DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 23 January 2026, is reviewed and entered. This Office Action is a final rejection.
Status of Claims
Amended
1-8, 10-19
Canceled
22
Pending
1-21
Presented for Examination
1-21
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Drawing Objections, Specification Objections, Claim Objections, 112(a) Rejections, 112(b) Rejections
See below.
103 Rejections
The arguments are drawn to newly amended subject matter and are addressed in the rejection below.
Claim Interpretation
The claims use the following terms, some of which are inconsistent with the disclosure and/ or are inconsistent within the disclosure. For clarity of the record, Examiner is showing how they are being interpreted in light of the specification.
“Zone”
As shown in FIG 2, the garment has three zones and a zone is an area of the garment with or without a pattern of elastomeric material.
“Pattern”
It is not clear how Applicant is using the term “pattern.” In the figures, it appears the zone may have elastomeric material in a pattern. However, page 5 line 3 appears to be describing a “pattern” to mean the “zone,” where the pattern has an outer edge. Page 6 para. 2 refers to the “repeating pattern of a curve,” which suggests that a pattern is a portion of a curve.
“Wave”
The disclosure uses the term “wave” to describe a line. See page 2, 6th full para. which describes the “waves” at an angle, and FIG 2 shows angled lines. Page 5, 3rd full para. describes a series of waves as a group of three waves, and FIG 2 shows groupings of three lines each. Page 5, 4th para. describes a group of continuous waves as including three waves, and FIG 2 shows groups of three lines.
“Curve”
It is not clear how Applicant is using the term “curve.” One interpretation is that curves are the peaks and valleys of each wave (as Applicant is defining “wave”). This is supported by page 2, fifth full para. Which recites “curves… forming waves” and page 6, 5th para. which discloses “three printed curved waves.” However, other disclosures contradict this interpretation by suggesting “waves” and “curves” are separate and distinct features. See the last two lines on page 5 which discloses the curves and waves overlap, and page 6, 2nd para. which separately lists curves and waves. At least claims 1 and 11 appear to be using yet another definition of “curves” that is inconsistent with the disclosure. The claims recite “group of curves” which appears to correspond to the disclosed group of waves, suggesting the claims are using “wave” and “curve” interchangeably.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first and second groups of curves (the disclosure has support for groups of waves, but not groups of curves; there is no reference number in any of the figures to indicate what feature is the claimed group of curves), first and second groups of waves (the disclosure has support for groups of waves, but there is no reference number in any of the figures to indicate what feature is the claimed group of curves), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claims 1-10, 18, and 20, first and second groups of curves. The disclosure uses the term “curves” but does not support first and second groups of curves.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: amend “that” to -than—in the second to last line. Appropriate correction is required.
Appropriate correction is required.
Product-by-Process Recitations
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 11, and 14-16 recite “applied.”
The recitation “applied” is considered a product-by-process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are lim-ited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patent-ability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ota (US 9095177 B2) in view of Hedrick (US 20130305433 A1).
As to claim 1, Ota discloses an article of sportswear providing targeted shaping control (Ota col 3 line 45-50 discloses “a lower or upper body undergarment;”) comprising:
a stretchable inner layer attached to the exterior layer so as to provide the single article of sportswear (base layer 32; col 3 line 55-60 discloses “cotton, flax, silk, polyester, aramid, acrylic, nylon, polyurethane, spandex, and/or olefin” all of which have at least some degree of stretchability, see modification below regarding the exterior layer), wherein the inner layer has an elastomeric material applied in a pattern on one side of the inner layer that is between the inner layer and the exterior layer (activation element 34; col 4 line 20-25 discloses, “silicon[e], a thermoplastic or thermosetting polymer, rubber, polyurethane, or a laminate;” col 3 line 1-5 discloses 34 is applied to the outer surface of the inner layer; see modification below regarding the exterior layer);
wherein the pattern of elastomeric material has a first zone of elastomeric material with first group of curves of elastomeric material to provide a first zone of shaping control and a second zone of elastomeric material that is distinct from the first zone of elastomeric material (34 comprises 41-46 as shown in figs 6A-6C, and the “zone” where 41-46 do not overlap is the “first zone” and the “zone” where 41-46 overlap is the “second zone;” see annotated portion of fig 1A below, see modification below regarding “curves”),
with the second zone of elastomeric material including a second group of curves of elastomeric material to provide a second zone of shaping control that is stronger than the first zone of shaping control (34 comprises 41-46 as shown in figs 6A-6C, and the “zone” where 41-46 do not overlap is the “first zone” and the “zone” where 41-46 overlap is the “second zone;” see annotated portion of fig 1A below, see modification below regarding “curves;” capable of providing, due to having more material which will resist abrasions and/ or tearing and is therefore considered “stronger;” further still, Ota col 14 line 60-65 discloses 34 will provide stretch resistance, so Ota’s second zone will have greater stretch resistance which is considered “stronger shaping control”),
and wherein the first group of curves of elastomeric material has a first density of elastomeric material (see annotated portion of fig 1A below), and the second zone of elastomeric material has a second density of elastomeric material (see annotated portion of fig 1A below), the second density being greater that the first density (see annotated portion of fig 1A below).
Ota does not disclose an exterior layer.
Ota discloses “a garment 30 that may be worn by a wearer while engaging in physical activities. Physical activities may include activities such as walking, running, and jumping that may occur in the ordinary course a person's daily routine (e.g. while doing work, running errands, gardening, etc.) or during predetermined athletic activities (e.g. while engaged in a workout, participating in a sport, etc.)” (col 3 line 20-35).
Hedrick teaches a similar garment (“POCKETED ATHLETIC GARMENT,” title), including a garment for athletic activities (para. 0002), and furthermore the garment comprises an exterior layer (102), a bifurcated stretchable inner layer (120; para. 0019 discloses stretchable materials), the inner layer securely attached to the exterior layer by a seam 158.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Ota with an exterior layer such as the one taught by Hedrick, for wearer modesty and to provide an extra layer of material for insulation and/ or aesthetics.
The structure that results from the modification of Ota and Hedrick comprises “wherein the pattern of elastomeric material is not visible on the exterior layer,” as the pattern of elastomeric material is only on Ota’s inner layer and is not also on Hedrick’s exterior layer.
Ota does not disclose “curves” in the fig 1A embodiment.
As shown in the portion of annotated fig 1A below, instead of a “curves,” Ota discloses a first group of straight lines. The only difference between Ota and the claimed invention is the claimed lines are curved and the Ota lines are straight. Ota discloses another embodiment in fig 11 where the lines have curves. Therefore, both straight and curved lines are within the scope of the Ota invention. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would expect the sportswear to work equally well with curved or straight lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Ota’s straight lines as curves, and particularly in the shape of continuous waves, for the purpose of achieving the desired aesthetics, to provide the desired degree of stretch resistance (Ota col 14 line 60-65), and/ or to follow the shape of the human body for better fit.
As to claim 2, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear of claim 1 further comprising a third zone where no elastomeric materials are applied and where the inner layer stretches only based on characteristics of fabric of the inner layer (Ota fig 1A shows a number of zones where no elastomeric materials are applied).
As to claim 3, Ota as modified discloses wherein the first group of curves includes curves that are shaped as continuous waves (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 4, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear of claim 3 wherein each curve that is shaped as a continuous wave is oriented at an angle from horizontal between 20 and 65 degrees (each of Ota’s lines 41-46 is at approximately a 45 degree angle, the continuous waves are the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 5, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear of claim 4 wherein the angle is approximately 45 degrees (each of Ota’s lines 41-46 is at approximately a 45 degree angle, the continuous waves are the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above).
As to claim 6, Ota as modified discloses the first group of curves (see annotated portion of fig 1A above, the curves are the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above) includes curves that are shaped and spaced to define an area of continuous wave shape between the curves, the area of continuous wave shape not including applied elastomeric material (see annotated portion of fig 1A above, the continuous waves are the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, and the areas between 34 are 32 alone and thus do not include applied elastomeric material).
As to claim 7, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear of claim 6 further comprising at least one area between the first group of curves and the second group of curves that does not include applied elastomeric material (see annotated portion of fig 1A above, the curves are the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above, and the areas between 34 are 32 alone and thus do not include applied elastomeric material).
As to claim 8, Ota as modified does not disclose the article of sportswear of claim 7, wherein each curve that is wave shaped within the first group of curves has a different thickness, with a thinnest thickness curve of the curves of the first group of curves being adjacent to an area without applied elastomeric material.
Ota col 5 line 50-60 does disclose 34 provides different thicknesses in different portions of the garment 30. Therefore, it is within the scope of the Ota sportswear to provide different thicknesses.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide each curve that is wave shaped within the first group of curves has a different thickness, with a thinnest thickness curve of the curves of the first group of curves being adjacent to an area without applied elastomeric material, for the purpose of achieving the desired aesthetics, to provide the desired degree of stretch resistance (Ota col 14 line 60-65), and/ or to follow the shape of the human body for better fit.
As to claim 9, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear of claim 1 wherein the article of sportswear is a swimsuit (capable of being worn swimming, the term “swimsuit” does not lend any particular structure the garment, and Ota’s garment has all of the structure of the claimed “swimsuit” and so is capable of being used in the same manner).
As to claim 10, Ota as modified discloses the second group of curves in the second zone is a continuation of the curves from the first group of curves (see annotated portion of fig 1A above, the curves are the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the curves from the first group of curves overlap in the second zone with curves of the second group of curves to provide the second zone with the second density of elastomeric material (see annotated portion of fig 1A above, the curves are the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above; see col 13 line 1-30 which describes 41-46 as overlapping).
As to claim 11, Ota discloses an article of sportswear providing targeted shaping control (Ota col 3 line 45-50 discloses “a lower or upper body undergarment;”) comprising:
a stretchable liner layer attached to the exterior layer so as to provide the single article of sportswear (base layer 32; col 3 line 55-60 discloses “cotton, flax, silk, polyester, aramid, acrylic, nylon, polyurethane, spandex, and/or olefin” all of which have at least some degree of stretchability, see modification below regarding the exterior layer), wherein the liner layer has an elastomeric material applied in a pattern on one side of the liner layer that is between the liner layer and the exterior layer (activation element 34; col 4 line 20-25 discloses, “silicon[e], a thermoplastic or thermosetting polymer, rubber, polyurethane, or a laminate;” col 3 line 1-5 discloses 34 is applied to the outer surface of the liner layer; see modification below regarding the exterior layer);
wherein the pattern of elastomeric material has a first zone of elastomeric material with first group of waves of elastomeric material, the first group of waves having a first density of elastomeric material (see annotated portion of FIG 1 below) to provide a first zone of shaping control (34 comprises 41-46 as shown in figs 6A-6C, 41-46 correspond to the claimed “waves,” and the “zone” where 41-46 do not overlap is the “first zone” and the “zone” where 41-46 overlap is the “second zone;” see annotated portion of fig 1A below), and
a second zone of elastomeric material with a second group of waves, the second group of waves having a second density of elastomeric material, the second density being greater than the first density (see annotated portion of FIG 1 below),
to provide a second zone of shaping control that is stronger than the first zone of shaping control (34 comprises 41-46 as shown in figs 6A-6C, and the “zone” where 41-46 do not overlap is the “first zone” and the “zone” where 41-16 overlap is the “second zone;” see annotated portion of fig 1A below; capable of providing, due to having more material which will resist abrasions and/ or tearing and is therefore considered “stronger;” further still, Ota col 14 line 60-65 discloses 34 will provide stretch resistance, so Ota’s second zone will have greater stretch resistance which is considered “stronger shaping control”), and
a third zone not having elastomeric material from the first zone or from the second zone (Ota fig 1A shows a number of zones with no applied elastomeric material),
the first and second groups of waves having areas between each wave of elastomeric material that do not include applied elastomeric material (areas between 41-46 do not include elastomeric material),
wherein the pattern of elastomeric material is not visible on the exterior layer (see modification below regarding the exterior layer).
Ota does not disclose an exterior layer.
Ota discloses “a garment 30 that may be worn by a wearer while engaging in physical activities. Physical activities may include activities such as walking, running, and jumping that may occur in the ordinary course a person's daily routine (e.g. while doing work, running errands, gardening, etc.) or during predetermined athletic activities (e.g. while engaged in a workout, participating in a sport, etc.)” (col 3 line 20-35).
Hedrick teaches a similar garment (“POCKETED ATHLETIC GARMENT,” title), including a garment for athletic activities (para. 0002), and furthermore the garment comprises an exterior layer (102), a bifurcated stretchable liner layer (120; para. 0019 discloses stretchable materials), the liner layer securely attached to the exterior layer by a seam 158.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Ota with an exterior layer such as the one taught by Hedrick, for wearer modesty and to provide an extra layer of material for insulation and/ or aesthetics.
The structure that results from the modification of Ota and Hedrick comprises “wherein the pattern of elastomeric material is not visible on the exterior layer,” as the pattern of elastomeric material is only on Ota’s liner layer and is not also on Hedrick’s exterior layer.
As to claim 12, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear of claim 11 wherein the third zone is along a bottom edge of the article of sportswear (Ota fig 1A, bottom edge of the sportswear is the third zone, and the third zone is free of 41-46).
As to claim 13, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear of claim 11 wherein the first and second groups of waves are oriented at an angle from horizontal between 20 and 65 degrees (each of Ota’s lines 41-46 is at approximately a 45 degree angle).
Ota does not disclose the first and second groups of waves include curves that are shaped as continuous waves.
Ota does not disclose “curves” in the fig 1A embodiment.
As shown in the portion of annotated fig 1A below, instead of a “curves,” Ota discloses a first group of straight lines. The only difference between Ota and the claimed invention is the claimed lines are curved and the Ota lines are straight. Ota discloses another embodiment in fig 11 where the lines have curves. Therefore, both straight and curved lines are within the scope of the Ota invention. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would expect the sportswear to work equally well with curved or straight lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Ota’s straight lines as curves, and particularly in the shape of continuous waves, for the purpose of achieving the desired aesthetics, to provide the desired degree of stretch resistance (Ota col 14 line 60-65), and/ or to follow the shape of the human body for better fit.
As to claim 14, Ota as modified does not disclose each of the first and second group of waves of elastomeric material includes separate curves of elastomeric material that are shaped as continuous waves with an area of continuous wave shape between two wave shaped curves that does not include applied elastomeric material.
Ota does not disclose “curves” in the fig 1A embodiment.
As shown in the portion of annotated fig 1A below, instead of a “curves,” Ota discloses a first group of straight lines. The only difference between Ota and the claimed invention is the claimed lines are curved and the Ota lines are straight. Ota discloses another embodiment in fig 11 where the lines have curves. Therefore, both straight and curved lines are within the scope of the Ota invention. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would expect the sportswear to work equally well with curved or straight lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Ota’s straight lines as curves, and particularly in the shape of continuous waves, for the purpose of achieving the desired aesthetics, to provide the desired degree of stretch resistance (Ota col 14 line 60-65), and/ or to follow the shape of the human body for better fit.
When 41-46 are modified to include separate curves shaped as continuous waves, the resulting structure includes an area of continuous wave shape between the curves that does not include applied elastomeric material, because the material between 41-46 does not include applied elastomeric material 41-46.
As to claim 15, Ota as modified does not disclose the article of sportswear of claim 14, wherein each wave shaped curve line within the first group of continuous waves and the second group of continuous waves each group of continuous waves has a different thickness, with [[the]] a thinnest thickness curve line being adjacent to [[one]] an area without applied elastomeric material.
Ota does not disclose “curves” in the fig 1A embodiment.
As shown in the portion of annotated fig 1A below, instead of a “curves,” Ota discloses a first group of straight lines. The only difference between Ota and the claimed invention is the claimed lines are curved and the Ota lines are straight. Ota discloses another embodiment in fig 11 where the lines have curves. Therefore, both straight and curved lines are within the scope of the Ota invention. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would expect the sportswear to work equally well with curved or straight lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Ota’s straight lines as curves, and particularly in the shape of continuous waves, for the purpose of achieving the desired aesthetics, to provide the desired degree of stretch resistance (Ota col 14 line 60-65), and/ or to follow the shape of the human body for better fit.
Ota col 5 line 50-60 does disclose 34 provides different thicknesses in different portions of the garment 30. Therefore, it is within the scope of the Ota sportswear to provide different thicknesses.
Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Furthermore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide each wave shaped line within each group of continuous waves has a different thickness with the thinnest thickness line being adjacent to one area without applied elastomeric material, for the purpose of achieving the desired aesthetics, to provide the desired degree of stretch resistance (Ota col 14 line 60-65), and/ or to follow the shape of the human body for better fit.
As to claim 16, Ota as modified discloses the second zone includes a continuation of the continuous waves of elastomeric material from the adjacent first zone (see annotated portion of fig 1A above), wherein the curves of continuous waves of elastomeric material overlap in the second zone to provide the second zone with more densely applied elastomeric material (see annotated portion of fig 1A above, see modification below regarding “curves of continuous waves”; see col 13 line 1-30 which describes 41-46 as overlapping).
Ota does not disclose “curves” in the fig 1A embodiment.
As shown in the portion of annotated fig 1A below, instead of a “curves,” Ota discloses a first group of straight lines. The only difference between Ota and the claimed invention is the claimed lines are curved and the Ota lines are straight. Ota discloses another embodiment in fig 11 where the lines have curves. Therefore, both straight and curved lines are within the scope of the Ota invention. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill would expect the sportswear to work equally well with curved or straight lines.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Ota’s straight lines as curves, and particularly in the shape of continuous waves, for the purpose of achieving the desired aesthetics, to provide the desired degree of stretch resistance (Ota col 14 line 60-65), and/ or to follow the shape of the human body for better fit.
As to claim 17, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear of claim 11 wherein the elastomeric material includes silicone (see the rejection of claim 11 above) and the elastomeric material does not adhere to the exterior layer (to the degree silicone would not adhere to another layer, Ota does not disclose the silicone adheres or is intended to adhere to any other object).
As to claim 18, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear of claim 1, wherein curves of the first group of curves of elastomeric material are similar to each other (to the degree disclosed by Applicant, see Ota FIG 1A).
As to claim 19, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear of claim 11, wherein a shape of at least part of at least one wave of the first group of waves of elastomeric material is identical to a shape of at least part of at least one wave of the second group of waves of elastomeric material (the waves are all line-shaped).
As to claims 20-21, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear is a single article of sportswear (the combination of Ota and Hedrick as presented in the rejections of claims 1 and 11 above result in a single skort garment).
As to claim 22, Ota as modified discloses the article of sportswear of claim 1, wherein the second zone of elastic material includes a second repeating group of curves of elastomeric material (this is the result of the modification presented in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SALLY HADEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/SALLY HADEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732