DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the second candidate cell" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2022/0303836 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an apparatus for transmitting and receiving signals (abstract), the apparatus being applicable to a process of migrating an IAB-node (IAB node such as relay node 1 or 2) under control of a first donor central unit (donor-CU) (CU of anchor or donor node before handover) from a first donor distribution unit (DU) (DU of anchor or donor node before handover) to a second donor DU (DU of anchor or donor node after handover), and being arranged in the first donor-CU (CU of anchor or donor node after handover) (e.g. figs. 2C-8B), wherein the apparatus comprising: a memory (2330); and a processor (2310) coupled to the memory and configured to: transmit one or more first path migration configurations for an integrated access and backhaul node (IAB-node) (fig. 3, 5-8B; paragraph [0054]-[00056]; [0099]-[0100]; [0228]; [0234]-[0236]; [0600]; [0607]-[0608]; and so on, illustrating the transmission of first handover response message for IAB or relay node); and transmit one or more second path migration configurations for a child node (figs. 3, 5-8B; paragraph [0067]-[0069]; [0104]; [0248]-[0251]; [0160]; [0305]-[0307]; and etc., transmission of second handover response message for a lower-level or child node), wherein the first path migration configurations correspond to a parent node to which a first candidate cell of the IAB-node belongs (1-2C; paragraph [0038]-[0042]; [0055]-[0056]; [0075]-[0077]; [0235]-[0236]; [0259]-[0261]; [0160]; [0165]; [0301]-[0307]; and so on, explaining that the first handover response message corresponds to the upper level or parent or DU to which a cell of the IAB or relay node belongs or communicate with), and the second path migration configurations correspond to a parent node to which the second candidate cell of the IAB-node belongs (1-2C; paragraph [0038]-[0042]; [0067]-[0069]; [0075]-[0077]; [0082]-[0084]; [0249]-[0251]; [0266]-[0268]; [0160]; [0165]; [0301]-[0307]; and so on, describing the second handover response message corresponding to the upper level or parent node which a cell of the IAB or relay node belongs).
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses wherein in a case where the second donor DU (DU of anchor or donor node after handover) belongs to a second donor-CU (CU of anchor or donor node after handover), the processor is further configured to: transmit one or more first path migration requests for the IAB-node to the second donor-CU (paragraph [0047]; [0095]-[0098]; [0227]; [0229]-[0233]; [0599]; [0601]-[0605]; and etc., transmitting first handover request); receive one or more first path migration configurations for the IAB-node from the second donor-CU (fig. 3, 5-8B; paragraph [0054]-[00056]; [0099]-[0100]; [0228]; [0234]-[0236]; [0600]; [0607]-[0608]; and so on, explaining receiving first handover request response or acknowledgement); transmit one or more second path migration requests for the child node of the IAB-node to the second donor-CU (figs. 3, 5-8B; paragraph [0071]; ;[0078]-[0080]; [0103]; [0255]; [0262]-[0264]; and etc., describing the transmission of second handover request); and receive one or more second path migration configurations for the child node from the second donor-CU (figs. 3, 5-8B; paragraph [0067]-[0069]; [0104]; [0248]-[0251]; [0160]; [0305]-[0307]; and so on, illustrating the reception of second handover request response), wherein the first path migration requests correspond to the parent node to which the first candidate cell belongs (paragraph [0055]-[0056]; [0075]-[0077]; [0235]-[0236]; [0259]-[0261]; [0160]; [0165]; [0301]-[0307]; and so on, explaining that the first handover response message corresponds to the upper level or parent or DU to which a cell of the IAB or relay node belongs or communicate with), and the second path migration requests correspond to the parent node to which the second candidate cell belongs (paragraph [0067]-[0069]; [0082]-[0084]; [0249]-[0251]; [0266]-[0268]; [0160]; [0165]; [0301]-[0307]; and so on).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses wherein, the first path migration configurations and the second path migration configurations at least comprise at least one of the following parameters: an IP address anchored at the second donor DU, a routing ID, a radio link control (RLC) channel ID, and a new backhaul adaptation protocol (BAP) address (paragraph [0042]; [0063]-[0064]; [0280]-[0286]; [0288]-[0295]; [0013]-[0015]; [0148]; [0189]-[0191]; [0199]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the processor is further configured to set an execution condition to which the second path migration configurations correspond and transmits the execution condition to the child node, so that the child node executes the second path migration configurations when the child node satisfies the execution condition (paragraph [0256]-[0268]; [0507]-[0509]; [0630]-[0635]; [0301]-[0307]; and so on).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: send the second path migration request for the child node via a Handover Request Message, via a SN Addition Request Message, or via a Transport Migration Request Message (figs. 3, 5-8B; paragraph [0071]; ;[0078]-[0080]; [0103]; [0255]; [0262]-[0264]; [0160]; [0305]-[0307]; and etc.), and receive the second path migration configuration for the child node via a Handover Response Message, or via a SN Addition Response Message, or via a Transport Migration Response Message (figs. 3, 5-8B; paragraph [0067]-[0069]; [0104]; [0248]-[0251]; [0160]; [0305]-[0307]; and etc., describing the second handover response message corresponding to the upper level or parent node which a cell of the IAB or relay node belongs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Luo et al (US 2022/0141749 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses an apparatus for transmitting and receiving signals, the apparatus being applicable to a process of migrating an IAB-node (IAB node such as relay node 1 or 2) from a first donor distribution unit (DU) (DU of anchor or donor node before handover) of a first donor-CU (CU of anchor or donor node before handover) to a second donor DU (DU of anchor or donor node after handover), and being arranged in the IAB-node (e.g. figs. 2C-8B), wherein the apparatus comprising: a memory (2330); and a processor (2310) coupled to the memory and configured to: receive one or more first path migration configurations for the IAB-node transmitted by the first donor-CU (fig. 3, 5-8B; paragraph [0054]-[00056]; [0099]-[0100]; [0228]; [0234]-[0236]; [0600]; [0607]-[0608]; and so on, explaining the reception of first handover response in response to a first handover request), the first path migration configurations correspond to a parent node to which a first candidate cell of the IAB-node belongs (paragraph [0055]-[0056]; [0075]-[0077]; [0235]-[0236]; [0259]-[0261]; [0160]; [0165]; [0301]-[0307]; and so on, explaining that the first handover response message corresponds to the upper level or parent or DU to which a cell of the IAB or relay node belongs or communicate with); transmits a first migration success indication to a child node (paragraph [0301]-[0307]; [0482]-[0489]; and etc., illustrating transmitting a first handover response indication such as information of a cell or cell ID, identification information of a child node or mobile terminal).
Wang doesn’t explicitly disclose when an execution condition of the first path migration configurations is satisfied, the IAB-node executes the first path migration configurations and initiates random access to the first candidate cell to which the first path migration configurations correspond; and when the random access is successful, the IAB-node transmits a first migration success indication to a child node.
Luo teaches when an execution condition of the first path migration configurations is satisfied, the IAB-node executes the first path migration configurations and initiates random access to the first candidate cell to which the first path migration configurations correspond (paragraph [0149]-[0150]; [0169]-[0171]; [0174]-[0175]; [0278]; [0281]; and etc.); and when the random access is successful, the IAB-node transmits a first migration success indication to a child node (paragraph [0097]; [0152]; [0189]-[0192]; [0195]; [0243]-[0250]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use when an execution condition of the first path migration configurations is satisfied, the IAB-node executes the first path migration configurations and initiates random access to the first candidate cell to which the first path migration configurations correspond; and when the random access is successful, the IAB-node transmits a first migration success indication to a child node as taught by Luo into Wang in order to reduce congestion and delay.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses wherein, the first migration success indication comprises a cell ID of the first candidate cell or an ID of the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs (paragraph [0301]-[0307]; [0482]-[0489]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 8, as applied above, Wang discloses second path migration configuration. Wang doesn’t disclose wherein when the random access fails, the processor is further configured to transmit a migration failure indication to the child node, so that the child node falls back to an original path configuration and releases the second path migration configurations.
Luo teaches wherein when the random access fails, the processor is further configured to transmit a migration failure indication to the child node, so that the child node falls back to an original path configuration and releases the second path migration configurations (paragraph [0019]-[0023]; [0032]-[0034]; [0088]; [0123]-[0129]; [0150]-[0158]; [0181]-[0183]; [0194]-[0195]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein when the random access fails, the processor is further configured to transmit a migration failure indication to the child node, so that the child node falls back to an original path configuration and releases the second path migration configurations as taught by Luo into Wang in order to improve resource utilization or reuse.
Regarding claim 9, as applied above, Wang discloses a second migration. However, Wang doesn’t disclose wherein when the random access fails, the processor is further configured to trigger an RRC reestablishment process; and when the IAB-node selects the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs and the random access is successful, or when RRC reestablishment of the IAB-node to the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs is successful, a second migration success indication is transmitted to the child node.
Luo teaches wherein when the random access fails, the processor is further configured to trigger an RRC reestablishment process (paragraph [0028]-[0034]; [0106]-[0107]; [0131]-[0135]; [0166];[0194]-[0197]; [0200]-[0201]; [0237]; and etc.); and when the IAB-node selects the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs and the random access is successful, or when RRC reestablishment of the IAB-node to the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs is successful, a second migration success indication is transmitted to the child node (paragraph [0203]-[0204]; [0242]-[0247]; [0150]-[0151]; [0186]-[0188]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein when the random access fails, the processor is further configured to trigger an RRC reestablishment process; and when the IAB-node selects the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs and the random access is successful, or when RRC reestablishment of the IAB-node to the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs is successful, a second migration success indication is transmitted to the child node as taught by Luo into Wang in order to improve quality of communication.
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses wherein, the second migration success indication comprises a cell ID of the first candidate cell or an ID of the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs (paragraph [0075]-[0077]; [0082]-[0084]; [0259]-[0261]; [0266]-[0269]; [0301]-[0307]; [0633]-[0635]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses RRC connection reconfiguration message (such as paragraph [0011]; [0187]; and so on). Wang doesn’t disclose wherein when random access fails, the processor is further configured to trigger the RRC reestablishment process; and when the IAB-node selects a DU to which the first candidate cell does not belong and the RRC reestablishment is successful, an RRC reestablishment success indication is transmitted to the child node.
Luo teaches wherein when random access fails, the processor is further configured to trigger the RRC reestablishment process (paragraph [0028]-[0034]; [0106]-[0107]; [0131]-[0135]; [0166];[0194]-[0197]; [0200]-[0201]; [0237]; and etc.); and when the IAB-node selects a DU to which the first candidate cell does not belong and the RRC reestablishment is successful, an RRC reestablishment success indication is transmitted to the child node (paragraph [0203]-[0204]; [0242]-[0247]; [0150]-[0151]; [0186]-[0188]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein when random access fails, the processor is further configured to trigger the RRC reestablishment process; and when the IAB-node selects a DU to which the first candidate cell does not belong and the RRC reestablishment is successful, an RRC reestablishment success indication is transmitted to the child node as taught by Luo into Wang in order to reduce congestion and to improve quality of communication.
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses RRC connection reconfiguration message (such as paragraph [0011]; [0187]; and so on). Wang doesn’t disclose wherein, the RRC reestablishment success indication comprises an ID of a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment or an ID of a DU to which a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment belongs.
Luo teaches wherein, the RRC reestablishment success indication comprises an ID of a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment or an ID of a DU to which a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment belongs (paragraph [0134]-[0135]; [0165]-[0168]; [0194]-[0197]; [0200]-[0201]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein, the RRC reestablishment success indication comprises an ID of a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment or an ID of a DU to which a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment belongs as taught by Luo into Wang in order to reduce congestion and to improve quality of communication.
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses an apparatus for transmitting and receiving signals, the apparatus being applicable to a process of migrating an IAB-node (IAB node such as relay node 1 or 2) under control of a first donor central unit (donor-CU) (CU of anchor or donor node before handover) from a first donor distribution unit (DU) (DU of anchor or donor node before handover) to a second donor DU (DU of anchor or donor node after handover), and being arranged in a child node of the IAB-node (e.g. figs. 2C-8B), the apparatus comprising: a memory (2330); and a processor (2310) coupled to the memory and configured to: receive one or more second path migration configurations for the child node transmitted by the first donor-CU (figs. 3, 5-8B; paragraph [0067]-[0069]; [0104]; [0248]-[0251]; [0160]; [0305]-[0307]; and so on), the second path migration configurations correspond to a parent node to which a second candidate cell of the IAB-node belongs (paragraph [0042]; [0067]-[0069]; [0075]-[0077]; [0082]-[0084]; [0249]-[0251]; [0266]-[0268]; [0160]; [0165]; [0301]-[0307]; and so on).
Wang doesn’t disclose receive a first migration success indication transmitted by the IAB-node when random access initiated by the IAB-node to the first candidate cell is successful; and execute second path migration configurations to which the parent node to which the second candidate cell belongs corresponds.
Luo teaches receive a first migration success indication transmitted by the IAB-node when random access initiated by the IAB-node to the first candidate cell is successful (paragraph [0149]-[0150]; [0169]-[0171]; [0174]-[0175]; [0278]; [0281]; and etc.); and execute second path migration configurations to which the parent node to which the second candidate cell belongs corresponds (paragraph [0097]; [0152]; [0189]-[0192]; [0195]; [0243]-[0250]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use receive a first migration success indication transmitted by the IAB-node when random access initiated by the IAB-node to the first candidate cell is successful; and execute second path migration configurations to which the parent node to which the second candidate cell belongs corresponds as taught by Luo into Wang in order to reduce congestion and to improve quality of communication.
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses wherein, the first migration success indication comprises a cell ID of the first candidate cell or an ID of a DU to which the first candidate cell belongs (paragraph [0301]-[0307]; [0482]-[0489]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses wherein, when the first candidate cell is identical to the second candidate cell or the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs is identical to a DU to which the second candidate cell belongs, the child node executes the second path migration configurations corresponding to the second candidate cell or the DU to which the second candidate cell belongs (paragraph [0163]; [0175]-[0178]; [0300]-[0307]; [0324]-0335]; and so on).
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses second path migration configurations. Wang doesn’t disclose wherein the processor is further configured: receive a migration failure indication transmitted by the IAB-node when random access initiated by the IAB-node to the first candidate cell fails; and fall back to an original path configuration and releases the second path migration configurations.
Luo teaches wherein the processor is further configured: receive a migration failure indication transmitted by the IAB-node when random access initiated by the IAB-node to the first candidate cell fails; and fall back to an original path configuration and releases the second path migration configurations (paragraph [0019]-[0023]; [0032]-[0034]; [0088]; [0123]-[0129]; [0150]-[0158]; [0181]-[0183]; [0194]-[0195]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the processor is further configured: receive a migration failure indication transmitted by the IAB-node when random access initiated by the IAB-node to the first candidate cell fails; and fall back to an original path configuration and releases the second path migration configurations as taught by Luo into Wang in order to resource utilization or reuse.
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a second migration success indication (figs. 3, 5-8B; paragraph [0067]-[0069]; [0104]; [0248]-[0251]; [0160]; [0305]-[0307]; and so on); and execute the second path migration configurations to which the second candidate cell corresponds and releases the original path configuration (paragraph [0042]; [0067]-[0069]; [0075]-[0077]; [0082]-[0084]; [0249]-[0251]; [0266]-[0268]; [0160]; [0165]; [0301]-[0307]; and so on).
Wang doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the second migration success indication is transmitted by the IAB-node when the IAB-node selects a DU to which the first candidate cell belongs to perform RRC reestablishment and the random access is successful or when the RRC reestablishment of the IAB-node to the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs is successful.
Luo teaches wherein the second migration success indication is transmitted by the IAB-node when the IAB-node selects a DU to which the first candidate cell belongs to perform RRC reestablishment and the random access is successful or when the RRC reestablishment of the IAB-node to the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs is successful (paragraph [0203]-[0204]; [0242]-[0247]; [0150]-[0151]; [0186]-[0188]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the second migration success indication is transmitted by the IAB-node when the IAB-node selects a DU to which the first candidate cell belongs to perform RRC reestablishment and the random access is successful or when the RRC reestablishment of the IAB-node to the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs is successful as taught by Luo into Wang in order to reduce congestion and to improve quality of communication.
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses wherein, the second migration success indication comprises a cell ID of the first candidate cell or an ID of the DU to which the first candidate cell belongs (paragraph [0075]-[0077]; [0082]-[0084]; [0259]-[0261]; [0266]-[0269]; [0301]-[0307]; [0633]-[0635]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses receive an RRC reconfiguration. Wang doesn’t disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: receive an RRC reestablishment success indication; and fall back to the original path configuration and releases the second path migration configurations; wherein the reestablishment success indication is transmitted by the IAB-node when the IAB-node selects a DU to which the first candidate cell does not belong to perform RRC reestablishment and the RRC reestablishment is successful.
Luo teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: receive an RRC reestablishment success indication (paragraph [0030]; [0034]; [0133]; [0196]; and so on); and fall back to the original path configuration and releases the second path migration configurations (paragraph [0117]; [0188]; [0135]; [0151]; [0188]; [0200]; [0240]; and etc.) wherein the reestablishment success indication is transmitted by the IAB-node when the IAB-node selects a DU to which the first candidate cell does not belong to perform RRC reestablishment and the RRC reestablishment is successful (paragraph [0134]-[0135]; [0187]-[0188]; [0197]-[0201]; and etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein the processor is further configured to: receive an RRC reestablishment success indication; and fall back to the original path configuration and releases the second path migration configurations; wherein the reestablishment success indication is transmitted by the IAB-node when the IAB-node selects a DU to which the first candidate cell does not belong to perform RRC reestablishment and the RRC reestablishment is successful as taught by Luo into Wang in order to reduce congestion and to improve quality of communication.
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses RRC connection reconfiguration message (such as paragraph [0011]; [0187]; and so on). Wang doesn’t disclose wherein, the RRC reestablishment success indication comprises an ID of a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment or an ID of a DU to which a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment belongs.
Luo teaches wherein, the RRC reestablishment success indication comprises an ID of a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment or an ID of a DU to which a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment belongs (paragraph [0134]-[0135]; [0165]-[0168]; [0194]-[0197]; [0200]-[0201]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use wherein, the RRC reestablishment success indication comprises an ID of a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment or an ID of a DU to which a cell where the IAB-node performs RRC reestablishment belongs as taught by Luo into Wang in order to reduce congestion and to improve quality of communication.
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461