DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to claims 1, 4, 10, 18 of 12/22/2025 acknowledged and entered.
New claims 21-26 of 12/22/2025 acknowledged and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the axis" in ln. 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10, 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoshida (WO 20211100186 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Weise teaches An endoscope connection mechanism, comprising:
a connection pipe sleeve (fig. 6, element 302, p. 4, para. 9, light source connector receiving portion 302) including a hole configured to receive a light guide (fig. 6, element 302, p. 4, para. 9, light source connector receiving portion 302), the hole having an axis; and
a first optical shutter (fig. 6, element 305, p. 4, para. 9, shielding member 305) connected to the connection pipe sleeve, the first optical shutter movable between a first state and a second state (fig. 6/7, p. 5, para. 5, load moves the first lid),
wherein the first optical shutter is a leaf spring (fig. 6, element 305, p. 5, para. 3, urging member 305d, the flat metal section 305 is placed under compression by the urging member, creating a leaf spring), the first optical shutter including a body having:
a first portion (fig. 12, element 308b, p. 12, para. 5, first lid portion portion 308b) including a first end fixed to a base portion of the first optical shutter, and a second end provided distally relative to the first end,
a second portion (fig. 12, element 308d, p. 12, para. 5, relay member 308d) including a third end connecting to the second end, and a fourth end provided distally relative to the third end, and
a third portion (fig. 12, element 308c, p. 12, para. 5, second lid portion 308c) including a fifth end connecting to the fourth end, and a sixth end provided distally relative to the fifth end,
wherein a majority length of the body of the first optical shutter extends in a direction of the axis of the hole (fig. 7, the lid 305 may be bent such that almost the entire portion is parallel to the hole)
wherein, in the first state, the third portion is positioned to intersect the axis of the hole, and
wherein, in the second state, the third portion is positioned not to intersect the axis of the hole (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1,
wherein the second end of the first portion is positioned closer to the axis of the hole than the first end of the first portion (fig. 12, element 308b, one end of the member 308b is disposed adjacent the hole while the other is fixed on the other side of the wall),
wherein the third end of the second portion is positioned closer to the axis of the hole than the fourth end of the second portion (fig. 12, element 308d, the first end is disposed closer to the hole than the second), and
wherein the sixth end of the third portion is positioned closer to the axis of the hole than the fifth end of the third portion (fig. 12, element 308c, the second end is adjacent to the hole).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1,
wherein, in the first state, the second end is positioned at a first radial position and, in the second state, the second end is positioned at a second radial position, and wherein the second radial position is positioned farther from the axis of the hole than the first radial position (fig. 12/13, element 308b, in the first position, the cover blocks the hole, whereas in the second it is raised away from the hole).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1,
where the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion are not coplanar (fig. 12, the portions of the lid are bent at urging members 308e/g).
Regarding claim 5, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1,
wherein the sixth end of the third portion is positioned closer to the axis of the hole than the second end of the first portion (fig. 12, element 308b/c, the second end of the second cover is adjacent the hole).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1,
wherein the base portion of first optical shutter is fixed to the connection pipe sleeve (fig. 12, element 308e, p. 10, para. 5, first urging member 308e connects the fixing and lid portions).
Regarding claim 7, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 6,
further comprising a screw, wherein the screw is inserted in a through hole to fix the base portion to the connection pipe sleeve (p. 10, para. 6, fixing portion 308a is fixed via screwing).
Regarding claim 8, Weise teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 6,
wherein the connection pipe sleeve includes a recess, and wherein a part of the base portion is fitted to the recess (p. 10, para. 6, fixing portion 308a is fixed via screwing, necessitating a complementary screw hole).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 8,
wherein the recess is on a surface of the connection pipe sleeve that is different from a surface where the base portion is fixed (p. 10, para. 6, fixing portion 308a is fixed via screwing, necessitating a complementary screw hole, the fixing portion joined to the first lid by the first urging member).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshida teaches An endoscope adapter, comprising:
an endoscope adapter body including the endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1
wherein the endoscope adapter body is configured to connect an endoscope and an electrical appliance (fig. 4, element 311, p. 10, para. 2, light source 311 is an electrical component).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshida teaches The endoscope adapter according to claim 13,
wherein the endoscope adapter body is a reusable product (fig. 1, element 3, 4 the light generator device is not shown to be a disposable product. Further, reusing of a device is an intended use limitation, as any device may be reused or disposed of at operator discretion).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshida teaches An endoscope system, comprising:
an endoscope including a connector, the connector including a cylinder inserting the light guide (fig. 1, element 231, p. 10, para. 1, connector 231); and
the endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Yoshida teaches The endoscope system according to claim 15,
wherein, in the second state, the first portion of the first optical shutter does not come into contact with the light guide (fig. 13, element 231, the first and second lids are folded into a compartment above the light guide).
Regarding claim 17, Yoshida teaches The endoscope system according to claim 15,
wherein a first angle is defined between the first portion and the axis of the hole,
wherein a second angle is defined between a straight line and the axis of the hole, the straight line connecting a distal end outer circumference of the cylinder and a distal end outer circumference of the light guide, and
wherein, in the first state, the first angle is smaller than the second angle (fig. 12, element 308b, the angle between the first portion and the hole is a negative angle, while the angle between the light guide and cylinder is 0).
Regarding claim 19, Yoshida teaches The endoscope system according to claim 15,
wherein the endoscope is a single-use endoscope (Any device may be disposed after a single use regardless of inventor intention, hence construing an intended use limitation).
Regarding claim 20, Yoshida teaches An endoscope system, comprising:
an electrical appliance including one or more of a light source device (fig. 4, element 311, p. 10, para. 2, light source 311 is an electrical component) and
a control device (fig. 2, element 32, p. 10, para. 2, illumination control unit 32),
wherein the light source device is configured to supply an illumination light to the endoscope,
wherein the control device is configured to transmit and receive electrical signals to and from the endoscope (p. 10, para. 2), and
wherein the one or more of the light source device and the control device include endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1,
wherein the first portion, the second portion, and the third portion are located sequentially along an axis of the body of the first optical shutter from the first end to the sixth end, and
wherein the first portion is arranged at an angle to the second portion, and the second portion is arranged at an angle to the third portion (fig. 12, the portions of the lid are bent at urging members 308e/g).
Regarding claim 22, Yoshida teaches the endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the first portion is inclined relative to the axis,
wherein the second portion includes a sloping surface including the third end, and a parallel surface extending from the sloping surface and including the fourth end, and wherein the sloping surface is inclined relative to the axis and the parallel surface is substantially parallel to the axis (fig. 12, the portions of the lid are bent at urging members 308e/g).
Regarding claim 23, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1,
wherein the fifth end is located at a position farther from the axis than the sixth end (fig. 12, element 308c, the second end is adjacent to the hole), and
wherein the sixth end is located at a position closer to the axis than the second end (fig. 12, element 308b/c, the second end of the second cover is adjacent the hole).
Regarding claim 24, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1,
wherein the first portion, the second portion, the third portion, and the base portion are not on a single flat surface (fig. 12, the portions of the lid are bent at urging members 308e/g).
Regarding claim 25, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1,
wherein the base portion is configured to attach about a periphery of the connection pipe sleeve (fig. 13, element 231, the connection pipe enters the hole).
Regarding claim 26, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 3,
wherein the connection pipe sleeve includes a groove (fig. 12, element 303, hole portion 303),
wherein, in the first state, the second end, the third end, the fourth end, the fifth end, and the sixth end are located in the groove, and
wherein, in the second state, the fourth end and the fifth end are located outside the groove (fig. 12/13, the first, second, and third portions of the lid are folded out of the way of the illumination axis in the second state).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Weise (US 20200275827 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshida teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1,
Yoshida does not explicitly teach the device
further comprising a second optical shutter facing the first optical shutter across the axis of the hole,
wherein the second optical shutter is a leaf spring, the second optical shutter including a body having:
a fourth portion including a seventh end fixed to a base portion of the second optical shutter, and an eighth end provided distally relative to the seventh end,
a fifth portion including a ninth end connecting to the eighth end, and a tenth end provided distally relative to the ninth end, and
a sixth portion including an eleventh end connecting to the tenth end, and a twelfth end provided distally relative to the eleventh end,
wherein a majority length of the body of the second optical shutter extends in a direction of the axis of the hole
wherein, in the first state, the sixth portion is positioned to intersect the axis of the hole, and wherein, in the second state, the sixth portion is positioned not to intersect the axis of the hole.
However, Weise teaches the device
further comprising a second optical shutter (fig. 7b, element 142, [0064], sterile lock 142 with sterile flaps 144/146) facing the first optical shutter across the axis of the hole,
wherein the second optical shutter is a leaf spring (Yoshida fig. 6, element 305, p. 5, para. 3, urging member 305d, the flat metal section 305 is placed under compression by the urging member, creating a leaf spring), the second optical shutter including a body having:
a fourth portion (Yoshida fig. 12, element 308b, p. 12, para. 5, first lid portion portion 308b) including a seventh end fixed to a base portion of the second optical shutter, and an eighth end provided distally relative to the seventh end,
a fifth portion (Yoshida fig. 12, element 308d, p. 12, para. 5, relay member 308d) including a ninth end connecting to the eighth end, and a tenth end provided distally relative to the ninth end, and
a sixth portion (Yoshida fig. 12, element 308c, p. 12, para. 5, second lid portion 308c) including an eleventh end connecting to the tenth end, and a twelfth end provided distally relative to the eleventh end,
wherein a majority length of the body of the first optical shutter extends in a direction of the axis of the hole (fig. 7, the lid 305 may be bent such that almost the entire portion is parallel to the hole)
wherein, in the first state, the sixth portion is positioned to intersect the axis of the hole, and wherein, in the second state, the sixth portion is positioned not to intersect the axis of the hole (fig. 7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lid of Yoshida to include a second, identical lid as taught in Weise in order to maintain sterility in the device (Weise [0003]).
Regarding claim 18, Yoshida teaches The endoscope system according to claim 15,
Yoshida does not explicitly teach the device
further comprising a second optical shutter facing the first optical shutter across the axis of the hole,
wherein the second optical shutter is a leaf spring, the second optical shutter including a body having:
a fourth portion including a seventh end fixed to a base portion of the second optical shutter, and an eighth end provided distally relative to the seventh end,
a fifth portion including a ninth end connecting to the eighth end, and a tenth end provided distally relative to the ninth end, and
a sixth portion including an eleventh end connecting to the tenth end, and a twelfth end provided distally relative to the eleventh end,
wherein a majority length of the body of the second optical shutter extends in a direction of the axis of the hole
wherein, in the first state, the sixth portion is positioned to intersect the axis of the hole, and wherein, in the second state, the sixth portion is positioned not to intersect the axis of the hole.
However, Weise teaches the device
further comprising a second optical shutter (fig. 7b, element 142, [0064], sterile lock 142 with sterile flaps 144/146) facing the first optical shutter across the axis of the hole,
wherein the second optical shutter is a leaf spring (Yoshida fig. 6, element 305, p. 5, para. 3, urging member 305d, the flat metal section 305 is placed under compression by the urging member, creating a leaf spring), the second optical shutter including a body having:
a fourth portion (Yoshida fig. 12, element 308b, p. 12, para. 5, first lid portion portion 308b) including a seventh end fixed to a base portion of the second optical shutter, and an eighth end provided distally relative to the seventh end,
a fifth portion (Yoshida fig. 12, element 308d, p. 12, para. 5, relay member 308d) including a ninth end connecting to the eighth end, and a tenth end provided distally relative to the ninth end, and
a sixth portion (Yoshida fig. 12, element 308c, p. 12, para. 5, second lid portion 308c) including an eleventh end connecting to the tenth end, and a twelfth end provided distally relative to the eleventh end,
wherein a majority length of the body of the first optical shutter extends in a direction of the axis of the hole (fig. 7, the lid 305 may be bent such that almost the entire portion is parallel to the hole)
wherein, in the first state, the sixth portion is positioned to intersect the axis of the hole, and wherein, in the second state, the sixth portion is positioned not to intersect the axis of the hole (fig. 7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lid of Yoshida to include a second, identical lid as taught in Weise in order to maintain sterility in the device (Weise [0003]).
Claim(s) 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida as applied to claim 1 above in view of Weise and Yajima (US 20170035275 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Weise teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 1,
Yoshida does not explicitly teach further comprising a second optical shutter connected to the connection pipe sleeve,
wherein the second optical shutter faces the first optical shutter across the axis of the hole.
wherein a shape of the first optical shutter and a shape of the second optical shutter are the same.
However, Weise teaches further comprising a second optical shutter connected to the connection pipe sleeve (fig. 7b, element 142, [0064], sterile lock 142 with sterile flaps 144/146),
wherein the second optical shutter faces the first optical shutter across the axis of the hole (fig. 7-10b show the shutters opposing each other).
However, Yajima teaches the device wherein a shape of the first optical shutter (fig. 7, element 33a) and a shape of the second optical shutter (fig. 7, element 33e) are the same.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lid of Yoshida to include a second, identical lid as taught in Weise in order to maintain sterility in the device (Weise [0003]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the flaps of Weise to be leaf springs as taught in Yajima in order to function as a spacer in addition to a connector (Yajima [0064]).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshida in view of Weise and Yajima teaches The endoscope connection mechanism according to claim 11,
Further, Weise teaches wherein, the second optical shutter movable between a third state and a fourth state,
wherein, in the third state, the sixth portion is positioned to intersect the axis of the hole (fig. 7b, [0065], sterile lock 142 has flaps 144/146 which open to reveal connector 138), and
wherein, in the fourth state, the sixth portion is positioned not to intersect the axis of the hole (fig. 7b, [0065], sterile lock 142 has flaps 144/146 which open to reveal connector 138).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIMOTHY TUAN LUU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795