DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 18-20 in the reply filed on May 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 27, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morin et al (US 2020/0373584).
Regarding claim 20, Morin teaches battery connections and metallized film components in energy storage devices (such as batteries) having internal fuses (title). Morin teaches metallized current collectors welded to form contacts with tabs (abstract). The metallized current collectors are taught to comprise a polymeric substrate metallized (coated) upon both sides, thus sandwiching the polymeric layer/substrate (pars. 20 and 72 and Fig. 4). Morin teaches a weld, which is considered to constitute the claimed conductive material, is employed for connection purposes between the current collector and the tab (par. 45) and thereby forming a joint, thus indicating that at least a portion of the conductive material/joint is located/sandwiched between the tab and the metallized current collector. It is further noted Morin, at paragraph 15, teaches that “[the] welds exhibit placement of conductive material passing through [the] tab from its exposed top surface to [the] covered surface of [the] thin film current collector,” wherein the tab is laid upon said thin film such that the tab has an exposed top surface or a bottom surface in contact with a covered surface of the thin film current collector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Morin et al (US 2020/0373584).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Morin teaches battery connections and metallized film components in energy storage devices (such as batteries) having internal fuses (title). Morin teaches metallized current collectors welded to form contacts with tabs (abstract). The metallized current collectors are taught to comprise a polymeric substrate metallized (coated) upon both sides, thus sandwiching the polymeric layer/substrate (pars. 20 and 72 and Fig. 4). Morin teaches a weld, which is considered to constitute the claimed conductive material, is employed for connection purposes between the current collector and the tab (par. 45) and thereby forming a joint, thus indicating that at least a portion of the conductive material/joint is located/sandwiched between the tab and the metallized current collector. It is further noted Morin, at paragraph 15, teaches that “[the] welds exhibit placement of conductive material passing through [the] tab from its exposed top surface to [the] covered surface of [the] thin film current collector,” wherein the tab is laid upon said thin film such that the tab has an exposed top surface or a bottom surface in contact with a covered surface of the thin film current collector.
In the event any differences can be shown for the product of the product-by-process claims 18 and 19, as opposed to the product taught by Morin, such differences would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as a routine modification of the product in the absence of a showing of unexpected results; see also In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964 (CAFC 1985).
When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or 103 of the statute is appropriate. As a practical matter, the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. A lesser burden of proof is required to make out a case of prima facie obviousness for product-by-process claims because of their particular nature than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Brown, 59 CCPA 1063, 173 USPQ 685 (1972); In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324 (CCPA 1974).
Conclusion
/Colin W. Slifka/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732