DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8-10, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under USC 102(a)(1)(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sato et al. [US 20060199405 A1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato et al. [US 20060199405 A1].
Regarding Claim 1, Sato discloses a contactor (10) for connection and signal transfer between conductors, comprising, a core (22) part configured to extend in a longitudinal direction, contains a conductive particle (conductive particles P) and be formed to be elastically deformable (are part of an elastic anisotropically conductive film 20, see [0172]); an insulation part (23) configured to surround a transverse surface of the core part (22) and be formed to be elastically deformable (composed of polymeric elastic substance, see [0190]); and a shield part (26) configured to surround a transverse surface of the insulation part (23) to be spaced apart from the core part (22), contains a conductive particle (P) and be formed to be elastically deformable (are part of an elastic anisotropically conductive film 20, see [0165]), and wherein the core part (22) and the shield part (26) have higher hardness and Young's modulus than the insulation part (23) (Sato provides different preferred volume ranges for the conductive particles in the core, the shield and the insulation part; the core part 22 may contain 10-60%, the shield part 26 may contain 5-60%, and the insulation part does not contain conductive particles P at all or scarcely contains them; see [0164], [0177] and [0178]), and the core part (22) and the shield part (26) are different from each other in at least one of physical properties including hardness and Young's modulus (the core part and shield part can contain different concentrations of particles as disclosed above, such adjustment would inherently result in different physical properties such as hardness or Young’s modulus between the core and the shield, as taught by Sato.
Regarding Claim 2, Sato discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Sato further discloses the core part (22), the insulation part (23), and the shield part (26) are hardened by a phase change and integrally formed with each other (are formed part of elastic anistropically conductive film 20, see [0235]).
Regarding Claim 3, Sato discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Sato further discloses the core part (22), the insulation part (23), and the shield part (26) are concentrically cylindrical (see, Fig 1-2, [0140]).
Regarding Claim 4, Sato discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Sato further discloses each of the core part (22) and the shield part (26) protrudes in the longitudinal direction compared to the insulation part (23).
Regarding Claim 7, Sato discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Sato further discloses the conductive particles (P) contained in the core part (22) and the shield part (26) are aligned in the longitudinal direction (see Fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. [US 20060199405 A1] in view of Simmons et al. [US 8947319 B2] .
Regarding Claim 5, Sato discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Sato further discloses the core part (22) protrudes in the longitudinal direction compared to the insulation part (23); and different thickness/projected heights for the core, shield and insulation part, see [0336]. Sato does not explicitly disclose the insulation part protrudes in the longitudinal direction compared to the shield part.
However, Simmons discloses a contactor (see Fig 7C) wherein the insulation part (172) protrudes in the longitudinal direction compared to the shield part (173), and the core part (171) protrudes in the longitudinal direction compared to the insulation part (172).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sato as suggested by Simmons to provide the insulation part to protrude in the longitudinal direction compared to the shield part as it is routine design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art according to the arrangement site of the contactor. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that different sequential tiered profiles of the core, shield, and insulation part as taught by Sato and Simmons ensures the signal path reaches its destination within a target assembly with proper alignment.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THASLIMUR RAHMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834