DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is in response to amendment filed on 12/30/2025. Claims 1-4, 8-18, and 20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US Pub. No. 2024/0214940).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Zhang discloses a second device a method for determining an active time, comprising:
a processor (paragraph 8: Rx-UE has processor), and
a transceiver (paragraph 8: Rx-UE has transceiver) transceiver connected to the processor;
wherein the transceiver is configured to receive first indication information from a first device, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a transmission resource reservation period reserved by the first device for a periodic transmission (see figure 6; abstract; claim 1; paragraphs 38, 39, 138, 139; 185, and 187: Rx-UE receives indication from Tx-UE during On duration including SCI indicating resource reservation period/slot for periodic services), and
the processor is configured to determine an active time of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active state for the periodic transmission based on active configuration information and the first indication information (see figure 6; abstract; claim 1; paragraphs 38, 39, 55, 138, 139; 185, and 187-191 especially paragraphs 185, 187, and 191: Rx-UE determines TB transmission time and wakes up during On duration to receive periodic services based on SCI and its DRX cycle/timer): ,
wherein the active configuration information is used for indicating an active duration of the DRX active state for the periodic transmission, and the periodic transmission is received by the second device when the second device is in the DRX active state (see figure 6; abstract; claim 1; paragraphs 38, 39, 138, 139; 185, and 187-191 especially paragraphs 185, 187, 191 and 192: Rx-UE determines TB transmission time and wakes up during On duration to receive periodic services based on SCI and its DRX cycle/timer);
wherein the determining the active time of the DRX active state for the periodic transmission based on the active configuration information and the first indication information comprises:
determining a time domain position of a reserved transmission resource reserved by the first device for the periodic transmission based on the transmission resource reservation period and a time domain transmission position of the first indication information (see figure 6; time domain position in ON duration in slots 0 and 4; paragraphs 42-45, 138, 139, 184-192, and 202: RX-UE receives sidelink DRX configuration, the DRX configuration contains active period (ON duration) and non-active/sleep period (OFF duration). Within the DRX configuration, there is (time) slots resource reserved for periodic transmissions from TX-UE), and
determining an active time period based on the active configuration information and the time domain position of the reserved transmission resource, wherein an active duration of the active time period is equal to an active duration indicated by the active configuration information (paragraphs 38, 39, 138, 139, 185, 187-192, 202: the active time period is the wake-up/ON duration as indicated by the DRX configuration; the time domain position is the reserved slots for periodic transmission within the ON duration. Thus, the active time period is the same or equal to the active/ON duration);
wherein the active time of the DRX active state for the periodic transmission comprises a plurality of active time periods (paragraphs 37, 38, 39, 138, 139, 185, 187-192, 202: the DRX cycle includes plurality of active/ON durations for periodic transmission);
and wherein a starting time of the active time period is earlier than or equal to a starting time of the time domain position of the reserved transmission resource, and an ending time of the active time period is equal to or later than an ending time of the time domain position of the reserved transmission resource (paragraphs 37, 38, 39, 138, 139, 185, 187-192, 202: in DRX cycle, the active time period is ON duration, and the reserved time domain resource is within the ON duration; thus, the starting time of the active/ON duration is earlier or equal to the starting time of the reserved transmission resource time positions).
Regarding claims 2 and 16, all limitations of claims 1 and 15 are disclosed above. Zhang further teaches the active configuration information comprises a running duration of a first timer, and the first timer is configured to control the second device to be in the DRX active state (paragraph 191: drx-ReceivePeriodTimer)
Regarding claims 3 and 17, all limitations of claims 1 and 15 are disclosed above. Zhang further teaches the active configuration information comprises a first active duration, and the first active duration is used for indicating the second device being in the DRX active state (paragraphs 55 and 191: drx-ReceivePeriodTimer is active period for receiving transmission from Tx-UE).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, all limitations of claims 1 and 15 are disclosed above. Zhang further teaches the active configuration information is preconfigured in the second device (see figure 6: On durations; paragraphs 185-192: DRX on duration/cycle is preconfigured in the Rx-UE to receive the initial TB and subsequent periodic services).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, all limitations of claims 1 and 15 are disclosed above. Zhang further teaches the determining the active time of the DRX active state for the periodic transmission based on the active configuration information and the first indication information comprises: in a case that the transmission resource reservation period indicated by the first indication information is not zero, determining the active time of the DRX active state for the periodic transmission based on the active configuration information and the first indication information (see figure 6; abstract; claim 1; paragraphs 38, 39, 138, 139; 185, and 187-191 especially paragraphs 185, 187, and 191: the resource reservation period is not zero, Rx-UE determines TB transmission time and wakes up during On duration to receive periodic services based on SCI and its DRX cycle/timer).
Regarding claim 9, all limitations of claim 1 are disclosed above. Zhang further teaches in a case that resource reselection is performed by the first device for the periodic transmission, a time domain position of a reselected transmission resource is located within the active time of the DRX active state for the periodic transmission (see figure 6; paragraphs 187, 191, and 192).
Regarding claim 10, all limitations of claim 1 are disclosed above. Zhang further teaches after determining the active time of the DRX active state for the periodic transmission based on the active configuration information and the first indication information, the method further comprises:
receiving the periodic transmission within the active time of the DRX active state for the periodic transmission, wherein the second device is in the DRX active state during the active time of the DRX active state (see figure 6: second On duration; paragraphs 185, 187, 191, and 192).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses a method for determining an active time, applied to a first device, and comprising:
sending first indication information to a second device, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a transmission resource reservation period reserved by the first device for a periodic transmission (see figure 6; abstract; claim 1; paragraphs 38, 39, 55, 138, 139; 185, and 187: Rx-UE receives indication from Tx-UE during On duration including SCI indicating resource reservation period/slot for periodic services); and
sending active configuration information to the second device, wherein the active configuration information is used for indicating an active duration of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) active state for the periodic transmission (paragraph 55 and 191, 192: Tx-UE transmits ResourceReservePeriod configured in SCI, timer drx-ReservePeriodTimer is set as active time of the Rx-UE to receive periodic resources), and the periodic transmission is received by the second device when the second device is in the DRX active state (see figure 6: On duration; paragraphs 55, 185, 187, 191, 192: Rx-UE receives periodic services during On duration).
wherein the transmission resource reservation period and a time domain transmission position of the first indication information are used by the second device to determine a time domain position of a reserved transmission resource reserved by the first device for the periodic transmission (see figure 6; time domain position in ON duration in slots 0 and 4; paragraphs 42-45, 138, 139, 184-192, and 202: RX-UE receives sidelink DRX configuration, the DRX configuration contains active period (ON duration) and non-active/sleep period (OFF duration). Within the DRX configuration, there is (time) slots resource reserved for periodic transmissions from TX-UE. The RX-UE receives data through the determination), and
the active configuration information and the time domain position of the reserved transmission resource are used by the second device to determine an active time period, wherein an active duration of the active time period is equal to an active duration indicated by the active configuration information (paragraphs 38, 39, 138, 139, 185, 187-192, 202: the active time period is the wake-up/ON duration as indicated by the DRX configuration; the time domain position is the reserved slots for periodic transmission within the ON duration. Thus, the active time period is the same or equal to the active/ON duration);
wherein the active time of the DRX active state for the periodic transmission comprises a plurality of active time periods (paragraphs 37, 38, 39, 138, 139, 185, 187-192, 202: the DRX cycle includes plurality of active/ON durations for periodic transmission); and
wherein a starting time of the active time period is earlier than or equal to a starting time of the time domain position of the reserved transmission resource, and an ending time of the active time period is equal to or later than an ending time of the time domain position of the reserved transmission resource (paragraphs 37, 38, 39, 138, 139, 185, 187-192, 202: in DRX cycle, the active time period is ON duration, and the reserved time domain resource is within the ON duration; thus, the starting time of the active/ON duration is earlier or equal to the starting time of the reserved transmission resource time positions).
Regarding claim 12, all limitations of claim 11 are disclosed above. Zhang further teaches the active configuration information comprises a running duration of a first timer, and the first timer is configured to control the second device to be in the DRX active state (paragraphs 55, 191 and 192).
Regarding claim 13, all limitations of claim 11 are disclosed above. Zhang further teaches the active configuration information comprises a first active duration, and the first active duration is used for indicating the second device being in the DRX active state (paragraphs 55 and 191: ResourceReservePeriod).
Regarding claim 14, all limitations of claim 11 are disclosed above. Zhang further teaches in a case that resource reselection is performed by the first device for the periodic transmission, a time domain position of a reselected transmission resource is located within the active time of the DRX active state for the periodic transmission (paragraph 187 and figure 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In pages 8-9 of Remark, regarding independent claims, the Applicant argues that Zhang fails to teach the amended limitations. In particular, the Applicant argues that Zhang does not teach “a time domain transmission position.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, SCI stands for sidelink control information which is used to transmit control information between sidelink devices. In this case, Zhang disclose TX-UE transmits SCI including sidelink DRX configuration and the periodic resource information. Zhang’s figure 6 shows slots or time slots or time domain transmission positions within the ON duration of the sidelink DRX cycle. The ON duration equates to active time period and/or active duration in the claims. Basically, Zhang discloses a concept of a TX-UE transmits sidelink DRX configuration with periodic reserved resource information to RX-UE. The DRX configuration/cycle includes multiple ON and OFF durations with starting time and ending time. The ON duration is considered an active period or active duration. The periodic slots/timeslots within the ON duration is considered time domain positions. Upon receiving the sidelink DRX configuration, the RX-UE knows when to wake up (ON duration) to receive periodic reserved time slot information from the TX-UE, and at the ending time of the ON duration, the RX-UE goes back to “sleep” until the next cycle. Thus, Zhang is deemed to teach the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TITO Q PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/FARUK HAMZA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2466