DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s information disclosure statement filed 9/25/2023 has been considered and is included in the file.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3, 13, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, lines 7-8, “the flap” should be changed to --the at least one flap--.
In claim 3, line 5, “each of the guide hole includes” should be changed to --each guide hole of the plurality of guide holes includes--.
In claim 13, line 3, “the guide units have same start and end positions” should be changed to --each guide unit has a same start and end position--.
In claim 15, lines 1-2, “variable grill apparatus of claim 12, wherein the each of the plurality” should be changed to -- variable grille apparatus of claim 12, wherein each of the plurality--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters (US 2011/0070817) in view of Stokes et al. (US 2012/0247018).
Regarding claim 1, Walters discloses a variable grille apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising: a housing (base frame structure (20), Fig. 4) having a plurality of guide holes (86) forming a moving path formed therein (Fig. 4); at least one flap (52) configured to: move in each guide hole and configured to be tilted (Figs. 4-5 show the movement of (52)), when the at least one flap moves along the guide hole (Figs. 4-5 show the flaps move along the guide holes), a degree of opening and closing of the flap is adjusted according to a tilting position of the flap (Figs. 4-7, 10-12 show the movement of the flaps from opening to closing positions); a driving motor (62) installed in the housing and configured to generate rotational power (Fig. 4, paragraph [0030]); at least one rotational plate (cam (60) connected to the driving motor and configured to be rotated (Fig. 4, paragraph [0030]); and at least one connecting link () including a first end connected to the at least one flap (52) and a second end movably connected along the rotational plate (60), wherein when the driving motor rotates the at least one rotational plate, the at least one connecting link is configured to perform a linear motion while moving along the rotational plate (60), and the at least one flap connected to the at least one connecting link is tilted while moving along the moving path of the housing (Figs. 4-7, 10-12 show the movement of the flaps from opening to closing positions).
Walters does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one rotational plate is formed with a guide unit that extends from an outer side to an inner side along a rotational direction of the at least one rotational plate; and at least one connecting link including a first end connected to the at least one flap and a second end movably connected along the guide unit, wherein when the driving motor rotates the at least one rotational plate, the at least one connecting link is configured to perform a linear motion while moving along the guide unit, and the at least one flap connected to the at least one connecting link is tilted while moving along the moving path of the housing.
Stokes et al., like Walters, teaches a variable grille apparatus with flaps (24), and further teaches specifically a drive assembly ((32) including a motor that generates rotational power through a drive shaft (44), paragraph [0028]), and that can be positioned, along with the flaps in any frame structure or suitable linkage to allow the drive assembly to move the flaps (paragraph [0026]), at least one rotational plate (36), wherein the at least one rotational plate is formed with a guide unit ((56),(58)) that extends from an outer side to an inner side along a rotational direction of the at least one rotational plate (Fig. 3); and at least one connecting link (combination with ((38),(40),(41),(42)) including a first end connected to the at least one flap ((24) through (26)) and a second end movably connected along the guide unit (at point (82)), wherein when the driving motor rotates the at least one rotational plate, the at least one connecting link is configured to perform a linear motion while moving along the guide unit (paragraphs [0040] and [0041]), and the at least one flap connected to the at least one connecting link is tilted while moving along the moving path of the housing (paragraphs [0040] and [0041], moves the flaps to open and close).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Walters with a modified rotational plate, guide unit and connecting link as taught by Stokes et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide the ability to move individual flaps one at a time or to combine sets of flaps to control together for improved control of the air flow through the variable grille apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and teaches (references to Walters) wherein the at least one flap (52) is provided on a moving shaft (combined (54),(56) act as a moving shaft), and the plurality of guide holes includes a first guide hole (86) formed on an upper end of the housing and a second guide hole (86) formed on a lower end of the housing so that ends of the moving shaft are inserted into the first and second guide holes, respectively (Fig. 4, paragraph [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 2, and teaches (references to Walters) wherein each of the upper end and the lower end of the housing (20) are provided with a support unit ((44)(46)) and a connecting unit (portion of (48)) disposed to be separated from the support unit to an outside (Fig. 4), and each of the guide hole includes a support hole (84) extending from the support unit in a front-rear direction (Fig. 11) and a tilting guide hole ((82),(86)) forming the moving path on the connecting unit (Figs. 4, 11).
Regarding claim 4, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and teaches (references to Walters) wherein a moving unit (end of (54)) movably inserted into the support hole (84) and a tilting guide unit (end of (56)) bent rearward from the moving unit and movably inserted into the tilting guide hole ((82),(86)) are formed on both ends of the moving shaft (Figs. 4, 11).
Regarding claim 5, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and teaches (references to Walters) wherein the tilting guide hole ((82),(86)) is formed to extend linearly from a front toward a rear and then extend to be curved obliquely (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and teaches (references to Walters) wherein the tilting guide hole ((82),(86)) is formed to extend obliquely from a front toward a rear and then extend linearly (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and teaches (references to Walters) wherein the tilting guide hole ((82),(86)) extends obliquely from a front toward a rear (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and teaches (references to Stokes et al.) wherein the at least one rotational plate (36) is rotated by a rotational shaft (44) passing therethrough and coupled thereto (Fig. 3), and the rotational shaft (44) is connected to the driving motor (32) and rotated upon receiving the rotational power (paragraph [0028]).
Regarding claim 10, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and teaches (references to Stokes et al.) wherein the guide unit ((56),(58)) is formed as a groove (Fig. 3), and the at least one connecting link (combination with ((38),(40),(41),(42)) includes a protrusion (82) configured to insert into the guide unit ((56),(58)) and move along the guide unit (Figs. 4-5).
Regarding claim 12, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1 and teaches (references to Stokes et al.) wherein the at least one rotational plate includes a plurality of rotational plates (paragraph [0048] teaches that there may be a plurality of drive wheels (36)) and the at least one flap includes a plurality of flaps (paragraph [0048] teaches that there may be a plurality of flaps (movable mechanisms)). However, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. does not explicitly teach wherein a number of the plurality of rotational plates is the same as a number of the plurality of flaps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the number of rotational plates and the number of flaps in the apparatus of Walters as modified by Stokes et al. to each be the same number in order to provide the similar process for each rotational plate and flap as is described in Stokes et al. since Stokes et al. shows that one rotational plate (36) can be used with one flap (12)) at a time. Further, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F. 2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Adding additional rotational plates and flaps would be handled the same way as with one, which does not provide unexpected results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters (US 2011/0070817) in view of Stokes et al. (US 2012/0247018) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Asano et al. (US 2014/0194052).
Regarding claim 8, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. However, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of guide holes are divided into groups, and tilting guide holes of the plurality of guide holes are formed differently for each group
Asano et al., like Walters, teaches a variable grille apparatus, and further teaches wherein the plurality of guide holes are divided into groups (Fig. 6, left and right groupings), and tilting guide holes (42) of the plurality of guide holes are formed differently for each group (Fig. 6 shows the plurality of guide holes are formed differently for the left and the right group).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Walters as modified by Stokes et al. by modifying the forms of the plurality of guide holes as taught by Asano et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide different angled flaps for the housing to provide alternate or different air flows into the vehicle (see Fig. 2).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walters (US 2011/0070817) in view of Stokes et al. (US 2012/0247018) as applied to claim 12 and 1 above respectively, and further in view of Cha et al. (US 2021/0261045).
Regarding claim 15, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 12. However, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of flaps includes panel units vertically arranged, and the panel units of different flaps among the plurality of flaps are disposed to partially overlap vertically.
Cha et al., like Walters, teaches a variable grille apparatus, and further teaches wherein each of the plurality of flaps (20) includes panel units (23) vertically arranged, and the panel units of different flaps among the plurality of flaps are disposed to partially overlap vertically (paragraph [0038] teaches the vertical overlapping of the space).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Walters as modified by Stokes et al. to have modified the plurality of flaps to include panel units as taught by Cha et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide blockage of the ventilation space with less material to reduce costs, while still being capable of blocking the ventilation space 100% improving the aerodynamic performance (Cha et al.: paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. teaches the apparatus of claim 1. However, Walters as modified by Stokes et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one flap includes panel units having a diamond shape and the panel units are arranged vertically.
Cha et al., like Walters, teaches a variable grille apparatus, and further teaches wherein the at least one flap (20) includes panel units (23) having a diamond shape and the panel units are arranged vertically (paragraphs [0022] and [0038] teach the vertical arrangement and diamond shape).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Walters as modified by Stokes et al. to have modified the plurality of flaps to include panel units with diamond shapes as taught by Cha et al., with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide blockage of the ventilation space with less material to reduce costs, while still being capable of blocking the ventilation space 100%, and improving the aerodynamic performance (Cha et al.: paragraph [0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: although the references of record show features similar to those of Applicant’s variable grille apparatus of claims 11 and 13-14, the prior art fails to teach or make obvious the combination of the guide unit having a portion that is open to an outside on an outermost side of the at least one rotational plate, the guide units having a same start and end positions formed in different shapes, or the arrangement of rotational plates gradually increasing or decreasing along an arranged direction, along with the other limitations. .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Wickware (US 1570111), Presley (US 6286893), Demerath (US 6533655), Fenchak (US 2012/0074729).Hori (US 2013/0075172), Del Gaizo (US 2019/0023101), Kondo (US 2019/0126742), Frayer (US 10525919), Burtch (US 10647194), Klop (US 10730384), Guyon (US 2020/0269679), Vacca (US 2020/0307371), Jeong (US 10889180), Roth (US 10948216), Gobel (US 2022/0410696), Jeong (US 2023/0182563), Jeong (US 2023/0202289), Minero Ramales (US 2025/0269713), Shibata (JP S58139327), Moll (DE 102014009385), Jeong KR 20210060882), Gold (WO 2022199727), and Duron (FR 3159350) teach aspects of a variable grille apparatus.
/CARLY W. LYNCH/Examiner, Art Unit 3643