DETAILED ACTION
Obligation Under 37 CFR 1.56 – Joint Inventors
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on August 22, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 7-10, 13-14 have been amended, and claims 11-12 have been canceled. Thus, claims 1-10 and 13-14 are still under consideration in this application, with claim 1 being independent. Claims 15-16 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment of August 22, 2025 overcomes the following objections/rejections:
Double patenting rejection (terminal disclaimer has been filed).
Objections to the title of the specification.
Objections to claims 7, 8 and 13.
Claim Interpretation
Applicant has amended claim 14 to include sufficient structure to perform the recited acts. Thus, claim 14 is no longer being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 1-2 of claim 1 recite: “creating a second series of individual images with a first series of individual images”. However, the meaning of this phrase is unclear and/or indefinite since it can be interpreted to have multiple different meanings. For instance, “creating a second series of individual images with a first series of individual images” can reasonably be interpreted to mean: (1) creating a second series of individual images and (i.e., “together with”) a first series of individual images; and/or (2) creating a second series of individual images using (i.e., “with”) a first series of individual images; and/or (3) creating a second series of images including (i.e., “with”) a first series of individual images. The examiner recommends amending to replace “with” using a less vague word (or, phrase), i.e., terminology having only one clear meaning. Clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Lines 4-6 of claim 1 recite: “determining properties of a light ray within the lens for the individual images of the first series of individual images, wherein determining the properties of the light ray comprises recording a temporal series of imaging parameters of a virtual camera”. However, it is unclear whether the recited “lens” is a real lens of a real camera or a virtual lens of the virtual camera. Clarification and/or appropriate correction is required.
Likewise, lines 8-9 recite: “properties of the light ray within the lens of a respective individual image of the first series of individual images”. As already noted above, it is unclear whether the recited “lens” is a real lens of a real camera or a virtual lens of the virtual camera. Clarification and appropriate correction is required. Furthermore, such clarification and/or appropriate correction is required for every recitation of “lens” or “camera” throughout the claims.
Lines 12-13 recite: “capturing the first series of individual images with the recording of the temporal series of imaging parameters.” However, the meaning of this phrase is unclear and/or indefinite since it can be interpreted to have multiple different meanings. For instance, “capturing the first series of individual images with the recording of the temporal series of imaging parameters.” can reasonably be interpreted to mean: (1) capturing the first series of individual images at the same time as (i.e., “together with”) the recording of the temporal series of imaging parameters; and/or (2) capturing the first series of individual images using (i.e., “with”) the recording of the temporal series of imaging parameters; etc. The examiner recommends amending to replace “with” using a less vague word or phrase), i.e., terminology having only one clear meaning. Clarification and appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art;
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue;
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art; and
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LIU et al. (English machine translation of CN105488457A, hereinafter “LIU”) in view of NATTRESS (US 2005/0168485), further in view of CONNELL (US 2019/0392628).
Regarding claim 1, LIU discloses a method for creating (¶ [0004]: “planning and creating films.” ¶ [0015]: “actual shooting”), wherein individual images of the first series (e.g., Abstract: “utilizes three-dimensional virtual simulation to design a satisfactory lens effect for the creator,” Abstract: “the camera lens” ¶ [0008]: “the camera lens.” ¶ [0032]: “shooting lenses”), the method comprising:
determining properties of (e.g., ¶ [0008]: “precisely controlling the spatial coordinates of the camera lens.”) for the individual images of the first series of individual images (¶ [0012]: “adjust the virtual camera's pose relative to the 3D model of the predetermined shooting scene” ¶ [0012]: “In the 3D model of the predetermined shooting scene, based on the changed position and posture of the virtual camera, perform a real-time preview of the simulated shooting effect.”), wherein determining properties of the light ray comprises recording a temporal series of imaging parameters of a virtual camera (¶ [0012]: “Record the movement trajectory of the virtual camera in the 3D model during each virtual shooting process.”) (¶ [0002]: “virtual simulation of camera motion control.” ¶ [0002]: “a virtual simulation method and system designed for shooting footage using a camera motion control system during the pre-production phase of filmmaking,” ¶ [0004]: “motion capture systems are used to bind the tracked camera data to virtual cameras in the virtual scenes.” ¶ [0005]: “the positioning of the camera in space.” ¶ [0005]: “trajectory data” ¶ [0008]: “virtual simulation of a camera motion control system,” ¶ [0008]: “utilizes 3D virtual simulation to design shot effects that satisfy the creators, then automatically calculates the parameters of the proposed camera motion control system, precisely controlling the spatial coordinates of the camera lens” ¶ [0010]: “Set up the physical camera model and track and record its position and orientation;” ¶ [0011]: “Set the initial position and posture of the virtual camera in the 3D model.” ¶ [0012]: “Step 3: Perform the virtual shooting process: Move the physical camera model, and adjust the virtual camera's pose relative to the 3D model of the predetermined shooting scene according to the changes in the physical camera model's position and posture. That is, the movement trajectory of the physical camera model and the virtual camera's movement trajectory in the 3D model of the scene are consistent. In the 3D model of the predetermined shooting scene, based on the changed position and posture of the virtual camera, perform a real-time preview of the simulated shooting effect. Record the movement trajectory of the virtual camera in the 3D model during each virtual shooting process.” ¶ [0013]: “Adjust the pose of the physical camera model and the initial position and posture of the virtual camera in the 3D model based on the simulated shooting effect; until the simulated shooting effect of the virtual camera in the 3D model meets the director's requirements; save the motion trajectory of the virtual camera in the 3D model during the virtual shooting process;” ¶ [0043]: “Step 3: Perform the virtual shooting process: Move the physical camera model, and adjust the virtual camera's pose relative to the 3D model of the predetermined shooting scene based on the changes in the physical camera model's position and posture. That is, the movement trajectory of the physical camera model is consistent with the movement trajectory of the virtual camera in the 3D model of the scene. In implementation, the data of the physical camera model is directly assigned to the virtual camera in the 3D animation software, ensuring that the director can operate the virtual camera while operating the physical camera model.” ¶ [0044]: “Based on the position and posture of the virtual camera after the pose change, a real-time preview of the virtual camera's simulated shooting effect is performed in the 3D model of the predetermined shooting scene; the motion trajectory of the virtual camera in the 3D model during each virtual shooting process is recorded (i.e., the motion data of the physical camera model during the virtual shooting process, which are consistent).”);
planning a capturing of the first series of individual images (e.g., Abstract: “picture planning and the like in the early stage of film shooting,” ¶ [0004]: “for planning and creating films.” ¶ [0004]: “during the film shooting planning stage, animation modeling software is used to build virtual scenes, and motion capture systems are used to bind the tracked camera data to virtual cameras in the virtual scenes.” ¶ [0008]: enable filmmakers to more intuitively adjust camera movement trajectories and shot order in the pre-production stage of filmmaking, based on their operating habits, perspectives, and shot planning.“ ¶ [0011]: “Step 2: Create a 3D model of the planned shooting scene. The spatial data of the 3D model is consistent with the real scene. Set the initial position and posture of the virtual camera in the 3D model. The initial position is set according to the director's predetermined shooting rules.” ¶ [0012]: “Step 3: Perform the virtual shooting process: Move the physical camera model, and adjust the virtual camera's pose relative to the 3D model of the predetermined shooting scene according to the changes in the physical camera model's position and posture. That is, the movement trajectory of the physical camera model and the virtual camera's movement trajectory in the 3D model of the scene are consistent. In the 3D model of the predetermined shooting scene, based on the changed position and posture of the virtual camera, perform a real-time preview of the simulated shooting effect. Record the movement trajectory of the virtual camera in the 3D model during each virtual shooting process.” ¶ [0058]: “Based on the simulated real shooting scene in the 3D animation software, and in accordance with the director's requirements, the camera's movement trajectory and posture in space during actual shooting are designed”) based on the recording of the temporal series of imaging parameters (¶ [0008]: “utilizes 3D virtual simulation to design shot effects that satisfy the creators, then automatically calculates the parameters of the proposed camera motion control system, precisely controlling the spatial coordinates of the camera lens” ¶ [0013]: “Step 4: Adjust the pose of the physical camera model and the initial position and posture of the virtual camera in the 3D model based on the simulated shooting effect; until the simulated shooting effect of the virtual camera in the 3D model meets the director's requirements; save the motion trajectory of the virtual camera in the 3D model during the virtual shooting process;” ¶ [0023]: “The display module includes: a virtual scene display module and a shooting effect preview module:” ¶ [0030]: “(1) This invention helps filmmakers to design and adjust shots using the camera motion control system more conveniently, increases the flexibility of shot design in the early stages of filming, and makes the camera control system more interactive.” ¶ [0045]: “Step 4: Adjust the pose of the physical camera model and the initial position and posture of the virtual camera in the 3D model based on the simulated shooting effect; until the simulated shooting effect of the virtual camera in the 3D model meets the director's requirements; save the motion trajectory of the virtual camera in the 3D model during the virtual shooting process;” ¶ [0046]: “Step 5: Based on the camera motion trajectory data obtained in Step 4 and the parameters and model of the camera motion control system to be used, calculate the joint pose data at each moment required to achieve the simulated shooting effect using the camera motion control system.” ¶ [0048]: “To calculate the pose data of each joint of the robot at each moment required for actual filming, only the pose data of the virtual camera at that moment is needed.”); and
capturing the first series of individual images (¶ [0004]: “planning and creating films.” ¶ [0015]: “actual shooting”) with the recording of the temporal series of imaging parameters (¶ [0014]: “Step 5: Based on the camera motion trajectory data obtained in Step 4 and the parameters and model of the camera motion control system to be used, calculate the joint pose data at each moment required to achieve the simulated shooting effect using the camera motion control system.” ¶ [0015]: “Step 6: The obtained posture data of each joint of the camera motion control system at each moment is used to operate the camera motion control system during actual shooting.” ¶ [0049]: “Step 6: The obtained posture data of each joint of the camera motion control system at each moment is used to operate the camera motion control system during actual shooting.” ¶ [0059]: “After obtaining the virtual camera motion pose data in the virtual scene of the 3D animation software, the inverse kinematics method of redundant robots is used to calculate the posture of the camera motion control system model (referring to the multi-rigid-body coupling system of the real camera-controlled robot), that is, the motion pose data of each joint of the robot, which is also the posture data of the camera motion control system, and is used to operate the camera motion control system for real shooting.”).
LIU fails to explicitly disclose: creating a second series of individual images with a first series of individual images; determining properties of a light ray within the lens; and creating or adapting the individual images of the second series of individual images taking account of properties of the light ray within the lens of a respective individual image of the first series of individual images.
Nevertheless, whereas LIU may not be entirely explicit as to, NATTRESS clearly teaches:
a method for creating a second series of individual images (e.g., “computer-generated 3D images”) with a first series of individual images (e.g., “real images”) (ABSTRACT: “A method for producing composite images of real images and computer-generated 3D images uses camera-and-lens sensor data. The real images can be live, or pre-recorded, and may originate on film or video. The computer-generated 3D images are generated live, simultaneously with the film or video and can be animated or still based upon pre-prepared 3D data.”), the method comprising:
determining properties (¶ [0017]: “to accurately simulate the real camera in terms of optical qualities such as position, orientation and focus, aperture and depth of field.” ¶ [0026]: “If the computer simulation of a virtual camera is capable of simulating lens distortions then the lens information from the camera data can be used as parameters in the simulation of the virtual camera, otherwise the image processing techniques can be used.”) for the individual images (¶ [0016]: “each frame of video”) of the first series of individual images (¶ [0016]: “each frame of video.”) (¶ [0005]: “the use of lens sensor information”; ¶ [0006]: “computer simulation of the lens,” ¶ [0007]: “accurate computer graphic representations of depth of field and focus,” ¶ [0008]: “and accurate geometrical correspondence by taking into account the movements of the individual lens elements inside the camera.” ¶ [0016]: “A camera 1 such as a film, video, or high-definition video camera can be fitted with sensors 2 as part of the lens 3. The lens sensors 2 can produce a digital signal 4 that represents the positions of the lens elements they are sensing. Additional position and orientation sensors 5 on the camera itself can reference their positions to a fixed reference point 6 (shown in FIG. 4) not attached to the camera. The camera sensors also produce a digital signal 7, which is later combined at a combination module 8 with the lens sensor signal to be transmitted from a transmission unit 9 to a computer system 10 as shown in FIG. 2. The camera itself records the image presented to it, for example, via videotape 11, and can also transmit from an output 12 (via cable or other means) the video image to a compositing 13 or monitoring 14 apparatus. The camera also generates a time code 15 which it uniquely assigns to each frame of video using an assignment module 16. Assigning the same timecode to the set of collected sensor data recorded at the same time produces meta-data 17 of the camera image.”); and
creating (¶ [0023]: “produce graphics 40,”) or adapting (NOTE: Since the alternative limitation (i.e., “creating”) has been met, this limitation (i.e., “adapting”) is not required to be given any patentable weight.) the individual images of the second series of individual images taking account of properties (¶ [0017]: “This meta-data can then be transmitted from an output 18 to a computer system (by cable, wireless or other means) where processing can take place that will convert the meta-data into camera data 19. The camera data is used by 3D computer graphics software 20 or compositing application 21 (as shown in FIG. 2) to allow the systems to accurately simulate the real camera in terms of optical qualities such as position, orientation and focus, aperture and depth of field.” ¶ [0023]: “In real time, 3D computer graphics techniques can display a pre-prepared or generated animation or scene 37. The virtual camera 38 used in the 3D techniques uses the accurate information from the camera data to allow it to produce graphics 40, as shown in block 39, which correspond to the video images in terms of position, orientation and perspective, field of view, focus, and depth of field--the optical qualities.” ¶ [0003]: “It is desirable for a good-looking virtual set that there is an accurate dynamic link between the camera recording the actors and the computer generating the 3D graphics. It is preferred that the computer receives data indicating precisely where the camera is, which direction it is pointing, and what the status of the lens focus, zoom and aperture is for every frame of video recorded. This ensures that the perspective and view of the virtual set is substantially the same as that of the video of the actor that is being placed into the virtual set, and that when the camera moves, there is synchronization between the real camera move and the view of the virtual set.” ¶ [0026]: “Lens distortion, where the video image recorded by the camera appears distorted due to the particular lenses being used by the camera, can also be applied to the computer graphics using image-based processing techniques. Computer graphics generally do not exhibit any lens distortion because a lens is not used in their production. The computer simulation of a virtual camera will generally not produce lens distortions. If the computer simulation of a virtual camera is capable of simulating lens distortions then the lens information from the camera data can be used as parameters in the simulation of the virtual camera, otherwise the image processing techniques can be used.” ¶ [0028]: In the first case, the video images have lens distortion caused by the lenses used in the camera, and an equivalent distortion in terms of nature and amount are calculated from the camera data and applied to the computer graphics via the image-based processing.” ¶ [0001]: “The invention relates to producing a series of generated images in response to data from a camera/lens system in such a way that the generated images match the visual representation resulting from the data parameters. The optical qualities of the generated images are similar to the optical qualities of the images resulting from the camera/lens system. Optical qualities that may be modified according to the present invention include qualities such as depth of field, focus, t-stop (exposure), field of view and perspective.”).
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile imaging system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by LIU and NATTRESS, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the method of creating a first series of images taught by LIU so as to also incorporate creating or adapting the individual images of a second series of individual images taking account of properties of the lens of a respective individual image of the first series of individual images, as taught by NATTRESS.
NATTRESS discloses simulating the camera lens. However, although arguably inherent in simulating the camera lens, NATTRESS does not explicitly disclose: “determining properties of a light ray within the lens” and “taking account of properties of the light ray within the lens.”
However, whereas LIU and NATTRESS may not be explicit as to, CONNELL plainly teaches that simulating a lens/lenses of a camera includes:
determining properties of a light ray within the lens (e.g., ¶ [0065]: “obtaining a point spread function of the one or more lenses”; ¶ [0066]: “generating a look up table”; ¶ [0031]: “point spread function 152 of one or more lenses,” ¶ [0032]: “point spread function 152”; ¶ [0032]: “look up table 172.”) (¶ [0065]: “With reference to FIG. 6A, at 604, the method 600 may include, at a precomputing stage, obtaining a point spread function of the one or more lenses.” ¶ [0066]: “At 616, the method 600 may include, based on ray tracing the first input raster image, generating a look up table by computing a contribution to a pixel in the first output image, wherein the contribution is from a pixel at each location of a subset of locations in the first input raster image.” ¶ [0067]: “At 624, the method 600 may include, at a runtime stage, obtaining a second input raster image comprising a plurality of pixels. At 628, the method 600 may include using the look up table to generate a second output image from the second input raster image.” ¶ [0069]: “With reference to FIG. 6B, at 652, the method 600 may include obtaining a third input raster image. At 656, the method 600 may include, wherein obtaining the second input raster image and the third input raster image comprises obtaining the second input raster image and the third input raster image at a frame rate. At 660, the method 600 may include using the look up table to generate a third output image from the third input raster image. At 664, the method 600 may include, wherein generating the second output image and the third output image comprises generating the second output image and the third output image at approximately the frame rate.” Abstract: “methods for simulating light passing through one or more lenses.” Abstract: “method comprises obtaining a point spread function of the one or more lenses, obtaining a first input raster image comprising a plurality of pixels, and ray tracing the first input raster image using the point spread function to generate a first output image. Based on ray tracing the first input raster image, a look up table is generated by computing a contribution to a pixel in the first output image, wherein the contribution is from a pixel at each location of a subset of locations in the first input raster image. A second input raster image is obtained, and the look up table is used to generate a second output image from the second input raster image.” ¶ [0001]: “Ray tracing can generate accurate images by calculating how light travels through optical systems, such as lenses” ¶ [0004]: “The method generates a look up table based on ray tracing the first input raster image by computing a contribution to a pixel in the first output image, wherein the contribution is from a pixel at each location of a subset of locations in the first input raster image. At a runtime stage, a second input raster image comprising a plurality of pixels is obtained, and using the look up table the method generates a second output image from the second input raster image.” ¶ [0015]: “Generating images of real or simulated scenes also may be useful in a variety of other examples, including cinematography and gaming.” ¶ [0016]: “In some examples, effects of viewing an image via a lens, prism, mirror or other optical hardware may be simulated using reference physical parameters of the optical hardware. For example, a simulated view through a lens may be generated by ray tracing how light will travel inside the lens based on given parameters. For example, the parameters may include a point spread function describing how light spreads when it passes through the lens.” ¶ [0017]: “Ray tracing using parameters such as a point spread function may generate accurate simulations of optical systems.” ¶ [0018]: “Accordingly, examples are disclosed that relate to computing devices and methods for simulating light passing through one or more lenses.” ¶ [0031]: “In some examples involving an image capture device, the developer also may describe one or more optical systems of the image capture device so that images of the room 200 may be generated with proper distortions to accurately simulate images captured via the image capture device. For example, the developer may provide a point spread function 152 of one or more lenses, as described in more detail below regarding FIG. 4.” ¶ [0039]: “With reference now to FIG. 4, and as mentioned above, it may be desirable to simulate distortions introduced into one or more images by an optical system, such as lenses of the image sensor(s) of HMD devices. As described above, distortions and aberrations introduced by such optical systems may be modeled using a point spread function 152 that describes how light spreads when it passes through a lens.” ¶ [0040]: “FIG. 4 illustrates one example of a point spread function 400 of a lens. In the example of FIG. 4, the point spread function 400 is modeled as a Gaussian function with a standard deviation of 0.5 that illustrates a relative intensity 404 of light focused at a pixel as it spreads out, or blurs, after passing through the lens. The x-axis of the point spread function 400 is the relative position 408 to the pixel along an axis of an output image 140.”) and
creating or adapting the individual images of the second series of individual images (e.g., ¶ [0032]: “generate a first output image 140.” ¶ [0034]: “a second output image, third output image and/or additional output images may be generated”) taking account of properties of the light ray within the lens (e.g., ¶ [0032]: “using the point spread function 152”; ¶ [0034]: “using the look up table 172.”) (¶ [0032]: “Using the point spread function 152, the computing device 104 may utilize a ray tracer 156 to ray trace a first input raster image 132 and generate a first output image 140. Next, the computing device 104 may generate a look up table 172 based on ray tracing the first input raster image 132. For example, the first input raster image 132 may comprise a plurality of pixels 160. Each pixel of the plurality of pixels 160 may have a discrete location 164 within the image and a color value 168.” ¶ [0034]: “As described in more detail below, the computing device 104 may receive additional input raster images for processing, such as a second input raster image, third input raster image, etc. Accordingly, and in one potential advantage of the present disclosure, a second output image, third output image and/or additional output images may be generated, respectively, using the look up table 172.” ¶ [0043]: “With reference again to FIG. 1 and as described above, using the point spread function 152 a first input raster image 132 may be ray traced to generate a first output image 140.” ¶ [0044]: “The ray-tracer 156 may project each pixel of the first input raster image 132 on a first side of a simulated lens onto a first output image 140 on an opposing side of the simulated lens by calling the point spread function 152 for every point.” ¶ [0065]: “At 608, the method 600 may include obtaining a first input raster image comprising a plurality of pixels. At 612, the method 600 may include ray tracing the first input raster image using the point spread function to generate a first output image.” ¶ [0066]: “At 616, the method 600 may include, based on ray tracing the first input raster image, generating a look up table by computing a contribution to a pixel in the first output image, wherein the contribution is from a pixel at each location of a subset of locations in the first input raster image. At 620, the method 600 may include, wherein the subset of locations comprises locations of at least 512 different pixels.” ¶ [0067]: “At 624, the method 600 may include, at a runtime stage, obtaining a second input raster image comprising a plurality of pixels. At 628, the method 600 may include using the look up table to generate a second output image from the second input raster image.” ¶ [0020]: “For example, in FIG. 1, the user computing device 120 or the HMD device 124 may request that computing device 104 process a plurality of images to simulate the effect of viewing the images through one or more lenses or other optical system.” ¶ [0021]: “The computing device 104 may comprise a rasterizer 128, which may convert each image of the plurality of images into an input raster image 132. In other examples, the user computing device 120 may select a plurality of input raster images 132 already stored by the computing device 104.” ¶ [0022]: “In yet another example, discussed in more detail below, the user computing device 120 may request that computing device 104 generate a plurality of input raster images 132 from a model environment 136. The model environment 136 may comprise one or more predetermined three-dimensional worlds from which environment images may be generated.” ¶ [0027]: “With reference again to FIG. 1, the rasterizer 128 may generate one or more input raster images 132 that simulate a view of the room 200 from a perspective of the HMD device 208 at given positions and orientations along the path 204. In different examples, the rasterizer 128 may generate the input raster images 132 for a computer-generated film, video game, virtual or mixed reality application, etc.” ¶ [0034]: “As described in more detail below, the computing device 104 may receive additional input raster images for processing, such as a second input raster image, third input raster image, etc. Accordingly, and in one potential advantage of the present disclosure, a second output image, third output image and/or additional output images may be generated, respectively, using the look up table 172.”).
Thus, in order to accurately simulate a camera lens for compositing real and virtual images, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system taught by the combination of LIU and NATRESS so as to simulate the camera lens by determining properties of a light ray within the camera lens recording a first image to create or adapt a second image taking account of properties of the light ray within the lens, as taught by CONNELL.
Regarding claim 2 (depends on claim 1), whereas LIU may not be explicit as to, NATTRESS further teaches:
wherein determining properties of the light ray within the lens comprises determining an entrance pupil (e.g., ¶ [0056]: “A Zoom meta-data value of 84245 also corresponds to a nodal point calibration of 282.87 mm. This is the distance from CCD to the nodal point. The nodal point is also called the entrance pupil. It is where all incoming rays converge in the lens and it is where the true camera position lies. The nodal point is not fixed in space relative to the rest of the camera, but changes as the zoom of the lens changes.”) and a field of view of the lens (e.g., ¶ [0001]: “field of view”; ¶ [0017]: “depth of field”; ¶ [0023]: “field of view”; ¶ [0055]: “A Zoom meta-data value of 84245 corresponds to a field of view of the lens (FOV) of 13.025 degrees.”; ¶ [0057]: “field of view”) for the individual images of the first series of individual images (e.g., ¶ [0003]: “what the status of the lens focus, zoom and aperture is for every frame of video recorded”) (¶ [0016]: “The camera itself records the image presented to it, for example, via videotape 11, and can also transmit from an output 12 (via cable or other means) the video image to a compositing 13 or monitoring 14 apparatus. The camera also generates a time code 15 which it uniquely assigns to each frame of video using an assignment module 16. Assigning the same timecode to the set of collected sensor data recorded at the same time produces meta-data 17 of the camera image.” ¶ [0017]: “This meta-data can then be transmitted from an output 18 to a computer system (by cable, wireless or other means) where processing can take place that will convert the meta-data into camera data 19. The camera data is used by 3D computer graphics software 20 or compositing application 21 (as shown in FIG. 2) to allow the systems to accurately simulate the real camera in terms of optical qualities such as position, orientation and focus, aperture and depth of field.” ¶ [0023]: “In real time, 3D computer graphics techniques can display a pre-prepared or generated animation or scene 37. The virtual camera 38 used in the 3D techniques uses the accurate information from the camera data to allow it to produce graphics 40, as shown in block 39, which correspond to the video images in terms of position, orientation and perspective, field of view, focus, and depth of field--the optical qualities.” ¶ [0057]: “An advantage of generating the 3D computer graphics in real time is that animations can be stored in the system as well as a virtual set. By triggering the playback of an animation manually or at a specific time-code the animation can be generated so that it is produced in synchronization with the camera video, thus allowing complex special effects shots to be previewed during production. Later, in the post production phase, the animations will be rendered at a high quality, using the camera data recorded during production to ensure an accurate visual match between the recorded video and the rendered animation in terms of position, orientation, perspective, field of view, focus, and depth of field.” ¶ [0003]: “It is desirable for a good-looking virtual set that there is an accurate dynamic link between the camera recording the actors and the computer generating the 3D graphics. It is preferred that the computer receives data indicating precisely where the camera is, which direction it is pointing, and what the status of the lens focus, zoom and aperture is for every frame of video recorded. This ensures that the perspective and view of the virtual set is substantially the same as that of the video of the actor that is being placed into the virtual set, and that when the camera moves, there is synchronization between the real camera move and the view of the virtual set.” ¶ [0001]: “The invention relates to producing a series of generated images in response to data from a camera/lens system in such a way that the generated images match the visual representation resulting from the data parameters. The optical qualities of the generated images are similar to the optical qualities of the images resulting from the camera/lens system. Optical qualities that may be modified according to the present invention include qualities such as depth of field, focus, t-stop (exposure), field of view and perspective.”); and/or
wherein creating or adapting the individual images of the second series of individual images is effected taking account of the entrance pupil (¶ [0056]: “the entrance pupil”) and the field of view of the lens (¶ [0023]: “field of view,” ¶ [0055]: “a field of view of the lens (FOV)”) of the respective individual image (¶ [0016]: “meta-data 17 of the camera image.”) of the first series of individual images (¶ [0031]: “Each line of meta-data represents what is happening to the lens and camera at an instance of time, which is specified by the timecode.” ¶ [0032]: “Timecode refers to the time a frame of video or film is recorded at. The four numbers represent hours, minutes, seconds and frames.”) (¶ [0016]: “The camera itself records the image presented to it, for example, via videotape 11, and can also transmit from an output 12 (via cable or other means) the video image to a compositing 13 or monitoring 14 apparatus. The camera also generates a time code 15 which it uniquely assigns to each frame of video using an assignment module 16. Assigning the same timecode to the set of collected sensor data recorded at the same time produces meta-data 17 of the camera image.” ¶ [0017]: “This meta-data can then be transmitted from an output 18 to a computer system (by cable, wireless or other means) where processing can take place that will convert the meta-data into camera data 19. The camera data is used by 3D computer graphics software 20 or compositing application 21 (as shown in FIG. 2) to allow the systems to accurately simulate the real camera in terms of optical qualities such as position, orientation and focus, aperture and depth of field.” ¶ [0023]: “In real time, 3D computer graphics techniques can display a pre-prepared or generated animation or scene 37. The virtual camera 38 used in the 3D techniques uses the accurate information from the camera data to allow it to produce graphics 40, as shown in block 39, which correspond to the video images in terms of position, orientation and perspective, field of view, focus, and depth of field--the optical qualities.” ¶ [0055]: “A Zoom meta-data value of 84245 corresponds to a field of view of the lens (FOV) of 13.025 degrees.” ¶ [0056]: “A Zoom meta-data value of 84245 also corresponds to a nodal point calibration of 282.87 mm. This is the distance from CCD to the nodal point. The nodal point is also called the entrance pupil. It is where all incoming rays converge in the lens and it is where the true camera position lies. The nodal point is not fixed in space relative to the rest of the camera, but changes as the zoom of the lens changes. Again, the focus distance is from the CCD to the object in the focal plane, whereas in this particular computer simulation of the lens, the focus distance is from the point in space that represents the camera.”¶ [0003]: “It is desirable for a good-looking virtual set that there is an accurate dynamic link between the camera recording the actors and the computer generating the 3D graphics. It is preferred that the computer receives data indicating precisely where the camera is, which direction it is pointing, and what the status of the lens focus, zoom and aperture is for every frame of video recorded. This ensures that the perspective and view of the virtual set is substantially the same as that of the video of the actor that is being placed into the virtual set, and that when the camera moves, there is synchronization between the real camera move and the view of the virtual set.”).
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile imaging system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by LIU, NATTRESS and CONNELL, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the method of creating a first series of images taught by LIU so as to also incorporate creating or adapting the individual images of a second series of individual images taking account of properties of the lens of a respective individual image of the first series of individual images, as taught by NATTRESS.
Regarding claim 3 (depends on claim 2), whereas LIU and NATTRESS may not be explicit as to, CONNELL further teaches:
wherein creating or adapting (e.g., ¶ [0032]: “generate a first output image 140.” ¶ [0034]: “a second output image, third output image and/or additional output images may be generated, respectively,”) comprises performing a point spread function (¶ [0032]: “Using the point spread function 152,”; ¶ [0034]: “using the look up table 172.”) and/or an optical transfer function and/or a ray function (¶ [0032]: “Using the point spread function 152, the computing device 104 may utilize a ray tracer 156 to ray trace a first input raster image 132 and generate a first output image 140. Next, the computing device 104 may generate a look up table 172 based on ray tracing the first input raster image 132. For example, the first input raster image 132 may comprise a plurality of pixels 160. Each pixel of the plurality of pixels 160 may have a discrete location 164 within the image and a color value 168.” ¶ [0034]: “As described in more detail below, the computing device 104 may receive additional input raster images for processing, such as a second input raster image, third input raster image, etc. Accordingly, and in one potential advantage of the present disclosure, a second output image, third output image and/or additional output images may be generated, respectively, using the look up table 172.” ¶ [0043]: “With reference again to FIG. 1 and as described above, using the point spread function 152 a first input raster image 132 may be ray traced to generate a first output image 140.” ¶ [0044]: “The ray-tracer 156 may project each pixel of the first input raster image 132 on a first side of a simulated lens onto a first output image 140 on an opposing side of the simulated lens by calling the point spread function 152 for every point.” ¶ [0065]: “At 608, the method 600 may include obtaining a first input raster image comprising a plurality of pixels. At 612, the method 600 may include ray tracing the first input raster image using the point spread function to generate a first output image.” ¶ [0066]: “At 616, the method 600 may include, based on ray tracing the first input raster image, generating a look up table by computing a contribution to a pixel in the first output image, wherein the contribution is from a pixel at each location of a subset of locations in the first input raster image. At 620, the method 600 may include, wherein the subset of locations comprises locations of at least 512 different pixels.” ¶ [0067]: “At 624, the method 600 may include, at a runtime stage, obtaining a second input raster image comprising a plurality of pixels. At 628, the method 600 may include using the look up table to generate a second output image from the second input raster image.” ¶ [0020]: “For example, in FIG. 1, the user computing device 120 or the HMD device 124 may request that computing device 104 process a plurality of images to simulate the effect of viewing the images through one or more lenses or other optical system.” ¶ [0021]: “The computing device 104 may comprise a rasterizer 128, which may convert each image of the plurality of images into an input raster image 132. In other examples, the user computing device 120 may select a plurality of input raster images 132 already stored by the computing device 104.” ¶ [0022]: “In yet another example, discussed in more detail below, the user computing device 120 may request that computing device 104 generate a plurality of input raster images 132 from a model environment 136. The model environment 136 may comprise one or more predetermined three-dimensional worlds from which environment images may be generated.” ¶ [0027]: “With reference again to FIG. 1, the rasterizer 128 may generate one or more input raster images 132 that simulate a view of the room 200 from a perspective of the HMD device 208 at given positions and orientations along the path 204. In different examples, the rasterizer 128 may generate the input raster images 132 for a computer-generated film, video game, virtual or mixed reality application, etc.” ¶ [0034]: “As described in more detail below, the computing device 104 may receive additional input raster images for processing, such as a second input raster image, third input raster image, etc. Accordingly, and in one potential advantage of the present disclosure, a second output image, third output image and/or additional output images may be generated, respectively, using the look up table 172.”).
Thus, in order to simulate a camera lens for compositing real and virtual images, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system taught by the combination of LIU, NATTRESS and CONNELL to as to simulate the camera lens by determining properties of a light ray within the camera lens recording a first image to create or adapt a second image taking account of properties of the light ray within the lens, as further taught by CONNELL.
Regarding claim 4 (depends on claim 1), whereas LIU may not be explicit as to, NATTRESS further teaches:
combining an image content of the first series of individual images and the image content of the second series of individual images (¶ [0024]: “The computer graphic images are displayed on a monitor 41, as shown in FIG. 2, and also transmitted 42 to a video monitor or compositing apparatus. The compositing apparatus can display a composite image of the video from the camera and the corresponding computer graphics generated by the 3D computer graphics techniques using the information from the camera data.” ), wherein the combining comprises
adapting the image content of the individual images of the second series of individual images to the image content of the individual images of the first series of individual images (¶ [0023]: “In real time, 3D computer graphics techniques can display a pre-prepared or generated animation or scene 37. The virtual camera 38 used in the 3D techniques uses the accurate information from the camera data to allow it to produce graphics 40, as shown in block 39, which correspond to the video images in terms of position, orientation and perspective, field of view, focus, and depth of field--the optical qualities.” ¶ [0025]: “Image-based processing 43 of the computer graphics can be used to enhance the alignment between the computer graphics and the recorded video.” ¶ [0026]: “Lens distortion, where the video image recorded by the camera appears distorted due to the particular lenses being used by the camera, can also be applied to the computer graphics using image-based processing techniques. Computer graphics generally do not exhibit any lens distortion because a lens is not used in their production. The computer simulation of a virtual camera will generally not produce lens distortions. If the computer simulation of a virtual camera is capable of simulating lens distortions then the lens information from the camera data can be used as parameters in the simulation of the virtual camera, otherwise the image processing techniques can be used.” ¶ [0027]: “Lens distortion varies as the lens elements move inside the camera. By using the lens information from the camera data, the correct nature and amount of lens distortion can be calculated and made to vary with any adjustments to the lens elements in the camera. Similarly, an inverse lens distortion can also be calculated. An inverse distortion is an image based process such that applying it will remove the lens distortion present in the image. To ensure an accurate visual match between the video images and the computer graphics, either the lens distortion from the video images can be applied to the computer graphics, or the lens distortion can be removed from the video images.” ¶ [0028]: “In the first case, the video images have lens distortion caused by the lenses used in the camera, and an equivalent distortion in terms of nature and amount are calculated from the camera data and applied to the computer graphics via the image-based processing. In the second case, the computer graphics have no lens distortion due to the lack of lens distortion simulation in the 3D virtual camera that is used to produce them, and the video images have no lens distortion due to the application of the inverse distortion using image-based processing upon the video images.”) or
creating the individual images of the second series of individual images (¶ [0027]: “Lens distortion varies as the lens elements move inside the camera. By using the lens information from the camera data, the correct nature and amount of lens distortion can be calculated and made to vary with any adjustments to the lens elements in the camera. Similarly, an inverse lens distortion can also be calculated. An inverse distortion is an image based process such that applying it will remove the lens distortion present in the image. To ensure an accurate visual match between the video images and the computer graphics, either the lens distortion from the video images can be applied to the computer graphics, or the lens distortion can be removed from the video images.” ¶ [0028]: “In the first case, the video images have lens distortion caused by the lenses used in the camera, and an equivalent distortion in terms of nature and amount are calculated from the camera data and applied to the computer graphics via the image-based processing. In the second case, the computer graphics have no lens distortion due to the lack of lens distortion simulation in the 3D virtual camera that is used to produce them, and the video images have no lens distortion due to the application of the inverse distortion using image-based processing upon the video images.”),
in each case taking account of an entrance pupil (¶ [0056]: “the entrance pupil.”) and a field of view (e.g., ¶ [0055]: “a field of view of the lens (FOV)” ) of the lens of the respective individual image of the first series of individual images (¶ [0023]: “In real time, 3D computer graphics techniques can display a pre-prepared or generated animation or scene 37. The virtual camera 38 used in the 3D techniques uses the accurate information from the camera data to allow it to produce graphics 40, as shown in block 39, which correspond to the video images in terms of position, orientation and perspective, field of view, focus, and depth of field--the optical qualities.” ¶ [0055]: “A Zoom meta-data value of 84245 corresponds to a field of view of the lens (FOV) of 13.025 degrees.” ¶ [0056]: “A Zoom meta-data value of 84245 also corresponds to a nodal point calibration of 282.87 mm. This is the distance from CCD to the nodal point. The nodal point is also called the entrance pupil. It is where all incoming rays converge in the lens and it is where the true camera position lies. The nodal point is not fixed in space relative to the rest of the camera, but changes as the zoom of the lens changes. Again, the focus distance is from the CCD to the object in the focal plane, whereas in this particular computer simulation of the lens, the focus distance is from the point in space that represents the camera.”).
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile imaging system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by LIU, NATTRESS and CONNELL, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the method of creating a first series of images taught by LIU so as to also incorporate combining an image content of the first series of individual images and the image content of the second series of individual images by creating or adapting the individual images of a second series of individual images taking account of properties of the lens of a respective individual image of the first series of individual images, as taught by NATTRESS.
Regarding claim 5 (depends on claim 4), whereas LIU may not be explicit as to, NATTRESS further teaches that adapting or creating the individual images comprises:
besides taking account of the entrance pupil (¶ [0056]: “A Zoom meta-data value of 84245 also corresponds to a nodal point calibration of 282.87 mm. This is the distance from CCD to the nodal point. The nodal point is also called the entrance pupil. It is where all incoming rays converge in the lens and it is where the true camera position lies. The nodal point is not fixed in space relative to the rest of the camera, but changes as the zoom of the lens changes.”) and the field of view (¶ [0055]: “A Zoom meta-data value of 84245 corresponds to a field of view of the lens (FOV) of 13.025 degrees.”), taking account of at least one of a position of an exit pupil, a depth of field (¶ [0001]: “Optical qualities that may be modified according to the present invention include qualities such as depth of field, focus, t-stop (exposure), field of view and perspective.” ¶ [0017]: “The camera data is used by 3D computer graphics software 20 or compositing application 21 (as shown in FIG. 2) to allow the systems to accurately simulate the real camera in terms of optical qualities such as position, orientation and focus, aperture and depth of field.”), vignetting, a distortion (e.g., ¶ [0026]: “Lens distortion, where the video image recorded by the camera appears distorted due to the particular lenses being used by the camera, can also be applied to the computer graphics using image-based processing techniques.” ¶ [0026]: “If the computer simulation of a virtual camera is capable of simulating lens distortions then the lens information from the camera data can be used as parameters in the simulation of the virtual camera, otherwise the image processing techniques can be used.”), a bokeh, a chromatic aberration, a focus (¶ [0001]: “Optical qualities that may be modified according to the present invention include qualities such as depth of field, focus, t-stop (exposure), field of view and perspective.” ¶ [0023]: “focus”), a position of lens elements within the lens (¶ [0020]: “Because some embodiments of the present invention take into account the lens movements, the 3D point in the camera data that represents the true optical position of the camera 29 is calculated as shown at block 30 by taking the fixed lens length offset 31 (illustrated in FIG. 4) and adding it to the calculated moving lens offset 32 in the orientation of the camera 33, and adding that vector to the vector representing the base position of the camera 34 relative to the fixed reference point.” ¶ [0021]: “The true optical position of the camera is important because the calculations to produce the accurate camera data are only as accurate as the accuracy of the position data. When the focus or zoom of the camera is changed, the optical center of the camera changes because the various lens elements inside the camera move.” ¶ [0028]: “In the first case, the video images have lens distortion caused by the lenses used in the camera, and an equivalent distortion in terms of nature and amount are calculated from the camera data and applied to the computer graphics via the image-based processing.”), an aperture (¶ [0003]: “aperture”; ¶ [0017]: “The camera data is used by 3D computer graphics software 20 or compositing application 21 (as shown in FIG. 2) to allow the systems to accurately simulate the real camera in terms of optical qualities such as position, orientation and focus, aperture and depth of field.”), an exposure duration (¶ [0001]: “Optical qualities that may be modified according to the present invention include qualities such as depth of field, focus, t-stop (exposure), field of view and perspective.”), a color appearance, and a reflection within the lens.
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile imaging system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by LIU, NATTRESS and CONNELL, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the method of creating a first series of images taught by LIU so as to also incorporate creating or adapting the individual images of a second series of individual images by taking account of the entrance pupil and the field of view as well as taking account of at least a depth of field, as taught by NATTRESS.
Regarding claim 6 (depends on claim 1), whereas LIU may not be explicit as to, NATTRESS further teaches:
wherein creating the individual images of the second series of individual images comprises creating the individual images with rendering a virtual scene (e.g., ¶ [0057]: “a virtual set”) (¶ [0029]: “3D computer graphics rendering techniques are constantly improving in both quality and speed. During the post production phase, in a high-quality 3D computer graphics rendering or compositing program, the recorded camera data can be used to render an accurate representation of focus and depth of field.” ¶ [0057]: “An advantage of generating the 3D computer graphics in real time is that animations can be stored in the system as well as a virtual set. By triggering the playback of an animation manually or at a specific time-code the animation can be generated so that it is produced in synchronization with the camera video, thus allowing complex special effects shots to be previewed during production. Later, in the post production phase, the animations will be rendered at a high quality, using the camera data recorded during production to ensure an accurate visual match between the recorded video and the rendered animation in terms of position, orientation, perspective, field of view, focus, and depth of field.” ¶ [0002]: “The present invention is designed to facilitate the use of "virtual sets" in motion pictures. Virtual sets are similar to the real, physical sets used in the motion picture and TV industries in that they create an environment for actors to perform in, but whereas physical sets are constructed using real materials, virtual sets are constructed inside a computer using 3D graphics techniques.” ¶ [0003]: “It is desirable for a good-looking virtual set that there is an accurate dynamic link between the camera recording the actors and the computer generating the 3D graphics. It is preferred that the computer receives data indicating precisely where the camera is, which direction it is pointing, and what the status of the lens focus, zoom and aperture is for every frame of video recorded. This ensures that the perspective and view of the virtual set is substantially the same as that of the video of the actor that is being placed into the virtual set, and that when the camera moves, there is synchronization between the real camera move and the view of the virtual set.”).
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile imaging system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by LIU, NATTRESS and CONNELL, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the method of creating a first series of images taught by LIU so as to also incorporate creating the individual images of the second series of individual images by creating the individual images by rendering a virtual scene, as taught by NATTRESS.
Regarding claim 7 (depends on claim 1), whereas LIU may not be entirely explicit as to, NATTRESS teaches creating (¶ [0023]: “produce graphics 40,”) or adapting (NOTE: Since the alternative limitation (i.e., “creating”) has been met, this limitation (i.e., “adapting”) is not required to be given any patentable weight.) the individual images of the second series of individual images (See the rejection of these limitations in claim 1 hereinabove):
wherein adapting the individual images of the second series of individual images is preceded by creating the individual images of the second series with the lens for a camera (NOTE: This limitation further limits the alternative limitation “adapting” in claim 1, which has not been given any patentable weight. Thus, since these limitations are directed to further limiting the alternative claim limitation “adapting” in claim 1, which is not required to be given any patentable weight, these limitations likewise need not be given any patentable weight.).
Regarding claim 9 (depends on claim 1), whereas LIU may not be explicit as to, NATTRESS further teaches:
determining properties of the light ray comprises recording one or more imaging parameters of the lens during capturing of the first series of individual images (¶ [0016]: “A camera 1 such as a film, video, or high-definition video camera can be fitted with sensors 2 as part of the lens 3. The lens sensors 2 can produce a digital signal 4 that represents the positions of the lens elements they are sensing. Additional position and orientation sensors 5 on the camera itself can reference their positions to a fixed reference point 6 (shown in FIG. 4) not attached to the camera. The camera sensors also produce a digital signal 7, which is later combined at a combination module 8 with the lens sensor signal to be transmitted from a transmission unit 9 to a computer system 10 as shown in FIG. 2. The camera itself records the image presented to it, for example, via videotape 11, and can also transmit from an output 12 (via cable or other means) the video image to a compositing 13 or monitoring 14 apparatus. The camera also generates a time code 15 which it uniquely assigns to each frame of video using an assignment module 16. Assigning the same timecode to the set of collected sensor data recorded at the same time produces meta-data 17 of the camera image.” ¶ [0017]: “This meta-data can then be transmitted from an output 18 to a computer system (by cable, wireless or other means) where processing can take place that will convert the meta-data into camera data 19. The camera data is used by 3D computer graphics software 20 or compositing application 21 (as shown in FIG. 2) to allow the systems to accurately simulate the real camera in terms of optical qualities such as position, orientation and focus, aperture and depth of field.” ¶ [0022]: “The calibrated camera data, orientational camera data, and true optical position of the camera data are combined together as shown at block 35 to be stored on computer disc or other storage 36 for later use in either a 3D computer graphics system or compositing system.”); and
adapting or creating the individual images of the second series of individual images comprises adapting or creating the individual images of the second series of individual images with the one or more imaging parameters (¶ [0017]: “This meta-data can then be transmitted from an output 18 to a computer system (by cable, wireless or other means) where processing can take place that will convert the meta-data into camera data 19. The camera data is used by 3D computer graphics software 20 or compositing application 21 (as shown in FIG. 2) to allow the systems to accurately simulate the real camera in terms of optical qualities such as position, orientation and focus, aperture and depth of field.” ¶ [0023]: “In real time, 3D computer graphics techniques can display a pre-prepared or generated animation or scene 37. The virtual camera 38 used in the 3D techniques uses the accurate information from the camera data to allow it to produce graphics 40, as shown in block 39, which correspond to the video images in terms of position, orientation and perspective, field of view, focus, and depth of field--the optical qualities.”).
Thus, in order to obtain a more versatile imaging system having the cumulative features and/or functionalities taught by LIU, NATTRESS and CONNELL, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the method of creating a first series of images taught by LIU so as to also incorporate recording one or more imaging parameters of the lens during capturing of the first series of individual images and creating the individual images of the second series of individual images with the one or more imaging parameters, as taught by NATTRESS.
Regarding claim 10 (depends on claim 9), NATTRESS further teaches:
wherein the individual images of the second series of individual images are created with the one or more imaging parameters of the lens in real time (¶ [0023]: “In real time, 3D computer graphics techniques can display a pre-prepared or generated animation or scene 37. The virtual camera 38 used in the 3D techniques uses the accurate information from the camera data to allow it to produce graphics 40, as shown in block 39, which correspond to the video images in terms of position, orientation and perspective, field of view, focus, and depth of field--the optical qualities.” ¶ [0026]: “Lens distortion, where the video image recorded by the camera appears distorted due to the particular lenses being used by the camera, can also be applied to the computer graphics using image-based processing techniques. Computer graphics generally do not exhibit any lens distortion because a lens is not used in their production. The computer simulation of a virtual camera will generally not produce lens distortions. If the computer simulation of a virtual camera is capable of simulating lens distortions then the lens information from the camera data can be used as parameters in the simulation of the virtual camera, otherwise the image processing techniques can be used.”).
Regarding claim 13 (depends on claim 1), both LIU and NATTRESS disclose:
wherein the method is provided to be performed in at least one of cinematography (¶ [0002] of NATTRESS: “The present invention is designed to facilitate the use of "virtual sets" in motion pictures.” ¶ [0032] of NATTRESS: “Film and video for theatrical presentation” ¶ [0009] of LIU: “film shooting,” ¶ [0032] of LIU: “filmmakers,”), photography (¶ [0002] of LIU: “method and system designed for shooting footage using a camera motion control system during the pre-production phase of filmmaking,” ¶ [0032] of NATTRESS: “Film and video for theatrical presentation”), computer games, medical imaging, security applications, face recognition, computer-based simulations, virtual reality, and industrial metrology.
Regarding claim 14 (depends on claim 1), claim 14 is directed to a data processing system (¶ [0034 of LIU: “a virtual simulation system”) comprising: a processor (¶ [0019] of LIU: “a data processing module”; ¶ [0065] of LIU: “Data processing module, including a computing module and a data transmission interface 2, is used” ¶ [0016] of NATTRESS: “a computer system 10 as shown in FIG. 2.”); and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium encoded with a computer program including instructions (¶ [0017] of NATTRESS: “3D computer graphics software 20 or compositing application 21”; ¶ [0008] of LIU: “software” ¶ [0017] of LIU: “software”) which, when executed by the processor cause the processor to carry out the method of claim 1 and, as such, is rejected for the same reasons applied above in the rejection of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Dependent claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 22, 2025 with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
At present, it is not apparent to the examiner which part of the application could serve as a basis for new and allowable claims. However, should the applicant nevertheless regard some particular matter as patentable, the examiner encourages applicant to appropriately amend the claims to include such matter and to indicate in the REMARKS the difference(s) between the prior art and the claimed invention as well as the significance thereof.
Furthermore, should applicant decide to amend the claims, examiner respectfully requests that the applicant please indicate in the REMARKS from which page(s), line(s) or claim(s) of the originally filed application that any amendments are derived. See MPEP § 2163(II)(A) (There is a strong presumption that an adequate written description of the claimed invention is present in the specification as filed, Wertheim, 541 F.2d at 262, 191 USPQ at 96; however, with respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims.).
Action is Final
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/VINCENT PEREN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2617
/KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617