DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 Line 1-4 currently states:
“wherein; and
the processed portion surrounds a peripheral portion of the first through hole portion.”.
Should be changed to state:
--wherein.--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s previous election without traverse of Species 1 is noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 4 & 18: these claims state:
(Claim 4 as amended) a conductive pin electrically connecting a coil located on the stator and the circuit board; wherein
the first through hole portion has a larger cross-sectional area than that of the second through hole portion and overlaps the conductive pin in the axial direction;
the second through hole is spaced away from the conductive pin such that no portion of the conductive pin is overlapped by the second through hole in the axial direction; and
a tip of the conductive pin is located inside the first through hole portion.
(Claim 18) wherein
the first through hole portion has a larger cross-sectional area than that of the second through hole portion and overlaps the conductive pin in the axial direction;
the second through hole portion is spaced away from the conductive pin such that no portion of the conductive pin is overlapped by the second through hole portion in the axial direction; and
a tip of the conductive pin is located inside the first through hole portion.
Claim 4 is dependent upon claim 2 & Claim 18 is dependent upon claim 17. The subject matter was not described in such a way as to show the inventor had possession of the claimed invention, because based on Applicants remarks (Page 7 ¶2 of REM filed 06/02/2026) it appears that claim 4 & 18 cross-claim the embodiments of Fig 5 & Fig 6.
in the REM filed on 06/02/2026 Page 7 ¶2 – applicant states that the support for new claim 18 can be found in claim 4, Fig 4 & Fig 5 & ¶0078 of the SPEC. The language of original claim 4 is:
As seen above original claim 4 defines the through hole has part of the conductive pin located in it as having a first portion and a second portion, and this is shown in Fig 5 of the instant application. Additionally, no details of the conductive pin 24 are provided in Fig 4 of the instant application.
The language of newly submitted claim 18 is:
As seen above newly presented claim 18 prohibits any portion of the conductive pin from being overlapped by the second through hole portion in the axial direction. This detail is clearly not supported by original claim 4 since the second through hole portion would inherently be aligned with the first through hole portion given the way the claim is constructed. Accordingly, none of claim 4, Fig 5, or Fig 4 provide support for claim 18.
Additionally, as seen in the language of amended claim 4 provided above, amended claim 4 has similar issues, and the language of claim 4 as amended does not find support by the language of original claim 4 or Fig 5 or Fig 4 for the same reasons as explained above with regards to claim 18.
Furthermore, when looking to ¶0078 of the SPEC this paragraph describes the non-elected embodiment of Fig 6 which is directed to blower B. Blower B in Fig 6 does not include the conductive pin 24. If there is no conductive pin in the fan then the device would be able to address the prohibition of the second through hole portion overlapping the conductive pin. However, both claim 4 and claim 18 require a conductive pin. Accordingly since Fig 6 and ¶0078 of the SPEC describe a device without a conductive pin, and claim 4 & 18 require a conductive pin – it follows that ¶0078 & Fig 6 are unable to provide support for the features recited in Claims 4 & 18. Therefore the invention described in Claims 4 & 18 does not find support in the application as filed and as such is directed to new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, & 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uchino US 2021/0095693 in view of JP 2003300483 and JP 4737479. Examiners Note: For the purposes of examining the instant application, the examiners submitted English translation of JP 2003300483 & JP 4737479, dated 03/20/2025 & 10/16/2025 in the file wrapper, are referenced hereinafter.
Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure G)
Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure R)
Regarding Claim 1: Uchino US 2021/0095693 discloses the limitations: A blower (100, ¶0011) comprising:
a motor (1, ¶0019); and
an impeller (2, Fig 2, ¶0017) rotatable by the motor (Fig 2, ¶0019);
wherein the motor includes:
a rotor 11 rotatable about a central axis CA extending vertically (Fig 2);
a stator 12 radially opposed to the rotor (Fig 2);
a circuit board located below the stator in an axial direction (circuit board = substrate 13, since substrate 13 is described in ¶0030 as being equipped with a drive circuit and as electrically connecting the motor to the lead wire 14 powering the fan 100 – element 13 is a circuit board as claimed; also ¶0030 & Fig 2 disclose element 13 below the stator 12);
a housing 3 in which the impeller 2, the rotor 11, the stator 12, and the circuit board 13 are accommodated (as shown in Fig 2); and
a resin portion (4, ¶0048-¶0049, Fig 2) located on an upper surface of a bottom plate of the housing (see Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure R) above which identifies both a bottom plate of the housing and an upper surface of a bottom plate of the housing, as seen in Attached Figure R resin portion covers an upper surface of the bottom plate as claimed) and covering at least a portion of the stator and the circuit board (Fig 2, ¶0049);
the bottom plate of the housing includes a portion (portion = surfaces of the bottom plate which are covered with resin in Fig 2) that is covered with at least a portion of the resin portion (as seen in Attached Figure R the resin portion 4 covers a portion of the bottom plate as claimed);
blades of the impeller (as seen in Figs 1-2, the impeller 2 has several blades which are arranged in the circumferential direction, further Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure G) above identifies one of the blades of the impeller and shows how it extends in the radial direction) overlap a portion of the circuit board when viewed along the axial direction (as seen in Attached Figure G each impeller blade has a part which overlaps a portion of the circuit board 13 when viewed along the axial direction as claimed);
the blower is operable to take air into the housing (via intake port 320, Fig 2, ¶0018) and discharge compressed air by rotation of the impeller (via discharge port 30, ¶0018; rotation of the motor causes rotation of the impeller and thus inherently moves air with the fan (¶0018-¶0021), it should be noted that every impeller inherently causes an increase in pressure of the fluid moved by the impeller, otherwise flow of the air would not occur; additionally or in the alternate it is noted that the fan of Uchino has the same structure as the fan of the instant application, thus the prior art of Uchino would discharge compressed air in the same manner as the instant application); and
the bottom plate of the housing includes a first through hole portion (Attached Figure R) penetrating vertically (Attached Figure R) and a second through hole portion (Attached Figure R) penetrating vertically (Attached Figure R), the first through hole portion and the second through hole portion are provided at different locations radially from the central axis on the bottom plate (as seen in Attached Figure R the first through hole portion is located on the right side of the central axis and the second through hole portion is located on the left side of the central axis; additionally a radial distance between the central axis CA and the top of the first through hole portion is different than a radial distance between the central axis CA and the bottom of the second through hole portion – thus the first and second through hole portions are provided/located at different locations radially from the central axis as claimed) and have different cross-sectional areas from one another (as seen in Attached Figure R the cross sectional area of the identified first through hole portion is larger than the cross sectional area of the second through hole portion – thus the cross sectional areas are different as claimed).
Uchino US 2021/0095693 is silent regarding the limitations: the housing being made of a fiber-reinforced resin; and a fiber portion of the fiber-reinforced resin. The prior art of JP 2003300483 which is directed to a cooling fan (Line 117-120) like Uchino, is noted.
However JP 2003300483 does disclose the limitations: wherein the housing (i.e. housing 12, Figs 1-2, Line 108-116) being made of a fiber-reinforced resin (Line 112-116); and a fiber portion (i.e. glass fibers, Line 112-116) of the fiber-reinforced resin (the glass fibers are inherently part of the fiber-reinforced resin that forms the housing, see Line 112-116).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the fiber reinforced resin material taught by of JP 2003300483 as the material used to form the housing and the bottom plate of Uchino US 2021/0095693, in light of the teachings of JP 2003300483, in order to reinforce the mechanical strength of the housing with the fiber reinforced material (Line 112-116).
Uchino US 2021/0095693 is silent regarding the limitations: a processed portion; the processed portion corresponding to a portion of the housing which has had an outer surface removed so as to expose a fiber portion of the fiber-reinforced resin; and a surface of the processed portion has a surface roughness that is higher than a surface roughness of remaining portions of the bottom plate excluding the processed portion due to the exposed fiber portion. The prior art of JP 4737479 which is directed to coating a surface of a device with resin (Line 14-21) like the device of Uchino is noted.
Wherein JP 4737479 teaches: a processed portion formed by treating the surface of the substrate by removing a surface of the substrate to increase the roughness of the substrate, thus obviating the need for an adhesive, since the resin material covering the substrate can be directly mechanically anchored by the rough treated surface of the substrate (JP ‘479 – Line 48-80).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to process the portion (of Uchino) by removing a surface of the substrate to increase the roughness of the substrate as taught by JP 4737479 in the device of Uchino US 2021/0095693 as modified by JP 2003300483, in light of the teachings of JP 4737479, so as to obviate the need for an adhesive, since the resin material covering the substrate can be directly mechanically anchored by the rough treated surface of the substrate (JP ‘479 – Line 48-80). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that roughening of surfaces to be bonded enhances the bond between the two surfaces.
Additionally the combination of Uchino US 2021/0095693 as modified by JP 2003300483 and JP 4737479 discloses the limitations: a processed portion (i.e. surfaces of the bottom plate of Uchino which are roughened as taught by JP ‘479); the processed portion corresponding to a portion of the housing which has had an outer surface removed (as taught by JP ‘479) so as to expose a fiber portion of the fiber-reinforced resin (the processing taught by JP ‘479 would inherently expose a fiber portion of the fiber reinforced resin of JP ‘483); and a surface of the processed portion has a surface roughness that is higher (as taught by JP ‘479 the surface of the processed portion is higher than untreated surfaces, since the processed surface is roughened) than a surface roughness of remaining portions of the bottom plate excluding the processed portion (as explained above untreated areas would inherently be smoother/ have a lower roughness) due to the exposed fiber portion (i.e. due to the roughened area which would inherently include the exposed fiber portion).
Regarding Claim 2: Uchino US 2021/0095693 does disclose the limitations: wherein the processed portion surrounds a peripheral portion of the first through hole portion (Attached Figure R illustrates the peripheral portion of the through hole portion; additionally since the vertical walls of the housing recess 3110 (¶0038, ¶0044, & ¶0049) surround the identified peripheral portion of the first through hole and are understood to form part of the housing recess 3110 - which is filled with resin (Uchino - ¶0049), it follows that in the combination of prior art the processed portion located on the vertical walls and the upper surface of the bottom plate of the housing in Attached Figure R of Uchino would surround the peripheral portion of the first through hole portion as claimed).
Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure S)
Regarding Claim 3: Uchino US 2021/0095693 does disclose the limitations: wherein an area of an upper-side opening of the first through hole portion (upper side opening of the through first hole portion = identified area of an upper side opening of the first through hole portion in Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure S) above; an area of the upper side opening = the cross sectional area of the upper portion of the 1st through hole portion in Attached Figure S) is smaller (i.e. has a smaller width in the drawing plane as seen in Attached Figure S) than an area of a lower-side opening of the first through hole portion (lower side opening of the first through hole portion = lower portion of the 1st through hole in Attached Figure S; an area of the lower side opening = the cross sectional area of the lower portion of the 1st through hole portion in Attached Figure S; as seen in Attached Figure S the width of the cross sectional area of the upper side opening is smaller than the width of the cross sectional area of the lower side opening in the drawing plane, thus an area of an upper-side opening of the first through hole portion is smaller than an area of a lower-side opening of the first through hole portion as claimed).
Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure T)
Regarding Claim 6: Uchino US 2021/0095693 does disclose the limitations: wherein
the upper surface of the bottom plate of the housing includes a circuit board placement portion (circuit board placement portion = recess 3110 formed by the identified upper surface of the bottom plate of the housing as seen in Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure T) above) vertically opposed to the circuit board (as seen in Attached Figure T the identified circuit board placement portion 3110 is located below the circuit board 13 – thus it is vertically opposed to the circuit board as claimed); and
the processed portion is provided in at least a portion of the circuit board placement portion (since the portion (i.e. all of the surfaces which are covered with resin in Fig 2) of Uchino is processed/roughened (as taught by JP 4737479) to define the claimed processed portion – it follows that in the combination of prior art the processed portion would be provided in the circuit board placement portion, since the roughed walls of the portion/upper surface of the bottom plate define the interior walls of the circuit board placement portion 3110 of Uchino).
Regarding Claim 7: Uchino US 2021/0095693 does disclose the limitations: wherein the processed portion has an closed shape (as understood from Fig 4 & Attached Figure T the circuit board placement portion defines recess 3110 and thus inherently has a closed shape to receive the circuit board 13 and resin portion 4 as seen in Figs 4 & 2; and since the processed portion is formed on the walls (horizontal and vertical) which face the resin in the combination of prior art it follows that the processed portion would have a closed shape) defined in an outer edge portion of the circuit board placement portion (as seen in Attached Figure T the outer edge portion of the circuit board placement portion defines an outer boundary of the circuit board placement portion, thus the shape of the processed portion would be located inside (i.e. defined in) the articulated outer edge portion as claimed).
Further Regarding Claim 7: Uchino US 2021/0095693 as modified by JP 2003300483 and JP 4737479 discloses the claimed limitations except for: the processed portion has an annular shape.
Changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B). This is particularly true when the specification gives little or no description of why such changes in shape are unique, unpredictable, advantageous, or the like. No disclosure is given in the application with regards to the significance of the annular shape of the processed portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention to have such an annular shape as such changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed annular shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B). This is particularly true when the specification gives little or no description of why such changes in shape are unique, unpredictable, advantageous, or the like. In the instant application no disclosure is given with regards to the significance of the annular shape.
Regarding Claim 8: Uchino US 2021/0095693 does disclose the limitations: wherein
the upper surface of the bottom plate of the housing includes a circuit board placement portion (circuit board placement portion = recess 3110 formed by the identified upper surface of the bottom plate of the housing as seen in Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure T) above) vertically opposed to the circuit board (as seen in Attached Figure T the identified circuit board placement portion 3110 is located below the circuit board 13 – thus it is vertically opposed to the circuit board as claimed); and
the processed portion has an closed shape (as understood from Fig 4 & Attached Figure T the circuit board placement portion defines recess 3110 and thus inherently has a closed shape to receive the circuit board 13 and resin portion 4 as seen in Figs 4 & 2; and since the processed portion is formed on the walls (horizontal and vertical) which face the resin in the combination of prior art it follows that the processed portion would have a closed shape) and is also defined in an outer edge portion of the circuit board placement portion (as seen in Attached Figure T the outer edge portion of the circuit board placement portion defines an outer boundary of the circuit board placement portion, thus the shape of the processed portion would be located inside (i.e. defined in) the articulated outer edge portion as claimed).
Further Regarding Claim 8: Uchino US 2021/0095693 as modified by JP 2003300483 and JP 4737479 discloses the claimed limitations except for: the processed portion is in an annular shape.
Changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B). This is particularly true when the specification gives little or no description of why such changes in shape are unique, unpredictable, advantageous, or the like. No disclosure is given in the application with regards to the significance of the annular shape of the processed portion.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant's invention to have such an annular shape as such changes in shape are a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed annular shape was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B). This is particularly true when the specification gives little or no description of why such changes in shape are unique, unpredictable, advantageous, or the like. In the instant application no disclosure is given with regards to the significance of the annular shape.
Regarding Claim 9: Uchino US 2021/0095693 does disclose the limitations: wherein the bottom plate (311, ¶0037) includes a peripheral wall surface (315,Pc, Figs 2-4, ¶0038, ¶0042-¶0044) that extends upward and surrounds an outer edge of the circuit board placement portion (Attached Figure T illustrates the claimed outer edge of the circuit board placement portion; additionally as understood from Attached Figure T and Fig 3 the peripheral wall surface (315,Pc) would surround the outer edge as claimed).
Regarding Claim 10: Uchino US 2021/0095693 does disclose the limitations: wherein the circuit board placement portion is provided on a bottom surface of a recess that is recessed downward from the upper surface of the bottom plate (see Figs 2-4 and Attached Figure T, since the circuit board placement portion is recess 3110 formed in the bottom plate 311 – it would be broadly considered to include (i.e. be provided on) a bottom surface of recess 3110 that is recessed downward from the upper surface of the bottom plate 311 as claimed).
Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure U)
Regarding Claims 9 & 11: Uchino US 2021/0095693 does disclose the limitations:
wherein the bottom plate includes a peripheral wall surface (see Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure U) above) that extends upward (as seen in Attached Figure U the peripheral wall surface slants slightly upward towards element 124 – thus it extends upward as claimed) and surrounds an outer edge of the circuit board placement portion (i.e. surrounds an outer edge of the hole in the circuit board placement portion as seen in Attached Figure U); and
wherein the processed portion is also on the peripheral wall surface (since the portion (i.e. all of the surfaces which are covered with resin in Fig 2) of Uchino is processed/roughened (as taught by JP 4737479) to define the claimed processed portion – it follows that in the combination of prior art the processed portion would be provided on the identified peripheral wall surface).
Regarding Claim 15: Uchino US 2021/0095693 discloses the limitations: A method of manufacturing a blower (i.e. method of manufacturing the blower in Figs 1-4 of Uchino, MPEP §2112.02 I Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986)) including an impeller (2, Fig 2, ¶0017) and a motor (1, ¶0019) in which a rotor 11, a stator 12, and a circuit board (circuit board = substrate 13, since substrate 13 is described in ¶0030 as being equipped with a drive circuit and as electrically connecting the motor to the lead wire 14 powering the fan 100 – element 13 is a circuit board as claimed) are accommodated in a housing (housing 3 as seen in Figs 1-2 the parts are accommodated within the housing as claimed), the method comprising:
making the housing from a material (housing 3 in Fig 2 would inherently be made from a material);
forming a portion (portion = surfaces of the bottom plate which are covered with resin in Fig 2; the portion would inherently be formed when manufacturing the device of Uchino) at an upper surface of a bottom plate of the housing (see Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure R) above which identifies both a bottom plate of the housing and an upper surface of a bottom plate of the housing, as seen in Attached Figure R resin portion covers an upper surface of the bottom plate as claimed; also since resin portion 4 is filled in the housing recess 3110 (¶0049) which is defined in part by the identified upper surface of the bottom plate – the structure of the bottom plate and the articulated portion, would inherently have to be provided before the resin is used to fill recess 3110); and
providing a resin (i.e. providing the resin of resin section 4, ¶0048-¶0049) in contact with the portion (as seen in Fig 2) and covering at least a portion of the stator and the circuit board with the resin (Fig 2, ¶0049); wherein
the impeller is provided inside the housing (as seen in Fig 2) and rotatable by the motor (¶0019, Fig 2);
blades of the impeller (as seen in Figs 1-2, the impeller 2 has several blades which are arranged in the circumferential direction, further Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure G) above identifies one of the blades of the impeller and shows how it extends in the radial direction) overlap a portion of the circuit board when viewed along an axial direction (as seen in Attached Figure G each impeller blade has a part which overlaps a portion of the circuit board 13 when viewed along the axial direction as claimed) extending in parallel to a shaft of the motor (as seen in Attached Figure G the axial direction extends parallel to shaft 10 of the motor as claimed);
the blower is operable to take air into the housing (via intake port 320, Fig 2, ¶0018) and discharge compressed air by rotation of the impeller (via discharge port 30, ¶0018; rotation of the motor causes rotation of the impeller and thus inherently moves air with the fan (¶0018-¶0021), it should be noted that every impeller inherently causes an increase in pressure of the fluid moved by the impeller, otherwise flow of the air would not occur; additionally or in the alternate it is noted that the fan of Uchino has the same structure as the fan of the instant application, thus the prior art of Uchino would discharge compressed air in the same manner as the instant application); and
the bottom plate of the housing includes a first through hole portion (Attached Figure R) penetrating vertically and a second through hole portion (Attached Figure R) penetrating vertically (Attached Figure R), the first through hole portion and the second through hole portion are provided at different locations radially from a central axis (CA, Fig 2) of the motor on the bottom plate (as seen in Attached Figure R the first through hole portion is located on the right side of the central axis and the second through hole portion is located on the left side of the central axis; additionally a radial distance between the central axis CA and the top of the first through hole portion is different than a radial distance between the central axis CA and the bottom of the second through hole portion – thus the first and second through hole portions are provided/located at different locations radially from the central axis as claimed) and have different cross-sectional areas from one another (as seen in Attached Figure R the cross sectional area of the identified first through hole portion is larger than the cross sectional area of the second through hole portion – thus the cross sectional areas are different as claimed). Uchino US 2021/0095693 is silent regarding the limitations: the housing being made of a fiber-reinforced resin; and a fiber portion of the fiber-reinforced resin. The prior art of JP 2003300483 which is directed to a cooling fan (Line 117-120) like Uchino, is noted.
However JP 2003300483 does disclose the limitations: wherein the housing (i.e. housing 12, Figs 1-2, Line 108-116) being made of a fiber-reinforced resin (Line 112-116); and a fiber portion (i.e. glass fibers, Line 112-116) of the fiber-reinforced resin (the glass fibers are inherently part of the fiber-reinforced resin that forms the housing, see Line 112-116).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the fiber reinforced resin material taught by of JP 2003300483 as the material used to form the housing and the bottom plate of Uchino US 2021/0095693, in light of the teachings of JP 2003300483, in order to reinforce the mechanical strength of the housing with the fiber reinforced material (Line 112-116).
Uchino US 2021/0095693 is silent regarding the limitations: forming a processed portion at a predetermined position, by removing an outer layer of the upper surface to expose a fiber portion of the fiber reinforced resin, the processed portion having a surface roughness higher than a surface roughness of another portion due to the exposed fiber portion; and providing a resin in contact with the exposed portion of the processed portion. The prior art of JP 4737479 which is directed to coating a surface of a device with resin (Line 14-21) like Uchino, is noted.
Wherein JP 4737479 teaches: a processed portion formed at a predetermined position by treating the surface of the substrate by removing a surface of the substrate to increase the roughness of the substrate, thus obviating the need for an adhesive, since the resin material covering the substrate can be directly mechanically anchored by the rough treated surface of the substrate (JP ‘479 – Line 48-80).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to process the portion (of Uchino) by removing a surface of the substrate to increase the roughness of the substrate as taught by JP 4737479 in the device of Uchino US 2021/0095693 as modified by JP 2003300483, in light of the teachings of JP 4737479, so as to obviate the need for an adhesive, since the resin material covering the substrate can be directly mechanically anchored by the rough treated surface of the substrate (JP ‘479 – Line 48-80). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that roughening of surfaces to be bonded enhances the bond between the two surfaces.
Additionally the combination of Uchino US 2021/0095693 as modified by JP 2003300483 and JP 4737479 discloses the limitations: forming a processed portion (i.e. roughening surfaces of the bottom plate of Uchino as taught by JP ‘479) at a predetermined position (the roughened surfaces would inherently be located at predetermined positions), by removing an outer layer of the upper surface (as taught by JP ‘479) to expose a fiber portion of the fiber reinforced resin (the processing taught by JP ‘479 would inherently expose a fiber portion of the fiber reinforced resin of JP ‘483), the processed portion having a surface roughness higher (as taught by JP ‘479 the surface of the processed portion is higher than untreated surfaces, since the processed surface is roughened) than a surface roughness of another portion (as explained above untreated areas would inherently be smoother/ have a lower roughness) due to the exposed fiber portion (i.e. due to the roughened area which would inherently include the exposed fiber portion); and providing a resin in contact with the exposed portion of the processed portion (as taught by Uchino and JP ‘479 the resin would inherently contact the exposed portion of the processed portion).
--It is noted the rejection of claims 16-17 below uses a slightly different version of Attached Figure R [Wingdings font/0xE0] Attached Figure R1 provided below.--.
Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure R1)
Regarding Claims 16 & 17: Uchino US 2021/0095693 does disclose the limitations: wherein the processed portion surrounds a peripheral portion of the first through hole portion (see Annotated Figure 2 of Uchino US 2021/0095693 (Attached Figure R1) above; since the identified peripheral portion of the 1st through hole portion is a surface which is covered with resin and faces the circuit board – it follows that in the combination of prior art the identified peripheral portion would be roughened/processed as taught by JP ‘479 – thus in view of what is shown in Attached Figure R1 the processed portion would surround the peripheral portion of the first through hole portion as claimed); a conductive pin (124, ¶0025-¶0030) electrically connecting a coil 123 located on the stator 12 and the circuit board 13 (¶0025, ¶0028-¶0030) extends from the stator (Attached Figure R1) and through the first through hole portion of the bottom plate (as seen in Attached Figure R1 the pin 124 extends through the first through hole portion as claimed).
Examiner's Note: The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the entirety of the references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention.
It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP § 2123).
Additionally the origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention, as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). (See MPEP § 2125).
The Examiner has cited particular locations in the reference(s) as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, typically other passages and figures will apply as well.
Furthermore: with respect to the prior art and the determination of obviousness, it has been held that Prior art is not limited just to the references being applied, but includes the understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art. The "mere existence of differences (i.e. a gap) between the prior art and an invention DOES NOT ESTABLISH the inventions nonobviousness." Dann v. Johnston, 425 U.S. 219, 230, 189 USPQ 257, 261 (1976). Rather, in determining obviousness the proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts. And factors other than the disclosures of the cited prior art may provide a basis for concluding that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bridge the gap. (See MPEP § 2141).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (Page 8 ¶2, Page 9 ¶3-¶4, Page 10 ¶1, Page 11 ¶2) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 06/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Page 8 ¶3-Page 9 ¶2, Page 9 ¶4-Page 10 Line 6: Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the limitations:
“the bottom plate of the housing includes a first through hole portion penetrating vertically and a second through hole portion penetrating vertically, the first through hole portion and the second through hole portion are provided at different locations radially from the central axis on the bottom plate and have different cross-sectional areas from one another.”
--Examiner disagrees. The prior art rejections have been reconfigured, and the prior art of Uchida is interpreted differently than in the non-final rejection. As a result of the new interpretation, the prior art of Uchida is able to address the language being argued.
Additionally regarding the benefit argued at the top of Page 10, it is noted that this feature is not recited in the claims, and thus is unable to define of the prior art of record.
Accordingly, for at least the reasons explained above, Applicants arguments are not persuasive.--.
Page 10 ¶2-¶4: Applicant continues to argue the language added by the amendment, and states that Uchino does not teach a first through hole portion and a second through hole portion provided at different locations radially from the central axis as claimed.
--Examiner disagrees. As seen in Attached Figure R and explained in the rejections above the prior art of Uchino teaches a first through hole portion and a second through hole portion provided at different locations radially from the central axis as claimed.
Accordingly, for at least the reasons explained above, Applicants arguments are not persuasive.--.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP H08308182 – teaches forming a roughened surface 9 on a device 5 in order to improve the cohesive force between the resin and the device (Line 186-191).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/JOSEPH S. HERRMANN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3746