the power profile may increase/decrease with radial distance as stated in Para [0064] and seen in Fig 3A), wherein at a point halfway across the radial width of all of the treatment zones the radial sagittal power matches the base power of the central region to provide distance correction (see Fig 3A; Para [0064]; “A single cyclical power profile in the sagittal direction may be completed when the power returns to the base power of the center zone e.g. at B”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Back with a diameter that is less than 1.0 mm; and wherein at a point halfway across the radial width of all of the treatment zones the radial sagittal power matches the base power of the central region to provide distance correction of Esfandiarijahromi for the purpose of improving the capabilities of the lens to correct unwanted haloes, glare, and star bursts (Para [0063]).
Regarding claim 2, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 49A). Back further discloses wherein at least two of the treatment zones have different radial sagittal power profiles (see Fig 49B; Para [0319-0320]; power profiles of various treatment zones 4901a-d are distinct/different).
Regarding claim 3, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 49A). Back further discloses wherein the annular zone comprises between 2 and 10 concentric treatment zones (see Fig 49B; Para [0320]; annular zone may comprise between 2-10 curve infusions/treatment zones).
Regarding claim 4, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 49A). Back further discloses wherein each of the plurality of concentric treatment zones has a different radial sagittal power profile (see Fig 49B; Para [0320]; each treatment zone has a different radial power profile as seen in Fig 49B).
Regarding claim 5, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 49A). Esfandiarijahromi discloses wherein each treatment zone has a radial width of between about 0.1 and 2.5 mm (Para [0298]; zones have widths of 0.9mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Back with wherein each treatment zone has a radial width of between about 0.1 and 2.5 mm of Esfandiarijahromi for the purpose of improving the capabilities of the lens to correct unwanted haloes, glare, and star bursts (Para [0063])
Regarding claim 6, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 51B). Back further discloses wherein each treatment zone has a radial sagittal power gradient of between about 0.5 D/mm and about 20.0 D/mm (see Fig 51B; Para [0327-0329]; with a width of 1mm and a depth of focus of 1.5D the power gradient of the lens is calculated to be 1.5D/mm).
Regarding claim 7, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 49A). Back further discloses having a nominal distance power of between +0.5 D and -15.0D (see Fig 49A; see Table 1; Para [0338]; example lens may have nominal central zone powers of 0, -1, -2, -3).
Regarding claim 8, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 7 (see Fig 49A). Back further discloses wherein at least one treatment zone has a radial curvature power that is greater than the nominal distance power of the lens (see Fig 49B; Para [0317-0320]; the first treatment zone 4901a has a greater power, greater by p-a, as seen by Fig 49B).
Regarding claim 9, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 7 (see Fig 49A). Back further discloses wherein each treatment zone has a radial curvature power that is greater than the nominal distance power of the lens (see Fig 49B; Para [0317-0320]; the treatment zones each have a power that is greater than the nominal power, m-a, as seen in Fig 49B).
Regarding claim 10, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 49A). Back further discloses wherein the radial curvature power of the central region is equal to the nominal distance power (see Fig 49B; Para [0317-0320]; the central region 4901 has a power of m-a).
Regarding claim 14, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 7 (see Fig 49B). Back further discloses wherein each treatment zone provides a radial curvature add power of between +2.0 D and 10.0 D (see Table 1; Para [0338-0339]; an add power of the annular region may be between +2.50 and +4.50 as seen on Table 1).
Regarding claim 18, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 49A). Back further discloses wherein the radial sagittal power profile across the central region is approximately flat (see Fig 49B; Para [0317-0320]; the radial power profile of the center region 4901 is flat at m-a as seen in Fig 49B).
Regarding claim 21, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 49A). Back further discloses wherein the radial curvature power of each treatment zone results from the curvature of an anterior surface and/or a posterior surface of the lens (see Fig 49A; Para [0314]; radial power of each zone comes from anterior surface curvature 4902a-d).
Regarding claim 23, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1. Back further discloses wherein the lens is formed using a lathing process or a cast molding process (see Fig 49A; Para [0345]; lens may be formed by lathe or molding processes).
Regarding claim 24, Back further discloses a method of manufacturing a contact lens, the method comprising: forming a contact lens according to claim 1 (see Fig 49A; Para [0106; 0345]; the method of forming Backs ophthalmic lens, which may be a contact lenses, is in Para [0345]).
Claims 11, 19-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Back (US 2022/0296361, of record) in view of Esfandiarijahromi (US 2023/0305318, of record) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Griffin (US 2017/0227788, of record)
Regarding claim 11, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1. Back does not disclose wherein the nominal distance power of the lens is greater than the radial curvature power of the central region. Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi and Griffin are related because both disclose lenses with radial sagittal power profiles.
Griffin discloses a contact lens with radial sagittal power profiles (see Fig 4) wherein the nominal distance power of the lens is greater than the radial curvature power of the central region (see Fig 4; Para [0074-0076]; sagittal power profile across the central region from -1mm to 1mm is curved and the nominal of -1D is greater than the radial between -1mm to 1mm which is around 0D).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi with wherein the nominal distance power of the lens is greater than the radial curvature power of the central region is curved of Griffin for the purpose of allowing for presbyopia correction without affecting a user’s vision (Para [0025])
Regarding claim 19, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1. Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi does not disclose wherein the radial sagittal power profile across the central region is curved. Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi and Griffin are related because both disclose lenses with radial sagittal power profiles.
Griffin discloses a contact lens with radial sagittal power profiles (see Fig 4) wherein the radial sagittal power profile across the central region is curved (see Fig 4; Para [0074-0076]; sagittal power profile across the central region from -1mm to 1mm is curved).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi with wherein the radial sagittal power profile across the central region is curved of Griffin for the purpose of allowing for presbyopia correction without affecting a user’s vision (Para [0025])
Regarding claim 20, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi and Griffin discloses the contact lens according to claim 19. Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi does not disclose wherein the radial sagittal power profile across the central region has a quadratic or parabolic shape.
Griffin discloses wherein the radial sagittal power profile across the central region has a quadratic or parabolic shape (see Fig 4; Para [0074-0076]; a central region from -1mm to 1mm from center is parabolic in its power profile shape).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi with wherein the radial sagittal power profile across the central region has a quadratic or parabolic shape of Griffin for the purpose of allowing for presbyopia correction without affecting a user’s vision (Para [0025])
Regarding claim 22, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 1. Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi does not disclose wherein the lens comprises an elastomer material, a silicone elastomer material, a hydrogel material, or a silicone hydrogel material, or mixtures thereof. Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi and Griffin are related because both disclose lenses with radial sagittal power profiles.
Griffin discloses a contact lens with radial sagittal power profiles (see Fig 4) wherein the lens comprises an elastomer material, a silicone elastomer material, a hydrogel material, or a silicone hydrogel material, or mixtures thereof (see Fig 4; Para [0115]; lens are made of hydrogel materials such as etafilcon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi with wherein the lens comprises an elastomer material, a silicone elastomer material, a hydrogel material, or a silicone hydrogel material, or mixtures thereof of Griffin for the purpose of allowing for presbyopia correction without affecting a user’s vision (Para [0025])
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Back (US 2022/0296361, of record) in view of Esfandiarijahromi (US 2023/0305318, of record) as applied to claim 7, above and further in view of Wooley (US 2012/0327363, of record)
Regarding claim 12, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi discloses the contact lens according to claim 7. Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi does not disclose wherein alternate concentric treatment zones provide higher radial curvature powers and lower radial curvature powers, wherein the higher radial curvature power is greater than the nominal distance power of the lens. Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi and Wooley are related because both disclose contact lenses with annular regions.
Wooley discloses a contact lens with annular regions (see Fig 7) wherein alternate concentric treatment zones provide higher radial curvature powers and lower radial curvature powers, wherein the higher radial curvature power is greater than the nominal distance power of the lens (see Fig 7; Para [0067]; lenses A and B have treatment zones which have higher and lower powers, the higher powers are greater than the nominal power of the lens as seen in the chart in Fig 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi with wherein alternate concentric treatment zones provide higher radial curvature powers and lower radial curvature powers, wherein the higher radial curvature power is greater than the nominal distance power of the lens of Wooley for the purpose of improving presbyopia correction (Para [0019])
Regarding claim 13, Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi and Wooley discloses the contact lens according to claim 12. Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi does not disclose wherein the lower radial curvature add power is greater than the nominal distance power of the lens.
Wooley discloses a contact lens with annular regions (see Fig 7) wherein the lower radial curvature add power is greater than the nominal distance power of the lens (see Fig 7; Para [0067]; lenses A and B have treatment zones which have higher and lower powers, the lower powers are also greater than the nominal power of the lens as seen in the chart in Fig 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Back in view of Esfandiarijahromi with wherein the lower radial curvature add power is greater than the nominal distance power of the lens of Wooley for the purpose of improving presbyopia correction (Para [0019])
Conclusion
/G.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872