DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding Claim 1, examiner maintains rejection because the amendment do not overcome the 103 rejection. Applicants respectfully assert that Petrov fails to teach or suggest the network switch coupled to the plurality of SBCs, wherein the plurality of SBCs are operable to perform system level testing on the plurality of devices under test DUTs, wherein the plurality of SBCs are operable to be coupled to the plurality of DUTs, and wherein the system level testing comprises the plurality of SBCs receiving test data and commands from the remote computer system, and the plurality of SBCs transmitting the test data and the commands for receipt by the DUTs to test the DUTs testing a plurality of components of the plurality of DUTs according to a test program executed by the plurality of SBCs over the remote network connection. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Petrov fails to specifically mention a “network switch,” however, he discloses systems being couple to a network (LAN or WAN) via an ethernet network [0030; 0037], coupled to the plurality of SBCs, wherein the plurality of SBCs are operable to perform system level testing on the plurality of devices under test DUTs [0023; 0034]. Petrov further teaches and wherein the system level testing comprises the plurality of SBCs receiving test data and commands from the remote computer system, and the plurality of SBCs transmitting the test data and the commands for receipt by the DUTs to test the DUTs testing a plurality of components of
the plurality of DUTs according to a test program executed by the plurality of SBCs over the remote network connection [0007; 0023; 0030; 0034; Fig. 1 & 3]. It is for this reason, the examiner maintains the 103 rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petrov et al. (US20180128873A1, 2018-05-10), herein referred to as Petrov.
Regarding Claim 1, Petrov teaches a system level test system, comprising: a rack integrated computer (RIC) coupled to a network switch, wherein the network switch is operable to provide a remote network connection [0030] to a plurality of single board computers (SBCs) ([0034]; Fig. 2; Examiner interprets the Central Computing system as the (RIC), the mictotesters as the (SBCs). Petrov further discloses all equipment may be included in a common enclosure. Examiner interprets this enclosure as a rack mounted enclosure) for remotely testing a plurality of devices under test (DUTs) using a remote computer [0030]; and the network switch coupled to the plurality of SBCs [0030; 0032], wherein the plurality of SBCs are operable to perform system level testing on a plurality of devices under test (DUTs)(Fig. 2-Fig. 3; [0020-0028]), wherein the plurality of SBCs are operable to be coupled to the plurality of DUTs) (Fig. 2-Fig. 3; [0020-0028], and wherein the system level testing comprises the plurality of SBCs receiving test data [0007; 0023] and commands from the remote computer system [0007; 0023; 0030; 0034; Fig. 1-3]; and the plurality of SBCs transmitting the test data and the commands for receipt by the DUTs [0007; 0023; 0030; 0034; Fig. 1-3] for testing a plurality of components of the plurality of DUTs according to a test program executed by the plurality of SBCs over the remote network connection ([0020-0030]; Fig. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 3, Petrov teaches the system level test system of Claim 1, further comprising a lookup table stored in a memory of the RIC, wherein the lookup table comprises a designated IP address for accessing a first SBC of the plurality of SBCs, wherein further the first SBC is configured using the IP address, and wherein the first SBC is operable to be remotely accessed using the IP address to perform the system level testing [0030; 0034; 0035; 0049] (Examiner’s Note: All devices on a network are assigned IP addresses. Petrov discloses using a remote computing device to define/administer various testing procedures and routines either individually or at the same time, making this limitation inherent).
Regarding Claim 4, Petrov fails to specifically teach the system level test system of Claim 3, wherein the first SBC is accessed using a license file that enables a development mode that allows connection to the first SBC from any IP address. However, Petrov does teach controlling devices remotely via network. He further discloses the computer-using operating systems and the ability to carry out operations in a variety of programming languages [0049; 0027-0030]. It is also inherent and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that in order to access remote systems, a license is required.
Regarding Claim 5, Petrov teaches The test system of Claim 1, wherein the network switch comprises an ethernet switch [0030].
Regarding Claim 6, Petrov teaches wherein the plurality of SBCs comprise 6 SBCs ([0027-0033]; fig. 2), and wherein the plurality of DUTs comprise 24 DUTs ([0027-0033]; fig. 2) and wherein each SBC of the plurality of SBCs is respectively coupled to 4 DUTs of the plurality of DUTs for performing the system level testing via the remote network connection ([0027-0033]; fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 7, Petrov teaches the test system of Claim 1, wherein the remote network connection provides communication between the plurality of SBCs and a remote computer system using at least one of: VNC; Remote Desktop Connection; and an integrated development environment (IDE) ([0049; 0037)].
Regarding claim 8, Petrov teaches wherein the plurality of SBCs are operable to install a custom IDE via the remote network connection ([0030; 0034; 0035; 0049]]; Examiner’s Note: All devices on a network are assigned IP addresses. The microtester can be controlled via network remotely. Microtesters have memory, processor and OS (custom) ([0027-0030]). Examiner interprets this as being operable to install a custom IDE, remotely. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Petrov by including: the limitations above in order to more efficiently test a high volume of a plurality of devices, remotely.
Regarding Claim 9, Petrov teaches wherein the plurality of SBCs are operable to install a custom software library via the remote network ([0030]; Examiner’s Note: All devices on a network are assigned IP addresses. The microtester can be controlled via network remotely. Microtesters have memory, processor and OS ([0027-0030]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Petrov by including: the limitations above in order to more efficiently test a high volume of a plurality of devices, remotely.
Regarding Claim 11, Petrov teaches a single board computer (SBC) for performing system level testing (microtester (10); [0028]), the SBC comprising: a processor[ [0030]; a memory [0029]; and a network interface [0030] operable to: receive test data and commands from a remote computer system [0007; 0023; 0030; 0034; Fig. 1-3]; and transmit the test data and the commands for receipt by a plurality of DUTs to test a plurality of components of the plurality of DUTs [0007; 0023; 0030; 0034; Fig. 1-3], wherein the processor is operable to perform system level testing on the plurality of DUTs operable to be coupled to the processor [0004; 0017], wherein the network interface is coupled to a network switch [0030], and wherein the network switch is coupled to a rack integrated computer (RIC) that coordinates remote access between the networking interface and the remote computer system ([0034]; Fig. 2; Examiner’s Note: Says all equipment may be included in a common enclosure. Examiner interprets this enclosure as a rack mounted enclosure) for remotely testing the plurality of DUTs using the remote computer system according to a test program executed by the processor over a remote network connection via the network interface [0030].
Regarding Claim 12, Petrov teaches the SBC of Claim 11, wherein the plurality of DUTs are operable to be coupled to the processor using a USB interface [0026].
Regarding Claim 13, Petrov teaches the SBC of Claim 11, wherein the plurality of DUTs comprise 4 DUTs, and wherein the processor is operable to perform the system level testing on the 4 DUTs in parallel [0004; 0032].
Regarding Claim 14, Petrov teaches the SBC of Claim 11, wherein the processor is operable to assign a designated IP address to the network interface for connecting to the remote network, and wherein the designated IP address is stored in a lookup table in a memory of the RIC [0030; 0034; 0035; 0049] (Examiner’s Note: All devices on a network are assigned IP addresses. Petrov discloses using a remote computing device to define/administer various testing procedures and routines either individually or at the same time, making this limitation inherent).
Regarding Claim 15, Petrov teaches the SBC of Claim 11, wherein the network switch comprises an ethernet switch [0030; 0037].
Regarding Claim 16, Petrov teaches a method of system level testing (microtester (10); [0028]), comprising: associating a single board computer (SBC) with a designated IP address the SBC comprising: a processor[ [0030] (Examiner’s Note: Petrov discloses it is connected to a network and can be controlled remotely implying it has an IP address); storing the designated IP address in a lookup table in a memory of a rack integrated computer (RIC), wherein the RIC and the SBC are coupled to a network switch, and wherein further the SBC is accessible by a remote computer system at the designated IP address via the RIC; the SBC receiving test data and commands from the remote computer system; and the SBC transmitting the test data and the commands for receipt by a plurality of DUTs for testing a plurality of components of the plurality of DUTs according to a test program executed by the plurality of SBCs over the network switch [0007; 0023; 0030; 0034; Fig. 1-3]; and the remote computer system causing the SBC to perform system level testing on the plurality of (DUTs) operable to be coupled to the SBC according to the test program [0030; 0034; 0035; 0049] (Examiner’s Note: All devices on a network are assigned IP addresses. Petrov discloses using a remote computing device to define/administer various testing procedures and routines either individually or at the same time, making this limitation inherent).
Regarding Claim 17, Petrov teaches the method of Claim 16, wherein the plurality of DUTs comprise 4 DUTs, and wherein the SBC is operable to perform the system level testing on the 4 DUTs in parallel [0004; 0032].
Regarding Claim 19, Petrov teaches the method of Claim 16, wherein the SBC executes an integrated development environment (IDE) controlled by the remote computer system [0049].
Regarding Claim 20, Petrov teaches the limitations of Claim 16. Petrov fails to specifically teach storing port forwarding rules at the RIC in the lookup table, wherein the SBC is further accessible via the IP address in combination with a port number according to the port forwarding rules defined in the lookup table. However, the examiner believes this limitation to be inherent due to the RIC having remote access. If the RIC has remote access to control the SBCs, IP address have to assigned to the network switch coupled devices (via ports of the switch via ethernet) and further the RIC can see each device via IP address and its assigned port (lookup table). It is, therefore, inherent and obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to conclude this rationale.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petrov as applied to claim 1, 3-9 and 11-20 above, and further in view of Ranganathan et al. (US20220284982A1, 2022-09-08) herein referred to as Ranganathan.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination teaches the system level test system of Claim 1, further comprising: a tester rack, wherein the RIC is disposed in the tester rack (Col. 3, Lines 29-52). The combination fails to specifically teach a power distribution board (PBD) disposed in a slot of the tester rack and coupled to the plurality of SBCs; and a test interface board (TIB) disposed in the slot of the tester rack and operable to be coupled to the plurality of DUTs. However, in a related field, Ranganathan teaches a power distribution board (PBD) disposed in a slot of the tester rack and coupled to the plurality of SBCs; and a test interface board (TIB) disposed in the slot of the tester rack and operable to be coupled to the plurality of DUTs (Fig. 2C; [0054-0056]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chang and Lundquist to incorporate the teachings of Ranganathan by including: the limitations above in order to reduce the amount of time spent on testing devices to ensure that the device functions as designed and serve as a diagnostic tool to determine the presence of faulty components within a given device before it reaches the consumer.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petrov, further in view of Lundquist et al. (US9179573, 2015-11-03) herein referred to as Lundquist.
Regarding Claim 10, Petrov teaches the test system of Claim 1. Petrov further teaches a plurality of SBCs operable to be coupled to another plurality of DUTs [0020-0030; Fig. 2]. Petrov fails to teach a plurality of network switches coupled to a plurality of tester racks, wherein each tester rack comprises another plurality of SBCs, and wherein the plurality of network switches are coupled to the RIC to coordinate remote access to another plurality of SBCs for performing the system level testing on another plurality of DUTs. However, in a related field, Lindquist teaches a plurality of network switches coupled to a plurality of tester racks (Lindquist: Col. 6, Lines 26-61). Lindquist further teaches wherein each tester rack comprises another plurality of SBCs (Lindquist: Col. 6, Lines 26-61), and wherein the plurality of network switches are coupled to the RIC to coordinate remote access to another plurality of SBCs for performing the system level testing on another plurality of DUTs (Col. 6, Lines 26-61; Col. 3, lines 29-52) (Examiner’s Note: Lindquist teaches each SBC is independently operating and capable of operating a s a host computer or some other computer independent of the others. The examiner interprets this as RIC. Further, Lindquist teaches 2U and 3U configurations). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Petrov to incorporate the teachings of Lindquist by including: the limitations above in order to more efficiently test a high volume of a plurality of devices, remotely.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J SINGLETARY/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ALEXANDER SATANOVSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857